View
41
Opinions
Below
77% 99 votes
23% 30 votes

Tough Blade

130 Votes

Rate this product

Tough Blade is a razor that guarantees you a close shave for an entire year. This shaver is brought to you by Micro Touch and features three stainless steel blades. Each blade has a different job ensuring you get a close shave all the time. With on blade lifting, one cutting and one finishing your face will always come out smooth. German made technology ensures this product is durable and is of high quality. Featuring extra blades and a trimmer this product answers all of your grooming needs. The micro thin non-stick surface ensures the blade moves smoothly across every ridge of your face.

The Claim

The Tough Blade infomercial claims that this product will give you a close and comfortable shave no matter what. You can use this razor in any direction. It does not matter if you shave from side to side or up and down because the perfectly angled blades will always get the job done. According to Brett Favre this blade is like no other and it will save you a lot of money because it lasts for a year. Perfect for people with sensitive skin because it does not tug on the hair, instead it lifts hair follicles out of the skin for an easier and more comfortable shave.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Tough Blade is $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping, for a total price of $27.98. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: toughblade.com

Shaves for 1 Year?

The sales page and infomercial claim that you will be able to shave for 1 full year by ordering their Tough Blade and 12 replacement blades. Their assumption is that you'll only require 1 blade per month. While the quality of the blades is good, it is not a revolutionary new design. If you currently use 1 blade every 3 days, expect to need 1 blade every 3 days with the micro touch tough blade razor.

Technically you could shave for a full yea using only 12 blades, but would you want to? The blades will only perform at their highest level for the first few shaves. Each time you use a blade it slowly degrades and the next shave is not as good as the previous. This not specific to this product, its common sense and occurs with all blades.

Compared to Gillette Fusion ProGlide

Gillette Fusion ProGlide 5 blade razor is currently the top performing men's shaver available for retail purchase. Gillette also claims that you can use 12 blades and get a year's worth of shaving. While the first 2 shaves using their blades, feels like you are in heaven, each shave after that slowly gets less and less comfortable, eventually causing razor burn.

  • Gillette Fusion ProGlide + 12 Blades = $53.47
  • Tough Blade + 12 Blades = $19.99 + $7.99 p&h = $27.98

Gillette Fusion ProGlide is a higher quality blade than Tough Blade and still does not last a full year on 12 blades, unless you shave once every 3 days.

Wal-Mart Razors of Equal Quality

While it is obvious that Tough Blade does not deliver as close of a shave as the higher quality, more expensive Fusion ProGlide blades; we tried to find a set of 12 blades at Wal-Mart of comparable quality and price.

Guess What? - Tough Blade actually won that challenge. Razor blades are becoming increasingly expensive year after year. To date there are no 3 blade razors that compare to the Tough Blade's price point. The only way to match the price is to compare it with disposable razors. Such razors are usually only good for 1 to 3 uses and don't provide a close shave. Disposable razors don't even attempt to claim the ability to last one month each.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Apply Shaving Cream
  2. The first step is to apply shaving cream to the area of the skin you wish to shave - the type of shaving cream you use is a matter of preference.

  3. Wet Blade
  4. Run the blade under water to wet it, this helps the blade move more smoothly across the skin.

  5. Shave
  6. Shave in any direction or angle.

  7. Wash and After Shave
  8. Wash any excess shaving cream from your face and apply after shave. Applying after shave is optional, the purpose of it is to prevent infection of minor cuts.

How It Works

The secret behind Tough Blade is the three blade design. These three blades are angled perfectly to work together to give you a clean shave but each of them has a different function. The first blade lifts the hair follicle out of the skin, while the second blade cuts the hair and the third blade finishes the cut creating a smooth finish.

Save Money

Tough Blade helps you save an immense amount of money. Electric razors and replacement blades are expensive. Replacement blades only last for a limited amount of time. Tough Blade comes with enough replacement blades to give you a close shave for an entire year. This saves you from wasting money on other razors and blades.

Features

  • Extra Blades
  • This product comes with an additional 12 blades ensuring your razor will last for an entire year.

  • Microtouch Trimmer
  • Every order also comes with a MicroTouch trimmer which helps with all of your precision grooming needs. The trimmer can be used on your ears, nose, sideburns, eyebrows and neck.

  • Stand
  • You can also purchase a stand for your Tough Blade. The stand is an additional price and comes with a 2 year warranty. It will hold Tough Blade, the MicroTouch trimmer and comes with six additional blades.

  • Rubberized Grip
  • The rubberized grip makes this product easy and comfortable to hold. It also gives you a secure grip so you never have to worry about the razor slipping while you are using it.

  • Shave Your Head Too
  • You can also use Tough Blade to shave your head. It will gently glide over any bumps or ridges giving you that polished look.

  • Travel
  • This product is perfect to travel with because of its small design. Unlike an electric razor you never have to worry about forgetting your charger at home or about finding an outlet.

Cons

  • Color
  • This product comes in a blue and bright orange combination. For those of you who do not like vibrant colors this product might be an eyesore.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is the Trimmer Cordless?
  • Yes, the Microtouch Trimmer is cordless. It is battery operated.

Alternatives

  • Electric Razor
  • Electric razors are either battery operated or they have a cord. Cords can get in the way and limit mobility, and if your battery is dead than your razor is useless. These types of razors can also be costly. Tough Blade does not require batteries or an outlet, once the blade dulls just apply a new one.

  • Disposable Razors
  • Disposable razors range in price and quality. Some are cheap but result in minor cuts and rashes. Others are expensive and can cost you a fortune because you go through them rapidly.

Conclusion

Our research has lead us to the following: The Tough Blade will probably not stand up to its clam of providing "perfect shaves" every time, for "a full year" using only 12 blades. With that said, price is still very reasonable for a 3 blade razor system. There are much better razors available at local retailers; however, you get what you pay for. The free bonus trimmer is very similar to an old product called the Micro Touch Max which sold for $14.99.

Buy or Not Buy? - It's worth a shot. You have to buy razors anyways right?

Close Shave With Any Razor

Which razor you use to shave your face or body, only plays a 50% role in how close your shave will be. Taking the proper steps to condition your skin for a close shave will have a significant impact. Here are some helpful articles that allow you to get a better shave with any razor:

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tough Blade online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tough Blade online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Helpful Videos

41 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.7
Tough Blade Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
21

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Jerry Petri - (Montrose, CO)
Posted: 30 Jun 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Junk!

As the rule goes, "If something sounds too good to be true, it usually is"! I might get one or two shaves and then I'm changing the blade. The only way that they'll last a year is by not using them at all!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Frank Chanler - (Harrisburg, NC)
Posted: 18 Nov 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Bet Brett Farve does not use this product. Blades are farther apart so easier to clean is a lie as is a year's worth. You cannot clean the blades without absolutely knocking the blade off the razor. I will post on facebook page so my friends will not buy product. Also, be careful when ordering. When they ask you for upgrade you will be charged for standard as well as the upgrade. Sneaky all the way around. Do not let Brett fool you. He makes a mint on the ad but does not use the product. Very dissatisfied customer.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Bill Oklahoma - (Weslaco, TX)
Posted: 28 Jan 2016
I Regret Buying it!

So Far Not Impress

Bought this and got 3shaves out of first blade didn't clean up good either had to use hot water to clean the stubble and a Qtip work great first time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
John - (Saint Louis, MO)
Posted: 10 Feb 2016
I Regret Buying it!

I Regret Buying It!

Cannot get a decent 2nd shave from the blade. Most blades from other companies are better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mike Muscatine Ia - (Hanford, CA)
Posted: 24 Jan 2016
I Regret Buying it!

What a RIP OFF

Disposable razors are better than this. I will never trust a TV ad again The blades are so dull I can't even shave with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Gene Vardeman - (Repton, AL)
Posted: 22 Sep 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Do Not Buy It

GO to the local store and buy you some disposable razors they will be better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Joe Decarlo - (Layton, UT)
Posted: 13 Oct 2015
I Regret Buying it!

A Purchase of Your Blades

I bought your blades recently and have used them for the last month. I just want to let you know that the shave I got was the same shave I got 20 years ago. It was not smooth at all and your commercial are nothing but misleading information. I'm sorry your product is nothing like you say and is not worth what it cost at all. As far as your commercial it is all lies and mis information so shame on you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mark - (Boaz, AL)
Posted: 31 Jan 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Didn't Recieve Order

I didn't recieve my order and the web site won't let me check status and when I call phone number it is always busy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Alfred Stewart - (Mound, MN)
Posted: 16 Jan 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Difficult To Order

I had trouble with the site while ordering and was charged for two orders. When trying to contact customer service, I was met with nothing but a buzzing signal, which I believe is avoiding the customer. A reputable company does not resort to this kind of behavior.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Sammy Kiser - (Chino, CA)
Posted: 27 Jan 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Can't Reach Customer Service

I never received my order for $66.00 from Tough Blades. It's ridiculous! Every time you try to reach them by phone the damn line is busy. I just want my money back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Robert - (Malvern, AR)
Posted: 02 Feb 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Order Not Received

I ordered and paid $27.98 for this product over two months ago and have not received it or any other information. The phone number they list has a constant busy tone and no other means of contacting them are provided. I did receive an email with my order number that said my order was completed. Apparently, this means they now have my money, end of story.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Victor Huntington - (Hazel Crest, IL)
Posted: 08 Feb 2015
I Regret Buying it!

I paid for the Tough Blade but have not received anything yet. This appears to be a rip off.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Merrill Owens - (Saint Marys, PA)
Posted: 04 Jan 2016
I Regret Buying it!

I purchased a Tough Blade Razor and like the razor but the razor has broken. I have only used 2 Blades. What will you all do about it? I have read some bad reviews, I hope they don't live up to their words.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Allen - (Freeport, IL)
Posted: 26 Feb 2015
I Recommend Buying it!

They Work Good Enough

I tried them and they work good enough. I used the razors to shave both my head and face. What I can tell you us that its very comoareable to the Mach 3 Razors. There is nothing really special about them, other than the price. Although they are advertised as being constructed from German steel, I found this made no difference at all. They last about as long as any other 3 blade razor with a conditioning strip. If I saw them locally I would buy again. But because if the long shipping wait, I think I'll resort back to stir bought razors; as the only real additional benifit is the price. Also if you are a first time buyer, the free trimmer is awesome! I'm very happy with mine. I use it about once a month to shave nose hair and ear hear. It works perfect. I've even used it to trim out of control eyebrows. Yes I recommend buying it, but no, I will not make a repeat purchase.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
John Macarol - (Collierville, TN)
Posted: 21 Jan 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Way Over Charged

I was over charged for a double order that sells for $19.99 which I only ordered one of. The shipping costs out of sight and they must be coming from China. I must of been in a coma when purchasing this but it's okay, I will take the loss for my stupidity. I will donate them to the homeless shelter. Brett Favre, wake up and get away from these guys because your reputation is at stake. Oh, and the call for 100 gallon of gas for free, what a sham.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Juan L. Cruz - (Cullman, AL)
Posted: 28 Jul 2016
I Regret Buying it!

So Disappointed

I wrote a review earlier and since it wasn't a positive one it got deleted. Also the comment feature has been taken off. But Here is my review. The one I wrote on Amazon. I am pissed. I didn't buy this through Amazon but so far this is the only place to write a review. Not even on the toughblade.com can you write a review. But it is extremely funny that there are positive reviews there. How?

Anyways...the advertised price was $19.99 including the trimmer. For me it came out to about $33.00. Why? They took the money out on the day of the order. Later it was reversed. Weeks after the order I called to get a status and noticed they took it out again, Mind you, I live on a tight budget and always keep track of my spending. Two or three days later I get a notification from the bank that I over drafted. So I go into my account and found that once again they had reversed the withdraw and again charged my account, so that's that.

Eager and desperate to receive my order like a little boy, thinking that this blade is going to be the bomb once again I was disappointed. Good News from Gillette had sharper blades. I shaved my chest, face and head like I always do but noticed once I started on the chest that I had to keep shaving because I would still feel hair. Got to my face and forget it, to many curves for this blade. If this were a car I would have died in an accident. My head, also the same. Shaved and shaved. So yeah, cheap cheap cheap. The cartridge get falling off every time a tried to clean!!!

And to make matters worst, I dropped the blade to see it break in 3 pieces. I first was impressed when I took it out of the plastic. It felt strong and light. I had a far off better result with Good News and a Dollar Shave gift.

Never been so disappointed in my entire life. And it's even worst that a HOF quarterback has his face on it. Well That's all folks!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Will - (Lyons, IL)
Posted: 10 Jan 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Worked Great

I've had mine close to 9 months and it works just as great as the other companies blades but I've found they last longer. I shave about once every 3 days and change out my blades once a month.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David - (Midland, MI)
Posted: 15 Apr 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Cheap Product do Not Buy

It breaks and does not shave well. Beware of the Limited 30 day warranty. It will break when you replace the blasde cartridge which is just after one month.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dale - (Evart, MI)
Posted: 17 Aug 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Offer for 100gallons of Gas Coupons

Ordered razors 8-14-15 got a phone call 8-17-15 telling me of 100 dollar coupons for gasoline for a dollar. Wanted my credit card number they had my first number and the last four digits of my credit card! Watch out I hope Tough Blade reps get to the bottom of this illegal scam.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David - (Midland, MI)
Posted: 15 Apr 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Cheap Product do Not Buy

Product will break soon after you start using it and if that happens after the 30 day warranty they will not help you out. Buyer Beware.
This shaver does not shave very well either, blocky contact of shaving blade on the face requires multiple passes to get a complete shave.
Hopefully, Brett Farve will stop endorsing this inferior product. Sorry Brett, your performance is as good as usual but this product is not in the playoffs, its a loser! You're not.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dr D - (Chicago, IL)
Posted: 08 Sep 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Razor blades are excellent but the handle that holds razor blade is cheap plastic and breaks easily. Now I am stuck with a
Bunch of razors and no way to use them!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Ken Thacker - (Elkhorn City, KY)
Posted: 20 May 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Theres no way the 12 cartridges will shave for a yr I get 2 shaves out of a cartridge.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Allen Moser - (Somerset, KY)
Posted: 28 Aug 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Awsome

These are the best blades I've ever used, I bought my tuffblade at family dollar 2 months ago and still using the first blade, these people saying they don't stay sharp are inexperienced at shaving or something I've been using the same one for 2 months now and it's as sharp as the first time I used it! These blades are AwSOME! I.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Don - (Port Angeles, WA)
Posted: 14 Feb 2015
I Recommend Buying it!

Micro Touch Is A Good Brand

This review is for the Micro Touch Brand, not specifically the razor. I've been searching for two days, to find reviews on the the tough blade. After viewing about 5 sites, I'll I've found is complaints about shipping time, customer service, or difficulty ordering on their website and 1-800 number. I wish people would leave reviews about the actual product itself. I am about to order a set because I trust Micro Touch. I have purchased many of their products in the past and have always been a satisfied customer. When you buy something that is As Seen on TV and order directly from the Official retailer, you should expect poor customer service, confusing sales pages and slow shipping times. This is the same with ever As Seen on TV item!

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Bertha
Posted: 14 Feb 2015

How can you possibly say the Micro Touch is a good brand? Their most recent product was the 'One Razor' which was an ultimate fail! I bought one for my husband and he couldn't even figure out how to use it. Look at the reviews for one razor on this site and you'll see just how good of a brand name micro touch is. That 1 product ruined it for me. My husband is interested in buying one of these newly advertised razors now, but I'm doing my best to convince him not to.

Reply
Alex Holman
Posted: 14 Feb 2015

You said it right is your reply. The problem with the micro touch one, is that they marketed it to the "every man", when in fact its a specialty razor. You need to know how to shave with a safety razor, or else you won't get a proper shave. I had bought one of them and at first had the worst shave of my life. Later once I researched and practiced how to shave with a safety razor I couldn't have been more pleased!

Micro Touch One
Posted: 15 Apr 2015

Just because your husband's a dumbass doesn't give you the right to say microtouch brand sucks. The one razor is a great item; however, the twist open design isn't as good as a locking one. It keeps the razor straight and even shaves super close.

James - (Sacramento, CA)
Posted: 29 Apr 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Jimmy "DA" G

Tough Blade is everything that was advertised. It is the best shave I ever had other than from a Barber with a very sharp straight Raysor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
J - (Lincoln, NE)
Posted: 02 Nov 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Rip off They Try to Sell You More Crap

Try getting your money back good luck.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mike - (Sidney, MT)
Posted: 06 Apr 2016
I have something to say!

Bought razor on first blade and handle broke
Got 11 more blades. Would like to buy new handle to use up blades.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David
Posted: 15 Apr 2016

My problem also, after 45 days it broke where the blade cartridge attachment is made. Thety would not send me a new handle because it was outside the 30 day warranty. Bad product bad scam! Inferior product do not buy. Save your money for a Bic razor set.

Reply
BBC - (Woonsocket, RI)
Posted: 08 Apr 2015
I have something to say!

A Little Patience

I conduct reviews of this nature for such products and the aforementioned complaints coupled via other sources has my firm investigating this company. Unfortunately, Mr. Favre probably "sold" his soul for his advertising involvement. One comment you may all particularly find comical is of a complainant offering to shave Mr. Favre's face for one entire month while utilizing one blade and then requesting an honest answer regarding this product. We'll get to the bottom of this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jj - (Weston, WI)
Posted: 16 Apr 2016
I have something to say!

Doesn't Make Sense

I don't think old Brett even cares about shaving, always looking scruffy. Peyton Manning would have been a better choice to represent.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Randy Butler - (Clarksville, TN)
Posted: 17 Apr 2016
I have something to say!

How Long is the Shipping?

I ordered the toughblade eight days ago and they said they were shipping it last weekend, but when I went to fed-ex they didn't even recognize the tracking number. I am wondering if I am ever going to even get it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Barba Sol - (Niles, IL)
Posted: 13 Jul 2015
I have something to say!

Toughblade Review

Just bought one at the drugstore and shaved 1 day stubble. It was a pretty good shave. Comparable to Mach 3 and better than disposables. Not as close a Fusion but really not bad. If you alternate wet shave and electric shave like I do you can go a long way with the blades. Also I shave with foam and find the blades last longer and don't get clogged like they do with gel shaving cream.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dano - (Fayetteville, AR)
Posted: 27 Jan 2015
I have something to say!

Where are the Reviews?

Seems a little shady as you can't read the reviews what are they afraid of when you click on read reviews it redirects you to another add.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Enid Jacobs
Posted: 29 Jan 2015

The reason you can't read customer reviews is because there are none posted yet. Tough blade is a very new product. If anyone has tried it please share your experiences. I'm looking for some honest reviews as well.

Reply
David
Posted: 15 Apr 2016

This is not a good product do not buy. The company knows it and they'll keep selling one time purchase. Don't waste your money.

Merrill Owens - (Saint Marys, PA)
Posted: 04 Jan 2016
I have a Question

Broken Razor

I purchased this razor have used 2 blades and razor broke. What will you do about it?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David
Posted: 15 Apr 2016

You just got scammed man. Throw it away and get some Bic razors or other shaver.

Reply
Law - (Dumas, TX)
Posted: 02 Dec 2016
I have a Question

American Made

My question is. Why not American made?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS