MENU

Taclight Lantern

261 Votes
Rate this product
Taclight Lantern Taclight Lantern or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Bell and Howell Tac Light Lantern uses proprietary bulbs to offer twice the light of standard LED bulbs. Such a design is bright enough to signal to others, efficiently light up a camp site so that it is safe at night, or provide emergency light as necessary. With a collapsible inner shell holding the LED bulbs, there is protection to be found in the hard, outer shell designed with military grade plastic and metal components.

Taclight Lantern Taclight Lantern or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Taclight Lantern is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Taclight Lantern being discontinued. Taclight Lantern may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Taclight Lantern being discontinued. Taclight Lantern may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Features

  • Bright

    The Bell and Howell Tac Light Lantern gives you light that is twice as bright as normal lanterns, making it a better option for lantern uses. This light is twice as bright as regular lanterns, which means you can see clearer and farther.

  • Collapsible

    It collapses down to the height of a smart phone and is only a few inches thick, making it perfect for storage.

  • Little Weight

    The weight comes to less than one pound which makes it perfectly transported in a camping bag or hiking backpack without adding too much weight.

  • Bright

    With a single lantern you can fill a whole room with light which is why it is so popular for emergency settings. It adequately enough that it can be seen two nautical miles away so lighting up a campsite is a breeze.

  • Temperature Resistant

    With military grade designs, the outer shell can withstand heat and water, in addition to extreme temperatures. This means you can take it camping during the winter and set it in the snow without it freezing. You can accidentally place it in the fire and it won’t melt.

  • Impact Resistant

    Designed to be impact resistant too, you could accidentally step on it or hit it while preparing your camping site and it would be perfectly fine.

  • Magnetic Base

    Deluxe versions come with a magnetic base which allow you to do more than just hang it from a tree. You can stick it magnetically to a metal surface, such as a car roof, and work throughout the night.

  • Proprietary Bulbs

    Using special company brand LED bulbs this design is smaller, brighter, and even more energy efficient than generic LED bulbs.

Pros

  • Great for Camping

    You can snuggly pack this light anywhere in or around a pack without damaging it. So you can shove it in the bottom of a hiking backpack full of gear, sit that pack down on the ground, and it won’t hurt it. Not all units have this strength. The freedom to treat your pack as you normally would without fear of breaking the light makes it well worth taking on an outdoor adventure of any kind.

  • Flexible

    This unit is one of the easiest to take with you anywhere. Even if you only need light around the house to find something in a dark closet, this light opens and closes with ease proving very useful in all endeavors. The hooks on the sides pop up so you can hang it if you don’t want to use the magnetic bottom. Should you choose to keep one in the car, then you have emergency light sufficient to fix problems in the dark, flag someone down, or wait comfortably for a tow truck.
    Built strong to withstand the elements! .

Alternatives

  • Sierra Leds

    The Sierra LED camping light is a bright LED camping lantern which is designed for use camping, fishing, or during emergencies and power outages.

    Green in color, this lantern is compact, lightweight, and has a similar collapsible design. The design lets users slowly collapse the main part of the lantern in which the bulb is placed so as to dim the lights, and then raise it to get a brighter light. Military grade plastic is used on the lanterns, making them useful long term. They are water resistant. Batteries have a long life span, with thirty premium LED batteries to give maximum brightness.

    If users want, they can put rechargeable batteries in the bottom of the lantern to power it. Doing so enables the LED’s to last longer and avoids the cost of regular disposable batteries. Such a design is useful indoors and outdoors.

  • Ultra Bright by Divine

    Divine LEDs has the Ultra Bright LED lantern which is suitable for use in camping situations, for hiking, during power outages, storms, hurricanes, or other emergencies. Purportedly the brightest lanterns available, it takes a few batteries to power the thirty LED bulbs that produce ample lighting.

    You can insert rechargeable batteries into the mix to ensure proper lighting. This light is made with military grade and water resistant plastic so that it can be used inside and outside. Its collapsible design lets you reduce the entire unit into a compact product for simple and easy transportation when you are on the go. With only one push the whole thing collapses.

  • Suaoki Camping Lantern

    Suaoki makes a bright camping lantern that is the same compact design and powered by three batteries. Designed to be collapsible, it can be taken on hiking trips or camping to offer light at night. Available in two forms, the light can be compacted and used as a flashlight, or it can be expanded and used as a lantern. When compressed, it folds down into its shell and is protected from damage. Used as both a flashlight and lantern means it can be used recreationally outdoors, or indoors during things like power outages.

  • Browon Camping Lantern

    Browon Solar LED Lantern is rechargeable and lightweight. It can be brought easily on camping trips, while hiking, or backpacking. Solar panels installed alleviate the need to worry about batteries, as they let you sit the lantern in the sun to recharge. Such an option makes it suitable for outdoor situations like camping or hiking because it can charge during the day and be operational at night. However, there is a slot for batteries should you want to include a back up power source. Outer shell designs are impact resistant and water resistant.

  • Tough Light

    Tough Light has a rechargeable LED lantern that offers two hundred hours of light from the single charge. It also charges call phones. The USB charging outlet can be used to charge other devices while on the go or during an emergency situation.

    With a lithium ion battery it holds a charge for up to nine months so it need only be charged twice per year. Then it will be ready to go during any emergency situation. Military grade plastic molds and rubber hold the lantern in place and make it water resistant. You can drop it from five feet high and no damage will be sustained.

  • Complaints

    1. Defective

      There were a few negative reviews that stated that this product was defective straight out of the box.

      One customer claimed the their Tac light lantern turned on after receiving, but would not turn back off.

    2. Hard on Batteries

      One customer complained that this product was very hard on batteries. They claimed that upon using a fresh set of AA batteries, the lantern started to dim after only about 90 minutes of use.

      Customer also stated that this product was good for short uses but not well suited for emergency power outages or camping purposes.

    3. False Advertising

      There were several complaints that this product was falsely advertised as it was not nearly as bright or as durable of a lantern as was shown on the website.

    4. Cheap

      Several customers complained that this product was poorly made. Many claimed that they expected this product to be built solid and have a metal casing, however were disappointed to find a lantern made of plastic.

    5. Customer Service

      There was at least one instance that a customer claimed to have had trouble with the company's customer service department. Customer claimed that the company never returned their emails asking for a refund. They eventually gave up and threw the product in the trash.

    Warnings

    • Keep Dry

      This product runs off of batteries and is an electric device. Although this lantern is advertised to be water proof, it is still a good idea to keep Taclight Lantern dry. It could possibly cause an electric shock or possibly malfunction if any water gets into its circuitry.

    • Emergencies

      Always be sure to be prepared in the event of emergencies. While it is a good idea to have flashlights and lanterns ready, you may also want to include candles or torches in your emergency kit as a secondary back up.

    • Fire

      Although, advertised to be strong enough for extreme elements. It is still a good idea not to test this claim at home. Do not attempt to test your Taclight Lantern in a fire, as this could be dangerous. Not only may you cause damage to your product, you may also end up hurting yourself.

    Negative Aspects

    • Not Suited for Camping

      This lantern is electric and may not be very well suited for camping or outdoor uses. It may be difficult to find a source of electricity or batteries when outdoors, therefore some people may prefer to use gas powered lanterns.

    • Size

      This is also a rather small lantern. Although it does have powerful LED bulbs, it is likely not big enough to light up an entire large room on its own.

    Tips & Tricks

    1. Lifetime Guarantee

      Taclight Lantern is back by a full lifetime guarantee.

    2. Offer

      You may choose the special double offer for this product. For a small fee, they will include a second Taclight Lantern. Offer also includes free shipping and handling.

    3. Not in Stores

      This lantern is not available in any store and can be purchased exclusively online.

    4. Canada

      Taclight Lantern is also available to be shipped to Canada. Just follow the link on the product's website.

    Wise Advice

    Do not buy Taclight Lantern online before searching Amazon.
    - Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

    Wise Advice

    Do not buy Taclight Lantern online before searching Amazon.
    - Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

29 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Taclight Lantern Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
1
4 STARS
3 STARS
4
2 STARS
1 STARS
24

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 17 Nov 2020 Fiona B - (Toronto, ON)

Not Worth It

Toronto, Canada. I bought it at the local "as seen on TV", $20cad. Very bright, blinding light, for a brief period of time. Luminocity diminishes very quickly. Definitely, not a good choice for emergency situations. Further, it does not shut off when you close it. I got to remove a battery to accomplish this. Used twice for half-hour each time. When batteries wear out, I am throwing it into the trash. Can anyone recommend a better product?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Mar 2020 Bobby - (Raleigh, NC)

Nice But

Lights will not go off, you have to take at least one battery out while not in use. I store the battery in the compartment on the top after you unscrew it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Nov 2019 Higgins - (Brooklin, ME)

Help - Batteries

We can't take the bottom off of the track lantern to replace batteries - we turned the bottom and it stops, won't come off. Please help, thanks.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Nov 2019 Higgins - (Burlington, VT)

Help - Batteries

We can't take the bottom off of the track lantern to replace batteries - we turned the bottom and it stops, won't come off. Please help, thanks.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Dec 2018 Ed - (New Smyrna Beach, FL)

Taclight Lantern Scam

Saw the commercial on TV and ordered 4 of them (two for 19.99 + handling for the second "free" one) so I figured about $50 something for the 4 of them. Got the box and it had 6 lanterns in it with 6 packs of batteries too. Didn't order the batteries or the extra two lanterns. Looked further into the box and found the bill for the entire box was $172.59. They claimed that I ordered the upgraded lanterns, which I didn't, and the batteries, which I didn't. Called them to ask what was going on and they simply said send them back (at my own cost of course) and of course I am stopping the charge on my account. Bad business practice as far as I am concerned. I think they try to be looked at like Bell & Howell and from what I read elsewhere they are not the same reliable company. Live and learn. I really don't like online ordering. You have no idea what you are getting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Jun 2018 David teters - (Spencer, WV)

Taclight bad Light

Mine fell in water for a day and it was filled with water.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Apr 2018 michael - (Osawatomie, KS)

Crap Product and Crap Company

The first time I actually needed light it failed me. It is a cheap chinese trinket only meant to sell of of shelf and not actually use. Ended up costing me more than sticker price. Customer service was inept and could care less since I no longer have the receipt and cannot return. Will never again buy any product made by bell howell. A light is something that needs to be reliable, not a sick joke.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Apr 2018 Pete - (Anderson, CA)

Don't Ever Drop

Cracked the first time I put it in my tool kit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Apr 2018 Steve Brock - (South San Francisco, CA)

These Lights are Junk ,far From Military Grade !

These Taclight Lanterns are a joke ,I ordered 2 . One for me and one for a friend. I watched the commercial where the guy said indestructible military grade and tost it up in the back of a military vehicle to show it wouldn't break. So when mine came in the mail , I installed some batteries turned it on real bright. So my buddy came over and I said hey got you one of these indestructible Taclight Lanterns and said watch this. I was sitting on my couch tost it 3 ft in the air and it broke in about 20 pieces on my laminated floor. These are made out of the cheapest plastic you can get. There are Junk ,watch some of the YouTube videos with people seeing how strong they are its comical. I do not recommend these lights unless your going to wrap it in bubble wrap in case it falls over so it doesn't break.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jan 2018 MARTIN GOVER - (Macon, MO)

Taclight Lantern Doesn't Turn on / off - the FIX!

OK so I bought 3 Taclight Lanterns and none worked - wrote previous review an hour ago. Tried different re-chargeable batteries, none worked, even on full charge. So took the thing apart ( undid the 4 screws on battery compartment ) and found wriggling the white wire made it intermittently come on. A bit more head-scratching and then - Eureka - I saw the manufacturing error ( at least on my 3 lanterns ) which causes one of the end batteries to not engage with the 'positive' metal connector piece. Why, because the silly people have got the plastic innards the wrong way around relative to the Pos / Neg Battery end. If you study the battery compartment carefully, you will see there are two plastic ridges either side of the positive end which just manage to prevent the battery from making contact. In the Negative end ( with the spring ) the plastic housing is flat. Clearly they are the wrong way around and this may affect many thousands of units. A nail file, or in my case, a more aggressive attack with some thin pliers, and I quickly removed the offending 'ridges' of plastic stopping the battery + end from connecting, and all 3 lanterns now work perfectly. As for some reviewers saying the unit does not turn off, this is probably because the whoever put yours together didn't align the spring with the release catch ( see inside once undone the 4 screws above. SImply align the switch / release with the spring piece, screw it back together and it should work fine.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jan 2018 MARTIN GOVER - (Collinsville, IL)

Taclight Lanterns Will Not Switch On

I bought three Taclight Lanterns. None of them will switch on. Have tried rechargeable batteries in then, of two different makes, fully recharged. Wondering if they do not like rechargeables. Spent some time looking for a switch in case I was missing the obvious. But watched the video of them being switched on simply by pulling lantern part open / up, only mine ( all 3 ) do not switch on at all. The taclight torches do work, bought five of them as gifts, but lanterns are a flop. Cheap base also does not screw on snugly, does not catch thread well. WIll now incestigate wiring as 'made in China' so something may not be connected properly. Pretty rubbish quality only just acceptable if they actually worked. Mine do not. At all. Not a lumen never mind lots of lumen. Not happy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Jan 2018 Richard - (Edna, TX)

I Will Not Shut Off

Only way to turn off the light is to remove the batteries.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 17 Jan 2018 Robert

Same issue for me. Only way to turn it off is to remove batteries.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Oct 2017 Richard Bahr - (Pauls Valley, OK)

Crap Item

I received the pro and reg. Lantern and I must say these are the crappiest things I have ever purchased and I want my money back. The pro lasted 30 seconds before it went up in smoke and a flash wires were smashed and shorted together. The 2nd on lasted 2 on / off cycles. The wire was not evened soldered onto the switch just wedged in there. The wire's are to small for the current load, and do not use nicad batteries because they draw so much that the batteries get hot. I would like to see the unit that the spokes person threw in the back of the deuce and half I betcha there were several pieces after he threw it in there. Garbage, I will not recommended because these are dangerous could start a fire the way the 1st shorted out. No wonder they send the legal paper for arbitration, instead of court. But I think I will be speaking with the states attorney on this dangerous item.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Oct 2017 William Foster - (Edgewood, KY)

Lantern Won't Turn Off

Ordered pair of b & h lanterns. I believe one will be satisfactory. Second won't turn off. Any suggestion how to fix?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Oct 2017 Lori - (Ripon, WI)

Tracking Info

I would like to know the order status of my order # 23627112.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Oct 2017 Marius Arsenault - (Ukiah, CA)

Extremelly Bad Design

I bought those Tac lights and the normal batteries are too short for the space allowed; I had to strech the little spring in order to establish contact.
Further more to maintain the batteries in place, I had to use scothtape to hold them in place. And be very careful to rurn on and off those Tac lights.

I will be careful from now on to buy Bell and Howel products.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Mar 2017 Pam - (Lake City, FL)

Does Not Turn off when Closed

Received as gift. Will not turn off. It is useless in that condition. Must remove batteries to turn off, where do you keep them handy to use the lantern?

Called customer service multiple times. No response.
Save your money, buy a flashlight locally that you can see how it works OR doesn't work as the case is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Mar 2017 Unhappy Steve - (Monroe, NC)

False Advertising!

I canceled my recent order because of the company's false advertising. The TV ad AND the website video both offer a free upgrade to the deluxe model with the magnetic base "if you order today. " When I placed the order on their website, the last screen gave 2 options: pay $5 extra per light for the deluxe model, or order the regular model without the magnetic base. Confused, I called the customer support number and asked if I would get the deluxe model for no extra cost, as the ads stated, if I ordered today. After talking to her manager, the representative told me I would have to pay $5 extra per light if I wanted the deluxe model with the magnetic base. I promptly canceled my order.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Feb 2017 Rosa - (Winter Springs, FL)

Great Deal, Great Product

Customer service was great, took about 2-3 weeks to come in. i thought they were plastic at first, but then noticed that the outer casing is plastic. But the structure is made from airplane Aluminum, just like the commercial states. i bought 5 of them. They will come in handy for camping and Gifts for our outdoorsy friends.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Feb 2017 Pissed - (Fairview, NC)

Really Pissed

I placed an order foe one, which should have included an extra one for free, plus free shipping. When I hit submit, they bahowed my "order"' showed I ordered three! They billed my account $89.89 instead od $19.99! Pissed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Feb 2017 Travis - (Rathdrum, ID)

Made of Plastic

Recieved my tac light lantern from usps and the box was opened and the top part of the lantern was craked in have, the bottom part was cracked and the lens had a peice out of it. It is made from placstic and I don't think that would be considered military grade. It is bright and I will order another one. They will not pay for you to ship it back, but won't ship you antother one until you ship the broken one. We will see if they send me another one not broken.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Jan 2017 David - (Gainesville, GA)

Don't buy. Have to remove a battery to turn off. Useless if needed in the dark.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Jan 2017 Roxy - (Springfield, OH)

Thank you all for posting your experiences with these people. I was all set to order three : one for myself and one for each of my adult kids. You saved me my money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Jan 2017 Sue Vohs - (Bruce, WI)

Very Bad Customer Service, Don't Buy!

Been over 2 months and still have not got it. Now they are saying it's delayed because of the inauguration!? Guess I made the wrong Decision to buy!

don't buy it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jan 2017 Third Texan - (Mcgregor, IA)

Absolute Scam

I placed an order for the tack / ultimate lantern online December 12, 2016. I waited patiently up to a week prior to christmas and then got an email stating "temporarily out of stock. I tried repeatedly for a few days to get customer support online and via phone to no avail. After reading the other reviews it is pretty apparent that this is a scam by folks who are pushed by Marketing to keep up the TV ads ( their still on ) and want to get all the back orders they can and make as much money as they can on our backs. I checked my bank account a few times after and the billing amount was not charged against my account. Lucky! This pisses me off. What is their motivation? They are not collecting any money - they get people all excited about the product while unable to deliver. All I can think is that when you are least expecting it - they will bill you cc after you have forgoten about it. The only way you can contest the purchase according to my large bank is to cancel the card. Major pia this was.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Taclight Lantern Infomercial
Taclight Lantern Infomercial
Taclight Lantern Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼