MENU

Tac Light

280 Votes
Rate this product
Tac Light Tac Light or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Tac Light, made by Bell Howell, is a high performance flashlight that is 22x brighter than a regular flashlight. Light produced by the Tac Light can be seen up to 2.3 miles, or 2 nautical miles, away. The produced light is registered at 600 lumens, while an ordinary flashlight only provides 27 lumens.

The product has a durable, aircraft grade casing that can withstand temperatures ranging from at least 212 degrees fahrenheit ( boiling water ) to being frozen. It is also lightweight and can fit into a purse or pocket.

Additional features, such as Strobe Mode, make this light more versatile than a traditional flashlight.

Tac Light Tac Light or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Tac Light is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Tac Light being discontinued. Tac Light may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Tac Light being discontinued. Tac Light may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Pros

  • Durable

    With the high grade casing, the flashlight is designed to last. As demonstrated in the product's video, the light can be submerged in boiling water, frozen in a block of ice, or run over by an SUV and still work. The light also works well underwater.

  • Convenient

    The Tac Light is small enough to carry unobtrusively in a purse or briefcase, or to store in a car's trunk, glove compartment or center console.

  • Multiple Uses

    Not only can the Tac Light be used to provide lighting, the device can also be placed in different "modes" for different uses.

  • Warranty

    The product comes with a lifetime guarantee from Bell Howell.

  • Easy to Hold

    The grip design on the flashlight is intended to make the light easy to hold and use. It has a curling surface to help prevent the user from dropping the light, and a strike right allowing the user to grip the light firmly.

Tac Light Pro Video Review

Features

  • Bright Mode

    Setting the Tac Light on the Bright Mode makes the flashlight shine a steady, high beam of light.

  • Low Light Mode

    Using the product on the Low Light Mode allows the user to still see light, but the light appears to be much dimmer.

  • Strobe Mode

    The Strobe Mode makes the Bright Mode light pulse on and off in quick and steady bursts. According to the manufacturer, the Strobe Mode can be used to stun people when the light is aimed at them.

  • Sos Mode

    When in the SOS Mode, the Tac Light will flash SOS in morse code until the light is either turned off or switched to a different mode.

  • Zoom Function

    The Zoom Function allows the light from the flashlight to be narrowed, allowing a smaller and more precise area to be illuminated.

How it's Different from Competitors

There are other tactical flashlights on the market, with a wide range of prices and features. Most claim to be very durable and long lasting, with light output ranging upwards of 1,000 lumen.

The Tac Light appears to be the only tactical flashlight on the market that offers all of the different modes of lights, such as Strobe Mode and SOS Mode. Depending on what the user intends to use their tactical flashlight for, the Tac Light may be the better deal due to it's versatility.

Concerns

  • Power Source

    It is not clear from the information provided whether the Tac Light is battery powered and / or rechargeable, like some competitors. There is also no mention of whether batteries or a charge cord comes with the product.

    The buyer should be prepared to spend extra money on batteries or a power cord and make sure backup batteries are available at all times.

Does It Really Work?

Although no proof has been provided as to whether the Strobe Mode really stuns people like the advertisement claims, based on the information provided, the Tac Light really does seem to work. The light produced seems much brighter than a regular flashlight and can be seen at much farther distances than a regular flashlight.

Claims regarding the products durability also seem legitimate. The advertisement showed the light still working even when frozen in a block of ice, being put into a pan of boiling water and after being run over by a Humvee.

Negative Aspects

  • Batteries

    Batteries are not included with the purchase of the Tac Light. Either three AAA batteries or one rechargeable 18650 are required to be purchased separately in order to begin to operate the light.

Critical Advice

The Tac Light is marketed as an emergency light to have on hand in unforeseen situations, however, batteries are not included. If you are to use this light as an emergency tool, please ensure that extra AAA batteries are stored along with the light. If using the rechargeable version, ensure that an extra set is stored along with the light. In the event the batteries are drained because of unexpected overuse of the light, a set of extra batteries may save the day.

Complaints

  1. On/off Button Nonoperational

    Online users have reported that after a few weeks of use, the Tac Light on / off switch has stopped working. However, there is a lifetime guarantee on the product and so replacement is easily attainable.

  2. Lack of Lumens

    Online users have reported that the Tac Light offers fewer lumens than many other products on the market. The Tac Light shines at maximum 600 lumens, whereas there are other military grade lights which can shine up to 2400.

  3. Poor Material

    Users have reported that the materials used to manufacture the light are not sturdy. There have been online claims that the on / off button has broken within a few weeks of use due to the type of plastic.

  4. Misuse of the Bell & Howell

    One user claims that the company, Bell and Howell has sold their name to a third party manufacturer in order to produce the light. The user claims this product is not reflective of the products which Bell and Howell typically associate themselves with in terms of military grade items.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Open Packaging

    The Tac Light comes in cardboard packaging easily opened with scissors or by one's hands. The light sits in place within a plastic casing and comes with a user instruction guide booklet.

  2. Battery Insertion

    The Tac Light requires 3 AAA batteries or for the rechargeable light, one 18650 battery. Batteries are inserted by unscrewing from the bottom of the light, where the on / off switch is. A battery compartment slides out from the bottom where the battery can be installed. Review which direction the batteries should be inserted and set in accordingly. Finally, screw the bottom of the light back in place.

  3. On/off Button

    In order to begin to use the light, the on button must be turned on. It is located at the bottom of the light and to turn it on, one must press and hold it down.

  4. Lighting and Strobe Function

    The Tac Light has five lighting modes that vary in function and in degrees of brightness. The modes can be found where the on / off button is located. In order to employ different lighting modes, simply press the same button half way in to increase the level of brightness or change to the strobe light feature.

  5. Zoom Function

    There is a zoom in and out function that alters the density of the light to shine either directly at an object or at an entire area. The zoom function is located at the top of the light and is adjusted by turning the head clockwise or counterclockwise.

Save Money

Save money on the cost of batteries by buying the Tac Light version that uses rechargeable batteries. The rechargeable battery version of the light uses one 18650 battery.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Lifetime Warranty

    The Tac Light comes with a lifetime warranty and claims to stand up to the forces. If anything does malfunction during the life of its use, the consumer should contact their customer service center immediately in order to have another light sent out.

Tac Light Modes

  • High Brightness Mode

    This mode emits the greatest amount of light.

  • Medium Brightness Mode

    This mode emits a moderate amount of light.

  • Low Brightness Mode

    This mode emits a low amount of light.

  • Strobe Mode

    This mode emits a fast flashing light.

  • Sos Mode

    This mode emits the light signal for SOS emergencies in Morse code( three short flashes, three long flashes, three short flashes).

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tac Light online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tac Light online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

53 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Tac Light Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
6
4 STARS
4
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
4
1 STARS
38

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 20 Aug 2020 Bernie Schittz - (Temperance, MI)

Bell & Howell Made Movie Projectors

The name "Bell & Howell" was sold long ago. Anything associated with the name is a RIP OFF!
GOOGLE "BELL & HOWELL".

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Sep 2018 Jake - (Toronto, ON)

Not at all Waterproof

I got barbeque sauce on my new Tac Light, so I gently washed it with dish soap under a faucet, not even submerging it. The end cap was on tight. I'm a machinist with common sense, so I didn't go too tight or loose at all. It wouldn't work, so I opened it and it had water in it. I still had the receipt and box, so I took it back to Walmart and complained about false advertising. It was one day after purchase and had developed rust, but they refunded me. I bought an exact copy of the B&H Tac Light from Factory Direct for half the price and I'm convinced they're made in the same Chinese factory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Sep 2018 Hernan Monreal - (Hacienda Heights, CA)

Home Owner

Why dont you supply a phone # to speak to a real person, I been looking for warranty information on this damn Bell Howell taclight elite. It does not have enough power and the center lite feature does not work, I had it for about 2 months.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Nov 2018 Donna B

I have the same one and got the 2 for one deal. Have had for over 2 years and the power button on the end of one quit. This is the number I called and the address I sent it to for replacement. Hope this helps. 1-877-415-4824 address for return is Tac Light- Warranty 400 Returns Road Wallingford, CT 06494 . It has a lifetime warranty and they do honor it.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Dec 2018 Glynis

Thanks for the information. Couldn't find the number or address anywhere. My husband and I bought the 2 for 1 Tac Lights and both power buttons seem to have a short. Goes on sometimes then turns off on its own, you have to hit the bottom so it will go back on. I will be returning them both. Thanks again.

Posted: 11 Oct 2021 Daniel

Thank you for that information. Greatly appreciated!

Posted: 10 Jun 2018 Monte G Gordon - (Silver Spring, MD)

Cheap Chinese Junk!

Funny how they use U.S. Special forces to sell this Chinese piece of crap. I got my first two and they were defective right out of the box. I called they sent me two more no questions asked but they didn't work more than one week. Four flashlights but none work. Stay away from Chinese made Junk.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Mar 2018 Jay - (Vandalia, OH)

CUSTOMER SERVICE KNOWS THEY ARE a JOKE!

We thought we were ordering ONE Tac Light only to be charged for several other items. When we called to complain and cancel the order they said the order was already shipped and we would have to ship it back on our own. I asked why were we being charged for items that we did not order and the customer service rep started laughing like it was joke! Very unprofessional.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Feb 2018 Jim - (Westfield, MA)

Save Your Money

Only had it for three months stopped working and the spring fell out. So don’t even bother wasting your money.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Jan 2018 Dianna - (Lewisburg, TN)

Scam Beware

I ordered on 11 / 28 / 17, but never received my order while the money was debited out of my account immediately. I tried calling the number posted on their website, but it is not a working number. I have also emailed over and over, but received no response. Scam!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Nov 2017 basha - (Granville, OH)

Won't Purchase after Reading Reviews

Comment: I was planning on purchasing 6 of the lanterns as christmas presents, but after reading the first 50 or so reviews, I have now decided not to purchase. Thank you all for your truthful and honest reviews and thank you for saving me money and it seems like extreme grief and frustration!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Oct 2017 Bobby Allan - (Villa Rica, GA)

Never Again, Screwed Twice Not a Third Time

I received my first taclight for xmas from a friend. I was very pleased. Carried it all the time used it a lot, normally for only 2-3 minutes a day just to find things in dark areas in my shop. In March the batteries got low. When I removeved the cap all the inside pieces popped out, never did find a spring. I like the light so much that I ordered another from Amazon this one "within one week" the light started to flicker on high beam. Also when I shut it off it would sometimes turn back on by itself. I called bell and howell hoping just to get a couple of caps so that I could use both lights again. I was told they could di nothing that I would have to call there vendor and send both complete light assemblies back to the factory in order to get a repaid, could not just get new cap replacement. Not going to order a third light,, they are Junk. They are great before they faiil they are Junk.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Oct 2017 susan - (Lincoln City, OR)

As Seen on TV Flashlight

I received one of these flashlights for my birthday 9 / 24 I was very excited because I do early morning walks before the sun comes up. And let me tell you it is a piece of crap it worked maybe for a week maybe two. It doesn't go on now at all it started going on and then it got dimmer and dimmer until it went out. And today is 10 / 24 and it won't turn on at all. So save you money and use a 4$ flashlight that I bought at the store.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Sep 2017 Diane Masterpole - (Richmond, CA)

CROOKS

I ordered 5 flashlights. They charged me for 5 plus 5 batteries and 5 cases. I contacted them immediately to cancel order. Since it was NOT what I ordered. Never heard back. Called placed on hold for 22 minutes until a poor english speeking person saying miss there is nothing I can do. He hung up. Are you kidding me?
What a scam. Now I get to spend my entire day writing bad reviews on every site from Yelp to BBB.
So sad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Jun 2017 Henry - (Belton, SC)

Never Worked

Bought it from BJ's on a discount coupon for $12.95 on Fathers day, put batteries in it as per instructions and it wouldn't work, upon checking the switch / Battery cover found the switch to be disfunctional. Upon connecting ( with test lead ) the battery case with the light body the bulb lit brightly. Enclosed instuctions said if found to be defective ( in my lifetime ), return it ( at my expense ) to a NY address ( insured ) with a check or MO for $9.95 to cover s&h ( to utilize the warranty ) I then realized it was made in China and was a ripoff. I returned it to BJ's the same day and demanded my money back, which I received!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Feb 2017 East Troy - (East Troy, WI)

Con artist : specifically ordered one item, and they sent what they wanted to get rid of. Customer svc personal don t known their own products. Item claimed to be made in canada, another lie. Customer svc. Arrrogant'''' american greed. You won't get me again''''247 false advertizing. Your company will not succeed. "american greed".

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Jan 2017 Frances Dunwody - (Birmingham, AL)

I ordered this product and they said they would send me the extra light for only $19.95. I received 3 and when my bank statement got to me they had charged me $130.83. If I don't get this handled soon I will be turning it over to the state of alabama attorney general's office.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Jan 2017 Margaret - (San Diego, CA)

Scam Flashlight

Anybody have a phone number for these jokers? I ordered months ago and never received it. Now, I am being billed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Jan 2017 Moron Toscani - (King City, ON)

Moron

I bough one, never came, bought another it arrived late.
I dropped it and it broke.
I bought 2 more in case.
I lost them. Pos.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Dec 2016 Delete - (Spring, TX)

Rip Off

I ordered Nov 8 and it is Dec. 22 and it hasn't even shipped, will call and cancel order today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Dec 2016 Maralee - (Spring, TX)

Ordered Nov 8th

It is now Dec 22nd and the Christmas presents have not even shipped, called 2 weeks ago and was told on back order and would be in any day. I will call back today and cancel my order what a rip off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 17 Dec 2016 Bob - (Clovis, CA)

Bright but Delicate

it may survive being run over by a Humvee, but don't give it to a 12 year old girl! I saw her drop it about 2' feet into a road and it broke whatever controls the resistance of the lens zoom. Good thing I have big hands because gravity would cause if to zoom in and out if I didn't hold the lens bezel. I'm going to toss it when the AAA batteries die and get a real flashlight.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 17 Dec 2016 Bob Update

In trying to get the front of the flashlight apart to try to fix the slide / zoom control, I now see that it's just an O- ring that was providing the resistance, and its now wedge up between the LED and the lens! I don't think the drop had anything to do with the o-ring rolling out of position--it's just a crappy design and will fail if you zoom in and out more than a few times.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Dec 2016 Lance - (Brandon, MS)

Buy One Get One Free Misleading!

The buy one get one free is not actually free.

You pay $19.95 and if you want the 'free' one you pay an extra $10.00 for a total of $29.95, that's not free in my book.

Also, if you order from their website you pay an extra $2.00 for a 'web processing fee'.

Go figure!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Dec 2016 Steven Wonder

Careful. You will be disapointed by their customer service! Very disorganized and cannot retrive my order after they hung up on me after they got my credit card info and address and phone number. Phoned the bank and cancelled my card. Read the comments below if you do not believe me.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Dec 2016 Jim Love - (River Falls, WI)

Liars Pure & Simple

Ordered the hands free taclight the last week of October. I called the first week in December to check on my order, and was told there are no worries about the lights would show up before christmas, since these were gifts. I then called on 12 / 12 just to be sure everything was ok. I get some jerk on the phone that has no customer service skills, and says there are no guarantees that the lights will arrive before christmas. I complain on social media, and get a response from "chantal" ( a name you often see f ou are responses from scam companies ) saying my credit card has not been charged. Nowhere did I say anything about my credit card, but nice try "chantal" to change the reason for my complaint! that company is a scam company. Avoid at all costs.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Dec 2016 TV Stuff Reviews .com

Jim,
What I said was that it is common for AsSeenOnTV product companies to only charge a credit card once the order is shipped.

I clearly stated I did not know if this was true in your case as TVStuffReviews.com is in no way associated with any As Seen on TV product. This is an independent review website. I do not represent any company. I represent this website.

You complained about not receiving the product so I advised to contact your Credit Card company. I'm sorry that took my friendly advice as a way to scam you.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Dec 2016 Brett - (Rock Hill, SC)

Didn't Order, but Charged

Ad on TV, website, lots of upcharges, I Decided NOT to complete the order. A half hour later an email I was charged. I called, call back Monday, 8am. I called Monday, 8am, they said it was too late, it had already shipped.

Bad, albeit profitable for them, business practices.
Bell & Howell should be ashamed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 Joy - (Houston, TX)

Buyer Beware!

I should have known Better! Do not follow my poor example. These people Are non existent almost and do not care. They will not let you speak to anyone. I never even received a confrontation number. I knew something was wrong immediately. I called my bank as I could not get a live person or even an email. They will handle and in the meantime I am going to o report these people for the misleading representation of this product and how wonderful it is. They just want your cc # a Nd the $ and they are Through with you. Despicable devolving humanity will stop at nothing to rip OFF good ole Americans. Go to Amazon or eBay. Very upset over this, mad at myself
Wrote an email to Asseenontv and unsubscribed to any of their emails.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 Crystal Spradlin - (Roanoke, VA)

What Rights do Customer's Have?

As consumers why are we not protected by someone monitoring the internet when there's fraudulent company selling products they can't deliver. Is there any way to report taclite and get them to stop running their ads and TV commercials cuz it's very apparent they have no intentions of honoring there adds. The worst company i've seen in years. Because of them I will no longer buy off the internet. They have ruined my christmas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 Crystal Spradlin - (Roanoke, VA)

No Customer Service

Taclight Lantern has to be the worst company out here today with there customer service. They are playing games with there 1-877-415-4824 and 1-855-721-3332. Only message you can get is go to website site and run your info to see if the product is available. I've made many calls, and can't get any more info that they are out stock, strange that there are so many of them in the store. One time I did get customer service, is was told there is a list and couldn't tell me were I was on list and if I would receive my purchase before Christmas. I belive that company has no intention in sending me my product, belive they got what they wanted ( my credit card number. ).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Self Defense

Tac Light Infomercial

Other Flashlight Scams

Tac Light Infomercial

Home Shopping Network

Tac Light Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼