MENU

Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles

243 Votes
Rate this product
Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles are sets of four kitchen tools made from premium Acacia wood. Endorsed by chef Lucinda Scala Quinn, who worked for Martha Stewart for 10 years, these long, slim tools with slightly angled ends have been made for stirring, whisking, spreading, and more. Each set of spurtles includes one slotted spurtle that's meant to be used for straining food and separating egg whites from yolks. When you obtain a set, you can choose whether you'd like the utensils to have natural wood, blue, red, or black handles.

Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles is $19.99 plus $5.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles at the discounted price of only $9.99 for a total price of $35.97.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles being discontinued. Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles being discontinued. Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

The Four Types in Each Set

  • Original Spurtle

    The original spurtle is long and slim—it's shaped quite like an oar, with a proportionally shorter handle. This spurtle is ideal for folding, stirring, squishing, and spreading a wide variety of food items, as long as you don't have to access a tiny container.

  • Slotted Spurtle

    The slotted spurtle is a tiny bit shorter than the original one, and it contains three slots near the top. This makes it a great tool to pull out when you need to strain or sift food items or separate two substances from one another. It can also be used for whisking and stirring ingredients.

  • Mini Spurtle

    You'll notice that your mini spurtle has a shape similar to that of the original spurtle. However, the mini spurtle is much smaller, so if you can't comfortably fit your original spurtle into a particular container, you'll be able to use this one instead. If you're stirring something in a small bowl, you might also prefer to use this smaller, yet just as solid spurtle.

  • Skinny Spurtle

    The skinny spurtle is about the same size as the mini, but it's slimmer, which means you'll be able to fit it into the skinniest of jars that you can't get the mini one into. It's also a good thing to use in place of a knife if you need to spread something such as icing or butter onto a particular piece of food.

Features

  • Made From Acacia Wood

    All four tools in your Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles set will be made from wood derived from Acacia shrubs and trees. This wood tends to be durable, anti-microbial, and lightweight. As a result, these tools shouldn't accumulate bacteria easily, and they should last for a number of years, even if you use them frequently. Due to their lightweight nature, they'll be a good thing for novice cooks (such as children or teens) to use. Furthermore, since they're not made of metal, they'll be unlikely to ever scratch up your pots, pans, plates, or dishes.

  • Slightly Angled Tips

    Instead of being round like traditional spoons, these spurtles are quite rectangular, but with slightly curved tips. These tips will enable them to reach the spots in any pot, pan, or bowl where the sides meet the bottom, so you'll be able to scrape every last piece of food out. That means you won't end up wasting any bits that would otherwise cling to the piece of kitchenware you're using.

  • Elongated Design

    While the handles on these spurtles are fairly short, the rest of each device is quite long, which means you'll be able to use them to reach into a variety of deep dishes or containers. Of course, you'll be able to reach further into a dish or container with the longer original or slotted spurtle than you'll be able to with the mini or skinny tool.

  • Choice of Handle Shade

    You might want the handles of your four spurtles to have a natural wood design, like the top of each tool, but that's only one of the options. If you'd like, you can select solid red, blue, or black handles instead. The colored handles will still be made of Acacia wood—they just won't be brown.

Positive Points

  • May Save You Space

    Once you've got a set of these spurtles in your possession, you might choose to get rid of some old metal or plastic kitchen tools. In fact, since the spurtles are so versatile, you may be able to get away with having no additional food preparation tools at all. This, in turn, will save you some space in your kitchen drawers or cabinets.

  • Each Piece Looks Unique

    Since these spurtles are made of natural Acacia wood, no individual spurtle will look the same as any other. Even if a friend of yours gets a set with handles in the same color, the pieces won't look exactly the same, as the wood grain will vary slightly between sets.

  • Unable to Melt

    When placed in boiling water or a boiling hot dish of food, there's a chance that a plastic kitchen utensil could melt, ruining itself and the food at the same time. That won't happen with Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles, though, as the wood that they're made of will be able to tolerate super-hot temperatures without breaking down.

Negative Points

  • Must Hand-wash

    If you're often pressed for time in the kitchen, you may be disappointed to find out that you can't wash these spurtles in the dishwasher. Instead, you'll have to hand-wash them with soap and warm water, and then dry them by hand with a towel.

  • No Carrying Case

    Those people who want to transport their compact set of spurtles to the cottage, or somewhere else away from home, will have to find and supply their own carrying case for the utensils. It would be helpful if the spurtles could come with a fabric carrying case of some sort, so this wouldn't be necessary. If you were to leave them loose in your vehicle, they could get bumped around, which might diminish their aesthetically pleasing appearance.

Warnings

  • Keep Away From Flames

    Although your spurtles will be able to tolerate boiling hot food or water temperatures, they should still be kept away from open flames. If a particular food item happens to be flaming, you should wait until the flames die down before you bring one of these spurtles near it. Otherwise, the wood of your utensil could end up burning, which may make the utensil less functional or even completely useless.

Save Time

Especially if you're not extremely neat and tidy, you might spend up to a half-hour searching for the right tool to use to complete a certain food preparation task in your kitchen. If you get rid of your old tools and stick to using Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles, though, you'll probably be able to put your hands on an appropriate tool within seconds.

Save Money

If you've got only metal kitchen utensils, and you find yourself frequently using them in delicate pots, pans, and dishes, you might end up replacing these larger pieces of kitchenware every year. It can be very unsafe to use scratched kitchenware since toxic shavings could end up in your prepared food. On the other hand, if you make the switch to wooden spurtles, you should be able to safely use pots, pans, and dishes for much longer, since the spurtles likely won't make scratches.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

18 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
1
1 STARS
15

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 12 Sep 2021 Debbie - (Redmond, WA)

Don't Buy

The board of health states not too use wood anything in the kitchen. It will not sanitize, wood is a bacterial holder. Metal only.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Aug 2021 Joe public - (San Francisco, CA)

In the TV commercial, the same spittle was used to put tuna in a bowl and scooped mayo from the jar. Jar of mayo is now contaminated with tuna. Not very sanitary.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Aug 2021 Carla Whittington - (Indianapolis, IN)

Always Read Reviews

I always read reviews when considering ordering anything online. So very glad I read these reviews. I expected to see much better ratings. I will not be purchasing this item at all after reading so many bad reviews. Thank you all for sharing your experiences. Sorry you all got burned.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Aug 2021 Phyllis Elder - (Surrey, BC)

I am Scottish and these are wooden spoons. Nothing to do with Scotland and most definitely NOT A SPURTLE!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Jul 2021 JAAN - (Syracuse, NY)

Seriously This Stupid?

How stupid are you people? Don't know or understand that these commercials are all fake? The problem is that you idiots see only the glitz and glamour about these shit china made products and throw your hard-earned freeking money at them and they take your money and disappear. And you wonder why they did that? Because they know they have stupid sorry idiot suckers ordering from their bogus websites! Dispute the charges and your credit card company will refund you duhhhh! Glad I ain't stupid enuff to order from TV commercials. People stop being so stupid!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Jun 2021 John - (Ancaster, ON)

Rip Off

Don’t buy if you live in Canada they charge a Canada 20$ plus second set same price then to add insult to injury UPS cost $40! So it cost me close to $100 RIP OFF.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Jun 2021 Carol - (Spruce Grove, AB)

Not Authentic Scottish Spurtle

I have not bought these. I just want everyone to know they are not authentic Scottish spurtles. The design is totally different. These just look like regular utensils made of wood. The offensive that they are using an old Scottish tool to sell these items.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Jun 2021 De - (Sacramento, CA)

Options Open

I think this cost too much. The dollar store has good kitchenware that last. I'll leave my options open.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Apr 2021 Lisa Vercillo - (Concord, ON)

Misleading Advertising

Will never order anything from this company again!
Double offer of $24.00 Cad plus shipping. I paid $59.96 and only got 2 sets. If it's a double offer you should get 4 sets. No satisfaction after several attempts to rectify situation with customer service. Will be notifying credit card company as a last resort.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Apr 2021 Dee - (Montreal, QC)

Spurtle TV Ad

I do not own this product, it seems reasonable that the shape improves its function as opposed to a spoon. My issue is with the TV commercial. At no time is it safe to place any utensil inside a mayonnaise jar after touching any other foods. This is especially important when touching the tuna or salmon, chicken, etc. Which will contaminate the remaining mayo in the jar. It is most disturbing to hear this woman say she represented Martha Stewart for ten years or so. Re her cooking show, and yet does not have the basic background knowledge of safe cooking practices and then promoting practices that have the potential to make viewers I'll, who are unaware of the above info. You never put a knife back into a bottle of any food once it has touched the other foods you are adding it to. Goes without saying not to use the same utensil unless washed to remove any other product from its container. I think one of the major possibilities is salmonella. Not 100%sure on that. Please adjust your commercial ASAP before someone dies from this incorrect cooking method.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Mar 2021 Dian Burnett - (Alabaster, AL)

Don't do Business with Kaloric.com

I ordered 2 sets of Spurtles on Dec 19, 2020. Did not receive them, only a message on Dec 29, 2020, stating they had been shipped. Of course, I never got them. I did a bit of research and sent Emails to every know Kaloric address I could find. Finally got a response from an M Paralta 2 in fact. One said it would be shipped within 48-72 hours, still no Spurtles. I then turned it over to BBB in Florida where they are supposedly located. No response to BBB. I finally found a number and actually got someone on the line and they promised they would see to it personally that it got shipped. Well, here it is March 1, 2021. Still no Spurtles. Lesson learned always read reviews and check products and company thru BBB, as this company has numerous complaints.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Feb 2021 Linda Woodruff - (Hamptonville, NC)

SCAM DO NOT PURCHASE

I ordered a spurtle set on Jan. 20, 2021; the website stated they were shipped on Jan. 27 and my credit card was charged on Jan. 28. I was sent ups tracking # and pulled up that number only to find my purchase had been canceled by the sprutle company. I have made numerous calls to this company to find out why but have heard nothing. So I'm out a spurtle set as well as my money. Do not purchase anything from them! Scammers!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Feb 2021 Sam - (Belhaven, NC)

Good Product, no Problems

I feel sorry for all these folks in these reviews who never got their spurtles and lost their money, but that wasn't our experience at all. The same company -- Lucinda's Kitchen. Same product. A little slow on delivery, but they came. The company even helped with a problem that wasn't their fault. Poor postal handling tore the package, and the mini-spurtle was lost before delivery. Lucinda's Kitchen replaced it at no further cost, no questions asked.

One small glitch -- one of the spurtles lost about half it's stain color on first washing, so a star less for that. Otherwise, a very good transaction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Feb 2021 June - (New Smyrna Beach, FL)

ACACIA WOOD SPURTLES

I have never received my order after 2 months and have never received any information from the company.
I saw the ad on TV and made my purchase. Now I see from other reviews that it is common to not receive the product. Should I get in touch with the federal trade commission (FTC)?
I would rather have the ZPUGLE.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Feb 2021 Bernadine L Sampson - (New York, NY)

Spurtle Set

Scamed never received my order for the items spurtles set that displayed for 19.99.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Feb 2021 Yesica - (Toronto, ON)

Got Product but Defective

I received my order but two of the Spurtles are defective. At first, I called and emailed asking to replace them. It is now 3 days since my last email. No one is answering the phone and the web-chat bot can't help me either! I just don't know if I should laugh or cry at this point. I want to return them and be done with it. However, I read their return policy and I think it will cost more to return them than the original purchase.
And to top of it all, it is MADE IN CHINA. Nowhere on the website, they indicate that. I have noticed many companies are not indicating where the products are made? I am avoiding anything made in China.
I just checked my credit card statement and they have not charged me, yet. I will keep an eye as I am going to dispute this. It is a scam and they should not get away with it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 05 Feb 2021 Tina Knepper Smith - (Belleville, IL)

NEVER GOT THEM! No Refund in Sight!

DON'T PURCHASE! I ordered these off a television ad. This is being advertised by a "friend of Martha Stewart" so I trusted them. I really don't like being scammed but apparently, that's what happened! They took my 37 bucks and ran like hell!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Feb 2021 Yesica

If I we're you, I would contact your credit card company. I bet they probably have an extensive dispute folder about the "Spurtles".

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Feb 2021 Phyllis Elder

Plagiarism! These a Nothing like a Scottish Spurtle. I hate it that she latched onto Scotland in order to sell wooden spoons!

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Feb 2021 Sheila carey - (Columbus, OH)

Spurtles

I ordered these from a TV ad. No spurtle, took my money, no customer service SCAM.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Jan 2021 David Baertsch - (Plano, TX)

Another rip Off

Same as everyone here. Paid, no delivery. Reply email is a dead address, no website. Total Rip Off!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jan 2021 debbier - (Punta Gorda, FL)

Don't ORDER - DISPUTE CC CHARGE

Dispute your credit card charge. Pretty much I had the same issue as everyone else. Placed my order for 4 sets as gifts. I paid extra for expedited processing. My card was charged immediately. First red flag! My order status was "hold" the entire time. I called several times to see why it was on hold, especially since I paid an extra $8 for expedited processing. It wasn't the $ that was the issue it was what 'hold' meant and why. I think it is a 1 person customer service because I'm sure I spoke to the same person each time. He entered my issue into a "spreadsheet" and said someone would call me back. Never happened. After a couple of weeks with no change, I emailed a cancelation that said I no longer wanted them. Within 6 days I received notice my order was being shipped. I responded said not to ship the order bc I canceled the order. Still, no response, and the shipment were delivered. Because of no contact delivery, I didn't see the delivery person refuse the shipment. I called again, (spoke to the same guy)said I wanted to return the box, unopened, and wanted a return label. I called 2 times and never received a refund or return shipping label. It took several attempts after being on hold forever, call being dropped, etc. To finally leave a voice mail. Which I had no response to. Then I had an idea. I disputed the charge on my credit card, they credited me the money and will handle it from here. If they get the same response, I am sure they will not honor the charge. I then called customer service 1 more time, told him what I had done, and said if they wanted their 4 orders of spurtles returned I would happily oblige if they would send me a return shipping label. Still nothing. I will wait for a response from the credit card company. Interested to see if they are able to get through to anyone.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Feb 2021 Yesica

Hello,
Thank you for your review. It has given me an idea and I will challenge any charges (they have not charged me yet) I want to return the 2 orders, but I wonder if it will be more expensive than the actual purchase.
As their return policy indicates "You will be responsible for paying for your own return shipping costs. Shipping costs are non-refundable. You may use the carrier of your choice." Now, I live in Canada, and shipping to the USA is not that cheap.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Apr 2021 PEP

Wish I would have looked at these reviews before ordering. Guess I will be disputing this with my credit card company: -(

Thanks.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 PEP

UPDATE! I ordered the Mad Hungry Spurtles on 4/10. I received an email saying that shipping was being delayed and low and behold they showed up today! They look OK to me. Yes, there are a couple places where they don't look like they we're stained, but I don't really care about that. I am happy to have received them. Now, to put them to the test!

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Jan 2021 Tracee - (Nanaimo, BC)

Can you say RIPP OFF!

The tv commercial looked inviting enough, but when it came down to brass tax, this company and their products are a joke! I ordered the buy 1 set and get the second set for $9.99, only to find my credit card charged $75.00, and then when the product arrived by ups, they had a cod charge for $35.00. I then open the package to find they are made in china.
upset beyond belief. I could have ordered the same set from amazon for 29.00 and had it 2 days later with no extra charges. Do not waste your money!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Jan 2021 Shirley Walter - (Vacaville, CA)

Please Remove two Reviews

December 22, 2020

January 1, 2021 I do not recall putting that review up

I would of removed the reviews my self but I do not know how to remove reviews

thank you
Shirley.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Jan 2021 david apperley - (New York, NY)

Scumbags

Ordered the set three weeks ago and still, nothing called all the numbers and got hung upon. I see all the bad reviews, I have filed a BBB complaint, and called the att generals office. These people are thieves, stay away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Jan 2021 david apperley - (New York, NY)

Scam,thiefs

Ordered and never got my items. Stay away from these aholes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Jan 2021 Roberta Dunn - (Eufaula, OK)

Never Received Order

I ordered 4 sets of Spurtles on TV on Nov 4, 2020. Money was taken off my card immediately but to date no order or any kind of answer. I have called every number available only to get hung upon. I have tried every website I can find on Spurtle. Still to no avail. I want my money refunded or my product immediately! I do not want to wait 3 or 4 days for my refund or order. You took the money out without any wait, so I should not have to wait. I have read several bad reviews of your product on the website. If you are a proclaimed Chef then why can’t you honor your product!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles Infomercial
Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles Infomercial
Lucinda's Kitchen Spurtles Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼