View
43
Opinions
Below
62% 115 votes
38% 70 votes

Sleep Styler

185 Votes

The Sleep Styler is a way to curl your hair without any heat. Sleep Styler is a hair styling kit that you leave in your hair overnight while you sleep, even if your hair is wet. You get beautiful curls or straight hair when all is done. When you use this set, it saves you space in your bathroom closet, and time getting ready. It is a heat free way to style your hair, staying comfortable all night.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Sleep Styler is $29.95 plus $4.95 shipping, for a total price of $34.9. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: thesleepstyler.com
185 Visitors rate it 3.0 Stars

Pros

  • Rapid Drying Technology

    The high-performance microfiber wicking material will push moisture away from the hair which is what maximizes air flowing around each piece of your hair. Their super soft material polishes your hair as you sleep. What’s more, the fabric can hold between four and five times its weight in water.

  • No More Damage

    You will not damage your hair the same way you damage your hair with hot styling tools. Moreover, you can replace your blow dryer, curling iron, and straightener with this tool to maintain long term improved hair health.

  • Saves Time

    The unit saves time you would otherwise spend getting ready.

  • All Hair Types

    Works with all hair, even extra coarse hair, frizzy hair, or kinky hair.

How It Works

The Sleep Styler works on the same principle as braiding your hair. If you braid your hair while wet, then take it out the next day, it retains the shapes and curves of the braid. Such a formula does the same thing. Whatever shape your hair is held in when it dries overnight is the shape it will retain once it is dry the next day. You get multiple plush cylinders with your kit so you can set up your hair however you want, even with plush curls or small waves.

These patented rollers are designed from the same yoga material that you see wicking moisture off your body but staying dry. Towels are often the main place you see this technology. Using suede like texture, the hair is polished smooth without breaking while you wear it. Located inside of the cylinder is a luxe laser cut memory foam pad which conforms to your head just like a memory foam pillow does. As such, this is what gives you better curls without hurting your head as you sleep.

How it's Different from Competitors

Normally people use things like flat irons or curling irons to get the flat or curled hair they want. However, these appliances both cause damage to the hair. Ironing or curling hair can cause two types of damage depending on whether you flatten your hair when it is wet or dry. When dry, it can cause the hair to crack along the edges of your hair cuticles which is what results in chipping. Wet hair flat ironed can cause the water in the hair to burst into steam which seems like it is “drying” your hair well but is really causing the hair to blister. Both forms are damaging and result in split ends.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Shower and Wash

    You can use the styler set in four simple steps without any electricity, batteries, or machines. First, you take a shower or wash your hair at night.

  2. Wrap Hair

    Then wrap your damp hair around the plush cylinder that is included with the kit, fastening the strap to hold it in place.

  3. Sleep

    Sleep comfortably with the feel of memory foam under your head, just like sleeping on your normal pillow.

  4. Wake and Remove

    When you wake up, remove the Sleep styler and enjoy perfectly styled hair.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Repair Damaged Hair

    You can repair damaged hair by reducing the exposure your hair gets to other forms of heat like ironing, blow drying, or wind. Additionally, you can help strengthen damaged hair by using the sleep styler in conjunction with a leave-in conditioner. Products which protect against heat and are labeled as such make it easier to increase your hair strength.

  2. Straighten or Curl

    Use it to curl your hair or straighten it. These curlers are meant to create the perfect curl of your choosing. The straightening technique only works using the original size rollers and it is recommended for longhair. Instead of spiraling the hair around the roller, you hold it out straight and flat before the strap is wrapped. Most users will spiral the last few inches of their hair to create a nice bend.

    Rollers wrapped using this technique might not stay well if you have shoulder length hair. Should you want to decrease curly texture but your hair is shoulder length, you can try the same technique with the smaller size to create bigger curls with a relaxed, natural texture.

  3. Wash Foam

    Memory foam core means you sleep better no matter how many uses. You can remove the foam insert and wash it by hand after a few uses.

Warnings

  • Not for All

    Sleep Styler is a hair solution for women everywhere but it doesn't necessarily work for everyone according to the website. The original rollers are meant for long and thick hair or for curly hair. Ideal length is the middle of your back or longer.

    Hair needs to be long enough to spiral around each roller a few times in order to get the best results. Many rollers are well-suited to hair which is near your shoulder length or hair that is long and fine. Just like the original, many rollers are 1.5 inches in diameter so your hair has to be at least 6 inches long from your scalp in order to hold the roller in place.

    Even if your hair is very long, if it struggles to hold a curl the mini size is better because it works like a traditional roller and creates a more robust curl by comparison. When you find that your hair will not hold a curl even with hot styling tools, it is likely that this particular set of rollers will not work for you either.

Which Size to Buy

If you have long hair that is straight and struggles to hold a curl then you want the short roller pack. However, if your hair is between the length of your chin and your shoulder blades you also want the short pack. When your hair is curly but you want it straight, pick the short roller pack. For those who have hair is long and thick, pick the long roller pack. Those who have hair is long and layered or you have extensions you can choose between the long for the short option.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Sleep Styler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Sleep Styler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

40 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.3
Sleep Styler Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3
3 STARS
2 STARS
2
1 STARS
35
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 40
Amy Fontno - (Lawrence, IN)
Reviewed on: 19 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Not so Good so Far

I have used the mini curlers and did not achieve good results. The curlers do not stay in my hair. I had to keep putting them back in all night long. I will try again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Natalya - (Springfield, TN)
Reviewed on: 17 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Very Uncomfortable

It's very uncomfortable to sleep in these. I had to take them off in the middle of the night.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Aida - (Garden Grove, CA)
Reviewed on: 14 Jul 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Works Fantastic!

To roll my hair around the rolls was a piece of cake. I put them in yesterday about noon and didn't have any issues with them falling down. I slept with them the whole night. I woke up this morning and took off all the rolls from my hair, and my hair was soft and shining
I didn't give this 5 stars because I have issues when the velcro ends being to long and sticking to my hair. Otherwise they work perfect.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

emily - (Chino Valley, AZ)
Reviewed on: 13 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Doesnt Work

I ordered this product with the anticipation that it would be easier than curling and produce results. It was hard to get in the hair, and it was extremely uncomfortable to sleep in. When I took the curls out, they were not curls at all and went flat even when I tried to use some hairspray. They also have a horribly return process where they make you cover the return shipping even though there is a label in the box but it isn't a return label. So confusing and they are making you pay for returning a product that you don't like and that doesn't work. I am highly disappointed with this product and the way returns are handled. Shartank made it seem like such a great effortless product and I would rather use a curling iron with results any day!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Sandy - (Broussard, LA)
Reviewed on: 12 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Have Not Received it Yet

I ordered two Sleep Stylers in March and have not received it yet. I paid $85 for the two units. After repeatedly asking the status they said it would be shipped by July 10th. It is July 12th and I still have not received it so I wrote I wanted a refund so am waiting for their reply. This is the longest I've had to wait on a product that I ordered.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Pam - (Westminster, CA)
Reviewed on: 10 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Wasted Money

I bought the curlers the night they appeared on Shark Tank. They immediately charged my account $81.00 as I bought both sets. I just got them a week ago. Someone please tell me how the hell do you keep them in your hair?!?! They're very hard to roll them into your hair to begin with, only to have them fall out. Very disappointed! Afraid to send back. I might not get a refund AND have no product.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Saba
13 Jul 2017

Hi Pam,

I just got the rollers today. I couldn't get one roller to stay in my hair! Call customer service and speak to a supervisor. They'll refund your money less shipping. What a scam!

  • Write Your Reply

Celina - (Crescent City, CA)
Reviewed on: 08 Jul 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

I Will Keep Trying

I just got these yesterday. I have colored treated hair. It dries frizzy and wavy and it very dry so I bought this to cut down on heat use. I normnally blow dry and straighten. Tgats damaging to my hair and now tgat its summer anything thgat can help to cut down on heat is great. So I used them this morning, I added my conditioner and my straightening spray then tried to wrap tgem as they say. It wasn't easy but I guess its something that gets better with time. I let my hair dry which didn't take to long. I have to say it did not straighten my hair like the commercial, however it did straighten to the point where I didn't have to blow dry. It wasn't frizzy. The top straightened easier than the back. I liked it because I didn't have to use heat and I then just went over my hair with the straightener to make it how I like it. I think with time it'll get easier and it'll come out better but for the first time at least for mne it did what I needed it to do, dry my hair while straighteningv it enough to not look unruly without heat. I'm happy with it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Melody Bentfield - (Lehi, UT)
Reviewed on: 07 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Does Not Work as Advertised

I have very curly hair, but it's fine. And goes to my shoulder blades. So it wasn't clear to me which rollers to buy. I have a 7 month old baby so I thought this would be a great way to style my hair at night. I have had them in for about 5 hours, my hair is still damp ( I followed the directions exactly ), and I am having a hard time sleeping. I took a few out to check, and my hair is smoother with more relaxed curls, but the roots of my hair are all twists and it looks really weird. I will have to try again tomorrow night with the short ones.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Sabrina Carriero - (River Rouge, MI)
Reviewed on: 05 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Too Good to be True!

What a disaster. Impossible to get rollers on properly. Certainly nothing like the videos show. I'm not sure if they're working with a better product but my rollers are so mushy. I've been working on this for over 2 hours to no avail. I do think it "could" do what it says it could do but I need another set of hands to say the least. Wasted time waiting for this product and wasted money. Wish I saw these reviews while waiting the 4 months for it to finally arrive : (.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Catherine - (Martinez, CA)
Reviewed on: 02 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Hard to Use

I received these as a gift from my sister who saw the Shark Tank episode. She was super excited about this product.

The concept is great, however, they're very difficult to use. The way you have to hold them and twist the fabric around it is very unnatural- I'm on frustrated try number 4 and can't get it to look anything close to the YouTube video.

Cannot recommend.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review Image

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


1 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 1
Rachel - (Lago Vista, TX)
Posted: 17 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

First off, if you are reading this and you have already bought this product, then I am sorry cause you just wasted your money. You are better off taking the time to blow dry and curl / straighten your hair cause it doesn't work!
1: it is nearly impossible to correctly put them in your hair
2: the directions say to let your hair air dry 80%! The product is supposed to be for when your in a rush so most people wouldn't have time to do that!
3: uncorfortable to sleep on
4: it doesn't curl the top of your head, so it gets all frizzy!
5: if you have long thick hair like I do, and you attempt to brush out your hair, the curls will go away and you will soon have an affro

I hope you have better luck with this product then I did.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise