View
28
Opinions
Below
43% 180 votes
57% 240 votes

Skoon Cat Litter

420 Votes

Rate this product

Skoon Cat Litter is non-clumping cat litter that's made with 100 percent natural ingredients. It contains absolutely no chemicals and is biodegradable—something that can't be said of many of the alternative types of cat litter available these days. The ingredients used to make this litter have been selected due to their ability to seal in odors and absorb liquids. This means that after you make the choice to use it, your cat's litter box likely won't stink or contain large, wet urine clumps.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Skoon Cat Litter is $24.95 and the shipping is FREE!

Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: skooncatlitter.com


How It Works

Each portion (an eight-pound bag) of Skoon Cat Litter is made up of Diatomaceous Earth (also known as fossilized algae) and certain minerals derived from volcanic activity in South America's Patagonia region. These ingredients have been cycled through a process of thermal activation that's meant to make them super-absorbent when working together. After this process is completed, the cells within the fossilized algae become able to act as microscopic sponges, soaking up urine and the unpleasant smell that often comes with it. Due to the empty space present within the cells, they'll not only be able to soak up this, but also any liquid that may accompany a cat's stools. In just minutes, once they've soaked up the liquid that has made its way into your cat's litter pan, you likely won't be able to tell it was ever there.

Features

  • Won't Stick to Paws

    Some types of cat litter can literally cling to a cat's paws, making the cat track it all over a house or apartment as they walk around. Since Skoon Cat Litter doesn't clump itself into sticky mud balls, though, it's unlikely that it'll ever get stuck to your cat's paws. Even if your cat likes to kick a bit of litter around while they're doing their business, this litter also won't cause a whole lot of dust to appear in the area around their pan.

  • Scent-Free

    Often, cat litters come with a certain artificial (often flowery) scent, but sometimes, cat owners can find the scent almost as unpleasant as the smell of urine and stool itself. Fortunately, Skoon Cat Litter is scent-free, since it's so good at locking in unpleasant smells that no extra scent is needed to cover them up!

  • All-Natural

    This particular type of cat litter is made of completely natural ingredients, so you won't need to worry about your cat coming in contact with any potentially toxic chemicals while they go to the bathroom. Plus, it's biodegradable, which means that when you dispose of it, it won't permanently add to the Earth's total amount of trash in the way that non-biodegradable cat litters do.

  • Eight-Pound Bags

    If you normally find bags of cat litter difficult to carry, you'll be relieved that Skoon Cat Litter comes in eight-pound bags instead of bags that can weigh up to 24 pounds. However, an eight-pound bag of this litter is purported to be just as effective as a 24-pound bag of another type of cat litter can be. You can expect each bag to absorb its total weight in liquid, and you'll only have to scoop poop and not urine clumps, so you won't end up throwing out as much litter at once.

  • One Month's Supply Per Cat

    If you've got one cat, one bag of this litter should last you about a month's time. Logically, if you have more than one cat, you'll need to add one bag per month per cat to that count.

Positive Points

  • Less Air Fresheners Needed

    When you start using Skoon Cat Litter, especially if you have multiple cats in your home who are going to the bathroom frequently, you may find that air fresheners become less important. If you normally use scented candles, fragrant sprays and bags of potpourri to cover up the smell of each cat's litter pan, you might be able to put all those things away. This litter has been designed to absorb 100 percent of the odors created by feline waste, so after you've started using it, you may find that each litter pan you have doesn't stink at all.

  • May Enhance Cat's Health

    Diatomaceous Earth, one of the main ingredients within this type of cat litter, has actually been used as a health-enhancing supplement for humans. Therefore, while this hasn't yet been scientifically proven, simply being around a substance like this on a regular basis may improve your cat's health and extend their lifespan. At the very least, this substance won't negatively affect their health or shorten their lifespan like some chemicals used in other cat litters may be able to.

  • Doesn't Cling to Pan

    If you use a standard clumping litter, you may find it incredibly annoying to clean out your cat's litter pan, since there may be a ton of clumps of old urine stuck to the sides. That won't happen when you use the non-clumping Skoon Cat Litter, though, so cleaning your cat's pan should be a much quicker (and more pleasant) job. This litter is actually three times more absorbent than some brands of clumping litter, which contributes to its ability to eliminate large patches of liquid waste without clumping.

  • Can Soak Up Liquid Spills

    This cat litter will absorb various other liquids (but not gases) in a way similar to the way it absorbs urine. For that reason, if you've spilled a bunch of water, soda, juice or milk on your floor, you may choose to use it to help clean that up. It could also be used for the absorption of melting ice on a driveway.

Negative Points

  • Can't Get Bigger Bags

    If you don't want to replace your cat's litter each month, and instead want a bigger bag that will last longer than that, you won't be able to get it. Skoon Cat Litter only comes in eight-pound bags, so if you don't want to order at least one bag every month, you'll have to get multiple bags at once instead of one massive one.

  • Cat May Prefer Old Litter

    In the event that you've got a cat who has used the same type of litter for a good portion of their life, they may not react positively to switching to this type at first. They may actually refuse to go to the bathroom in it and it may take you up to a few weeks to convince them that it's a suitable alternative to their former brand.

Critical Advice

Just because your litter pan will look cleaner and won't smell as much after you switch to Skoon, that doesn't mean that you should stop cleaning it on a daily basis. Keeping up with this routine shouldn't be super-hard for you to do, because cleaning each pan you've got will end up being a much quicker job than it would be otherwise. Cats like a litter pan that's as free of waste as possible, so there's no such thing as too clean when it comes to any litter pan!

Wise Advice

Do not buy Skoon Cat Litter online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Skoon Cat Litter online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

12 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

3.3
Skoon Cat Litter Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
5
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
2
1 STARS
3

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Jillian B - (Hamden, CT)
Posted: 09 Jul 2019

Helps w/ the Smell, but Still has Some Minor Flaws

Overall, I really like skoon. It absorbs the smell from my cat's litter box like no other. Thankfully my cat isn't picky about his litter - we've tried world's best (tracks but was ok. Not so great for odor absorption) and naturally fresh kitty litters (I hated it! I can't over-emphasize how much it tracked and smelled. Don't get me started!) and he's happy to use whatever is in there. Skoon still tracks a bit but not nearly as much and the particles are larger and easy to spot, so that's a minor thing for me. The dust hasn't been an issue for us, but the urine pooling in the bottom is pretty awful. I was going to cancel our subscription until landing on this page where I read that you should stir the litter after removing solids - I'm clearly not the only one to experience this and it could and should be much better communicated on the packaging and on their website faq page and not just in a random product review comment response on a different website. I'm still not sure of how often to dump the whole thing. I saw in another comment response that you should keep about two inches of litter in there and that one bag lasts a month, but am I just slowly adding new litter the whole time as it gets lower? Am I dumping it halfway through the month? I know I could try different combos, but it'd be nice to hear what they recommend so that I (we) can get the most out of their product since they know it better than any of us do. All in all, I'm generally happy with this product as the kitty odor in my apartment is so much better and the tracking is way down with skoon. I'm going to try mixing it around more as suggested and sticking with it another month. It's not perfect (I mean what kitty litter is, really?) but it's much better than the other natural litters that I've tried.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Susan Reed - (Columbus, OH)
Posted: 02 Jul 2019

Pooper Scooper Too Small

I just started using Skoon. It is cheaper than KittyPoo. I've been using the Skoon and the scoop that came with my first order. The scoop does not allow for the litter to fall back into the box. Won't last a month if pieces keep going with the solids. I've been using KittyPoo and love the way it scoops, but it costs a lot more than the Skoon. If the scooping can be fixed I will be a happy camper.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Caret - (Victoria, TX)
Posted: 28 Jun 2019

Open Air Litter Robot Compatible?

Will this product work in the Open Air Litter Robot?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Siobhan Laurino - (Woburn, MA)
Posted: 20 May 2019

Customer Service Stinks!

Okay. I do like the litter, but with 3 cats I couldn't figure out how much to order. I got 2 boxes a month, but it didn't quite last long enough. So I changed to every 3 weeks. Just making it, so wanted to change to every two weeks. Can't do that online so I had to call customer service. First of all, and I don't want to sound like a pain, but I can barely understand him and he can't understand me. I wanted to know if 1 bag (8lbs) equaled one or two boxes. Took forever to figure that out. Then asked to change to one bag (boxes no longer available - probably coating them with something because they were just cardboard and would get very wet on the bottom - so stupid). So now I'm online and he's taking forever and I just can't. I'll probably end up canceling because it's too damn hard dealing with these people. Probably try Pretty Kitty.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Dear Siobhan, We are very sorry for that unfortunate issue. Based on our customer´s requirements, we are working on delivering a better online experience for subscription management. We appreciate your time and feedback. We´ll be happy to assist you and customize your subscription as you need it. Regards, The Skoon Team.

Reply
Rossy VanDer - (Hollywood, FL)
Posted: 14 May 2019

I Love It

I have been using it for a month and it is fantastic, it is perfect controlling the smell and also there are no remains when my cat enters and leaves the box. It is the best I have used.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Lory Gonz - (Hollywood, FL)
Posted: 14 May 2019

No Smell and no Mess

We were skeptical at first. Especially being e little bit pricier. No odor no mess and less work. The best part it lasts over a month. What else can we ask for?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Chuck Barron - (Pittsburgh, PA)
Posted: 07 May 2019

Best Odor Control

I have two cats and had tried all cat litters available in the market because I wasn't completely satisfied with any brand. Skoon is the real deal! It really absorbs liquids on contact and there's no odor! I've been using it for over two months and it really works as advertised.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Megan Rardin
Posted: 18 May 2019

So do you order two bags since you have two cats? And do you put all 8 lbs in one litter box?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Megan Each 8-lb bag of Skoon should last an entire month for one adult cat in an average-sized litter box. Pour 2 inches depth of Skoon and make sure to stir the pebbles after removing solids for the best experience. If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Freddy Mer - (Springboro, OH)
Posted: 06 May 2019

Hard to Believe!

It absorves urine immediately. Already on my third week and no odor. Great value.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Billy Munoz - (Mexico City, CMX)
Posted: 03 May 2019

Game Changer

I put a bunch of this product to see if everything they said was real and for me it changed my life. I used to have to be cleaning the litter box all the time since my daughters got some pretty bad allergies and this product is just wonderful. I followed the instructions on the bag and my cats and all here in the house are happy we got to find something better. Totally worth it, I don't care about paying a few extra bucks. No more clumping litter for me, enough!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kel - (Lafayette, LA)
Posted: 01 May 2019

Not Worth It

I purchased this litter after watching their fantastic commercial. I really thought it was going to work like advertised, and it DID NOT! First, I almost choked to death while filling the litter box as it is far from being dust free (also, diatomaceous earth is really bad to breathe in. Yay.); then, I noticed that there was no poop in the litter box. But where was it? In my closet, that's where! My cat hated the way the jagged litter felt on his feet (and who could blame him? It's like rocks!); finally, the urine goes straight to the bottom and collects at the bottom of the pan. They suggest mixing the litter around so all pieces can be used, but that only kicks up the smell, and it is horrible! I wanted to like this litter, I really did. Back to searching for something better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Kel. We are sorry to hear that. The dust is unusual, but it could have been handled too roughly during transit, causing pebbles to break down into a powder. However, if for any reason it is inhaled, it will not cause any harm since Skoon does not contain harmful dust particles. We understand your cat may have a need some time to get used to Skoon pebbles, keep removing solids and stirring the pebbles to make sure the litterbox is clean and your cat gets used to it. If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Jennifer
Posted: 01 Jun 2019

Just wondering though. If it IS made of diatomaceous earth, I DO know that is NOT good to breathe indirectly. So, unfortunately, I beg to differ with the reply of the Skoon team. Anytime you read about diatomaceous earth, they ALWAYS tell you to be careful not to breathe it in as it can be harmful to your lungs. Just sayin'

Please help me to understand how your product is different when you advertise that it is made out of DE.

Thanks!

Jean Fulton
Posted: 30 Jun 2019

Depending on the type/processing of diatomaceous earth it can be up to 90% silica. Excessive, or long term breathing of silica can lead to silicosis - an untreatable lung disease.

Juan Carlos Mercenari - (Hendersonville, NC)
Posted: 26 Apr 2019

Had it for 2 months now. Josu and Dany my cats love it. No smell at all and no tracks. It’s like magic.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Alanna - (Louisville, MS)
Posted: 17 Apr 2019

Doesn't Absorb Urine

There is urine sitting in the bottom of the litterbox, under the Skoon. Does not absorb well at all!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Alanna. While the pebbles absorb liquids and odors, we still need to remove the solid and stir the litter, to make sure we keep the pebbles in circulation and avoid saturation in just one spot. If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Brittany - (Gary, IN)
Posted: 11 Apr 2019

Underneath is a Putrid Death

I tried it for a month, and during the week, it’s awesome. But when it comes time to dump, do it outside! It gathers all the cat urine to the bottom so when you scoop out to fill with new stuff, be prepared to almost vomit. I can’t tell what I hated more, my cat tracking sand through the house, or my house smelling like rotted cat irons once a week when I dump it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Brittany. We are sorry to hear that. Skoon has an amazing absorption power, we just need to make sure to stir after removing solids to keep the pebbles in circulation and evenly distributed so they don´t get saturated in the same spot. When the pebbles stop absorbing, the liquids may go to the bottom. If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Jane - (Fort Wayne, IN)
Posted: 07 Apr 2019

Uh not so Sure

Well they can track this stuff and it's a killer to step on, also will have to find a scooper that works with this. On the fence about it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Jane. Please send us an email with your contact information and we´ll send you a Skoon Pooper Skooper. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Briahnna Perkins - (Spanish Fork, UT)
Posted: 27 Mar 2019

Website Doesn't Work

My order went through but no confirmation email sent so I didn't get an order number to be able to cancel my subscription. Submitted their request for the order info to be re-sent - and that didn't work either. Had to call to cancel my order.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Brianhha. We are sorry to hear about that. We are constantly working on our website to give our customers the best experience. Confirmation email, log in and order information recovery, are working fine. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Denise obrien - (Salisbury, MD)
Posted: 25 Mar 2019

Lousy Website

Drive to purchase this product and they have a subscription situation the website kept flipping back and forth. I then submitted all my financial information and address blah blah. Website world for a little bit then said your order was not processed. Send an email asking them to fix it. Got an email back saying you have no order. Then I looked at my bank account this morning and they had taken out the price of the product. Emailed them again and they said you have no order wait 3 to 5 days for your amount to be returned. No apology no offer of any suggestion to expedite since they already had my money. I would not suggest doing business with these people. Shady.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skoon Team
Posted: 28 May 2019

Hi, Denise We are sorry about that unfortunate issue. Please receive our most sincere apologies. This was probably caused by your bank, since they may sometimes put the money on hold until the transaction is confirmed. Rest assured we did not get your money and we hope this issue got solved within the expected time. If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to contact us. Kind Regards, Skoon Team.

Reply
Courtney Webb
Posted: 10 Jun 2019

I had something similar happen. I went to order and it timed out saying something didn’t work thinking that it just didn’t go through. So I went to redo it and it worked fine. I ended up only getting one confirmation number, but my card was charged twice. So I’ve ended up paying double just to try it. I’ve contacted the company, but they said that I was only charged once. Almost a week later and I still have one payment pending from Skoon and one that has posted.

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise
User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS