MENU

Safety Can Express

573 Votes
Rate this product
Safety Can Express Safety Can Express or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Safety Can Express is an electric can opener that is specially designed to prevent sharp edges on the can when it comes off the opener. It breaks the seal of the can, leaving smooth surfaces that are safe to remove. This means no more risk of cutting yourself when you take off the lid. Even children can use this device without the worry that they'll get cut. In addition, the lid stays on the can until you remove it, lessening the chance of spills.

Safety Can Express Safety Can Express or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Safety Can Express is $39.99 and the shipping is FREE!

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Safety Can Express being discontinued. Safety Can Express may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Safety Can Express being discontinued. Safety Can Express may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Features

  • Electric Opener

    This is an electric can opener, meaning it's easier and more convenient than a manual can opener. You just place the can on the roller, it attaches automatically, and then you press a button which allows the can to open smoothly in a matter of seconds. It's also easy to remove; you don't have to struggle or pull on it.

  • No Sharp Edges

    When you take the lid off, instead of sharp surfaces you find smooth edges that don't cut and are completely safe to hold. The device breaks the seal of the can instead of cutting through the lid like the majority of electric can openers.

  • Lid Doesn't Fall Off

    When you remove the can from the device, the lid doesn't fall off, and it doesn't fall inside the can with your food. It stays sealed until you decided to 'pop the top' and easily take it off the can.

  • Reseals for Leftovers

    After you're done using what you need from the can, you can reseal it to use the rest later as leftovers. With a regular, sharp-edged can, you obviously can't do this. The lid would probably fall inside the can and it certainly wouldn't reseal to keep the food fresh.

  • Works on All Cans

    The Safety Can Express works on any can imaginable. You can use huge cans, small cans, broken cans, of any dimensions. It's a very versatile tool. You don't have to wonder what to do because your opener doesn't deal with this particular can.

Pros

  • Safe for Everyone

    This product makes opening a can safe for everyone, from people who tend to be accident-prone to little children. You don't have to worry about getting sliced by a can in either a minor or a more serious accident. It's nice to be able to remove a lid comfortably instead of feeling like you're holding something that could harm you or others.

  • It's Attractive-looking

    Considering you might leave this out on your counter, you want it to be nice-looking. This is an attractive piece, in a neutral color, black, which would go with any kitchen decor. It would be nice to have some other color options, but still, this is a model that looks good and that most people would probably like.

  • No Struggle to Open Can

    Opening a can with a manual opener can be a real hassle. It takes time, it doesn't always work out properly, and you can hurt your wrist trying to twist the device around. With this item, you don't have to struggle anymore to open a can. It's a stress-free experience.

  • Fast to Open Can

    It can take ages to open a can with a manual can opener. You may struggle a little. Often the opener slips off the can and you have to start over again. With this device, you open a can in a few seconds with no trouble. It's a pretty stress-free experience.

  • No Unwanted Spills

    When you open a can with a manual opener, the lid often falls off onto the floor and causes the contents of the can to spill. Other times, the lid itself falls into the can, contaminating what's inside. This device totally avoids all of these problems. The lid locks on tops of the can until you decide to pop the top off. You're the one who is in control.

Cons

  • More Money Than Manual Opener

    Naturally, a manual can opener is significantly cheaper than this device. Safety Can Express isn't really expensive for what it is, but it's 4 times the price of a simple can opener that we all know how to use perfectly fine. This device may be time-saving and have other benefits, but the question is, do you want to spend the extra cash?

  • Difficult to Clean

    This device is a hassle to clean when it comes to the roller and the whole mechanism that opens the can. These are very small little corners and edges that you have to find a way to get inside to get the opener properly clean. Naturally, with a manual can opener, you just clean it the way you would wash any of your dishes.

  • You Use Electricity

    With a manual opener, you don't use any electricity, of course. However, with this device, you do. Now, this isn't a major downfall, it's just something to be mentioned because it is a point against the device on the whole. However, in truth, the amount of electricity this device uses isn't major.

  • Need to Store it Somewhere

    This is much bigger than a small can opener you easily throw into a drawer, and you do have to put it somewhere. You either have to find a new spot for it to sit on your counter, or you have to find an area in your cupboards to store it. The majority of people don't have a lot of extra storage space in their kitchens, so this could be an issue.

Save Money

The biggest money-saver with this product is the fact that you can reseal the can and keep the remainder of the contents as leftovers. It's very likely that a lot of food goes wasted when people use manual can openers. Instead of trying to keep the remainder of the can, a lot of people probably end up throwing it in the garbage. Using Safety Can Express, you could actually end up with a second meal instead of wasted food, saving you countless dollars over the long run.

Save Time

Naturally, Safety Can Express can save you a lot of time. The struggle to open cans with a manual opener is real. It sometimes does take a lot of time, and much more time than it takes to slip the can onto the device and watch it open itself easily in just seconds. This makes a huge difference, for example, in the morning, when you're trying to get out the door on time and every second is important. It's also a key factor when you're really hungry and you want something to eat right now.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Safety Can Express online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Safety Can Express online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

15 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Safety Can Express Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
15

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 23 Jan 2022 Char Austin - (Janesville, WI)

Junk, Don’t Buy

Keep your money. Never did work as seen on TV. Just doesn’t cut lid. I’ve gotten metal slivers from trying to get lid off. Buyer beware.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Jan 2022 Howard - (Lead Hill, AR)

Opner

Bought on at Lowes in Hollister Mo today. Didn't open any cans It had sharp edge one 2 of them. Rip off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Jan 2022 Ronald Glenn Scott - (Westminster, CA)

1 Year Later now no Bueno

Used for a year and now does not work. Can't find repair parts (blade).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Dec 2021 Michael Lorentz - (Minneapolis, MN)

Total Junk

Worked great for the first 10 cans, then had to go around twice to open cans, now all it does is go around and around leaving SLIVERS of metal, that's about 15 cans opened for 30.00 + dollars! I want my money back! Please email me with an explanation of this inferior product.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2021 Anthony Bellina - (Houston, TX)

Worse can opener I've ever bought. After about 30 cans it stops opening cans all the way. And you got to try to open the can the rest of the way. I never got cut on a can opener before until I got the Safety Can Express can opener. Made by bullhead. I even tried to work it out with them but it was they couldn't believe their junk didn't work. Do not buy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Nov 2021 Mike Driver - (Rossville, GA)

Worst can Opener Ever Made Waste of Money

Not worth bringing home much less spending money on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Nov 2021 Bill Hutchison - (Westmoreland, TN)

Leaves Metal Slivers on Can

It looks nice. This opener works really well for a short period of time. I've had one for less than a year and use it only rarely. It appears that it is already worn out and will not open cans anymore. It now produces metal splinters when I try to open a can. Not good. I don't recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Nov 2021 Will Robertson - (Virginia Beach, VA)

Does NOT Work

It doesn't work. Every feature listed does not work. It does not loosen the top. I've tried old cans, new cans, big cans, little cans. Only 1 can allowed me to remove the top with my hands. It does not work. Don't buy it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Oct 2021 Lisa - (Graham, WA)

DO NOT BUY

This product is Junk! Never has worked right out of the box. Product is overpriced, they should be giving them away and at that I would refuse it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Jan 2022 Ronnie Strait

My can opener did the same thing never worked right out of the box, they sell no warranties?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Oct 2021 Teri - (Riverview, FL)

Safety Can Opener Junk

Can opener quit working within 6 months. Didn’t use it everyday and I would not purchase this can opener again. Wish I had not wasted my money.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Oct 2021 Michael C Shultz - (Joplin, MO)

Junk and Hazardous

This is a dangerous product for the short time it may work. It will leave metal shavings behind to contaminate your food. Get an old school Swing-a-way can opener they will dependably open any sized can. They have a magnet to keep the lid out of your food. And a nice big crank that makes it as easy to use as a can opener that uses electricity and is easy to clean. And most importantly save and wash some of the jars you get other food in and store your leftovers from the unused portions of those cans in the glass. Never store food in a can that has been opened even if the lid does pop on and off. The air reacts with metal and the acids in food to create poison. Bottom line food manufacturers and the FDA all say to never store food in the can it came in after opening even on all canned food labels read it. It's on every can. Or most and the ones that it doesn't should as per FDA regulations! The danger can express should be avoided at all costs! Lookup FDA Food storage safety regulations. This co. Is evil and needs to be shut down and all their openers recalled from the Market and restitution paid to all who purchased this dangerous Junk. Then go to the doctor and get checked for metal poisoning. They might want to swallow a cow magnet as well. You can get them at a feed and grain store or dollar General sells them in the toy section sold in pares as Zingers. The two magnets when allowed to hit each other make a zinging sound. Thus as a toy that's why they call them Zingers. But swallow just one they are made to easily pass through the digestive system and on the way will collect any iron particles or shavings you may have ingested.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 05 Oct 2021 Dean Rhadans - (Delafield, WI)

Don't Buy

This is not worth the money. I bought two and threw both of them in the garbage. Did not open all cans. Don't waste your money.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Nov 2021 Chris Buck

I had to throw mine away. It just stopped working. I tried to find the company online, but could not to complain.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Oct 2021 Mary - (Monroeville, PA)

Commercial

Just watched a commercial for 19.99. Looked but you have to buy 3. Who needs 3. But after reading the reviews I guess anyone that buys this will need all 3.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Oct 2021 Gary LA - (Bellevue, WA)

SO GLAD I Read These Reviews FIRST!

I was seriously considering ordering 2 of this safety can openers and so thankful I read many of these customer reviews first and avoided becoming another disappointed customer. Thank you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Oct 2021 GaryLA

Thank you EVERYBODY HERE! For sharing your honest feedback about this VERY disappointing product!

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Sep 2021 Betty Brown - (Dallas, TX)

I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased this can opener! Not worth the money and only opened 4 cans. I thought we're doing something wrong since it wouldn't open cans anymore. Now we know!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Sep 2021 Darlene - (Houston, TX)

RIP OFF, KEEP YOUR MONEY!

Need I say more? This can opener was made to RIP OFF people by a bunch of con artists. This can is a SAFETY HAZARD because when you can't get the can opened to get your food out, you can cut yourself and/ or get metal in your fingers. KEEP YOUR MONEY!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 17 Aug 2021 JoAnna - (New Lebanon, OH)

Just Junk

Do not waste your money on a Safety Can Express can opener. Only had it for about 4-5 months and does not work for last month. I will throw it away as they only take them back in 30 days. I bought a new one. Very disappointed with this product.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Sep 2021 Kenny

Ours also crashed in about 6 months. This is a piece of Junk. Save your money. Buy something that will last longer than 6 months.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Aug 2021 Robert mckay - (Des Moines, IA)

Idea is Good Prodict is Bad

I bought two for one, too good to be true. I tried both can openers and the results were the same. When I rubbed my thumb around the top of the opened can, it gave me a half an inch metal splinter and it hurt as he'll. Every can I opened produced metal shavings almost like a lathe leaves wood shavings. I eat a lot of fruit and tomatoes straight from the can and I have to check real close for shavings by dumping it into another container. How could this be ok with the FDA or BBB? Keep your children away from this device.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 25 Jul 2021 MARIE ROSE HUNTER - (Orange, CA)

Safety Can Is a Total Fail!

We have had one of these for over one year. We have tried it on every can we brought to our kitchen. It never opened a single one of them. The best it did was make an indent on the lid making it easier to use a manual opener to finish the job. Do not waste your money on this piece of Junk!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Jul 2021 Mike Mosley - (Tulsa, OK)

RIP off City

I bought two mine still works but the one I have my sister has stop working some one should file a class action suit against this company.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Jul 2021 Joyce Stormes - (Gatlinburg, TN)

I bought one and it opened five cans my daughters only opened four then they we're done. Apiece of Junk Beware.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Jul 2021 Carla - (DeSoto, TX)

Scam Artist

Old school everything is better. No one makes anything last anymore. They have no pride in their products anymore. You can get the same type can opener, that doesn't last for $11.99 on amazon. Do not buy this can opener.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Jun 2021 John Elliott - (Augusta, WV)

What a Piece of Junk

I have had this thing for 2 months. It worked ok for the first month, then the cutters went bad, it misaligned, it pealed the top outside ring off the cans.
Ar $40 for 2 months, that's $240 a year for a can opener. Ridiculous!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 May 2021 Linda Coble - (Salisbury, NC)

I do not recommend this to anyone. After a month the opener quit working. Very disappointed. It never worked on uneven cans either. It's a waste of money.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 May 2021 Pamela Hudson - (Las Vegas, NV)

Quit Working

We purchased the Safety Can Express about 2 months ago and use it a few times and now it doesn't work.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Safety Can Express Infomercial
Safety Can Express Infomercial
Safety Can Express Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼