View
112
Opinions
Below
64% 202 votes
36% 113 votes

Rocky Mountain

315 Votes

The Rocky Mountain Tumbler claims to keep beverages cold for up to twenty four hours, and hot beverages hot for up to twelve hours. It is perfect for a variety of drinks like coffee or tea in addition to cold drinks like water with ice or sodas. That said, you can bring this tumbler with you and use it indoors and outdoors. Made from stainless steel, the top is clear so that users can see what is inside.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Rocky Mountain is $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Rocky Mountain by paying the extra shipping fee of $7.99 for a total price of $35.97. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: buyrockymountain.com
315 Visitors rate it 3.1 Stars

Features

  • Hot or Cold

    It can be used to keep drinks hot or cold all day.

  • Insulation

    This tumbler has a double wall vacuum inside of it which gives extra strength insulation. Compared to plastic tumblers it will keep hot and cold drinks warmer and colder for twice the amount of time.

  • Clear Lid

    The lid attached to the tumbler is clear which lets you view how much of your beverage is still left inside.

  • Bpa Free

    This container is BPA free.

  • 30 Ounces

    It is sized such that it can hold up to 30 ounces of liquid.

Positive Points

  • Double Wall Vacuum

    The double wall vacuum insulation is what the company claims can prevent outside condensation from forming, and also what keeps the temperatures where they ought to be. This design is what allegedly keeps the temperatures cool inside even if the outside temperature rises, and vice versa.

  • Many Users

    Thermal mugs like these are ideally suited for those users who are often on the good, who are regularly outside. Also well suited for those who don’t necessarily have the time or desire to make multiple trips to the office kitchen. Good mugs will perform almost the exact same indoors or outdoors, making them the perfect way to store hot or cold drinks on the go. The flexibility in terms of keeping cold and hot beverages at the desired temperature means this tumbler is well suited for office works. Same as it is for construction workers who are outside, teachers, or sports fans out at an event.

  • Environmentally Friendly

    Using a thermal mug like this helps the environment because it reduces the amount of plastic and polystyrene cups which are used.

  • Variability

    It can hold cold fruit smoothies, soft drinks, or ice water. Alternatively, it can hold hot cocoa, coffee, tea, or even hot soup.

  • Tapered

    The cup design is tapered so that it fits standard cup holders.

Negative Points

  • Might Not Fit Car

    If your car comes with anything other than standard sized cup holders, this tumbler might not fit.

  • One Design

    There is only one design type, no additional colors or styles, nor any additional prints. This means they all look the same and design wise, it is rather limiting.

How It Works

Thermal tumblers like this work by way of insulation. Each contain insulates your drink by placing an additional layer of air in between your beverage and the outside environment. This can be done with insulating materials such as foam or with a vacuum seal. Heat then warms the air which is trapped in between and slows down how quickly your drink cools. Food science behind this is the same as covering yourself with a blanket at night. Blankets put a layer between your body and the outside air, and then traps the warm air generated by your body heat in between you / the blanket. The only real difference here is that thermal mugs have vacuums from cold air, which prevent any outside air from entering.
One key thing here to remember is the surface areas to volume ration. An espresso, for example, will get colder a lot faster than a large cup of coffee. Reason for this is the surface areas to volume ratios. Said espresso is served at the same liquid temperature as the large cup of coffee, but when you get it, it comes in a small glass. As a result, this means more of the total amount of coffee is touching the glass and therefore heat is conducted away. Your size of the mug is often the same size as a big cup of coffee which helps keep the changes in temperature to a minimum.

How it's Different from Competitors

Generally speaking, the myriad tumblers and thermal mugs out there for cold and hot beverages all keep for the same amount of time. For hot drinks, it can be expected to remain hot for between four and six hours. Yet, for cold drinks it can be expected to remain cold for up to twelve hours. Thermal mugs which come with vacuum seal lids are more efficient and keeping the temperature steady for the duration of use. That said, the claims that this tumbler lasts for 24 and 12 hours for cold and hot drinks respectively makes it a better option compared to competitors. However, there exists no real data to substantiate that claim as of yet nor any additional information on what really makes it stand out scientifically. Given that it uses the same vacuum seal and the same steel type as almost all other tumblers on the market, this claim should be taken with a grain of salt.

Save Money

Using a cup like this saves you money because you can bring your favorite hot or cold beverages anywhere you go, without having to stop for a drink along the way. You can make coffee at home in the mornings, always guaranteeing you get the brew you like best, and bring it to work. This will save you a lot of money on coffees or cold beverages from cafés when you are out and about.

Steel Type

Said product is made out of 18 / 8 stainless steel which claims to be indestructible. 18/8 is actually the most commonly used stainless steel for containers like this. This steel composition is called “304” in America. It is considered an austenitic form of stainless steel which means it is very, very weakly attracted by magnets. Other compositions include 18/10 and 18/0.18/10 is used for cutlery while 18/0 is ferritic steel, attracted by magnets, and not often used. Ferritic and austenitic versions of all three of these compositions cannot be hardened by any heat treatment which is what makes them suitable for cutlery. Martensitic versions of stainless steel respond to hardening heat treatments which means they are better suited for knife blades. Highest quality blades are made by combining both types. The same is true of tumblers. That said, high quality steel contains some amount of nickel which gives it higher corrosion resistance.

Warnings

  • Bpa

    You always want to be on the lookout for BPA. BPA is called bisphenol A and it is a chemical that is often found in the lining of food containers, food cans, or water bottles. There is some scientific evidence that links BPA exposure to certain negative health effects that might interfere with development or behavior. Finding travel mugs which expressly state “BPA Free” on them will do you and your loved ones a world of good. Not all mugs state this, and whether it is made of ceramic, stainless steel, or plastic, it could still have a certain amount of BPA. So do your research.

Wise Advice

Do not buy steel tumbler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy steel tumbler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

70 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.6
Rocky Mountain Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
5
4 STARS
5
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
2
1 STARS
57
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 70
Glen Robinson - (Socorro, NM)
Reviewed on: 02 Aug 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Rocky Mountain Crap Tumblers

Got these tumblers believing that I had found something good--NOT!

Coffee doesn't only not stay piping hot for 12 hours, in less than an hour it was at room temperature. Keep in mind that I bought the deluxe with the upgrade no-spill top. I have a knock off yeti, a Polar Camel that holds up way better! Live & Learn, waste a little money along the way then become wiser!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

vicki - (Berwick, PA)
Reviewed on: 29 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

ROCKY MOUNTAIN TUMBLER NOT HAPPY

It leaks and does not keep liquid warm let alone hot for 12 hours. Extremely disappointing particularly the price I paid for it. I took it back to the shop I brought from and the sales lady didn't even want listen to what I was trying to tell her she kept telling me I must be using it wrong and that they at not meant to be leak proof but the cup said they are spill proof how are they spill proof if the leak. Not happy she didn't even offer me a replacement one to try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Joe Smith - (Lumberton, NC)
Reviewed on: 29 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Rocky Mountain Tumbler Rip Off

Do not buy Rocky Mountain tumbler from Rocky Mountain tumbler site. Advertised $1$9.95 and get the second one for a fee of $9.95 with free shipping. When I ordered, Declines everything offered and still paid over $60.00! How does $1$9.95 + $9.95 = over $60.00? Ripped off big time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Kristina CT - (St. Albans, VT)
Reviewed on: 27 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

I Will NOT BUY from That Company AGAIN

So very disappointed. It leaks big time.

Tossed it in the rubbish where it belongs. A waste of $20.00 plus tax.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

taxsxavvy - (Covington, GA)
Reviewed on: 19 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

These tumblers are not worth the cardboard they are shipped in. If for no other reason, the Junkie lid does not keep fluids in if your tumbler spills. If you love your car, you will hate this tumbler! Slick sales job but quality lacking imho. A less expensive thermous brand tumbler will do a far better job without leaks. Been using one for a Decade now and not a drop!

And good luck getting a refund.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Dave - (Beckley, WV)
Reviewed on: 15 Jul 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Works as Advertised!

This is the only tumbler my wife and I use! Cold beverages stay cold all night and still have ice in them the next day. My wife drinks her hot tea in them and has no complaints about the tea staying hot. She says it cools down a little during the day, but remains hot enough to enjoy. We like the stainless steal straws they sell on the site as an add-on to your tumbler purchase. We also don't tip out glasses sideways, so we don't have a leaking lid issue like others have complained about. I would recommend them to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Tarilyn - (Monroe, AZ)
Reviewed on: 28 Jun 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

I live in AZ last week it was 123 outside, filled my tumbler with ice & water went shopping still cold all through out the day. Only thing I do not like about the tumbler, it is stainless steel. Stainless steel & Sun does not mix- I also take it by the pool. The tumbler gets very hot burns my lips and hands. Looking into handles for them, but still will not help with drinking it & burning my lips.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Carol Price - (Woonsocket, RI)
Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Leaking Lid

Lid drinking opening doen't stay open for drinking and does not close tight it leaks around the opening. I sent an email about the problem but got no response. Poor customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Mary New Smyrna Beach FLA - (North Lauderdale, FL)
Reviewed on: 16 May 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

This Product is INCREDIBLE !

I live in fla; I got this for mother's day 2017 ( thank you michael xoxox ) - the next day ( 92 degrees outside ) I filled it with ice and water and went to work in my durango with broken ac. I did not take it into any place I went and I did not open or drink from it all day. At the 12 hour mark I checked on it and the ice was still frozen cubes ( a little smaller cubes but still there ). I left it over night in the truck and the next day at 24 hour Mark, forgot it was there. At the 31 hour mark I went to drive to lunch and decided to taste the water ( all ice was melted at 31 hours! ) and it was ice cold! At 31 hours. I was sorry I did not have a thermometer and did not record my test. Next I will test it for hot for 12 hours. I love my Rocky Mountain tumbler and will defend it to my grave.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Gary
28 Jun 2017

We bought two of these from Walgreens and we use points from Walgreens and got them for about $10 a piece I done found the camouflage one that did not have a slide lid over at Walmart for ten bucks and they do keep hot liquids pretty good for a couple hours in the cold liquids considerably longer I'm like them pretty well and I would buy more of them that far superior to any other mother I've ever used for what I need it for so I highly recommend them and you know he's got one try it out put ice in an overnight it still have I sent the next morning thank you.

  • Write Your Reply

Nancy - (Truth or Consequence, NM)
Reviewed on: 21 Apr 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Rocky Mountain Tumbler

Product ok. Price and fees were astronomical. Ordered a total of 4 with paying just the shipping on the second 2. To my horror $135 was actually taken out of my account for fees and other things. When they were contacted they were willing to return the purchase price and shipping but the other $100 wasn't refundable. Not good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review Image

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


28 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 18
Bryce Browning - (Williamsville, NY)
Posted: 30 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

Not actually like it been advise on TV.

  • Write Your Reply

Nicole Waters - (Myrtle Beach, SC)
Posted: 25 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

The tumbler works great, however, I ordered and paid for the stainless steel straws and never received them. I have made several attempts to contact the company, but received to response.

  • Write Your Reply

Julie Koehler - (Cathedral City, CA)
Posted: 20 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

I purchased one for my husband and the first time he used it he said it leaked and refused to use it again. Can you suggest something or send a new lid that will not leak? I paid $19.99 for this and want some answers.

  • Write Your Reply

Royce Sims - (Woodward, OK)
Posted: 31 May 2017
I have something to say!

Mine leaks also, you were supposed to send different tops; have not received them.

  • Write Your Reply

Scott Trevino - (Savoy, IL)
Posted: 28 May 2017
I have a Question

Why do the instructions say not to put the RMT in the freezer?

  • Write Your Reply

Courtney Wilson - (Coral Springs, FL)
Posted: 04 May 2017
I have something to say!

They sell Rocky Mountain tumblers in stores. I bought one today at dollar general for $20.00.

  • Write Your Reply

Margret Dickerson
28 Jun 2017

Yes you can buy them at the store for $20 for one. However, if you buy it straight from Rocky Mountain web-site you can buy one @ $19.99 and 2nd one free. So your getting two for the price of one.

  • Write Your Reply

saundra - (Truckee, CA)
Posted: 03 May 2017
I have something to say!

Is it suppose to be leak proof? My leaks if turned on its side!

  • Write Your Reply

thomas - (Streetsboro, OH)
Posted: 27 Apr 2017
I have something to say!

Ordered a long time ago where is my item. If I don't get a reply back I want to cancel.

  • Write Your Reply

Terri - (Carmel, IN)
Posted: 23 Feb 2017
I have a Question

Does anyone have a phone number or email for customer service? I need to adjust an order.

  • Write Your Reply

cindy
03 Mar 2017

Go to the actual website and hit contact us.

  • Write Your Reply

Melinda - (Eugene, OR)
Posted: 17 Feb 2017
I have a Question

This may sound like a silly question, however, does one need to take the lid off in order to take a drink? Thank you.

  • Write Your Reply

Myron
29 Mar 2017

No, there is a spout that slides open and shut. Also holds a straw.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise