View
100
Opinions
Below
64% 198 votes
36% 112 votes

Rocky Mountain

310 Votes

The Rocky Mountain Tumbler claims to keep beverages cold for up to twenty four hours, and hot beverages hot for up to twelve hours. It is perfect for a variety of drinks like coffee or tea in addition to cold drinks like water with ice or sodas. That said, you can bring this tumbler with you and use it indoors and outdoors. Made from stainless steel, the top is clear so that users can see what is inside.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Rocky Mountain is $19.99 plus $7.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Rocky Mountain by paying the extra shipping fee of $7.99 for a total price of $35.97. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: buyrockymountain.com
310 Visitors rate it 3.1 Stars

Features

  • Hot or Cold

    It can be used to keep drinks hot or cold all day.

  • Insulation

    This tumbler has a double wall vacuum inside of it which gives extra strength insulation. Compared to plastic tumblers it will keep hot and cold drinks warmer and colder for twice the amount of time.

  • Clear Lid

    The lid attached to the tumbler is clear which lets you view how much of your beverage is still left inside.

  • Bpa Free

    This container is BPA free.

  • 30 Ounces

    It is sized such that it can hold up to 30 ounces of liquid.

Positive Points

  • Double Wall Vacuum

    The double wall vacuum insulation is what the company claims can prevent outside condensation from forming, and also what keeps the temperatures where they ought to be. This design is what allegedly keeps the temperatures cool inside even if the outside temperature rises, and vice versa.

  • Many Users

    Thermal mugs like these are ideally suited for those users who are often on the good, who are regularly outside. Also well suited for those who don’t necessarily have the time or desire to make multiple trips to the office kitchen. Good mugs will perform almost the exact same indoors or outdoors, making them the perfect way to store hot or cold drinks on the go. The flexibility in terms of keeping cold and hot beverages at the desired temperature means this tumbler is well suited for office works. Same as it is for construction workers who are outside, teachers, or sports fans out at an event.

  • Environmentally Friendly

    Using a thermal mug like this helps the environment because it reduces the amount of plastic and polystyrene cups which are used.

  • Variability

    It can hold cold fruit smoothies, soft drinks, or ice water. Alternatively, it can hold hot cocoa, coffee, tea, or even hot soup.

  • Tapered

    The cup design is tapered so that it fits standard cup holders.

Negative Points

  • Might Not Fit Car

    If your car comes with anything other than standard sized cup holders, this tumbler might not fit.

  • One Design

    There is only one design type, no additional colors or styles, nor any additional prints. This means they all look the same and design wise, it is rather limiting.

How It Works

Thermal tumblers like this work by way of insulation. Each contain insulates your drink by placing an additional layer of air in between your beverage and the outside environment. This can be done with insulating materials such as foam or with a vacuum seal. Heat then warms the air which is trapped in between and slows down how quickly your drink cools. Food science behind this is the same as covering yourself with a blanket at night. Blankets put a layer between your body and the outside air, and then traps the warm air generated by your body heat in between you / the blanket. The only real difference here is that thermal mugs have vacuums from cold air, which prevent any outside air from entering.
One key thing here to remember is the surface areas to volume ration. An espresso, for example, will get colder a lot faster than a large cup of coffee. Reason for this is the surface areas to volume ratios. Said espresso is served at the same liquid temperature as the large cup of coffee, but when you get it, it comes in a small glass. As a result, this means more of the total amount of coffee is touching the glass and therefore heat is conducted away. Your size of the mug is often the same size as a big cup of coffee which helps keep the changes in temperature to a minimum.

How it's Different from Competitors

Generally speaking, the myriad tumblers and thermal mugs out there for cold and hot beverages all keep for the same amount of time. For hot drinks, it can be expected to remain hot for between four and six hours. Yet, for cold drinks it can be expected to remain cold for up to twelve hours. Thermal mugs which come with vacuum seal lids are more efficient and keeping the temperature steady for the duration of use. That said, the claims that this tumbler lasts for 24 and 12 hours for cold and hot drinks respectively makes it a better option compared to competitors. However, there exists no real data to substantiate that claim as of yet nor any additional information on what really makes it stand out scientifically. Given that it uses the same vacuum seal and the same steel type as almost all other tumblers on the market, this claim should be taken with a grain of salt.

Save Money

Using a cup like this saves you money because you can bring your favorite hot or cold beverages anywhere you go, without having to stop for a drink along the way. You can make coffee at home in the mornings, always guaranteeing you get the brew you like best, and bring it to work. This will save you a lot of money on coffees or cold beverages from cafés when you are out and about.

Steel Type

Said product is made out of 18 / 8 stainless steel which claims to be indestructible. 18/8 is actually the most commonly used stainless steel for containers like this. This steel composition is called “304” in America. It is considered an austenitic form of stainless steel which means it is very, very weakly attracted by magnets. Other compositions include 18/10 and 18/0.18/10 is used for cutlery while 18/0 is ferritic steel, attracted by magnets, and not often used. Ferritic and austenitic versions of all three of these compositions cannot be hardened by any heat treatment which is what makes them suitable for cutlery. Martensitic versions of stainless steel respond to hardening heat treatments which means they are better suited for knife blades. Highest quality blades are made by combining both types. The same is true of tumblers. That said, high quality steel contains some amount of nickel which gives it higher corrosion resistance.

Warnings

  • Bpa

    You always want to be on the lookout for BPA. BPA is called bisphenol A and it is a chemical that is often found in the lining of food containers, food cans, or water bottles. There is some scientific evidence that links BPA exposure to certain negative health effects that might interfere with development or behavior. Finding travel mugs which expressly state “BPA Free” on them will do you and your loved ones a world of good. Not all mugs state this, and whether it is made of ceramic, stainless steel, or plastic, it could still have a certain amount of BPA. So do your research.

Wise Advice

Do not buy steel tumbler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy steel tumbler online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

63 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.5
Rocky Mountain Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
3
4 STARS
5
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
2
1 STARS
52
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 63
Carol Price - (Woonsocket, RI)
Reviewed on: 16 Jun 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Leaking Lid

Lid drinking opening doen't stay open for drinking and does not close tight it leaks around the opening. I sent an email about the problem but got no response. Poor customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Mary New Smyrna Beach FLA - (North Lauderdale, FL)
Reviewed on: 16 May 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

This Product is INCREDIBLE !

I live in fla; I got this for mother's day 2017 ( thank you michael xoxox ) - the next day ( 92 degrees outside ) I filled it with ice and water and went to work in my durango with broken ac. I did not take it into any place I went and I did not open or drink from it all day. At the 12 hour mark I checked on it and the ice was still frozen cubes ( a little smaller cubes but still there ). I left it over night in the truck and the next day at 24 hour Mark, forgot it was there. At the 31 hour mark I went to drive to lunch and decided to taste the water ( all ice was melted at 31 hours! ) and it was ice cold! At 31 hours. I was sorry I did not have a thermometer and did not record my test. Next I will test it for hot for 12 hours. I love my Rocky Mountain tumbler and will defend it to my grave.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Nancy - (Truth or Consequence, NM)
Reviewed on: 21 Apr 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Rocky Mountain Tumbler

Product ok. Price and fees were astronomical. Ordered a total of 4 with paying just the shipping on the second 2. To my horror $135 was actually taken out of my account for fees and other things. When they were contacted they were willing to return the purchase price and shipping but the other $100 wasn't refundable. Not good.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Sharon Mannion - (Kent, OH)
Reviewed on: 05 Apr 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Hot Doesn't Stay Hot, Handle Keeps Dropping Off

Would not recommend these. Doesn't keep hot stuff hot for even a few hours even after letting boiling water sit in them for 10 minutes to warm them up. Handles do not stay in place and drop down continually. Top heavy. Very expensive for a plain old thermos.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

charles tew jr - (Montgomery, NY)
Reviewed on: 30 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Good except the lid leaks through the drinking opening when closed. I bought it for my wife who travels for work, not good to travel with!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Mike - (Monroe, OH)
Reviewed on: 30 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Can't Cancel and Keeps Spamming Me

Have tried multiple times to Cancel my Order but they keep replying that my Order is on Back Order and I won't be Charged until the Order Ships. Not sure what the BackOrder has to do with Canceling the Order. In Addition, I used an Email Address Specifically set up for ordering the Rocky Mountain Tumbler, and since the day I placed the Order I have receive "Spam" Emails Advertising other Products from them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Stephen - (Ypsilanti, MI)
Reviewed on: 29 Mar 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Seems ok after 1 Day

So far it's fine. I'm replacing a sports cup not another Tumbler.

The reviews seem to want the RMT to be like a Thermos. I'm a little baffled by the reviews.

I ordered on a Sunday and tried to cancel ( due to reviews ) on Monday morning and it had already shipped. I got it usps a week later. Yes, the lid does leak out the spout if you tip it over but the edges don't leak. Honestly, it hard to tip over. It would be a problem in a lunchbox. My cold drink stays cold. I sipped on a smoothie for about 4 hours, it stayed thick and cold. I probably won't use it for coffee. Ice has been good for 4 hours and counting. I actually need some melting to start, I'm running out of water.

Ordering was a bit of bait and switch. I did the upgrade to the Premium Cup. It has a removable handle but other than that, I don't know that there is a difference. The Stainless steel straw was a extra that might have been handy. I'm using a extra long plastic straw.

In a nutshell, it's not a Thermos. For camping, I might use a different cup. For the car, this seems like a good product. I think the lid was upgraded, the online videos have a different lid. A screw on top would be nice. There's no condensation or excess heat or cold on the outside of the cup. Get the straw.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Philip - (Mount Vernon, WA)
Reviewed on: 23 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

The site is a scam tell you you're going to get a second cup for for 8.99 with free shipping and if you want to upgrade your cup you paid 10.99 for another cup so it makes you seem like you're getting three cups when you only get into and they charge you an extra $20 to upgrade your cup so it's a scam I wouldn't buy from them again I tried to send back the Cuffs it tell me my 8.99 fee is non-refundable so it's just sad and I got to pay for the shipping to go back it's a scam I wouldn't buy it anymore.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Teresa - (Lodi, CA)
Reviewed on: 22 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Leaking Lid

Purchased a tumbler and when it came in lid leaked. They said they would ship new one, that's been three months ago still no lid. Do not buy this product!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Doug - (Tehachapi, CA)
Reviewed on: 16 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

DO NOT BUY

I purchased this and I received it in within a few weeks of ordering which is not bad compared to what some have waited, but I actually place an order for 3 cups and received only 2. Contacted customer service and they were not willing to make things right. The only thing they would do is offer a $5.00 discount off a new order if I wanted to re-order the 3rd cup that I originally had paid for. Still trying to figure out I ordered 3 but received to and was still charge $40.00. If you ask me I personally think its a scam and i'm also disappointed on how customer service could care less about what I received compared to what was actually ordered. If the 3 cups would have arrived like normal I was going to being placing and order for 17 more for my other co-workers but sure am glad I didn't now. Thanks for nothing rmt.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review Image

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


24 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 15
Royce Sims - (Woodward, OK)
Posted: 31 May 2017
I have something to say!

Mine leaks also, you were supposed to send different tops; have not received them.

  • Write Your Reply

Scott Trevino - (Savoy, IL)
Posted: 28 May 2017
I have a Question

Why do the instructions say not to put the RMT in the freezer?

  • Write Your Reply

Courtney Wilson - (Coral Springs, FL)
Posted: 04 May 2017
I have something to say!

They sell Rocky Mountain tumblers in stores. I bought one today at dollar general for $20.00.

  • Write Your Reply

saundra - (Truckee, CA)
Posted: 03 May 2017
I have something to say!

Is it suppose to be leak proof? My leaks if turned on its side!

  • Write Your Reply

thomas - (Streetsboro, OH)
Posted: 27 Apr 2017
I have something to say!

Ordered a long time ago where is my item. If I don't get a reply back I want to cancel.

  • Write Your Reply

Terri - (Carmel, IN)
Posted: 23 Feb 2017
I have a Question

Does anyone have a phone number or email for customer service? I need to adjust an order.

  • Write Your Reply

cindy
03 Mar 2017

Go to the actual website and hit contact us.

  • Write Your Reply

Melinda - (Eugene, OR)
Posted: 17 Feb 2017
I have a Question

This may sound like a silly question, however, does one need to take the lid off in order to take a drink? Thank you.

  • Write Your Reply

Myron
29 Mar 2017

No, there is a spout that slides open and shut. Also holds a straw.

  • Write Your Reply

Jeannine - (Muskego, WI)
Posted: 30 Jan 2017
I have something to say!

Still waiting for mine to arrive. Ordered it in mid-November, supposedly back-ordered, but plenty of these reviews seem like they ordered after me and got theirs already.
Though, based on these other reviews I'm wondering if I should just try to cancel it now.

  • Write Your Reply

Jocelyn
01 Feb 2017

I'd cancel before it's too late.

  • Write Your Reply

Mike
30 Mar 2017

Good luck with that. I have been Emailing them to "Cancel" my Order for over a week now, and all they write back is that my Order is on Backorder and I won't be charged until it ships. As I have already tried to Cancel the order multiple times now, if they do ship the items and charge me for them I will simply dispute the charge with the CC Company.

  • Write Your Reply

Pamela Linton - (Stevensville, MD)
Posted: 21 Jan 2017
I have something to say!

This tumbler that I bought Rocky Mountain Tumbler does not keep coffee hot. Thats what I bought it for. I
Was very disappointed in it. I want to send mine order back. I hAVE not tried the cold.

  • Write Your Reply

Jon Yarlott - (Chicopee, MA)
Posted: 09 Jan 2017
I have a Question

This does not hold fluid without leaking if it is on the side. The lid is not insulated so it does not perform as stated in the ad. Very disappointed. Trying to return items. What else have they lied about?

  • Write Your Reply

Vickie
20 Feb 2017

They make YOU pay for the shipping to return it.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise