View
23
Opinions
Below
16% 57 votes
84% 303 votes

Own Zone

360 Votes

Rate this product

Own Zone are wireless, noise-canceling headphones that will connect to virtually any TV, so you can listen as loud as you want without bothering anyone who's nearby. Their wireless coverage will extend up to 100 feet from the television they're connected to, which'll give you the ability to listen to a program of your choice while you're not even in the room. These headphones are adjustable, and each pair has padded ear cups, so they're also super-comfortable to wear.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Own Zone is $39.99 plus $5.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Own Zone at the discounted price of only $19.99 for a total price of $65.97.

Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: getownzone.com

TV Commercial

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Plug Into tv

    To start using your Own Zone headphones, plug the included small black transmitter into the audio OUT jack of your television. You'll likely find this jack on the back of your TV, although with some makes and models, it may be in a slightly different location.

  2. Put on Headphones

    Next, after your transmitter is plugged in, you can put on the headphones and adjust them to suit the size and shape of your head. At this point, you should be able to hear sound coming from your television through the headphones. You'll also be able to adjust the volume of the sound you hear by using the mechanism on the right ear cup of your headphones.

  3. Watch And/or Listen Peacefully

    While keeping these headphones on, you'll be able to enjoy the television program of your choice with high-quality, crystal-clear sound, even if you get up and walk a few feet away from the TV. Depending on how close your yard is to your television, you may still be able to hear the program with clarity from outside, too.

Features

  • Noise-canceling Technology

    These headphones operate by virtue of noise-canceling technology, which minimizes any sound coming from outside your headphones, so you can hear every bit of noise coming from them super-clearly. Therefore, you won't be distracted from your TV programs by noises such as cars honking from outside or people talking a few feet away.

  • Adjustable

    The headband on Own Zone headphones is adjustable, so everyone who wears them will be able to quickly make them the right size for their head. That means an entire family or household can share one pair among themselves without taking tons of time for adjustments, if they choose.

  • Soft Padding

    Both the headband and the ear cups on each pair of Own Zone headphones are covered in soft padding, which means they'll likely feel comfortable on your head and won't give you a headache. The padding also helps mitigate the sharpness of the sound coming through the ear cups, reducing the risk that any user will incur ear damage when listening to the headphones at a loud volume.

Positive Points

  • Ideal for Bedroom

    These headphones are a great thing to use when watching TV in the bedroom, especially if you have a roommate or partner who wants the room quiet for sleeping or another activity. When you've got the headphones on, you'll be able to hear your TV perfectly without disturbing them at all, so everyone will end up satisfied.

  • Work With Almost All Tvs

    Own Zone headphones will plug into almost all TVs, regardless of the make or model, so if you go somewhere else like a hotel with your headphones, you likely won't have problems using them.

  • Helpful in Family Room

    Sometimes some members of a family or household want to use the family room for watching television, while others want to talk or read, which can create conflict. Fortunately, having the TV watchers wear wireless headphones such as Own Zone can help you out here. With these, the talkers and readers won't be able to hear the television, while the ones who want to hear it will be able to do so loud and clear. Hopefully, this will lead to harmony within an entire group.

  • Aid With Multitasking

    Since these headphones will give you the ability to hear your television while you're up to 100 feet away, they'll help you get work done while listening to your television. If your television's in the living room or family room, you'll likely be able to wander from there to the kitchen or bathroom, completing household chores, without missing a word of your TV program. You may even be able to run the garbage outside without missing a moment!

Negative Points

  • May Miss Something Important

    While it's nice to be able to cancel out noise, there's a chance that you'll miss something important while wearing these headphones, such as your phone ringing or a family member making a significant statement. On a daily basis, you'll need to determine when hearing a television program is most important to you, and when communicating with others must take priority.

  • Huge Ear Cups

    The huge ear cups on each pair of Own Zone headphones are comfortable to wear, but some people can't stand huge cups and would prefer small earbuds instead. For these people, Own Zone headphones may not be the best choice of listening device.

Alternatives

  • Standard Headphones

    You can connect a pair of standard headphones to most televisions, but they may not offer you the same sound quality as Own Zone headphones. Plus, they likely won't have the same wireless transmission capabilities, so you might have to sit incredibly close to your television while using them.

  • Other Wireless Headphones

    There are other models of wireless headphones available besides Own Zone, but many of these will only connect to computers and smartphones, instead of connecting directly to televisions.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Own Zone online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Own Zone online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

23 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2
Own Zone Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
1 STARS
1

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

wayne howell - (Fort Worth, TX)
Posted: 16 Oct 2018
I have something to say!

I'm Unable to Order Online.

I'm trying to order the Own Zone head set.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Terry
Posted: 18 Oct 2018

What problem are you having ordering? It is available on Amazon now which I find much more reliable and easier for returns if you don't like it.

Reply
Unhappy - (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Posted: 06 Oct 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Waste Your Time

Another cheap produce dumped on America's Market place made in China, only to rip off the American consumers. This poor quality product has no customer support to help you. Don't waste of time and money. Just another rip off product from China, dumping on American Markets with cheaply made junk that doesn't work. DO NOT Purchase- you will be sorry you didn't listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Robert Blaske - (Yulee, FL)
Posted: 05 Oct 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Excellent but FLAW Problem

We ordered 2 headphones and got them working, but later the on\off button jammed on one set. I sent these back for repair. Now week latter and the other set of headphones has the same problem. Design of this important user feature is big problem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
luann - (Lowell, MI)
Posted: 18 Sep 2018
I have a Question

Batteries

Do these head phones have batteries?

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Phillip Lancaster - (Foley, AL)
Posted: 05 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

NO GOOD RIP OFF

My Own Zone headset will not work all I receive is static, when I call customers service (8 times) a recording refers me to another number put me on hold then shortly cuts off. Dont buy these products.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jake - (Brenham, TX)
Posted: 02 Sep 2018
I have a Question

Will the TV sound keep working while using this item?

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Taken for a ride - (Apache Junction, AZ)
Posted: 31 Aug 2018
I have something to say!

DON'T FALLFORIT

This offer is a scam. Research it before you order. Do not give them any personal info or credit info.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
THOM - (Englishtown, NJ)
Posted: 27 Aug 2018
I have a Question

Does it use batteries?

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carol Wineman - (Greensburg, PA)
Posted: 09 Aug 2018
I have a Question

No Response From Company After Several Emails

They sent me two sets instead of the one I requested. And I get sound out of only one side of the headset. Can I return these?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Galen Hiveley - (Davenport, IA)
Posted: 04 Aug 2018
I have something to say!

Ordered 2, 1 Received and it Doesn't Work

Ordered two of the higher end offered headphones. Only one received, called them and they said another one would be sent. We have a serious problem though, no sound from the headphones from our TV. For some reason using the headphone jack from our Hitachi TV produces no sound. It's about two years old. Just some very low volume and really chopped audio. Says to increase TV volume in the manual and that doesn't seem to help. Also our TV does not mute the sound with the headphone jack in use. There are no others options within our TV menu to set it any differently. I don't see how they can work with our TV. I Decided to try a different TV, A large screen Phillips about 15 years old. Same problem, the audio jack does not mute the audio and no sound through the headphones. Last resort, I decided to try using them with the audio jack from my Dell desktop computer and they do seem to work with it. That's all well and fine, but I don't see how these headphones are going to work with either TV that we have.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Levearl Snider - (Troy, MO)
Posted: 27 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Fair Review

I have been trying to call Own Zone to talk to someone in Technical Support with-out success. I received my set of 2 headphones 2 days ago and had difficulty setting them up, even though I attached them in my Spectrum cable box exactly like my other headphones were attached. I had a friend help who is a wiz on electronics and after 45 minutes he discovered they are not compatible with HDMI. When he attached them to a Separate T. V. Set in my basement they had sound, finally, but by going to RCA connections picture was fuzzy and and could only get sound through headphones not T. V. Which is not compatable with instruction manual.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Gerald Kreiger - (Cumberland, MD)
Posted: 26 Jul 2018
I have a Question

1 add shows the price as $39.99 plus $5.99 and you can get a second pair for $19.99 how do I get the two sets for $65.97?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carolyn Ederington - (Friendswood, TX)
Posted: 24 Jul 2018
I have a Question

Static

Why does my headphones sound like fast talking chipmunks?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Lenny Carlson - (Monterey, CA)
Posted: 02 Jul 2018
I have a Question

Is There a Benefit?

If these earphones are in use, does it affect normal sound on the T.V. Such as, if I am using these, can others still hear the T.V at a regular sound level?

20 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
mary - (Owings, MD)
Posted: 30 Jun 2018
I have something to say!

Own Zone HEADSET

Just ordered Own Zone headphones; however, after reading posted reviews of people not getting their orders (2017), this makes me afraid; hoping the tv/ Own Zone is for real. For now I'm excited, cant wait to get them.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
WILL Delito - (Ruidoso, NM)
Posted: 15 Jan 2018
I have something to say!

WHY PURCHASE

After reading the reviews I have to wonder "why buy these? ".

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
WILL Delito - (Breese, IL)
Posted: 15 Jan 2018
I have a Question

Headphone Battery

How do you charge the headphones, what battery does it use, how long can you use headphones before recharging and how long does it take to charge them?

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Gary - (Santa Cruz, CA)
Posted: 14 Jan 2018
I have something to say!

Transmission Delay?

Is there a Transmission Delay present when using this? Most wireless head phones have a delay. The voices don't match Lips moving.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
WILL Delito
Posted: 15 Jan 2018

My JVC's don't have a delay.

Reply
Barbara schultz - (Marine City, MI)
Posted: 09 Dec 2017
I have something to say!

Did Not Receive

Order #23849974. You received my order on 11 / 13 / 17
I have not received the product or any word from your company
Please respond. I hate to feel I have been ripped of.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Earl Lowe - (West Columbia, SC)
Posted: 07 Dec 2017
I have something to say!

Head Sets out of Stock Cancel Order

Got e mail saying they oversold and are out of stock just sign on to web site. But when I try the site it says it can't be reached.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Julia Ann Westmoreland - (Mequon, WI)
Posted: 04 Dec 2017
I have something to say!

I have been trying to reach you using 8005771027 and I reached
Another company. I thought I had entered an order for head phones
And now I can't reach you. I have ticket # 8927 do you have my
Order? My address is 153 hamilton dr. Toccoa, ga 30577
Please advise.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS