View
49
Opinions
Below
32% 211 votes
68% 449 votes

Magic Pad

660 Votes

Rate this product

Magic Pad is a creative toy for kids that's similar to the old Etch A Sketch, whatever you draw will light up on the screen. Each compact, portable pad comes with three double-sided neon pens, 30 stencils, a case for storage or travel, and a fun guide that'll help you figure out what to draw (or write). You'll be able to reuse this pad hundreds or even thousands of times, as it'll simply wipe clean when you want it to be blank again.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Magic Pad is $19.99 plus $5.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Magic Pad at the discounted price of only $5.99 for a total price of $31.97.

Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: buymagicpad.com

TV Commercial


Magic Pad VS Glow Pad Video Review

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Add Batteries and Power it up

    Once there are batteries in your Magic Pad (which you'll need to provide), follow the instructions in your guide in order to turn it on.

  2. Start Drawing or Writing

    After your pad has been turned on, you can pick up any of the included neon markers and start writing or drawing anything you'd like with either end of the pen. Since three double-sided markers come with each pad, you'll have six colors to draw with in total, and you can switch colors at any time.

  3. Apply Effects (optional)

    When you're done drawing a picture or writing, you can then make your work blink, scramble the colors or apply any of the other six cool effects that are available. To do so, all you'll need to do is push the gray button located on the edge of your pad one to eight times.

  4. Wipe Clean to Reuse

    If you want to reuse your pad to make a new drawing or write something different, wipe it clean with a dry cloth to turn it back into a blank canvas. You can also wipe just part of the screen clean if you want to preserve part of your project.

A Kids Review of Magic Pad

How It Works

Color burst LED lights and Illumi-Screen Science work together within each Magic Pad to make each pad light up like it does. Due to the workings within, each time you make a stroke with one of the included neon pens, the LED lights will cause that stroke to light up, during the day or at night. When you wipe your pad clean, any illuminated shapes or lines made with the pens will disappear, as wiping the screen will dull the effects of the technology.

Features

  • 30 Stencils Included

    To help you have as much fun as you possibly can with your Magic Pad, 30 stencils are included with each one. These include pictures of animals, numbers to help you with your math skills, and templates for games you can play on your pad. You'll be able to insert any stencil by sliding it through the top of your pad with the stencil side facing up.

  • Portable

    Each of these drawing pads is portable and may entertain you for hours if you're a passenger in a vehicle. These pads are fairly lightweight, but you won't have to carry yours in your hands since each comes with a fabric bag with a drawstring. Besides using this bag while you're on a trip, you can also use it as a storage bag for your pad while you're at home.

  • Led Lights

    The lights within each Magic Pad are LED lights, so they'll be more likely to last a long time than lights of another type. Even if you use your pad on a daily basis, the lights within may take years to burn out.

  • Comes With Fun Guide

    If you're not sure where to start when you turn on this drawing pad, you'll probably find the included fun guide incredibly helpful. Within it, you'll find lots of ideas when it comes to what you should draw or write on your pad, along with instructions for fun games you can use the pad to play.

Positive Points

  • Doubles as Night Light

    Those users who don't like to sleep in complete darkness, but don't want to waste electricity or keep themselves awake by turning on a large light, can use their pad as a night-light. One of these pads will give you just enough light to see if necessary, but not enough to keep you or others in the room from falling asleep.

  • Play Alone or With Friends

    While the Magic Pad is a great toy to spend a few hours alone with, as drawing and writing tend to be independent activities, you can use your pad with friends, too. Not only does it make a great tic-tac-toe or Hangman board, you and your pals can also write cool glow-in-the-dark messages to each other on the pad.

  • Makes no Mess

    Other drawing mediums, especially paint, can make a mess of you and the area around you—a mess that could take hours for you and your friends or family members to clean up. Fortunately, your Magic Pad won't make any mess at all. The included neon pens don't work on anything besides the pad, so they won't leave stains on your skin, furniture, or clothes, and the pad itself can be wiped clean in seconds.

  • Can be Educational Tool

    Parents will be pleased to find out that these drawing pads aren't just something to have fun with. If a child needs to work on their math, spelling or reading skills, they can use their pad to do so. While this might not be as fun as drawing whatever one wants with the pad, it'll probably end up being more fun than doing homework with a pencil and paper.

Negative Points

  • Must Use Specific Markers

    You can't use ordinary crayons, markers, pencils or pens on one of these drawing pads. Instead, you'll only be able to use the six neon pens that come with each one. Therefore, if you happen to lose those, you won't be able to use your pad for drawing or writing any longer. To replace your pens, you may have to obtain an entire new pad.

  • Limited Border Choices

    People who desire a Magic Pad can obtain one with a red border or one with a blue border, but you can't actually make this choice yourself. If you request two Magic Pads, you'll get one with a red border and one with a blue, but if you just want one pad, your border color will be a surprise. If a child happens to hate the color red or the color blue, they may be disappointed with what they get.

Save Money

If you're a parent with one or more children who like to draw, you may find yourself replacing empty packages of paper and used-up drawing utensils almost constantly. However, if you get each child a Magic Pad, you'll hardly ever have to replace anything, as the pad and included pens can be used again and again without showing their age. Your 50th drawing will likely look just as attractive, or even more so, in comparison to your first.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Pad online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Pad online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

16 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2.4

Click to View

5 STARS
4
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
1
1 STARS
9

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Leanne Robinson - (Katy, TX)
Posted: 07 May 2019

ZERO STARS

I'd leave zero stars if I could. Wouldn't know if it's any fun because the screw for the battery cover wouldn't budge and ended up stripped as I was trying to get it out. I'm sick if be sold CHEAP GARBAGE. RETURNING.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Diane Duarte - (Elizabeth City, NC)
Posted: 20 Jan 2019

Need the site please where you got extra pens.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
cm
Posted: 23 Feb 2019

You can get replacement pens at 5 below stores and the good thing is you get a one whole pen for each color.

Reply
Dawn McWhorter - (Colusa, CA)
Posted: 19 Jan 2019

So I bought this for my daughter she loves it but needs to come with extra Markers and isn't easy to wipe off with one swipe. Markers dry out too easy. Should be less than 20 bucks and needs major improvement.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Tera - (Compton, CA)
Posted: 03 Jan 2019

Its Pretty Cool and I Think it Works Quite Well

Ok I read all these reviews but we just received this and tried it out. My 4-year-old and I both love it. I must say to people leaving reviews well of course if you drop it then it might not work but that's to be expected with any electronic. Also, it does wipe clean as I tried it. Yes, it's not as easy as a dry erase board where the eraser just lightly glides and barely touched to do the job. This cloth and plastic have to use a little pressure to actually glide so a small child might need help but it does easily come clean with the cloth if done correctly. We really like it. How fun and awesome but yes I am wondering how to get more pens for whenever these run out. Hopefully, the company is working on selling replacement pens or could probably find others to use from similar glow brands but either way this thing is pretty cool.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
joe neal - (Middletown, OH)
Posted: 01 Jan 2019

Mistake

So what the hell is this company trying to make our kids stupid or something. Trying to find lollipop and the only way to do it is lollipop.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Michele Renz - (Aliso Viejo, CA)
Posted: 29 Dec 2018

Markers

Where can you get extra markers. My grandson plays with it so much , pen need to be replaced.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Karen Rhoades - (Hudsonville, MI)
Posted: 29 Dec 2018

Kids Love it!

I was hesitant after the bad reviews but my kids (ages 5 and 2) LOVE these! My 2 year old simply enjoys coloring and the light up feature while my 5 year old has been practicing drawing and her letters! We love the stencils that came wigh the packet. A great variety!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Al Esquivel - (New Port Richey, FL)
Posted: 28 Dec 2018

DO NOT PURCHASE ON LINE

Terrible customer service, stay away. Once you get it (if you do get it) the markers will go fast, and the only way to get them is ONLINE, so better not.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Alexander Esquivel - (New Port Richey, FL)
Posted: 28 Dec 2018

Terrible Customer Service

Avoid the Online purchase, the company SUCKS. Better deal with Amazon, Target or other retailers. If they do come bad they will give you only $19.99 back, hence you will be better off going to the store. Spoke to the Supervisor and Head Honcho, and she was RUDE. Not ever purchasing Anything from them ever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Tanz - (Piedmont, OK)
Posted: 25 Dec 2018

Magic Pad

Awesome works really well kids loved for christmas

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Marion Estephan - (Easton, PA)
Posted: 25 Dec 2018

Grandchildren Were Thrilled

I ordered two deluxe Magic Pads and when they were delivered I was so mad. Instead of the Deluxe they sent me two regular ones with only 30 stencils and three pens ,yet the box had a deluxe sticker on it.I called customer service and the very nice girl explained that they ran out of the Deluxe and offered to give me a $10. credit.I felt that this was deceptive because if I didn't notice that it was a regular one that I was paying more.I couldn't refuse because I didn't have another gift.I gave my 6yr.old granddaughter and 4 yr.old grandson them Christmas Eve at 10:00 AM in the morning and they would not put them down.They told their parents that they were the best presents ever.My heart dropped.I was so happy.I just wish I could have given a better review because the product is GREAT.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Betty VanGelder - (Cypress, CA)
Posted: 23 Dec 2018

Deliver by Christmas?

No. I’m out shopping for something else now. Ordered 3 weeks ago, it hasn’t even been shipped yet. They promised dellivery before Christmas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Manuel Mata - (El Paso, TX)
Posted: 18 Dec 2018

Thank Goodness For Reviews

With so many reviews in the negative, I have made up my mind not to buy it. It appears to be badly made and customer service is horrendous. Thank you guys for the reviews, I believe you!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Deb Skinner Kisly - (Norwich, NY)
Posted: 16 Dec 2018

DO NOT BUY!

A piece of crap. Screen never comes clean. Poor quality and not durable. I give it a day. Waste of money and very disappointed in product. My grandson's first birthday with us and it was a let down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
dawn roseberry - (Dallas, TX)
Posted: 13 Dec 2018

i want to cancel my order

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Pat
Posted: 18 Dec 2018

Same here but I cannot get anyone to answer the phone or respond to my email. Order number and Customer Service number both are on infinite holds

Reply
Pam - (United States, US)
Posted: 13 Dec 2018

What is the difference between a Magic Pad and a Magic Pad DELUXE?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mel Rusig - (Ft. Pierce, FL)
Posted: 10 Dec 2018

As Seen on TV

I began to place an order online for the as seen on TV one and it said place order (without an order total) but I clicked it anyway to see what the total was, but changed my mind when it said it takes 3-6 weeks for delivery. It kept asking me to buy upsells and I kept clicking NO for each one to get to the order total screen to make sure I could confirm my order didn't go through, but it was too late! It placed my order without giving me a final total first or a chance to cancel before submitting. They better let me cancel it once I call them on Monday!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Regret finding this Item - (Kelso, TN)
Posted: 07 Dec 2018

Do not Deal With This Company, Hidden Charges!

Hidden charges! Do not attempt to buy the "bonus bundle", it is a joke! You will get charged 4 times for 5.99. Two 5.99 charges for a service fee, a $1 "web fee" and two more 5.99 charges for extra shipping and handling! Absolutely ridiculous and very misleading. Never again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Tami Speer - (Mountain View, CA)
Posted: 05 Dec 2018

Markers

Great product my granddaughter loves it bought it for a road trip and she has been using every day since. However, the Markers are already done and can't buy replacement ones so now it's useless.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
cm
Posted: 23 Feb 2019

There are neon dry eraser pens at 5 below stores only 4 dollars and from what I have been told regular dry eraser color Markers work so I got my son one sent it to him and the damn thing had no pens in it so he is using regular dry eraser Markers until he gets these neon pens from me.

Reply
Paula Cearbaugh - (Syracuse, IN)
Posted: 01 Dec 2018

Make Sure you Read Reviews Before Ordering

I just placed my order for this product. It asked if I wanted to upgrade to the Deluxe MagicPad for only $5.00 per pad and no extra charges. Why not. The final charge was $84.94. $59.98 for the 2 "discounted" deluxe Magic pads. (So much for only $5.00 each), $11.98 for 2 Separate bonus fees (so much for no extra fees) and then $11.98 shipping. What in the world is "separate bonus fees". Of course, customer service isn't open until Monday. I really wish I would have read the reviews first.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Richard
Posted: 08 Dec 2018

Just curious. Wasn't their customer Service any help?

Reply
Paula Cearbaugh
Posted: 13 Dec 2018

I did get a response quickly through e-mail and they made it right by refunding me. I received them in the mail yesterday. These are Christmas gifts so I won't how they work until then.

CHERYL - (Hamilton, OH)
Posted: 27 Nov 2018

How do I Cancel an Order

I want to know how to cancel an order?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
joy strittmatter - (Carlisle, PA)
Posted: 08 Nov 2018

This Sucks

I have had it for 25 minutes the boy dropped it will not work. Not threw it but it slipped and hit the floor and will not light up batteries are loose.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jose - (Clearfield, UT)
Posted: 04 Nov 2018

Don't Buy.pens dry Fast no Replacement

Product sucks.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
cm
Posted: 05 Mar 2019

There are neon dry eraser pens at 5 below stores only 4 dollars and from what I have been told regular dry eraser color Markers work so I got my son one sent it to him and the damn thing had no pens in it so he is using regular dry eraser Markers until he gets these neon pens from me.

Reply
Linda - (Nelsonville, OH)
Posted: 04 Nov 2018

Thanks to all

Thank you to everyone for your reviews. You made up my mind for me. I was going to order 2 as Christmas gifts but decided that it sounds like BIG a mistake.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
ron hart - (Saint Charles, MO)
Posted: 04 Nov 2018

Magic Pad Batteries

Soft metal screw on battery compartment. Strips easily. Had to bust the compartment open. Batteries go in butt first. No instruct. Everything else ok. For the price they could have used a real metal screw!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Charmane - (Hockessin, DE)
Posted: 27 Oct 2018

Magic Pad

What is the age range recommended for this product?

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Angela - (Elko, NV)
Posted: 16 Oct 2018

What a Joke

Ordering this product was seriously the worst mistake I've ever made. My daughter saw the ad and wanted one for her birthday which was 5 months away. Great. WRONG! It never arrived on time, ok so I will save it for Christmas. It did take 10 months to receive AND now I see where they have charged me wrong. Yes I kept a print out of my order online, but when I got my cc statement they charged me more. I have been on hold for over 40 minutes to try to talk to someone. Chalk it up to lesson learned. But also the WORST customer service ever. Save your time and money.

32 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Karen West - (Arlington, TX)
Posted: 28 Sep 2018

Poor Battery Cover Design

I cannot unscrew the battery cover. The only thing I was able to do with it was to strip the screw. I will take it back and get my money back.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Patricia Parlerler - (Bridgeport, CT)
Posted: 21 Aug 2018

Magic Pad

I ordered an Magic Pad on August 8 how long does it take to get here?

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Megan
Posted: 23 Aug 2018

I ordered mine on June 6th. It STILL has not even SHIPPED.Today is Aug 23rd. They have sent emails promising me no later than Aug 6th, but now they are saying they can not guarantee a date because they are so backed up on orders. I ended cancelling calling today for another update & cancelled my order. Terrible way to run a business. Good luck to you though!

Reply
Vanessa J - (Birmingham, AL)
Posted: 04 Aug 2018

I Have a Comment

It is disappointing that the customer service and shipping issues are standing in the way of people being able to purchase AND receive what seems to be a fabulous product! I'll just wait until they show up in the "ASOTV" section of Walmart. Oh, and you might want to include in your promotional information what size/type of batteries are needed for use.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Vanessa J
Posted: 04 Aug 2018

I can see why the shipping issue is such a problem! My original comment shows that I'm from Birmingham, AL. That's one state away from where I actually am.

Reply
Carla Ticknor - (Rockford, IL)
Posted: 31 Jul 2018

Very disappointing. I ordered two Magic Pads online several weeks ago. I never received any reply, confirmation and never received my order. I just tried ordering again to no avail. I talked to customer service and they said they had no record of my order. Unacceptable.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carolyn Williams - (Ellicott City, MD)
Posted: 19 Jul 2018

Delivery Status

How do I find the delivery status?

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carla Ticknor
Posted: 31 Jul 2018

I ordered two sets of Magic Pads online. Never heard any confirmation much less any Magic Pad sent. Just tried ordering again online, talked to customer service and no resolution. Very disappointed with their service. I don't understand why they can't fulfill the order.

Reply
Shaun - (Highland Village, TX)
Posted: 28 Jun 2018

Not as Marketed

The TV commercial starts by offering you a Magic Pad for $11.99 but BUT you can order now and get two for $20. I didn’t want two. I called for ONE, they won’t sell you one.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
nancy - (Riverview, FL)
Posted: 15 Jun 2018

Xtra Pens

Is there a site to buy xtra pens?

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
steven
Posted: 27 Jul 2018

Are they dry erase pins?

Reply
Ghost
Posted: 23 Oct 2018

I read another site that said no. Apparently, if a pen gets lost, you have to repurchase the whole thing.

Reply
Jill
Posted: 30 Nov 2018

I purchased extra pens from the website I bought the magic pad

Diane Duarte
Posted: 20 Jan 2019

I can't find the pens can you put up the site where you got the extra pens from?

cm
Posted: 23 Feb 2019

You can buy some neon dry eraser Markers at 5 below stores same colors 6 pens 4 dollars.

Reply
cm
Posted: 05 Mar 2019

There are neon dry eraser pens at 5 below stores only 4 dollars and from what I have been told regular dry eraser color Markers work so I got my son one sent it to him and the damn thing had no pens in it so he is using regular dry eraser Markers until he gets these neon pens from me.

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise
User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS