MENU

Magic Gate

273 Votes
Rate this product
Magic Gate Magic Gate or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Magic Gate is a gate that can be used to keep your dog out of certain areas of your home, without making it difficult for you to walk into any area. The gate is made of super-strong mesh that can withstand up to 100 lbs of force, but is barely visible, so it won't disrupt the theme of your decor. Only the border of a Magic Gate can easily be seen, and you can choose between a beige or a black border. This gate can extend across spaces up to six feet wide, and if you use it to cover a shorter gap, all you'll need to do is roll up the excess mesh at one end.

Magic Gate Magic Gate or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Claim

With the Magic Gate, you'll be able to keep your dog near you, but you'll also be able to keep him or her from causing trouble inside or outside the house. Once the dog is securely behind this gate, he or she won't be able to bolt out the door, run wildly through your living room, or jump on guests while they're drinking coffee or tea. The gate is transparent, so your dog will still be able to see you as you go about your daily business at home. Besides using it on a variety of doorways in the home, you can also use it at the top or bottom of a staircase.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Magic Gate is $14.99 plus $6.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Magic Gate by paying an extra fee of $6.99 for a total price of $28.97.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Magic Gate being discontinued. Magic Gate may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Magic Gate being discontinued. Magic Gate may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Stick
  2. Each Magic Gate comes with four hooks that will attach it to your wall. To install the gate, stick one hook where you want each of the four corners of the gate to hang. The back of each hook is sticky, so you won't need any glue to attach the hooks.

  3. Unroll
  4. After measuring the space you want your Magic Gate to cover, unroll it to the desired length. Keep any excess mesh rolled up—if you've measured accurately, you won't need it.

  5. Hook
  6. As a final step, hook one corner of your Magic Gate to each hook that you've attached to your wall, and the gate will be ready to use.

Uses

  1. Doorways
  2. The Magic Gate can be used to cover the bottom few feet of virtually any doorway in your home. This option will come in handy when you've got guests in the living room and want to keep your dog out, or when you're cooking in the kitchen and don't want the dog to interfere. The gate can also be placed across a doorway if you want to keep a dog away from another pet or a baby.

  3. Stairways
  4. If you want your dog to stay upstairs for a while, or want to keep them downstairs for a certain period of time, placing a Magic Gate across your stairway is a great strategy. This is especially beneficial if you have professionals doing repairs in a certain area of your house, and you don't want your dog to get in their way.

Alternatives

  • Plastic Dog Gates
  • Plastic dog gates are much heavier than the Magic Gate, making them more awkward to carry. Plus, many people find it awkward to climb over them, while one can just undo the Magic Gate and walk through it when needed. By using a plastic dog gate, you're also more likely to damage a wall by nicking it with the gate, while you won't run this risk when using a mesh gate.

Positive Points

  • Withstands up to 100 Pounds
  • The Magic Gate can withstand up to 100 pounds without breaking. Most dogs are lighter than that, so even if your dog decides to push against the gate to try and break loose, they likely won't be successful, and the gate is likely to stay intact.

  • Easy for Humans to Open
  • To travel through the mesh gate yourself, all you'll need to do is unhook one corner from a top hook, and walk through. Once you're through, you'll be able to quickly hook that corner up again, so your dog won't get through, too.

  • Transparent
  • Each Magic Gate is transparent, so you'll be able to see if your dog is behaving when they're behind it. If you're in a nearby room, they'll also have the security of being able to see you, which will make them feel less bad about being confined to a smaller area.

  • Can be Used for Babies & Cats
  • The Magic Gate can also be used to keep cats, or babies under 100 pounds, in a certain area. While cats generally aren't quite as rowdy as dogs, the gate could be useful if you want to keep your cat from scratching furniture in a certain room, or keep it away from a dog.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Gate online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Gate online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

24 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Magic Gate Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
21

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 09 Aug 2021 Don Gross - (Stamford, CT)

Satisfied Customer

I just put up the Magic Gate and our rambunctious cocker spaniel puppy is no longer able to roam our home. I recommend using extra tape to strengthen the plastic adhesive tabs with hooks. It's an inexpensive product and I feel we got what we paid for - an effective barrier to keep our puppy in one room. It's remarkable how angry other consumers get. I'd recommend disregarding their bad advice if you're the slightest bit handy.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Jul 2021 Deborah Lee Hall - (Phoenix, AZ)

Doesn't Work

I agree with all reviews. Not as described in videos or ads. Flimsy. No return info. No instruction. Worthless.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Apr 2021 Diane Healy - (Cardiff, WLS)

Absolutely useless do not buy this item it a waste of money, poles and come apart and don't slot back together, it is rubbish.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jan 2021 Gillian griffith - (Antalya, 07)

Magic dog Gate

Absolute rubbish and waste of money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Oct 2020 Tom Hocker - (Knoxville, TN)

TOTAL JUNK

Just received the two screens today. The ad on Facebook shows it to be retractable which is want I wanted. When I got the gates, they are totally Junk. You have to work hard to undo the mesh from the hooks because the nylon hooks on the mesh are very short. Also, it doesn't fit well. Had to wrap one side to the outside of the stair casing to get it to fit and it looks like crap.

No instructions and no address to return these POS. Don't' waste your money!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Oct 2020 Jim - (Topeka, KS)

Worthless

Worthless. Won't hold tension, it unrolls. Openings for rods we're sewn across.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Sep 2020 Wesley Thomas - (Moline, IL)

Piece of Crap!

I thought initially this was a great idea and purchased it hoping to keep my Standard Poodle downstairs with us during the day and evening. I just received it in the mail and when I opened it one of the hooks was broken. I immediately was disappointed and opened the rest of the package. There is no way this folds out to 71" as claimed. It is not wide enough for my stairway and the rods supporting the sides are cheap and flimsy. This is such a ripoff. I feel like a fool buying such a piece of Junk. Don't buy this no matter how good they make it look on the commercials. It doesn't work. It's a total scam and someone is making taking this to market. If this we're sold in a store, I'm sure every one of them would be brought back for a refund. Just crap.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Sep 2020 Ely - (Oswego, IL)

Do not purchase this product does not work.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jul 2020 Laurie - (Franklin, TN)

I agree with what everyone has said about this product. They should be reported for false representation of the product. And getting money back! That’s a joke. Hope those scammers out there are happy counting our money!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jun 2020 Bill Holton - (Garland, TX)

Awful

I am extremely disappointed in this product, one of the elastic loops wasn't even sewn. The hooks popped off and then won't stick. Don't buy it if you want something decent.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Jun 2020 Nancy - (Katy, TX)

First it took six weeks to arrive. I was excited when it finally got here, but it is nothing but a piece of crap! Waisted time and money!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Jun 2020 Pat Bruemmer - (Alpine, CA)

DON'T DO IT!

I saw the ad. It looked amazing. I have 2 Dachshunds that head for the door the minute the bell rings or someone knocks. This looked to be the perfect solution. SO. I went on-line and ordered 2 through Pay Pal. And waited. And waited. And waited. Until I thought they would never arrive. What a piece of crap. Flimsy black (they have on laundry bag to wash "unmentionables&#"). Four cheap plastic hooks with adhesive. And four very flimsy 10 inch metal rods that you put together to form the sides of the gate. Well, the dogs can push right through the bottom of the "gates", the hooks pop loose. AND. These things we're not cheap. Roughly a total of well over $30.00 for trash. And try getting Paypal to refund the money. JOKE!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Jun 2020 Robin Beasley - (Phoenix, AZ)

Not Retractable

Total Scam, not retractable, made of flimsy material, hooks don't stick, there is nothing redeeming about this product.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 May 2020 Debra Craig - (Chicago, IL)

Wish I had Read Reviews

What a waste of money! First it took 2 full months for it to arrive. Then when I got it, it was obvious this was a piece of trash. The excess 'roll' is sloppy looking, the hooks aren't long enough to hold the elastic in place, and the least little pressure makes the entire 'gate' come loose. I have small dogs and it can't even keep them in so the 100 lb pressure claim is 100% false!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Apr 2020 Violette sadres - (Langhorne, PA)

A Piece of Junk

Not worth the trouble.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Apr 2020 Leigh Slatcher - (Lincoln, ENG)

Biggest waste of money going. My dog pushed against it and pulled the elastic hook off. Save your money don't bother.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Apr 2020 MT - (Salt Lake City, UT)

Worthless

Without a doubt the biggest scam ever! Do not buy this! It is useless. It is misrepresented. I wish I had known about these posts before we ordered this. Lesson learned.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Apr 2020 Laura Fyffe - (O'Fallon, MO)

Poor Quality, Misleading Info from Seller

Save your money. The gate is too wide, not adjustable, and does not attach securely to the wall. Plus, my dog squeezed right under it in under 30 seconds. The sizes advertised are not accurate and because it is not adjustable, they are not usable. I purchased both sizes. It also does NOT ship from the US as they state. It is from China and poor quality.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Apr 2020 Carol - (Bend, OR)

I was Swindled Too. Fraudulent Ads

Not at all what is shown on the TV ads and no return address. No instructions on how to install this total waste of money. I want my money back, but you can't find them to return it. WAY BAD!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Apr 2020 Donna Hubeler - (Salem, WI)

What a Ripoff!

My mother ordered this with one free and couldn't use it at her house due to the command hooks and her textured walls. She gave it to me because I could not use a standard wooden pet gate due to un-square door frames. What a waste of money! It is not anything like the gate on the video and came with absolutely no instructions. I feel horrible that she wasted her money on a suggestion from me. You should be ashamed of yourself!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Apr 2020 Sharon - (Milford, NH)

Cheaply Made and Won't Hold my 28 Pound dog In

I had hoped for this gate. Alas, I should have known that something this cheap wouldn't last. I bought both a regular size and an extended. The metal poles that came with the extended gate didn't have nice tops on them. Both sides are wide open and sharp so you can get cut trying to put them into the side sleeves of the "gate". If the gate is too wide, it doesn't fold well to make is fit your doorway. The best part is that my little beagle walked right through the gate. He literally pushed his way through. I hope to return these and get my money back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 31 Mar 2020 Teresa - (Roseville, MI)

Magic Pet Gate

The gate on the ad is retractable. That’s why I ordered this. The real Magic Gate is not retractable, it hooks to the wall. It does not roll up on its own. You could make this your self with a piece of fabric and some Command Hooks. The add is very misleading. The ad I’m talking about is being shown on Facebook.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Apr 2020 Julie

I was swindled by the same ad! Very disappointed.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Apr 2020 Jilli

You aren’t the only one to get swindled! I was hoping that this would keep my 24lb dog in but also work to give my mother a reminder that she can't go out. She has Severe Dementia and usually doesn’t try to get outside but I don’t want to chance her getting out. I was hoping that it would save me from having to buy a screen door, the houses are not built to accommodate screen doors. I would be getting dirty looks from are the neighbors.
So, is there anyone that got their money back? I got mine from Facebook as well.
I haven’t sent mine back yet, I wanted to find out if anyone was getting their money back first or see if I would be wasting my time. I can always use the mesh fabric for other projects so It wouldn’t be a total loss. An expensive loss but not total! Good luck to all.

Posted: 31 Mar 2020 Larry - (Detroit, MI)

What a Waste of Money

It is a piece of Junk. Don't waste your money! Pay extra for a better product.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 Dominick - (Hopewell Junction, NY)

It Sucks

It sucks, it sucks, it suck.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Jan 2020 Marilyn Figueroa - (San Diego, CA)

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

No instructions! Came with a magnetic black cord and no idea what it is for. It is very difficult to reattach once you unhook it. And it took a very long time to receive. Anyone else gets a cord? What do I attach it to?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 31 Mar 2020 Larry

I did not receive a cord with mine. The gate sucks it was a waste of money.

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Magic Gate Infomercial
Magic Gate Infomercial
Magic Gate Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼