View
40
Opinions
Below
49% 108 votes
51% 112 votes

Magic Gate

221 Votes

Rate this product

Magic Gate is a gate that can be used to keep your dog out of certain areas of your home, without making it difficult for you to walk into any area. The gate is made of super-strong mesh that can withstand up to 100 lbs of force, but is barely visible, so it won't disrupt the theme of your decor. Only the border of a Magic Gate can easily be seen, and you can choose between a beige or a black border. This gate can extend across spaces up to six feet wide, and if you use it to cover a shorter gap, all you'll need to do is roll up the excess mesh at one end.

The Claim

With the Magic Gate, you'll be able to keep your dog near you, but you'll also be able to keep him or her from causing trouble inside or outside the house. Once the dog is securely behind this gate, he or she won't be able to bolt out the door, run wildly through your living room, or jump on guests while they're drinking coffee or tea. The gate is transparent, so your dog will still be able to see you as you go about your daily business at home. Besides using it on a variety of doorways in the home, you can also use it at the top or bottom of a staircase.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Magic Gate is $14.99 plus $6.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Magic Gate by paying an extra fee of $6.99 for a total price of $28.97.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Magic Gate being discontinued. Magic Gate may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Magic Gate being discontinued. Magic Gate may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Stick
  2. Each Magic Gate comes with four hooks that will attach it to your wall. To install the gate, stick one hook where you want each of the four corners of the gate to hang. The back of each hook is sticky, so you won't need any glue to attach the hooks.

  3. Unroll
  4. After measuring the space you want your Magic Gate to cover, unroll it to the desired length. Keep any excess mesh rolled up—if you've measured accurately, you won't need it.

  5. Hook
  6. As a final step, hook one corner of your Magic Gate to each hook that you've attached to your wall, and the gate will be ready to use.

Uses

  1. Doorways
  2. The Magic Gate can be used to cover the bottom few feet of virtually any doorway in your home. This option will come in handy when you've got guests in the living room and want to keep your dog out, or when you're cooking in the kitchen and don't want the dog to interfere. The gate can also be placed across a doorway if you want to keep a dog away from another pet or a baby.

  3. Stairways
  4. If you want your dog to stay upstairs for a while, or want to keep them downstairs for a certain period of time, placing a Magic Gate across your stairway is a great strategy. This is especially beneficial if you have professionals doing repairs in a certain area of your house, and you don't want your dog to get in their way.

Alternatives

  • Plastic Dog Gates
  • Plastic dog gates are much heavier than the Magic Gate, making them more awkward to carry. Plus, many people find it awkward to climb over them, while one can just undo the Magic Gate and walk through it when needed. By using a plastic dog gate, you're also more likely to damage a wall by nicking it with the gate, while you won't run this risk when using a mesh gate.

Positive Points

  • Withstands up to 100 Pounds
  • The Magic Gate can withstand up to 100 pounds without breaking. Most dogs are lighter than that, so even if your dog decides to push against the gate to try and break loose, they likely won't be successful, and the gate is likely to stay intact.

  • Easy for Humans to Open
  • To travel through the mesh gate yourself, all you'll need to do is unhook one corner from a top hook, and walk through. Once you're through, you'll be able to quickly hook that corner up again, so your dog won't get through, too.

  • Transparent
  • Each Magic Gate is transparent, so you'll be able to see if your dog is behaving when they're behind it. If you're in a nearby room, they'll also have the security of being able to see you, which will make them feel less bad about being confined to a smaller area.

  • Can be Used for Babies & Cats
  • The Magic Gate can also be used to keep cats, or babies under 100 pounds, in a certain area. While cats generally aren't quite as rowdy as dogs, the gate could be useful if you want to keep your cat from scratching furniture in a certain room, or keep it away from a dog.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Gate online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Magic Gate online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

40 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.3
Magic Gate Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
1
4 STARS
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
14

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Joe Orzano - (Rockville, MD)
Posted: 26 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

What a Piece of Junk.

I wish I had checked the reviews of this magic Junk gate before I bought it. What a piece of garbage. Couldn't use the junk hooks sent with it. It has been less than 3 months and is already falling apart. The stitching is coming out where the for a lack of better description antenna's slide in. Junk, junk, junk, junk, junk, junk, rip off, rip off rip off, rip off, rip off, waste of money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Gail
Posted: 11 Oct 2018

What the heck are those little aluminum tubes for that come with it? I agree, piece of junk and I paid way more than 10 bucks for it!

Reply
Paula McElheney - (Oklahoma City, OK)
Posted: 15 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

No Easy Access

I like the product but instead of loops on top and bottom, they're on the side and keep slipping off. When walking thru, you cant just undo the top, both top and bottom have to be taken off and put back on which makes the bottom one a royal pain in the back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Shauna - (South Lyon, MI)
Posted: 11 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

Garbage Waste of Money

Completely regret throwing my money away on this product. No instructions on how to put it together. Product is advertised to not damage walls. Sticky tabs will definitely damage paint/drywall. I’m possible for miniature metal rods to stay in sides of gate. The manufacturer of this product ought to be ashamed of their product aswell as their false advertising.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Sherri - (Little Elm, TX)
Posted: 08 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

Magic Gate Huge Waste of Money

I bought the magic gate recently and it is way larger than pictured. If might have been useful if it actually fit a standard door width but what I received has way to much extra fabric. Very cheeply made don’t waste your money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Rosemarie Rega - (Dormont, PA)
Posted: 08 Sep 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Don't buy

First of all the mess is way too long you can't even roll it up to stay in position it looks like crap the pools that you need to put on both sides are collapsible and if you don't get them in the right way you got to struggle to get them out crap. Save your money on this product it's useless.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Daniela Navarrete - (Santiago, RM)
Posted: 04 Sep 2018
I have something to say!

It Sucks

It took about 2 months for me to get this after I purchased it. It doesn't work because the dogs can go under it and you can't roll it properly. Absolutely disappointing. This is misleading advertising because you don't get what they sell you on video.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jessica Wolbeck - (Happy Valley, OR)
Posted: 05 Aug 2018
I have something to say!

Worst Purchase Ever!

I purchased the “dog gate” on 06/06/2018, and it was delivered on 07/10/2018. So, it took over a month for delivery. I had to contact Pet Ninja on 06/19/2018, to even receive any sort of confirmation that they received my order. I asked for confirmation, and a tracking number. I eventually did receive the tracking number. When I got the gate, it is way too wide for literally any doorway. It comes with ZERO instructions. The hooks are cheap version of command strips. When I took them off the wall it completely ripped my paint off my wall. And it looks horrible. The whole thing is cheaply made, and not worth the $29.99 that I paid. I would seriously not buy anything from this company again, and would not recommend it to anyone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Margaret Haughton - (Clover, SC)
Posted: 26 Jul 2018
I have a Question

Mesh Gates

I am so sorry I got involved in this. They charged my credit card immediately and it took weeks to get them. I see no way they will work. I cannot return because it costs around $30 to return. In the future, I will read all reviews before purchasing . I didn’t know I was dealing with a Chinese company from the ad. Is there anything that can be done?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Sherry Levoy - (Jonesborough, TN)
Posted: 26 Jul 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Gargage

It came with 2 metal parts to put in each end of the mesh, but there is no opening. The way the straps are made, it won't go close enough to the floor to keep dogs from going under it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
katie - (Beltsville, MD)
Posted: 24 Jul 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Didn't Recieve What was Advertised

Unbelievable, I got a piece of mesh, folded in quarters. Got the 4 hooks, and 2 antenna pieces. There's no opening to insert the adjustable antennas, and this does not roll up at all. It's a waste of my time, and more money to return. I got screwed on this, for sure: -(.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Joyce - (Ashland, OH)
Posted: 23 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Magic Gate

Terrible! Don't waste your money! I emailed the company twice asking for a refund. No reply. Cheaply made and not what is advertised!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Charlie - (United States, US)
Posted: 23 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Does not Work Like They say

This items is a joke on how it should work. Also come from China so no return. Don't waste your money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Thomas Munyon - (San Francisco, CA)
Posted: 22 Jul 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Not Worth the Money.

Flimsy and no easy way to roll up the excess. You can’t realky move it because they hooks have glue good only one use.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
vic vic - (United States, US)
Posted: 14 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Dog Gate

Oh Boy, can't figure this out does not work well at all. Anyone wants mine you can have it free. My gate is better. Sorry. Nothing in the package to tell me how to put it together or anything. Waste of money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Diane
Posted: 16 Jul 2018

I agree. It would have been nice to have instructions. There are two silver poles in there. For what?

Reply
Mellony stephens - (Yreka, CA)
Posted: 10 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Rip off

Bad customer service and it's a rip-off.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
K S - (Princeton, KY)
Posted: 09 Jul 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Not Adjustable

No instructions included. Not really adjustable. Just buy a high quality baby gate and attach it. This one is definitely not as seen on tv. Even if I could get it to adjust, the cheap hooks would look extremely tacky and would damage paint/drywall if you wanted to remove them. Skip this product.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Barbara barger - (Manchester, KY)
Posted: 05 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Not worth the money does not work. Can't roll it up hate. It.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Diane Cotter - (Alsip, IL)
Posted: 03 Jul 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Terrible Product!

I am SO disappointed in this gate! After waiting forever to receive it, I tried to install it (it comes with no directions, had to go to Youtube for a video). It claims that you can just "roll up" the excess mesh, but that is not true. Once you roll it up, it doesn't stay put, in unravels as soon as you hang it up, and my dog was underneath it in a second! Do not waste your money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Ed Seyfried - (Banbury, ENG)
Posted: 29 Jun 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Complete Rubbish

You can't tighten it, note in the video how taught and easy it is? Well you can't do that. Really is Junk - do not buy it - or if you insist have mine for a quid.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David - (Isle of Palms, SC)
Posted: 27 Jun 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Junk Doesn’t do as Specified

You receive a 6’ mesh with wobbly poles. My door is 32” they claim you can roll up the extra. To where and how. My dog got under it in 2 seconds. A scam - was also overcharged. Save your money you’ll be sorry if you purchase this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
whitney - (Oakland, NJ)
Posted: 01 Jun 2018
I have a Question

I haven't read any reviews. How is this gate?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
David
Posted: 27 Jun 2018

SCAM. It’s 6’ long - my door 32”- a bunch of mess that you can’t “roll” up overage like they claim plus my dog got under it! The ad said $14.99 they charged me $19.9 plus $5 shipping - overcharged me for this piece of useless crap.

Reply
Yvonne - (Las Vegas, NV)
Posted: 17 Aug 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Magic Gate is it in Business to Take Orders?

Would like to buy the Magic Gate but reviews say they are out of business. So are they out of business? Please let me know since I really could use this product?
Thank you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Paul - (Dallas, TX)
Posted: 07 Jul 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Fraud

Ordered two gates and two free ones. I have been waiting for gates since Apr. 2015. Had miss placed the receipt until today 6 July. Seems the Magic Gate company has gone out of business or has changed their company name. I am going to keep looking for them and if I locate something or someone knows anything, I will post it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Teri - (Federal Way, WA)
Posted: 20 Jun 2015
I Regret Buying it!

RIP OFF

Ordered the product and was also told back order. I called many times, the phone was disconnected!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
El - (Woodbridge, VA)
Posted: 16 May 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Bad Customer Service

I ordered two of these gates in April 2015. I received an order number and then a message where they were on back order. Next email I received was telling me they canceled my order and would let me know when the item was available. What a home. Don't advertise a product and then cancel orders because you can't keep up with producing the item being advertised. Very disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carol Phillips - (Goldsboro, NC)
Posted: 07 May 2015
I have a Question

WHERE is my ORDER?

I ordered my mesh gate 04 / 04 / 2015. It is now May 05 / 07 / 2015. Where's my gate?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kelsey
Posted: 09 May 2015

The company went out of business. Chances are that you were not charged and will never receive your gate.

Reply
Carol Phillips - (Liberty Lake, WA)
Posted: 07 May 2015
I have a Question

CLOSED?

Where is my pet gate? Rumors have you closed down.
Would like the truth from you about where's my order and am I going to get one at all?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mary Coleman - (New York, NY)
Posted: 02 May 2015
I have a Question

I like to know when I will be get my order. I put in a order on 5 / 31 / 15.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Confused - (Lancaster, NY)
Posted: 29 Apr 2015
I Regret Buying it!

NO WEBSITE ?

After giving my credit card info to this site weeks ago I was told they are out of stock and now the website is down! This must be a scam because no one responds to emails and the phone number is a recording. Warning: Don't buy this. Time to head to the better business bureau.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Arlene
Posted: 04 May 2015

. They went out of business. Your card was probably not charged.

Reply
Sue
Posted: 26 Jun 2015

No wonder I have been waiting for 3 months to receive my order.

Diamary - (Amsterdam, NY)
Posted: 29 Apr 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Ordered One and They Are All Sold Out

Yes I'm kinda disappointed I placed and order and was not told they were sold out until I got done placing my order. I wish I was notified that they were sold out before I placed the order because now I won't know when they are coming my way and I wanted them now since I just got a new puppy and would like to use it to keep the puppy from unwanted spots in my house.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
John - (Guadalupe, AZ)
Posted: 16 Feb 2015
I have a Question

Where can I buy one now?

I'm trying to find the magic gate and wondering where I could find one now?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Burks - (Grand Rapids, MN)
Posted: 26 Jan 2015
I Recommend Buying it!

Great Product!

Such a good product and an awesome price for a dog gate! Even works to keep small children from going downstairs!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Carol
Posted: 07 May 2015

I'm reading that the company has closed down. When did you buy yours? Any info you heard or different phone number where they can be reached?

Reply
Brooke - (Lincoln, NE)
Posted: 26 Jan 2015
I have something to say!

Great Idea!!!

Awesome gate and a whole lot easier to use than any other dog gate. I ordered a few and am super excited for them to come in!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS