Hover Cover

231 Votes

Rate this product

Hover Cover is a microwave splatter cover shield that sits over your bowls or plates and provides protection. Rather than affixing directly to the plate or bowl like others on the market, this unit sits on top, hovering over the entire food without touching it. The steam vents prevent soggy food. When you are done using the unit you can just use the magnets on top to easily store it right inside the microwave until next time.

**Skip to our Recommendation**

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Hover Cover is $10.00 plus $4.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Hover Cover by paying the extra shipping fee of $4.99 for a total price of $19.98. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: buyhovercover.com

TV Commercial

Pros

  • Keeps Microwave Clean

    The Hover Cover is a great way to keep your microwave clean. When you prepare foods that splatter or spill over, few people wash them out immediately, especially if the microwave is difficult to reach. This means that the more food is prepared, the more burnt that splatter becomes. With the special splatter guard, any food splatter ends up on the inside of the Hover Cover and no the microwave.

  • Ease Storage

    When you are not using it, you can leave it in the microwave. Thankfully though, you do not have to take it out each time you want to reheat something, then place it over your food. Instead, microwave safe plastic magnets hold it up against the top of the microwave in waiting while not in use. Then you can just pull it down. .

  • Fits All Things

    The bubble shape is big enough to cover most platters, bowls, and dinner plates so you do not have to worry about fitting all of your food onto a small bowl. It is also large enough to fit into almost any standard microwave.

  • No Rags

    When you use the Hover Cover you can reheat leftovers without spills, naturally covering your food. You can do so without the risk of rags that fall onto the plate and contaminate it, or bowls or plates that leave the food soggy.

  • Steam Vents

    Opposite the magnets on the top of the unit you will find steam vents. These are specially designed to reheat food but still allow steam out so that food remains fresh. With other covers like lids, bowls, or plates, you do not have this option.

  • Non-stick

    The unit is made with a non-stick microwave safe plastic, so any splatter that it catches can be wiped right off. If it does get too dirty though, you can throw it in the dishwasher for an easy clean.

Cons

  • Vent Cannot be Closed

    The vent cannot be closed. This means that you have no choice but the vent out steam, even in cases where you might not want to, such as when reheating rice. It also means that you cannot leave the Hover Cover as a lid or shield over your food while you wait, then remove it when you are ready to eat.

  • Plastic

    This unit is made from plastic, so be warned that some plastic taste might leech into food if you are reheating for a long period of time.

Warnings

  • Careful With Touch

    Exercise caution when removing the lid after reheating something, especially if you were doing so for a long period of time. Just like any other microwave safe plastic, it might be somewhat hot to the touch. You can easily place it on the top of the microwave, but even for a few seconds it can burn.

How it's Different from Competitors

There are alternative splatter guards which do the same thing, but they are all about the same size. They span the circumference of a traditional dinner plate but only stack about two inches in height, not allowing for bigger bowls or anything. Hover Cover is different insofar as it is taller, so it can be used on more than just plates. What’s more, the other covers are made from silicone in some cases, not plastic so they are flexible, while this unit will retain its shape and not touch the food it is covering. Other models lack the same steam vents that Hover Cover has. Finally, the other models lack the magnet strips at the top that make for safe and easy storage.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Prepare

    Put your food on a plate or bowl in the microwave.

  2. Pull

    Pull down the Hover Cover from the top of the microwave. You will find four finger divots inside of the top which are designed to give you a better grip for lifting.

  3. Reheat

    Reheat and enjoy.

  4. Store

    When you are done, place it up against the stop. Be warned that the finger divots are located on the top, so you will not be able to use them when you place it against the stop of the microwave for storage.

Alternatives

  • Nordic Wave Splash Cover

    The Nordic Wave Splatter Cover is a microwavable splatter cover that fits standard dinner plates. If left on top of the plate it will keep food hot until you are ready to serve. This means you can reheat your food, leave the cover on, and then remove the cover when you are ready. You can place it in the dishwasher when done.

  • Topbpafree Cover

    TopBPAFree makes a vented microwave food cover that fits standard dinner plates. It can be cleaned with wiping or in the dishwasher. This design, however, has a similar dome shape as Hover Cover and the vented steam release function. As such, it sits high enough in the microwave not to touch your food. Handling it is easy with the rim handle for easy lifting in and out.

    The vent lets out steam but can be closed when you want to keep food warm. So, much like the other options on the market, this cover can be kept on your plate with the vent shut until you are ready to eat. This option is BPA free and has recipes with it.

  • Bowl Covers

    Beyond the plate covers, there are bowl covers designed in the same fashion. These give you the option of a separate unit which can cover bowls while you reheat things like soups and stews. Some options have the vents but most do not and instead fit standard dinner bowls with a beehive shape. Most of these are made out of plastic but some are designed with food grade silicone. There are units to fit small bowls or big bowls, but not often both. They affix directly to the bowl.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Save Storage Space

    Take advantage of the magnets. It is a great way to store the unit out of site, without adding to the requirements of your cupboards or cabinets.

  2. Test Timing

    Play around with the time settings for reheating your food. Using this cover might influence the amount of time needed to heat up food.

Recommendation

Microwave covers work! Wither you spend a lot of money or a little; generally there won't be much difference in quality or utility.

In Jan 2017 the Tovolo Collapsible Microwave Cover was the *Best Seller on Amazon* in Microwave Oven Parts & Accessories. This is one of the rare covers that does offer a unique feature in that it collapses for easy storage when not in use.

There is no real difference provided in using a glass cover as opposed to a plastic cover; however, some people prefer glass as it has a more class / less cheap appearance. The Catamount Glass Microwave Plate Cover has received excellent reviews and at times has been sold out. If you are interested in the glass version while stock is available, we recommend not waiting.

There is nothing on the market that has the function of sticking to the top of the microwave quite like Hover Cover.

Tovolo Collapsible Microwave Cover


Wise Advice

Do not buy microwave dish cover online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy microwave dish cover online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

27 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.8
Hover Cover Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
11

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Carol manthorp - (Waynesboro, PA)
Posted: 10 Sep 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Cover Too Big

Hover Cover while it sounds great it does not tell you that this cover is only meant for large or full size microwave ovens, I wish the packaging tells people this before purchase, I can't return it because I tried to fix the size my self, because at full size it keeps the wheel inside my oven from turning and it a lso gets really hot to the touch.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Vickie - (Deerfield, IL)
Posted: 13 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

HoverCover

I don't like that I have to order the second one for an additional fee of $4.99 plus $5.00 if I want to upgrade. I only want one but I don't have that option. That stinks! So I will not be ordering.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Stephanie Hauck
Posted: 29 Aug 2017

The commercial claims that the second is free. I guess not. I am just glad to view the reviews which I always do.

Reply
Sloopy - (Manasquan, NJ)
Posted: 23 Aug 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Google It!

I Googled what would happen if I put magnets in the microwave and the results said that the magnets quickly lose their magnetism. So, the claim that you can just stick this to the roof of your microwave to store it more easily is plain malarkey. Don't waste your money on these when you can buy better quality products from other outlets for better pricing. Don't say I didn't warn you! And, if in case you don't believe what I've written here, just google, "what happens if I put magnets in my microwave? ", and then read the results. You'll see exactly what I did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Toni Pusak - (Mission, KS)
Posted: 05 Aug 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Rip-off

I ordered this plate cover with magnets, but when I received it there were no magnets AND there was only one although I ordered and paid for two. AND the quality was about the same as you get from a dollar store! Will have to try and return it, think they will reimburse me?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Anita - (Washington, IL)
Posted: 02 Oct 2017
I Regret Buying it!

My offer was two for the price of one. A better use of your money would be to take $20.00 and drop it in any running body of water. This is a total waste of money. The premise is that you lift up the cover and let the magnets on top adhere your cover to the roof of your microwave and then let it down to cook your food. Once done, lift again and put it back in storage mode at the roof of your oven. The magnets are so weak, they don't even slightly hold the cover in position to the roof of your microwave. This is a total scam.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mark - (Woodhaven, MI)
Posted: 30 Sep 2017
I Regret Buying it!

DOES NOT WORK as ADVERSTISED!

Ordered 2 of these, one for me and one for a friend. Neither would stick to the roof of our microwaves!
Which was the main reason I ordered these overpriced covers.
If you want to return them, YOU have to pay the return shipping and they don't refund the postage and handling you paid. Since the item does not do what the advertising stated, they should refund all costs paid and reimburse the return shipping costs or at least say they don't stick to many microwaves. Clearly the sales pitch lured me in and the product does not work as advertised.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Rose - (Mount Rainier, MD)
Posted: 19 Sep 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Received the Hoover Cover. Ir does not work, I am returning it immediately. I'm very upset Haband handles this piece of garbage.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
JULIA BRAUD - (Winchester, KY)
Posted: 07 Sep 2017
I Regret Buying it!

MICROWAVE SPLATTER GARD

Scam-scam TV must know this is not right-----so whats up I will contact bbb ----------------------.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jason - (Grambling, LA)
Posted: 20 Sep 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Absolutely Love It

The cover is so awesome, don't know why others gave bad reviews, but it works like a dream for me. No more plastic wrap or paper plates to cover the food. Stores awesomely inside microwave to. Wish I would've bought it a long time ago.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
dolores - (Bunkie, LA)
Posted: 30 Jun 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Not Sticking

The cover will not adhere to the top of my microwave. Is there something I have to do to make it work, otherwise it's yours again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kathy arivett - (Gurnee, IL)
Posted: 25 May 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Rebate

The Hover Cover is great however I was to receive a rebate for shipping for waiting so long, called the number and was told I have to join some saver club for $15 a month to get it. That's just plain dishonest.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Alan F Cassetta - (Kenai, AK)
Posted: 12 Aug 2017
I Recommend Buying it!

Killer Deal

Went on Amazon typed in Hover Cover and found them from original maker, I bought for $2.99 and $4.00 shipping from factory in china.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
John - (Jeannette, PA)
Posted: 18 Aug 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Total Garbage

What a waste of money. What you see on TV is not whst you receive. They are clear on TV and solid brown is what you get. But they don't stick to the top of the microwave. Don't waste your money.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Ladonna Estrada - (Williamsburg, VA)
Posted: 03 Sep 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Why won't my brand new Hover Cover stick to the roof of my microwave? Terribly disappointed and returning it immediately to the store.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
P Arno
Posted: 08 Sep 2017

It doesn't stick to the top microwave only reason I bought it.

Reply
sam - (Germantown, OH)
Posted: 22 May 2017
I have something to say!

Not Rcvd Order

About 1 month ago I purchased 2 of these from you and haven't rcvd either one of them yet? Please contact me on this matter 305-304-8984 thank's
Sam.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Patricia Mcclure - (Manitou Springs, CO)
Posted: 15 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

Does NOT stick. My sister bought four of them, one for each of us, and none of them stick in anyone's microwaves. Don't waste your money, and it was pretty expensive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Karma - (Fort Pierce, FL)
Posted: 02 Sep 2017
I have something to say!

Hovercover

I ordered this months ago and never received it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
JULIA - (Garden City, KS)
Posted: 07 Sep 2017
I have something to say!

I payed for 2 covers have not got yet ---------------do not buy-------------scam---scam-scam.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Annemarie - (West Richland, WA)
Posted: 16 Aug 2017
I have something to say!

Never Received

Never even received, should have read comments before paying.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Michele Barnes - (Wyoming, OH)
Posted: 11 Oct 2017
I have something to say!

Distaster

The Hover Cover I bought just caught on fire and dripped into my soup along with the top of my microwave.
Now to fight for help.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Susana - (South Haven, MI)
Posted: 27 Jul 2017
I have something to say!

They come from china.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Ellen - (Glenarden, MD)
Posted: 02 Sep 2017
I have a Question

Does Not Stick

Although I have not used the Hover Cover yet, it does not stick to the top of my microwave. What's the problem?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Susan - (Gypsum, CO)
Posted: 12 Aug 2017
I have a Question

Magnets

How can there be magnets in the microwave? Don't they mess up the motor and other parts? And think there are metal bits in them to? So how can it work without harming the inside? Both when warming the food and other area where all the electrical stuff is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Lloyd Spears - (Beach Park, IL)
Posted: 24 Sep 2017
I have a Question

Why Won't it Stick to the Top of the Microwave

Mine won't stick to the top of the microwave. What can I do?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Armand Dube - (Mountlake Terrace, WA)
Posted: 01 Apr 2017
I have a Question

Where is the Hover Cover made?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS