MENU

Hover Cover

314 Votes
Rate this product
Hover Cover Hover Cover or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Hover Cover is a microwave splatter cover shield that sits over your bowls or plates and provides protection. Rather than affixing directly to the plate or bowl like others on the market, this unit sits on top, hovering over the entire food without touching it. The steam vents prevent soggy food. When you are done using the unit you can just use the magnets on top to easily store it right inside the microwave until next time.

Hover Cover Hover Cover or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Hover Cover is $14.99 plus $4.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Hover Cover by paying an extra fee of $4.99 for a total price of $24.97.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Hover Cover being discontinued. Hover Cover may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Hover Cover being discontinued. Hover Cover may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Pros

  • Keeps Microwave Clean

    The Hover Cover is a great way to keep your microwave clean. When you prepare foods that splatter or spill over, few people wash them out immediately, especially if the microwave is difficult to reach. This means that the more food is prepared, the more burnt that splatter becomes. With the special splatter guard, any food splatter ends up on the inside of the Hover Cover and no the microwave.

  • Ease Storage

    When you are not using it, you can leave it in the microwave. Thankfully though, you do not have to take it out each time you want to reheat something, then place it over your food. Instead, microwave-safe plastic magnets hold it up against the top of the microwave in waiting while not in use. Then you can just pull it down.

  • Fits All Things

    The bubble shape is big enough to cover most platters, bowls, and dinner plates so you do not have to worry about fitting all of your food onto a small bowl. It is also large enough to fit into almost any standard microwave.

  • No Rags

    When you use the Hover Cover you can reheat leftovers without spills, naturally covering your food. You can do so without the risk of rags that fall onto the plate and contaminate it, or bowls or plates that leave the food soggy.

  • Steam Vents

    Opposite the magnets on the top of the unit, you will find steam vents. These are specially designed to reheat food but still allow steam out so that food remains fresh. With other covers like lids, bowls, or plates, you do not have this option.

  • Non-stick

    The unit is made of a non-stick microwave safe plastic, so any splatter that it catches can be wiped right off. If it does get too dirty though, you can throw it in the dishwasher for an easy clean.

Cons

  • Vent Cannot be Closed

    The vent cannot be closed. This means that you have no choice but the vent out steam, even in cases where you might not want to, such as when reheating rice. It also means that you cannot leave the Hover Cover as a lid or shield over your food while you wait, then remove it when you are ready to eat.

  • Plastic

    This unit is made of plastic, so be warned that some plastic taste might leak into food if you are reheating for a long period of time.

Warnings

  • Careful With Touch

    Exercise caution when removing the lid after reheating something, especially if you were doing so for a long period of time. Just like any other microwave-safe plastic, it might be somewhat hot to the touch. You can easily place it on the top of the microwave, but even for a few seconds, it can burn.

How it's Different from Competitors

There are alternative splatter guards which do the same thing, but they are all about the same size. They span the circumference of a traditional dinner plate but only stack about two inches in height, not allowing for bigger bowls or anything. Hover Cover is different insofar as it is taller, so it can be used on more than just plates. What’s more, the other covers are made from silicone in some cases, not plastic so they are flexible, while this unit will retain its shape and not touch the food it is covering. Other models lack the same steam vents that Hover Cover has. Finally, the other models lack the magnet strips at the top that make for safe and easy storage.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Prepare

    Put your food on a plate or bowl in the microwave.

  2. Pull

    Pull down the Hover Cover from the top of the microwave. You will find four finger divots inside of the top which is designed to give you a better grip for lifting.

  3. Reheat

    Reheat and enjoy.

  4. Store

    When you are done, place it up against the stop. Be warned that the finger divots are located on the top, so you will not be able to use them when you place it on the top of the microwave for storage.

Alternatives

  • Nordic Wave Splash Cover

    The Nordic Wave Splatter Cover is a microwavable splatter cover that fits standard dinner plates. If left on top of the plate it will keep food hot until you are ready to serve. This means you can reheat your food, leave the cover on, and then remove the cover when you are ready. You can place it in the dishwasher when done.

  • Topbpafree Cover

    TopBPAFree makes a vented microwave food cover that fits standard dinner plates. It can be cleaned with wiping or in the dishwasher. This design, however, has a similar dome shape as Hover Cover and the vented steam release function. As such, it sits high enough in the microwave not to touch your food. Handling it is easy with the rim handle for easy lifting in and out.

    The vent lets out steam but can be closed when you want to keep food warm. So, much like the other options on the market, this cover can be kept on your plate with the vent shut until you are ready to eat. This option is BPA free and has recipes for it.

  • Bowl Covers

    Beyond the plate covers, there are bowl covers designed in the same fashion. These give you the option of a separate unit which can cover bowls while you reheat things like soups and stews. Some options have the vents but most do not and instead fit standard dinner bowls with a beehive shape. Most of these are made out of plastic but some are designed with food grade silicone. There are units to fit small bowls or big bowls, but not often both. They affix directly to the bowl.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Save Storage Space

    Take advantage of the magnets. It is a great way to store the unit out of sight, without adding to the requirements of your cupboards or cabinets.

  2. Test Timing

    Play around with the time settings for reheating your food. Using this cover might influence the amount of time needed to heat up food.

Recommendation

Microwave covers work! Wither you spend a lot of money or a little; generally, there won't be much difference in quality or utility.

In Jan 2017 the Tovolo Collapsible Microwave Cover was the *Best Seller on Amazon* in Microwave Oven Parts & Accessories. This is one of the rare covers that does offer a unique feature in that it collapses for easy storage when not in use.

There is no real difference provided in using a glass cover as opposed to a plastic cover; however, some people prefer glass as it has a more class / less cheap appearance. The Catamount Glass Microwave Plate Cover has received excellent reviews and at times has been sold out. If you are interested in the glass version while the stock is available, we recommend not waiting.

There is nothing on the market that has the function of sticking to the top of the microwave quite like Hover Cover.

Tovolo Collapsible Microwave Cover


How It Works

Hover Cover is a microwave-safe, BPA-free splatter guard that lets you cook, steam or reheat foods without making a mess. The Hover Cover has several polymer-encased magnets that allow you to neatly store the splatter guard on the ceiling of your microwave oven.

This splatter guard has built-in steam vents so you can quickly steam vegetables in the microwave. The cover is even designed to stay cool to the touch. It is dishwasher safe and easily rinses clean with its non-stick surface.

Also doubles to keep your food warm after you've cooked it. You can cover it with the splatter guard to keep your food warm until you're ready to eat.

Features

  • Bpa Free

    In today's world, it can be difficult to know what products are safe. Hover Cover was designed with safety and the environment in mind. It is food safe and free of BPAs so you don't have to worry about what harsh chemicals might be getting into your food.

  • Polymer-encased Magnet

    The Hover Cover has specially designed magnets that allow you to secure the cover to the inside of your microwave when not in use. Just pull it down to cover food or lift it up and let it hover.

  • Fits Most Plates and Platters

    Hover Cover is designed to fit over most plates, bowls and even some smaller platters. It also fits in almost any microwave.

  • Built-in Steam Vents

    Hover Cover has integrated vents that allow steam to escape. The cover is also designed to stay cool to the touch even right after heating.

Save Time

Cleaning the inside of your microwave can be a lot of work. In time, foods get burnt onto the sides and it can be hard to get into all of the tight spaces. Hover Cover allows you to save time by keeping the inside of your microwave clean. The guard is easily wiped clean and can even be thrown into the dishwasher for an easier way to clean it.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Steam Your Veggies

    Although the Hover Cover is mainly designed as a splatter guard, with its built-in steam vents, you will also be able to steam veggies. An easy way to add a little bit of nutrition to your meals.

Save Money

Cleaning products can be expensive. You will no longer need to spend as much money on cleaning products since you will no longer need to scrub the inside of your microwave. Hover Cover easily wipes clean and doesn't require any special cleaners.

Critical Advice

Always be careful when cooking hot food. Steam can get very hot and could possibly cause burns. Never let children use the Hover Cover without adult supervision.

May not fit all microwaves.

Complaints

  1. Weak Magnets

    Some people have complained that they were unable to secure the Hover Cover to the top of their microwave. Partially due to an uneven surface and partially due to weak magnets.

  2. Shipping Problems

    There have also been complaints that it took a long time to arrive and some have said that they received their product broken.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Hover Cover online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Hover Cover online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

25 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Hover Cover Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
3
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
2 STARS
1
1 STARS
20

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 23 Mar 2021 Tucker Luke - (Morristown, TN)

Fire Hazard

I used this product for over a year, and even bought a couple more and gifted them. Thought it was a great product until. One afternoon when I was re-heating something for lunch and the microwave arced and there was a flash of fire. Stopped it immediately and disposed of the cover. Left a small burn Mark at the top of my microwave, but it still usable. Although, I unplug it now, every time that I use it. With so many incidents and concerns, like others on here, I ask, why is this still on the market?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Feb 2021 Lori - (Reading, MI)

Fire Hazard!

The Hover Cover caused a fire in my elderly parents microwave while warming up coffee! It left a big hole in the top of the microwave! I spent $7 and they now have to buy a new microwave! So dangerous!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Jul 2020 Laura Lee - (Muskegon, MI)

Ruined my Microwave!

First time I used it! It sparked then my microwave made a popping noise and will not turn on. Smells awful! Cover was very hot. Could have burned down my house. Take it off the Market!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Jul 2020 Regina Speidel - (Chesapeake, VA)

Extremely Dangerous-catches on Fire

The cover was on the plate for only about 20 seconds and caught on fire. The magnet cover melted and exposed the wire which caught on fire resulting in flames in microwaves. The cover was given to me in December 2019 and used on an average of 3 times a week. The product needs to be taken off the market immediately.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 May 2020 KMason - (Raleigh, NC)

Microwave Fire

This product is very dangerous! I just purchased a week ago, and the magnetic piece caught fire in the microwave. We now have to order a new part in our microwave! Do not purchase this item. Take it off the market! It's dangerous!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Mar 2020 JE Gannett - (Frederick, MD)

Bought from Walmart. It can't be used in my microwave and I am not pleased with the reviews. Going back!

Walmart
Bed, Bath and Beyond
Target

and others need to

STOP SELLING THIS!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Feb 2020 Stephanie Trujillo - (Phoenix, AZ)

Ruined our 2yr old Built in Microwave!

Smelled smoke, stopped the microwave and opened our built-in Kitchenaid microwave to see that this cover had arced and melted the plastic piece on the interior ceiling of our microwave! Calling today to see if we can fix that part if not this microwave is $2000 to replace! With all of these complaints, how in the world is this thing still on the Market? And does anyone have a place to make a complaint and file a claim? So very thankful it happened when I was home and not when my kids were here by themselves. Easily could have started our kitchen on fire. 🙏🏻.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Feb 2020 R T Beyers III - (Green Bay, WI)

F-I-are-E !

Identical scenario as the first reviewer & also when I entered the room, FIRE!
Fortunately, the damage was limited to the microwave and my wallet. A very unsafe product, especially that it is sold as "microwave safe.".

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Jan 2019 Tabitha - (Georgia, GA)

HUGE Microwave FIRE Caused by Hover Cover

Got this item as a "white elephant" Christmas gift and thought it was a great invention. Four weeks later I stand corrected! I've had no problems with this Hover Cover until last night. The whole thing caught fire in the microwave. The scariest part is that I was in the other room waiting to hear the beep that the microwave was done heating so I had no idea it was on fire inside until smoke started to fill the house! There was no other reason but these magnets in this thing. When I could finally pull the glass tray out the Hover Cover was unrecognizable and the magnets lay on the glass still burning! Ours is an over the stove whole unit too so this could have burnt the whole kitchen down. It's gonna end up setting someone's house on fire. This product is literally putting live's at risk. This product has to be taken off the market immediately!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Mar 2019 Kim

Mine just caught fire too! Ruined microwave and could have ruined brand nee kitchen.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jan 2020 Paul Motter

Ours just started a fire in our microwave as well - for some reason, it fell down on a cloth body warmer we were heating, and the magnet caused the cloth to catch on fire. My wife was at home and when she saw it both the Hover Cover and the body warmer were engulfed n flames up to the roof of the microwave. After she put the fire out the Hover Cover plainly showed one of the magnets had been hot enough to ignite both the body warmer and a circle of plastic in the Hover Cover (e magnet came out of the unit with several inches of plastic on fire all around its former placement).

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Sep 2018 Josie Burgos - (Frisco, TX)

Worst Purchase Ever !

I paid for my microwave around $160 and my microwave started making a loud noise then stop working, I'm just glad that didn't catch on fire like a lot of others customers. If any body knows where to put a complain please and thank you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Sep 2018 Mary Ann Rathvon - (Longview, WA)

Hover Cover

Yesterday My Husband baked two Potatoes in our Microwave, the Hover Cover ruined our Microwave! Our microwave is about fifteen months old. We paid about $19.00 at Bed Bath and Beyond for the Hover Cover 3 months ago and it ended up costing us around $400.00 for a new Microwave.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Jul 2018 Brian Somero - (United States, US)

Fire Danger Beware!

Purchased my Hover Cover from Bed Bath & Beyond three weeks ago and regret it! It sparked after 3 minutes and started a fire in side my built in microwave. How does one file a claim against this company? This could have burned down my home. So far, I'm out over $400.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Jul 2018 Sue Oliveira

Same thing happened to me, one of the magnets got fried and started sparking. What's one to do, trying to email company. Not worth the 14.99 I paid for it.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Jun 2018 Carolyn Saradar - (Ashburn, VA)

This is a Fire Hazard

One of the plastic covers on my Hover Cover melted and damaged the top of my microwave. The smell was horrible. Thank goodness we caught it in time before it started a fire. Please don't buy this product!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 May 2018 Jacqueline - (Spring Hill, FL)

Magnets No Good

Covers the plate better than some smaller ones but will not stick on top.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Apr 2018 Barbara - (Fort Mill, SC)

Fire Danger - Don't buy This

We had this for about a month. Today it caught fire in the microwave and the plastic around the magnets melted. I didn't adhere t the top of the microwave very well - but who cares when it catches fire. What a dangerous item.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Apr 2018 Karen Loux

My Microwave started popping and sparking 2 days ago after only having food in the microwave for 92 secs. I noticed there was a flame on top of the Hover. Microwave is now ruined. How many ruined microwaves and fires does it take to get a recall and class action suit against these defective Hovers? These are very dangerous! Buyer Beware!

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Apr 2018 Cathleen Smith - (Barling, AR)

Hover Cover KILLED MY BUILT IN MICROWAVE OVEN!

I bought my Hover Cover at Bed Bath & Beyond, because in concept, it was a great idea! And I assumed it had been fully tested so that consumers could safely use it. WRONG! This product, after only 4 or 5 uses, caused arcing and destroyed my microwave. Filled the kitchen with smoke by the time I heard the awful noise coming from it! The worst $15 Ive ever spent, especially given that I will now have to replace a built in microwave oven that may cost me upwards of $500! Shame on the manufacturers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 Diane Rakowski - (Kings Mountain, NC)

Fire Hazard

Do not buy. It started a fire in my microwave almost burned my house down. Need to sue them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Mar 2018 Jerroo - (Washington, IN)

Hover Cover Fire

Hover Cover black magnet cover caught on fire. Should be recalled!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Feb 2018 Kimberly Reese Glover - (Covina, CA)

Worst Purchase

Starts sparking in my microwave after 1 minute. Waste of money.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Feb 2018 Dot McCoppin - (Highland Village, TX)

DO NOT BUY, !

Sure wish I would have read reviews before buying this. Magnets caught fire and ruined the microwave. We had to use an extinguisher to put fire out and then spend a lot of time cleaning up. Is there no class action suit coming?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Feb 2018 Michele Viola - (West Salem, WI)

This Product Destroyed Our Microwave

Has anyone pursued legal action with regard to your Microwave damage? I recently purchased this cover and watched and heard my microwave fry while we were using it. Wondering if any attorney has started a class action suit. This $15 item is now costing me over $3k for replacement. ( We have a combo built in wall oven and microwave and can’t just replace the microwave ). We are livid to say the least.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Feb 2018 DELAINE SYLVESTER - (Olmsted Falls, OH)

THANK YOU

I'm so very glad I read the reviews. I thought what a great idea but now I'll just get the regular covers and store in cabinet
Thank you all for your reviews.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Jan 2018 Cherie R - (Carrizo Springs, TX)

Microwave Oven Damage Question

I bought my Hover Cover at WalMart after hearing about it and thinking what an ingenious idea. Pet peeve are those covers perpetually sitting in the way on the turntable when you don't need them so much of the time! Anyway, after reading all these reviews I am terribly concerned about damaging or destroying my microwave oven! How can we know if the magnets aren't shortening the life of the magnetron or that arcing or melting won't occur, starting a fire?! The packaging only states that the magnets are encased in a polymer, not that they are ceramic or anything else! From the underside, they look like metal. I generally do not cook things in there for long periods of time so the 10 min guideline is not a worry. Defrosting and potatoes would be the lengthiest, perhaps. And people have not described having let it run a long time for the oven disasters to occur! Also, people are stating that it is BPA free but nowhere on the package does it say that! These "made in China" items make me very skeptical! Not interested in bathing my food in vapors form harmful chemicals in the plastic! Not sure where one can get a totally reliable and honest answer to these questions. Maybe calling my microwave manufacturer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Dec 2017 Lucy - (Cresskill, NJ)

It Works for Me

I’ve used the Hover Cover for well over a month now and it works for me. I generally use my “Reheat” settings, which cycle the power on and off for longer periods of time, when warming previously cooked food. When preparing fresh dishes that require full power for an extended period of time, I remove the Hover Cover and use a glass cover for the food. Hope that helps.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2017 roy wallace - (Alfred, NY)

Fire Hazard

Caught fire in microwave and ruined my microwave have to buy a new one now terrible product and dangerous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Hover Cover Infomercial
Hover Cover Infomercial
Hover Cover Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼