View
31
Opinions
Below
52% 76 votes
48% 70 votes

Handy Heater

146 Votes

Rate this product

Handy Heater is a compact space heater that'll heat any room in your home without taking up a lot of space or greatly increasing your heating bill. It's small enough to take to an office or away on trips, too, if needed. This black heater with its digital temperature display will plug into any electrical outlet and will circulate heat through an entire room up to 250 square feet in size. At just a few inches wide, the heater will be barely noticeable regardless of where you put it.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Handy Heater is $29.99 plus $8.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Handy Heater by paying the extra shipping fee of $8.99 for a total price of $47.97. Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: handyheater.com

How It Works

Due to its thermo-ceramic design, Handy Heater will powerfully circulate heat via its two-speed fan, in spite of its small size. After you've used the device's adjustable thermostat to set it to the temperature your desire, the fan will ensure that heat circulates throughout your entire room, making it feel warm and cozy. If you want to keep a certain room warm while you're not using it, there's also the option of setting the automatic timer so your device will automatically turn on at a certain time.

Features

  • Black

    Each of these heaters is black, so it's unlikely that yours will clash with your decor in any room.

  • Digital Display

    There's a digital display on the front of each heater, so you'll always be able to tell what temperature yours has heated your room up to.

  • Simple on and Off Process

    Although you can set a timer so your heater will turn on without any action from you, you'll also be able to manually turn it on and off while leaving it plugged in. All you'll need to do is flip the red switch, which can clearly be seen on the right-hand side.

  • Stays Cool to Touch

    You won't need to worry about burning your fingers if you accidentally touch your heater, as this heater will always stay cool to the touch.

  • Portable

    If you're going away, you won't have a problem bringing your Handy Heater with you, as it's small enough to fit right into a backpack or suitcase. Besides using it in a hotel room or at someone else's house, you may also want to use it in an RV or at a campsite with electricity. Even if you're just headed to the office, you might want to carry it along if you tend to feel chilly at your desk.

Positive Points

  • Ideal for Dorm Rooms

    Handy Heater may come in handy in a cool, dorm room in which a student would normally have no control over the temperature. Even if students aren't allowed to bring big appliances into a particular building, it's unlikely that anyone would object to a small device such as this. Since dorm rooms are normally smaller than 250 square feet, this heater will likely be able to provide heat to a student's entire room.

  • Heats up Chilly Bathrooms

    It can be annoying to step out of the shower and onto a bathroom floor with cold tiles. Fortunately, making use of this heater will give your bathroom a bit of extra heat so this won't seem like such a hassle. With the heater on, your hair may even dry faster than it normally does!

  • Useful in Cool Basements

    If you tend to spend a lot of time in your basement working on projects or just hanging out, plugging in a Handy Heater there will make this more comfortable and pleasant for you. Along the same lines, if you like to work on projects in your garage, you can use one of these heaters to heat up that area, too.

Alternatives

  • Other Space Heaters

    There are alternative space heaters available, but most are larger, often much larger, than Handy Heater. Hence, many of them can't be transported out of the house or even from room to room without difficulty, and they often use more electricity than this one does.

  • Blankets And/or Extra Clothing

    Blankets and / or extra clothing can keep you warmer when it's cold, but being covered in blankets will restrict your range of movement and wearing layer upon layer of clothing may be uncomfortable.

How it's Different from Competitors

The Handy Heater is a compact, personal heater that plugs into any regular wall outlet. This product features a digital display screen, on / off timer, two different fan speed settings and provides up to 350 watts of energy smart heating power.

Handy Heater is much more compact than conventional space heaters and does not take up any space on the floor. It heats up to 250 square feet of space and is portable. This makes it great for at home or for while travelling.

The heater also has an outter thermo-ceramic design that is meant to keep it cool to the touch.

Easy to Use

  1. Plug and Heat

    This product works simply by plugging it in to any conventional wall outlet.

    After plugging in, you can set the digital screen to your desired temperature and the Handy Heater will instantly start to heat your space until the thermostat kicks in. The heating element will then shut off until the ambient temperature drops back down below your setting.

    When you no longer need to use the Handy Heater, you simply unplug it from the wall and store it away until needed again.

Complaints

  1. Bogus Claims

    One customer said that they had 10+ years of experience as a license HVAC contractor and that Handy Heater's claims of being able to heat up 250 sq ft was totally bogus.

    There were many other complaints that the Handy Heater did not adequately heat their space.

  2. Fire Hazard

    Another unsatisfied customer expressed concerns that the element remained on even after the thermostat had cut the fan off.

    They would like to see the fan run longer to help cool down the element, eliminating the risk of fire.

  3. Buy One Get One Free

    Did not like that they claimed to give you a second heater for free but then charge you for shipping and handling. That is not free.

  4. Outlets

    The Handy Heater requires a three pronged outlet, making it un-usable in some older houses.

  5. Shipping

    One customer complained that it was a total waist of their money and that the shipping took a very long time.

  6. False Advertising

    One customer said they the packaging clearly reads "This heater is not intended for use in bathrooms, laundry areas and similar indoor locations. ", even though it is clearly advertised for any indoor space.

Warnings

  • Caution

    This protect is has a heating element that could potentially ignite other materials if they are too close.

    Always keep Handy Heater clear of anything that could catch fire.

    Handy Heater uses wall outlets which are usually close to the ground. Always be sure to supervise young children and keep the heater out of their reach.

Downfalls

  • Not Available in Stores

    This product is only available online or by phone which may deter some people from purchasing.

Tips & Tricks

  1. Bogo

    When you purchase a Handy Heater, you will get a second heater free.

Save Money

This product will help save you money on your heating bill by allowing you to heat rooms separately. Only heat your space when you want to and to the temperature that you want.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Handy Heater online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Handy Heater online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

31 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1
Handy Heater Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
14

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

alice - (Lawrenceville, GA)
Posted: 18 Apr 2018
I have something to say!

2018 Newest TV Product in Summer

Dear friend, 2018 newest TV product the Fast Cooler in Summer, Fast Cooler: Adjustable-three speed fan. Quiet operation. Lightweight & Portable. Uses water to keep you cool Can put ice cake into water. Waiting for your reply, Best regards, Alice Skype:[email protected] Com Mobile:0086-180-9287-8192 Email:[email protected] Com.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jim - (Farmers Branch, TX)
Posted: 21 Mar 2018
I have something to say!

Bought 6 deluxe models. After 30 hours in a 175 sq. Ft. Bedroom temperature went up only 4 degrees. Called and was told they would send a return shipping slip. 4 phone calls and 2 months later, finally got the $175 credit on my credit card. It’s been 3 months and I still haven’t gotten a return slip. I still have these heaters. They must know they don’t work and they don’t want them either.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Linda - (Hearne, TX)
Posted: 11 Jan 2018
I have something to say!

BIGGEST SCAM

This is the biggest scam that I have ever fallen for! I ordered 2 "deluxe" heaters. The only time you even felt any heat at all was if you were in front of them within 4"! Neither heater worked. I pd $58.97 for the 2 & it cost me $16 to return them. They only credited me $39.99 because of their "processing" fee! The only processing needed was to throw them in the garbage. They"ll probably mail mine out to the next fool that believes their claims. My gullibility ended up costing me $35! Don't let this happen to you. Learn from my mistake!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Barbara Millwood - (Fayetteville, AR)
Posted: 04 Jan 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Beware!

This unit doesn't work in your bathroom if it has a grounded outlet. It says so in the directions so the ad is misleading. Also you need to be 3 feet away from anything. Who has a bathroom like that. Trying to get money back is like pulling teeth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jerry Lynn - (Ammon, ID)
Posted: 28 Dec 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Does Not Work and Not worth the Money

I got the Handy Heater to keep the 2 foot by 2 foot by 3 feet tall fiberglass Well rock, It is used to protect the deep well piping. The Handy Heater will not keep that small area warm. What a Joke.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Steve - (Edgewater, NJ)
Posted: 25 Dec 2017
I Regret Buying it!

What Did You Say?

Can't hear yourself think over the noise the fan generates. It sounds like an old 50's car toy I had as a kid.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Andre - (Warrensville Heights, OH)
Posted: 31 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

It's a Load Hot Air

I bought one of these from Walmart thinking that I could save space with this one since it plugs directly to the wall. While that is correct, it pretty much did nothing. You could feel the heat, but just about 2" inches it threw out heat and nothing else farther from the unit. Very noisy too. The thermostat doesn't do anything either. It wouldn't come on even though I had at set at 80, and it was 67 in the room. They try to make it look like its very warm by adding some orange LED's. Should of known it would be scam. Returning now. Buy something else, or else you will regret it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Phoebe Ellston - (Kansas City, MO)
Posted: 03 Feb 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Big Scam, Waste of Money, Deceptive Practices

BIG scam! Waste of money. Deceptive practices. I tried to cancel my order a few hours after I bought it, was told it has been shipped but the fedex tracking number came up not found. I'm reporting them to the business bureau.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
GENA GRAY
Posted: 12 Apr 2017

Bought this product in December 2016. I didn't like it so I returned 1-4-17 and still have not received my refund check so be careful. .

Reply
RayeT
Posted: 22 Apr 2017

I ordered this product in December 2016 and have never received the product. I called customer service for a refund and they give me the "run around". I would like to start a class action lawsuit against them. Why should we allow that company to get away with stealing our money?

Lara - (Greensboro, NC)
Posted: 30 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Useless

Don't waste your time or money on these. Called to return was offered $10 refund to keep. Piece of junk, wouldn't heat a closet. Cost close to $19 to return.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Scarfo - (Woodinville, WA)
Posted: 11 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Threw in Dumpster

I smashed it with sledgehammer and put in dumpster. Then I threatened to do that to man on phone so I got money back.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Belinda - (Mobile, AL)
Posted: 09 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

A Piece of Junk

Could not even warm my bathroom, after being on for an hour.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
An - (Carlinville, IL)
Posted: 29 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

So Unbelievable

Wow, I was going to purchase this product but after reading the reviews, I've scratched that idea.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kimberly - (Salem, UT)
Posted: 08 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Thanks for the Fraud Alert

Thanks for saving me money.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Margie Gallagher - (Chicago, IL)
Posted: 05 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

No Good

I ordered two and it doesn't work if you touch it you will burn your hand and the only thing it will heat is itself so don't buy this it's worthless.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Richard Hertz - (San Antonio, TX)
Posted: 01 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Thanks for Exposing

Appreciate showing this piece of Junk.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Junk - (Carbondale, PA)
Posted: 27 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Spend Your Money on This Piece of Junk

This only puts out 350 watts. Most space heaters put out 1,500 for about $60. This will chew up your electric bills and not give you the heat you think it will and it is dangerous to say the least.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Nancy - (Sycamore, OH)
Posted: 19 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Bought the deluxe model, the difference I have no idea. This is being sent back today, the first day I tried it. It is a complete joke. Placed it 4 ft from my thermostat and it raises the temp only on degree after an hour. What a rip off!

27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Thomas - (Oak Ridge, NC)
Posted: 17 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

False Advertising

Absolutely worthless. Wasted almost $50. Read the fine print. It will burn your hand if touched. Only decent thing I can say about it is that is portable. You can buy a better space heater that will actually heat a whole room for less money. There should be a 0 stars rating.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jeanie - (Baton Rouge, LA)
Posted: 12 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

Thank You

Thanks for saving me money on this.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Bob Pepsell - (Fairport, NY)
Posted: 11 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Rip off, only thing it will heat is itself, no good.

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Michael - (Passaic, NJ)
Posted: 11 Nov 2016
I have a Question

Exstentioncord

I don't have that many wall outlet can it be plug into a heavy duty extension core?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Thomas
Posted: 17 Nov 2016

No you can't. Can't plug it into a gfi outlet either. Save your money and go to Lowe's and buy a regular space heater for less.

Reply
Judy
Posted: 05 Nov 2017

Thanks for the info. I would have had to use the GFI outlet in bathroom. Saved me disapointment.

Corinne Austin - (West Brookfield, MA)
Posted: 15 Oct 2016
I have a Question

This heater shows its uses on the package - including a bathroom, but the safety instructions say that it is not for use in bathrooms. Really?

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Roger - (Glenn Heights, TX)
Posted: 04 Aug 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Scam and Fraud

I ordered 2 Handy Heaters in Feb 2016. As of yet, nothing. This must be a scam. They take orders but don't ship. Each time called I am told 3 to 4 weeks to get in stock. Come on. This has been 6 months. Don't do it, find a real company.

72 of 74 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Roni
Posted: 17 Oct 2016

Thank you for the warning!
Sounds alot like my experience
With a " salon shaper "!

Reply
Rg
Posted: 12 Nov 2016

Oh wow! I thot it sounded too good to be true! Thanks for the warning!
RG.

Reply
Robert
Posted: 05 Dec 2016

Hi Roger I am actually dealing with the same situation. Months ago I ordered then like month ago got email saying back ordered. So I have been calling and emailing but unlike you I can't get in touch with anyone.

Reply
Nam
Posted: 08 Dec 2016

I am having the same problem.

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS