MENU

Flippity Fish

65 Votes
Rate this product
Flippity Fish Flippity Fish or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Flippity Fish is a toy for cats that's been made to look like a real fish and to keep cats of all ages entertained with its flopping action. Each toy is about a foot long and has a built-in sensor that will cause it to turn on when a cat approaches it closely. Aside from keeping cats from getting bored, playing with this battery-operated toy on a regular basis may also help overweight cats lose weight.

Flippity Fish Flippity Fish or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Flippity Fish is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Flippity Fish being discontinued. Flippity Fish may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Flippity Fish being discontinued. Flippity Fish may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Place on Floor

    To get your cat interested in the Flippity Fish, the first thing you'll need to do is place it on the floor near your cat. Once your cat sees the new toy, they may come right over to investigate, especially since it so closely resembles a real fish. If not, you can call them over, and if they're still unresponsive, you can even carry them over and place them beside the toy.

  2. Watch Cat Play

    As this toy's motion sensor senses that your cat is moving nearby, the toy will begin to flop around in the same way as a real fish would. To make things even more interesting for the cat, its tail will move at alternating fast and slow speeds. When your cat picks up on this flopping activity, their hunting instincts will likely be activated almost immediately, and they'll start batting the toy. If not, you can bat the toy a few times yourself in order to encourage them to get started.

  3. Store or Leave in Place

    Once your cat decides they're done with this toy for the time being, and walks away, the toy will automatically detect the lack of motion and turn off. Following that, you can either leave the toy where it is so your cat can come back and find it, or store it in a safe place.

Features

  • Rechargeable

    The Flippity Fish contains a rechargeable battery, which means you won't have to worry about keeping spare batteries on hand to add to it. When the toy needs to be charged, all you'll need to do is use the included USB cable to plug it into a digital device for recharging. It's specified that one charge may last for multiple days.

  • Durable and Non-toxic

    This toy is made from durable material that can withstand aggressive chewing, so even if your cat likes to attack their toys, they likely won't be able to destroy this one. The material is also non-toxic, which means that chewing on it won't cause your cat to become ill.

  • Machine Washable Cover

    If you remove the inner mechanical parts from the inside of your Flippity Fish, you'll be able to wash the fabric cover in your washing machine. This may come in handy if cat food or waste happens to end up on the toy, or if it just becomes excessively slobbery. If you don't have a washing machine, you can also wash the cover in your sink with soap and water.

  • Catnip Pouch Inside

    To add to the fun of this toy, each one actually has a pouch inside that's meant to be filled with catnip, if you like to give this treat to your cat. While it's not necessary that you fill the pouch, the smell of catnip may aid with your cat's initial attraction to the toy. Similarly, it may keep them interested in it for longer than they otherwise would be.

  • Fishing Pole Included

    Another way to add some more excitement to your cat's life, when it comes to this toy, is to add the included fishing pole. After you attach this pole to the toy, you'll be able to dangle the toy in front of your cat, or run it along the floor, and have them try to catch it. This game can be especially fun for one or more small children to play with one or more cats.

Positive Points

  • For Cats of All Ages, Sizes

    Cats of all ages and sizes—even kittens and senior cats—can enjoy playing with this interactive toy. The toy isn't so big that it'll overwhelm kittens, but it's big enough that it'll seem like an exciting piece of prey to a burly, athletic tomcat. Kittens and younger cats may dive at it super-quickly, while senior cats may bat at it more lazily, but all cats should be able to have fun with it in their own way. If you've got multiple cats, and they get along, they may even want to play with this toy together.

  • Can Aid With Weight Loss

    Some cats can get fat very quickly, especially aging cats that are living in small apartments with busy owners who may not have a lot of time to play with them. Fortunately, if your cat is overweight, they may be able to shed some pounds by playing with a Flippity Fish. Once you introduce them to the toy's flopping action, they can play with it alone while you get things done, instead of just lying on the couch (or snacking). Even if your cat's not overweight yet, getting them into a regular play routine can help prevent future weight problems.

  • Makes a Great Gift

    A Flippity Fish makes a great gift for anyone who's a cat lover and has at least one cat, due to its widespread appeal among felines of different sizes, ages, and breeds. To make this gift even better, you might want to add a small bag of catnip to the package, so the recipient can add it to the toy's catnip pouch. This gift idea is especially ideal for seniors who may be bored during the day, as watching a cat play with this flopping toy will almost certainly cure boredom.

Negative Points

  • USB Charging Port Required

    Most people have access to a USB port these days, but if you don't have a digital device with a USB port, you may find it difficult to recharge this toy. It can only be charged via the included USB cable, so you'll either have to obtain a digital device for that purpose or find a friend with an available USB port. To better suit some seniors and anyone else without a computer, it would be beneficial if the toy could also be plugged into wall outlets for recharging.

  • Humans May Activate Sensor

    The Flippity Fish's motion sensor likely isn't smart enough to distinguish between a cat's motion and a human's motion. As a result, if you go near the toy, it'll probably start flopping around and making noise, as it would if your cat were to approach. This could become annoying, especially since there's no way to turn the motion sensor off, aside from removing the toy's inner mechanical parts altogether.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Flippity Fish online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Flippity Fish online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

8 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Flippity Fish Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
1
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
7

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 04 Sep 2021 Tre - (San Antonio, TX)

Does not Last

Bought 2. Both the inside mechanism that makes the tail flip broke. One lasted a month and the other one a week. My cat is so sad they don't work anymore. I took them apart and they we're plastic parts that broke. Needs better parts.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 02 Sep 2021 lorraine Bunnell - (Bellingham, MA)

Flippy Fish Changes Needed

Nice concept BUT it could use more stuffing around the box inside. And the flipping of the tail could be less aggressive. My cat liked it (she doesn't like much) until she bit it and hit the box with her teeth. Then the tail slapped her in the face. Poor thing needless to say she was done with it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Jul 2021 Wendy Hegarty - (Hammersmith, ENG)

I really wish I hadn't brought this, it's so noisy, I know my cat won't like it, so unfair.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Jun 2021 Deb Merskin - (Bend, OR)

Need a Charger

Hi. Friends gave me a Flippity Fish but can't find the charger. Where can I buy one?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 May 2021 Steve - (Lewiston, ME)

Junk Garbage

I bought two. One broke and doesn't move the tail anymore when charged.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Jun 2021 Blake

Dude same mines broke but the other one is working just fine.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 May 2021 N E - (Hays, KS)

Terrible Battery!

The battery takes approx 30 min to charge, doesn't hold a charge for even 3 hrs. This toy is great when it works, but with this awful battery life that's only for short periods of time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Apr 2021 Rhonda Kegerreis - (Humble, TX)

Horrible Return Policy/customer Service

I bought this for my two cats thinking they would play with it as the ad stated. Not only did they NOT play with it, but they also ran away from it. When I contacted customer service to return, I was told that I could do one of two things:
Either give it as a gift and I would receive only a $10 refund or I would have to pay the postage for returning it but wouldn't get that cost back and would get a refund of the purchase price of $31.00.

I filed a BBB report.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Feb 2021 Jo Peterson - (St Louis, MO)

Poduction Failures

1--cord will not stay connected tried other ones that work on other equip/
2-upper fins jams zipper

Have sm. Cats wish you made one a couple inches smaller.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Feb 2021 Wayne F Hunter - (Shakopee, MN)

Did not get my Flippity Fish I want my money back if you are not sending it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jan 2021 Tex - (Tucson, AZ)

Customer Service

What a joke! I wanted to order 1 fish and the customer service person said she can only accept orders of two or more. S sex je said I should Ofer online, the online site says my shipping address does not exist. I have only been here 33 years!
I did not place an order and won’t! What a joke.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jan 2021 Larry Patrick - (The Villages, FL)

Charging Impossible!

I bought a fish. After a lot of work and probing, I was finally able to plug the charger into the tiny opening provided. My cat loved it and played until it needed another charge. This time I couldn’t get it plugged in again. Thought I broke it so ordered another. Got a new one today. Smaller opening than the first one. Impossible to charge.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 19 Mar 2021 markus

Have you tried taking a pair of scissors or a pocketknife and cutting material where the charge socket is to make it apropriate size?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Jan 2021 Jennefer Smith - (Elkton, MD)

Never What They Claim

It’s interesting how the author of the above TV Reviews states the Flippety Fish has FREE SHIPPING. I didn’t believe it when I read it but thank you for confirming it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Jan 2021 Anon - (Sandy, UT)

Bad Business, but I got my Money Back

I was going to order a Flippity Fish. When I kept getting upgrade offers after submitting the order, I decided to cancel and left the final upgrade screen without confirming. The order was processed anyway and my card was charged. When I called to cancel, they claimed they could not cancel because the order was in the warehouse. I directed them to pull the order, but they refused claiming they had no way to contact the warehouse. They advised me to refuse the package and call back for a refund. I called back asking if they we're going to withhold shipping costs and they said it depended on the supervisor. I advised that I would be calling my bank and filing a chargeback. Suddenly they offered to refund the full amount to my card immediately if I promised to return the product. I've gotten my refund, but only after two hours and three phone calls later.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 31 Dec 2020 Ege - (Coraopolis, PA)

Will Not Charge Correctly

Tried several charge methods without luck. Both fish charged for only 10 minutes verse 1 hour suggested. Then played for less than 1 minute. Mailed for $13 to get a refund "less ship and handling charges." Tracking said that it was received; not refunded yet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Dec 2020 Siriusthecat - (North Kingstown, RI)

Great Toy, the Lost Star is for Shady Sales

I bought 2 for $30. I had to Decline 2 upgrade offers to keep that price. I still got the deluxe rechargeable, not sure any other model exists. My 12 year old cat loves it, the other I gave to a 7 year old cat, that is insane for it! As a cat toy, I highly recommend. It's available in more places than just the TV site, which would have gladly charged me 50 or 40 for the same order if I was willing to pay it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Dec 2020 Jerry Evans - (Houston, TX)

Scared the Crap out of my Cats

This cat toy makes so much noise that the cats will not come near it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Dec 2020 Richard McCleery - (Durham, NC)

No Instructions or Fishing Pole

So the fish comes sans pole and instructions. It is currently charging out of sight of our cat- the ultimate test will be what he does with or to it- if indeed this thing works as advertised.

Stay tuned Flippity Fish critics.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Dec 2020 Morgan J Hayes - (Petaluma, CA)

Complaint

I ordered a Flippity Fish weeks ago and I have never received it! Will I've ever received it or should I order from someone else.

Morgan Hayes
hayesmorganj@gmail.com.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Nov 2020 Quero Desouza - (Rocky Mount, NC)

No Free Shipping or 2 for one - no BOGO

The $19.99 cost for 2 for 1 turns out to be over $30 and this was not rechargeable which they wanted another $10 per fish. Shitty con website.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Dec 2020 Siriusthecat

Actually, I Declined the upgrades and still got rechargeable ones. It is 2 for 30, but don't get tricked into the ($10) then ($5) yes they offer twice, upgrade.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Nov 2020 wendy adkins - (Wilsonville, OR)

I bought this for my cats, they we're horrified by it, haha but my little pooch absolutely loves it and plays with it constantly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Flippity Fish Infomercial
Flippity Fish Infomercial
Flippity Fish Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼