Eggstractor

27 Votes

Rate this product

The Eggstractor can peel eggs up to 10 times faster that traditional methods. This means that you no longer have to peel them by hand, which is great news if you love hard boiled eggs but hate the preparation time. With the ability to leave no mess behind and ideal for use any time, this great new product makes eggs even more enjoyable. If you're looking to add more protein to your diet, the Eggstractor can help you do this with ease. Safe for anyone to use, this ideal product can help you to prepare meals with ease.
SOME Customer Reviews say:
IT DOESN'T WORK!

Read Below: Real Customer Reviews

But WAIT! - We found out what they're doing wrong.
It DOES in fact WORK!
Read our full report ▼

The Claim

The infomercial claims that this great new product has the ability to peel hard boiled eggs perfectly and in an instant too. With 3 easy steps anyone can peel eggs easily and without the mess that you get when peeling eggs by hand. Not only does this product ensure your eggs are peeled perfectly, but it uses science to ensure they are. This works because the Eggstractor builds up pressure and enables the egg and shell to become separated, which means users get perfectly shelled eggs every single time. Now it's easy to enjoy eggs more often, which means you can have that much-needed protein in your diet.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Eggstractor is $9.99 plus $6.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows a free gift which you will receive by paying the extra shipping fee of $6.99 for a total price of $23.97. This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page found at buyeggstractor.com; however, the company has since ceased selling Eggstractor and has taken down the website. Eggstractor may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

How It Works

The Eggstractor is a device that will peel your hard-boiled eggs quickly and easily. Once an egg is inside this extractor, the device will push all the air out of the air cell, a small chamber of air at the tip of each egg. This pressure will cause the shell and egg to separate, and the egg will then pop out of the extractor in a perfectly peeled state.

It's HOT!

Everyone remembers the As Seen on TV product Eggies. They were one of the hottest selling TV advertised items of all time. The problem is, they made a bad name for egg related products and the As Seen on TV market. Why? Because they didn't work! OK, they did work; however, not as advertised. Eggies were a huge mess. They eggs cooked and eliminated the need for peeling. This led them to do exactly what they were designed to do. The problem was the mess they made. People spent more time washing and drying all the pieces included in the Eggies kit, then they would have if they just peeled the eggs. What's more, if the eggs turned out horrible looking! Uneven and simply unattractive; to the point that you wouldn't want to serve them to guests.

Eggies were a product that worked, but had many negative downfalls that lead to unsatisfied customers. The Eggstractor now has an uphill battle to win back the hearts and mind of egg lovers and prove that it does as advertised.

Health is at the forefront of most life styles today. It's common knowledge that eggs are healthy. People also remember the last time they tried to peel eggs, it was a headache and barely worth the time and effort. Any product that attempts to make this process easier is bound to be a hit. The Eggstractor claims to do exactly that, make peeling eggs effortless.

They have been selling like crazy and are presumed soon to be the Hottest As Seen on TV product of 2015!

Media Tests

Due to its overwhelming viral popularity, almost every news network in the United States has conducted a report or video recorded experiment using the Eggstractor. See reputable tests below:

- Rocket 4 News Video (Japan) (OK - Not Perfect)

- ABC KLTV 7 Report (No - Difficult Technique)

- WTOC News Report (Works...Eventually)

- Huffington Post Article (Don't Buy)

- News Now Write-Up (It Works)

- CBS Editor Opinions (Fail!)

Customer Video Reviews / Tests

The Eggstractor was invented in 2004! That means it's been in the hands of real customers for over 10 year! If you're lucky you could even find one of these at a garage sale. As such, there is no shortage of video reviews on YouTube.com; although they are difficult to find. We've save you time by finding all the reviews for you, both good and bad and providing the links here:

YOUTUBE REVIEWS

Uses

  1. Deviled Eggs
  2. You can use the Eggstractor to peel eggs which you can then cut in half to make delicious, spice-covered deviled eggs.

  3. Egg Salad
  4. It’s difficult to peel enough eggs by hand to make egg salad sandwiches for a group of people, but using the Eggstractor to peel them will make this much easier.

  5. Egg Delight
  6. You can also use your Eggstractor to peel hard-boiled eggs for apple Egg Delight biscuits, which contain egg within their centres.

  7. Egg Trifle
  8. Egg Trifle is a dish in which eggs are layered with vegetables and cheese. These ingredients can be stirred up into a salad when you want to eat your trifle. With your Eggstractor, you’ll be able to peel eggs quickly enough to make many trifles in minutes, which you can store in the fridge for later or serve to others.

  9. Easter Eggs
  10. Since the Eggstractor is safe for children to use, they can decorate Easter eggs and then peel them to eat by using this device.

  11. Adding Eggs To Foods
  12. Once you’re able to peel eggs so efficiently with your Eggstractor, you’ll have no problem peeling and cutting them so you can add them to other dishes.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Tap Egg
  2. Before inserting it into the extractor, tap each egg’s top in order to make it easier to crack.

  3. Place Over Extracting Hole
  4. Place the egg over your device’s Eggstracting hole, in a vertical manner, with the pointier end facing down.

  5. Cover With Billow
  6. Cover your egg with the Eggstractor’s peeling billow, the part that looks kind of like an accordion, and push down. Following that, a peeled egg will pop out the bottom of your device.

Positive Points

  • No Mess
  • Peeling eggs by hand is a messy task, as the pieces of shell will go everywhere and you’ll have to collect them. However, when you peel an egg with the Eggstractor, there will be no such mess. Instead, the shell of your egg will remain sitting within the device after your peeled egg pops out.

  • Won’t Cause Physical Pain
  • Peeling eggs with your hands can also end up making your fingers feel raw and sore, but when you use the Eggstractor, this won’t be the case. After you’ve placed an egg within the device, all you’ll need to use your hands for is pushing down on the peeling billow.

  • Encourages Healthy Eating
  • Eggs are a healthy food item to consume, as they’re full of protein. If you’re someone who doesn’t eat many eggs because they’re difficult to prepare, using the Eggstractor will encourage you to eat more of them, which will improve your health.

Save Time

Since the Eggstractor can peel eggs approximately 10 times faster than someone would take to peel them with their hands, this will make your food preparation process much quicker.

#1 Complaint

The most complained about issue concerning the Eggstractor is that it Doesn't Work. The fact remains that it does work. People post video proof of it not working and write complaints referencing their trouble with the device; however, it does was it claims to: It peels eggs. We've found the reason why it doesn't work exactly as shown on TV. Be sure to read our explanation below; that way, if you decide to buy, you'll be a 'happier' customer.

THE SECRET

Usually there is no secret, either a product works or it doesn't. However, with the Eggstractor, if you don't boil and cool your eggs correctly, it will fail. If you boil, cool, puncture, and press with complete accuracy you will have perfectly peeled eggs every time (no sales pitch - it's all up to you, not the device).

To cook perfectly boiled eggs which are easy to peel, with or without the Eggstractor follow these instructions EXACTLY. ANY deviation will result in some level of failure:
  1. Place Eggs
  2. In large uncovered sauce pot, place the eggs so that all eggs are touching the button. A pot overly filled with too many eggs will not cook as well. Why? I don't know; just do it!

  3. Fill with Water
  4. The water used must be cool water. No room temperature and not hot.

  5. Boil Water
  6. SLOWLY bring the water to a boil over MEDIUM heat. Don't rush this step, it is very important.

  7. Remove from Heat
  8. As soon as the water reaches boiling point, remove them from the heat.

  9. Lid on Pot
  10. Place a lid on the pot so that eggs can continue to cook in the warm water.

  11. Let Sit
  12. Let the covered Pot sit, off the heated surface for 12 minutes.

  13. Cool Eggs
  14. Transfer the eggs to a colander and run under cool RUNNING water to stop the eggs from cooking. Ensure to completely cool eggs before proceeding.

  15. Peel
  16. Once completely cooled, the eggs are no ready to be peeled either by hand or using the extractor. Peeling techniques can then be used from this point forward as the shell will already be separated (unstuck) from the egg [thanks to your cooking and cooling process]

Eggstractor Scam

Both average customers and media news reporters have labeled this invention as scam. The truth is it's not a scam. The Eggstractor does work; however, the majority of people don't know how to correctly use it. It's also NOT as easy use as is shown on tv. The second reason customer label this as a scam is due to the Buy 1 Get 1 Free deal. When people hear the word 'Free' they assume there are no additional hidden costs. As with most As Seen on TV Buy 1 Get 1 Free deals, when you purchase an Eggstractor and opt for the second free one, you are required to pay a second full P&H fee of $7.99. This means you will pay:

$14.99 - 1st Unit
$7.99 - Processing & Handling for 1st Unit
$7.99 - Processing & Handling for 2nd Free Unit
----------
$30.97 - Total for 2 Eggstractors

This calculation is the LEAST amount you can expect to pay when ordering from the official sales page as the Buy 1 Get 1 Free deal is a requirement, not an option. You cannot buy only 1 unit.

Numerous customer find the wording on the sales page confusing. When placing your order the site says you:
" How many sets would you like?"
As 1 Eggstractor is made up of 2 pieces, customers assume that a set is 1 complete unit. In order to take advantage of the Buy 1 Get 1 Free offer, they select '2'. What is meant by the word 'sets' is 'sets' of Buy 1 Get 1 Free offers.

1 Set = 2 Eggstractors

This means if a customer were to select '2' Sets, they would receive 4 Eggstractors and pay a total of $61.94! Obviously, when they expected, at first, to only spend $14.99, they will feel ripped-off and report this as being a scam.

The fact of the matter is, there is no scam; just tricky sales tactics, and a device when requires patients and tecnique to use.

Not Available Locally

The Eggstractor is a remarketed product that was once available at most large retailers. As it has just been re-released it is not yet available at Wal-Mart, Target or Bed Bath and Beyond; however, will likely become available once TV advertising slows down.

Conclusion

The Eggstractor works; however, you must first boil and cool your eggs if you do this, then the device will work flawlessly. In fact, if you boil and cool eggs correctly they will be so easy to peel you won't even need this device. Most people report it not working due to a failure in correctly cooking their eggs. If you boil a couple dozen eggs at a time, then this unit will save you a few minutes; and is worth the buy. However, if you only boil a few eggs at once; boil then properly so that they are easy to peel and you won't need a miracle solution.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Eggstractor online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Eggstractor online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

38 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.4
Eggstractor Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
1
4 STARS
2
3 STARS
2 STARS
5
1 STARS
29

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Gail Shendelman - (Beavercreek, OH)
Posted: 24 Jul 2006
I Regret Buying it!

If You Like To Watch An Egg Explode...

...then you might like this! We tried it with a dozen hard boiled eggs and THREE eggs peeled cleanly enough to use for Deviled Eggs. But the other NINE? Exploded, yucky messes. I'd never recommend this product for anything other than a science experiment ... something like "is a cold exploded egg harder to clean up than a hot one?"

-Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Thomas J. Schmidt - (San Diego, CA)
Posted: 11 Apr 2010
I Regret Buying it!

Never Worked

4 Dozen eggs, multiple reviews of the instructions (which I followed perfectly!) and I never ONCE had the dang thing work properly. The only positive I can possibly think of is that is was like a puzzle I was trying to solve, but unfortunately never could.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
The Turkey - (Bellevue, PA)
Posted: 26 Nov 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Video Was Enough

After viewing video, the stractor was placed back in box undisturbed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Joan E. - (Albertville, AL)
Posted: 30 Jan 2007
I Regret Buying it!

Total Waste Of Money!!

At least the other lady got 3 peeled eggs out of a dozen from this sick joke of a gadget. I didn't get a single one. I hope Amazon will remove this item from their website, as it is total junk at best. I only wish I could have rated it with a MINUS 5 Star rating!
-Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jennifer L. - (Bayville, NJ)
Posted: 26 Mar 2005
I Regret Buying it!

Not Worth The Effort

Doesn't work, cheaply made, embarrassed that I gave the free one to my sister as a Christmas present before I tried it.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Squiddly Diddly - (New Haven, IN)
Posted: 01 Aug 2011
I Recommend Buying it!

Not Perfect But Can Be Better Than Hand Peeling

Eggstractor is by no means the ideal way to de-shell an egg, though once you get the hang of it's peculiar nature and play with it, follow instructions, and mostly SALT YOUR COOKING WATER WELL, it can be a fun and quicker way to peel those tasty solidified oblong protein orbs. Some have complained that the hole in the base of the bellows is a defect, it's actually a pressure bypass port as all have this. Using well salted water WILL help the process, the salt penetrates the porous shell and keeps the pesky membranes from sticking to both the egg white and shell, thus preventing a peeling disaster.

As others have mentioned if you can't forcefully depress the bellows, this will be useless to you. A small portion of the shell will usually remain at the bottom of the egg and can quickly be knocked off with ones thumb tip. I would not recommend this to the majority of the general buying public as it requires a bit of practice and preparation that most don't want to do. Though if you are patient, can follow direction and be willing to not expect perfection instantly, this is the best egg peeler I have tried.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Amber - (Tucson, AZ)
Posted: 12 Mar 2011
I Recommend Buying it!

Pretty Good, Fun, & Cheap

First of all, to like this product, you have to:
* Be strong enough to give a good, quick, hard push down. People with physical issues won't appreciate this.
* Be willing to learn how to use it. It takes some practice.
* Be a little kooky. From a utilitarian point of view, this is an unnecessary device.

The point is, and I realized this last night as I quickly eggstracted 8 eggs, this device is fun to use once you get the hang of it. Yeah, I could've peeled the eggs by hand. Instead I got to shoot them out of the device and give the remaining nearly complete eggshell to my 3-year-old daughter to be amused with.

The device is not nearly as difficult to use as other critics suggest, and you don't need to perfectly follow the directions either. Here's what I do:
* Boil the eggs until they're done. No need to time this. I usually shoot for 15 minutes.
* Dump the water, then fill the pot with the eggs with cool water from the faucet 2 or 3 times
* Let them sit in the last cool bath for a couple of minutes. The eggs are usually still warm when I eggstract them
* IMPORTANT: instead of 1 hole in the pointy end, I put in 3 or 4 holes around the pointy end. This gets more air in to push the egg out.
* Crack the bottom of the egg
* Setup the device and give a good hard push (sometimes 2 or 3)
* Out pops your egg

At this point, I use the eggstractor every chance I get because I am good at it, and because it is fun.
I think most of these reviews are bad because the people just didn't get the hang of the device.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Customer - (Jacksonville, NC)
Posted: 18 Apr 2004
I Regret Buying it!

Should Be The Eggsploder!!

Great entertainment, but not so great at peeling eggs. The eggs kind of explode everywhere. We got one to make it out almost whole. Basically a rip.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
John - (Boulder, CO)
Posted: 21 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Great for parties! Will surely get a dull party going. Lotta fun trying to make something happen that won't! Got 2 going to re-gift one to a special friend who hasn't seen it yet. Happy birthday joyce

Only in america could things like this sell!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Nicolle - (Hendersonville, TN)
Posted: 11 May 2004
I Regret Buying it!

Complete Waste Of Money

I am not even strong enough to use the Eggstractor, but fortunately my husband was strong enough to push the "bellows" down so at least we could try it out.

Here's a summary of our results:
We tried 11 eggs. The 12th egg I hand peeled, to make sure the eggs were cooked perfectly. Preparing the egg involves cooking it perfectly and cooling it (same as for hand peeling). Then you have to pierce the top of the egg, and perfectly crack the base of the egg, before putting it on the Eggstractor. It took me less time to hand peel the egg than it took my husband to properly "prepare" the egg for "Eggstraction."

Out of 11 eggs:
* 3 came out with half of the shell still on.
* 8 basically exploded into anywhere from 4 to a dozen pieces, all with the shell still on the whites.

Save your money, really!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Sandra Bell - (Lakeland, FL)
Posted: 26 Mar 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Waste of Money

I bought the Eggstractor because I had to make 4 dozen deviled eggs for a charity affair and thought it would make things easier. I boiled the eggs and didn't get one out in one piece. It looks so easy in the video. I couldn't push it down all the way so I had my husband try. He is over 6 feet tall and more than 200 pounds and had a hard time pushing it down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kermit Williams - (Terrell Hills, TX)
Posted: 18 Jul 2007
I Regret Buying it!

Save Your Money

I bought this for my mother because I love her deviled eggs, but hate peeling them for her. Boy... what a waste.

In a nutshell it doesn't work at all. The instructions said that we might have been over cooking the eggs, but we tried on a few separate occasions and could never get it to work. What's worse is that we almost hurt ourselves a few times trying to even use the thing!

Save your money - Peel your own eggs.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Loralilee - (Norwalk, IA)
Posted: 04 Feb 2011
I Recommend Buying it!

Awesome Product!!!

I don't understand all the bad reviews bz I get a smooth egg out 99% of the time. Be sure to read instructions, use salt in boiling water. Remember fat end needs to be well cracked for egg to push out of its bottom. Pierce a hole on skinny top completely through skin and woosh, you've got a peeled egg. Don't know why it isn't working for others bz it works for me. I should do a video sometime.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Randy Damron - (Lynchburg, TN)
Posted: 10 Jun 2013
I Regret Buying it!

Hate It!

I hate this, would not recommend it to anyone. I should have send it back for a refund. It is now thrown in the back of the cupboard. I am trying to figure out how to recycle and use for something else.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Joseph W. Varnadore - (Coweta, OK)
Posted: 28 Dec 2009
I Regret Buying it!

Defect

I have looked for this product for a week to get it for Christmas. I was so exited when it came. I boiled four eggs and got one to peel. The bellow has a split in the side, maybe that is why it want peel i am so disappointed. Product should have been examined before shipped out. I will never know if this works or not because I am not paying to ship it back.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Alexandra - (Sumter, SC)
Posted: 07 Apr 2015
I Regret Buying it!

I ordered last month and I have not received it yet. That's a lot of money to pay for shipping and not get it shipped. They could have walked it here quicker.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Morgan Shields - (Cape Coral, FL)
Posted: 24 Feb 2015
I Regret Buying it!

I placed this order on a Sunday ordering 1. The email confirmation is sending 2 which the P&H is more than the product. There is no buy one, get one as advertised for $14.99 ( not $9.99 as I see in these reviews. ). Now company wants to charge me $16 to return it plus postage. What a ripoff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jimbo - (Seminole, FL)
Posted: 29 Sep 2011
I Regret Buying it!

Not Very Useful

I raise chickens and hard boil a lot of eggs. If I use store-bought eggs which have a very thin shell, it works about 60-70% of the time as long as you use large enough eggs. Farm raised chicken eggs have thicker shells and the eggstractor does not work at all, so for me it is worthless.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Trailer - (Carnegie, PA)
Posted: 13 Sep 2016
I Regret Buying it!

I think that this product should be renamed to an eggsploder. If you are looking to explode the eggs and have the shell stay on then this is the product for you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Timma - (Three Rivers, MI)
Posted: 05 Oct 2013
I Regret Buying it!

I Am Very Disappointed

I tried it on two different sizes of eggs without luck, then I found that there was a small hole in the side of the plunger therefore there wasn't enough pressure being put on the egg to force it out of the shell. I am very disappointed in the produce.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Bob Beeman - (Nashville, TN)
Posted: 24 Mar 2013
I Regret Buying it!

Doesn't Work!

I was very excited to find this product. We have a homeless ministry, and spend so much time pealing eggs. This would have been such a God-send ... if it would have worked. We tried everything. But it simply doesn't do what they claim that it can do. Very disappointing!
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Jenny - (Canyon Lake, CA)
Posted: 30 Apr 2006
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Waste Your Money

If I could give this a rating of 0, I would have. I have tried this on over 2 dozen eggs, and I have never been able to get one perfectly peeled egg. The commercial for this product shows young children doing it-what a joke. It is very hard to press down on. My husband can barely do it. Most eggs come out with the shell still on the bottom half, others explode completely, many others don't come out at all and I end up having to peel them by hand anyway. Don't waste your money on this product. It is faster and easier to do it by hand.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
J. Duffy - (Jennings, LA)
Posted: 30 May 2013
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Bother... Just Don't

It boggles my mind that there are any positive reviews of this product. The concept is sound considering there are videos on Youtube about how to blow eggs by hand to get them out of the shell, but in my experience those work much better. I can't imagine what kind of alignment of the planets it would take to make this thing work anywhere close to the efficiency and consistency they show in the commercials, but I consider it nothing less than fraudulent if the reality is so different than the promise.

Because the "bellows" is so stiff, pushing it down with enough force is very difficult. At one point I pushed it so hard that the base slipped and I injured my hand on the little pokey thing you're supposed to use to crack a hole in the egg. Yes it was my fault for pushing so hard, but it was the last straw.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Sara J. Delp - (Ranson corporation, WV)
Posted: 02 Sep 2013
I Regret Buying it!

Bought As A Gift And Was Embarassed By It

It does not work do not waste time or money, what a stupid cheap flimsy product, i thought it made such a cute gift but its a product you might find at a local dollar store, skip this!!!!
- Originally Posted on Amazon

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Laura C. Byrnes - (Carbondale, IL)
Posted: 30 Jan 2014
I Regret Buying it!

Doesn't Seem To Work

It looks so easy in the video. Maybe I just need to give it some more practice, but I'm doing everything it says and it won't work for me. However, after giving up after several tries, I was able to peel my egg by hand a lot easier than usual. I put it in the cupboard, not sure when I'll give it another whack, if at all.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Connie - (Roscoe, IL)
Posted: 26 Aug 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Worthless

It's a joke What a waste of money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mr. Gary E - (Chico, CA)
Posted: 26 Sep 2007
I Regret Buying it!

Doesn't Work

Looks great on TV but a real dud in the kitchen. This thing is worthless. I've followed their directions to the letter and have yet to have a single egg cleanly shelled.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Snow White - (Decatur, GA)
Posted: 16 May 2010
I Regret Buying it!

One Star Is One Too Many

My dear friend saw this thing on TV "But wait...act now, and we'll send you two for the price of one...just pay the additional shipping". So she very thoughtfully got one for me. Then, for the fun of it, we decided to have an egg peeling contest.

I cooked a dozen eggs, as per directions. Then gave her 6 to use with this device, and kept six to peel by my usual method ... crack them all over while still warm, and de-shell under cold water. I had all six of mine shelled before she had done even one.

This is something one might expect to see on a game show where the contestant must process so many eggs in a specified time in order to win the prize or advance to the next level. But as a useful kitchen tool, it's a joke.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
L.c. Parks - (Hermosa Beach, CA)
Posted: 30 Jul 2004
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Waste Your Money!!

The concept seems good, but after purchasing the Eggstractor we were sorely disappointed in its performance. We cooked 12 eggs, following their exact guidelines (more on that later), and we did not end up with the "perfectly peeled egg".

Let's start with the cooking process. While very basic: bring to a boil for 6-8 minutes in heavily salted water, you then must immediately emerge the eggs into ICE water. Yes, that's ice, for a minimum of 10 minutes. This will obviously turn your warm hard boiled eggs into refrigerated eggs. Not very pleasant if you plan to eat them plain, or make egg salad (I like both to be slightly warm). And if you're making deviled eggs, the yolks will be too cold to blend.

Then there's the Eggstractor part, or as we like to call it: our Eggsploder. First, if you have arthritis or any other joint ailment, or if you lack the upper body strength of a WWW wrestler, then you will have trouble with the Eggstractor. Again, the concept is there, but the functionality is not. Don't let anyone else convince you that it works, well, at least on fresh eggs. Everyone knows that we only have trouble peeling fresh eggs. Eggs that have been stored in the refrigerator for 2+ weeks peel off in one swoop.

Anyway, once the egg is positioned in the Eggstractor stand, you must push down on the bellows to "force" the air through the holes that you put in both ends of the eggs. This is were it becomes difficult because the pressure of pushing the bellows downwards is extremely hard (your arms will shake as you push so hard). Then, if you're lucky, out will pop your egg but don't be surprised if you only see the yolk. Yup, the pressure is so great that the yolk will literally separate from the egg. Lifting up the bellow to see the rest of your egg will leave you amazed that the egg, and the shell are still in tack (except for the bottom where the yolk shot out). The entire white part will still be in the shell...so there you are, back to peeling.

Our results after cooking 12 eggs are as follows:

6 Eggs "exploded" = nothing left but pieces of shell and whites and yolk all over the counter

2 Eggs came out ok = some whites were still in tack with the shell, but the egg came out looking like the typical egg that had a bad peel job

4 Eggs would not separate at all = we pushed and pushed until we were blue in the face and ended up manually peeling it ourselves.

Save your money! You'll only be frustrated by the results and your Eggstractor will find a new home next to the Sandwich Grill and Juicer in the pantry, collecting dust.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Douglas A. Greenberg - (Deerfield Beach, FL)
Posted: 02 Sep 2004
I Regret Buying it!

Hard-boiled Egg Recipe

The reason one would be attracted to this product is that all too frequently, hard-boiled eggs are difficult to peel. Basically, the shell sticks to the egg and getting it off without mauling the egg becomes extremely frustrating. A fundamental fact about this device is that when it is used, an imperfectly cooked egg is still impossible to peel without disastrous results. If the shell sticks to the egg, the Eggstractor will usually simply whack away the entire white area, leaving only the yolk. Swell.

In defense of the people who market this device, they are very explicit that it's necessary to cook the eggs just so in order for it to work. You have to cook the eggs for the correct amount of time, and (more importantly) you have to plunge the eggs into icy cold water for ten minutes afterward. Let's face it; most people who cook hard-boiled eggs are pretty cavalier about the cooling process, and that's why the shells tend to stick.

IF you follow these cooking instructions PRECISELY, you have a chance that the Eggstractor will work as advertised most (not all) of the time. Even if the egg is perfectly cooked and cooled, however, there still can be mishaps related to just how you have cracked the ends, etc. Bottom line: overall, it's a pretty fussy technology.

However, here's the point: if you follow tried-and-true preparation instructions precisely when you cook hard-boiled eggs, the shells will come off easily--WITH OR WITHOUT THE EGGSTRACTOR. In other words, if you have eggs that are properly prepared, you can peel them oh, so easily with your fingers, and the Eggstractor becomes totally unnecessary.

So here's the deal: COOK AND COOL YOUR EGGS CAREFULLY. If you do this, you will be able to peel the shells off in a jiffy without a bulky, clunky device like the Eggstractor. Only if you want/need to see the "magic" of watching the shell come off virtually in one piece (much of the time, anyway) and if you have plenty of kitchen storage space should you spend your money on this device.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dawn Lakoduk - (Washington Court Hou, OH)
Posted: 31 Oct 2014
I Regret Buying it!

Waste Of Money

The wires broke the first time I sliced an egg! As far as the unit for removing the shells, doesn't work, shells were still on the egg, tore the white layer apart, sometimes it would remove the yolk completely. Waste of money!
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Luopo - (Lakeville, MN)
Posted: 26 Jan 2014
I Regret Buying it!

At First I Was Like, Yeah!

Then after awhile I determined it was just as easy and less likely to completely destroy an egg to do it by hand. It know sits on my shelf waiting to be thrown away to make more space for something else.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Fred - (Staunton, VA)
Posted: 30 Mar 2015
I Regret Buying it!

This is without a doubt the most useless thing I have ever bought. Please don't waste your money on this piece of crap.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Mai Holimon - (Middleburg Heights, OH)
Posted: 06 Jan 2014
I Regret Buying it!

Not All What I Thought It Would Be

This product should have been design to be a little stronger than it is.I almost hurt myself trying to get the egg to push through the hole.I follow the direction and it was just was not what I expected.So I gave it to my sister who may give it to someone else. I peel my eggs better by hand.
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Diane - (Brooklyn, NY)
Posted: 15 Jul 2015
I Regret Buying it!

Don't Waste Your Money

Unfortunately, I neglected to read any reviews before I bought it. Just happened to see it in the store and figured i'd give it a try. The premise sounds great, too bad it doesn't work. I followed the instructions to the letter and I even watched the instructional video on the website as they suggested. First off, the Eggstractor part is very hard to push down on, second, it doesn't work. It took 4-5 hard pushes before the egg came out and when it did, the whole egg exploded. The yolk fell out, the whites broke into pieces and the pieces of shell shot all over the countertop. Very frustrating and messy to say the least. Do yourself a favor and don't waste the $10. I would have given it no stars but unfortunately, that's not possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dawn - (Hagerstown, MD)
Posted: 25 Feb 2015
I Regret Buying it!

We did get the 2 Eggstractors, as advertised. However, there's no need to have 2 when they don't work. My husband & I have boiled 8 eggs and couldn't get 1 to work like the video. It's a rip off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Kimberley Heath - (Ventura County, CA)
Posted: 05 Oct 2013
I Regret Buying it!

Useless

When we replaced our kitchen faucet, the device that used water to slide the egg out of the shell would no longer fit, so my husband bought this instead. If the point is to learn some new swear words, this is the product for you. The Eggstractor needs huge force and still the white sticks to the shell, resulting in a LOT of wasted egg. In addition, the egg explodes, sending bits of shell and egg all over the kitchen. This delighted the dogs but not the humans. We followed the instructions exactly, including timing the boil, the quick transition to the ice bath, and the prompt de-shelling, with no improvement in the results. It was easier to peel the eggs by hand, so this was out in the giveaway box within one week of arrival. Don't waste your money!
- Originally Posted on Amazon

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Norman Kenyon - (Little Falls, MN)
Posted: 07 Oct 2017
I have something to say!

Worked as it Says!

I like my eggs steamed, and Eggstractor still worked.
I do recommend following directions, for all steps
But how you cook and cool the egg should make no difference.
It's fun and fast, no mess.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS