MENU

Clear TV

1703 Votes
Rate this product
Clear TV Clear TV or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Clear TV is an ultra thin HD digital antenna that allows you to intercept television signals for free. The closer you are to a broadcasting tower, the more channels you will pick up. The most important thing you need to know about this device is:

  • It Works!; &
  • It's not much different than any other digital antenna.
We've conducted a complete review of the Clear TV finding all the pros, cons, and everything the advertisers don't tell you about it. You don't have to take our word for it; see the over 143 real customer opinions & reviews here.

Clear TV Clear TV or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Claim

The As Seen on TV commercial boasts about never having to pay for satellite or cable again. They compare having this antenna to cable and satellite. $960 per year is the amount of money the company claims you can save by canceling your cable or satellite service and using only the Clear TV. Is you were to cancel these services for 10 years you'd save in excess of $10,000; an astronomical figure for home entertainment. The spokesman is seen using this device on a boat, something that could never be done using traditional TV providers. The benefits of their product are all the areas that people detest about their current services, such as rate increases, excessive channels that you will never watch, and being locked into a contract. With an antenna you are committed to no one and will not face these irritations.
BUT WAIT! - Yes, there's more. They only tell you about how great their invention is.
There is a lot they don't tell you...

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Clear TV is $19.95 plus $7.99 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Clear TV by paying an extra fee of $7.99 for a total price of $35.93.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page ( www2.cleartvkey.com ) which was taken offline due to Clear TV being discontinued. Clear TV may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page ( www2.cleartvkey.com ) which was taken offline due to Clear TV being discontinued. Clear TV may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Pros

  • Don't pay for channels you don't want.

    Large television service providers market their channels in packages. By using these packages she bundle 1 or 2 good channels, with 5 or more additional channels that hardly anyone wishes to watch on a consistent basis. This is a marketing ploy that makes the buyer believe they are getting more for their money. For example, they may be paying $80 a month for television; however, they are receiving over 100 channels!

    This sounds fantastic, but the fact is the average person only watches approximately 4 - 6 different channels. This means they are truly paying over $80 for 4 television channels, which is an absolute outrage.

    With Clear TV, it is true, you will NOT receive 100s of Channels. However, it is likely that you will receive some of your most desired networks.

    If you enjoy the thought of knowing you have 100 channels that you can flip through, then this device is not for you and you'd be better off sticking with your current service provider.

  • Its FREE!

    After your original investment, to buy the antenna, you will never receive a bill for your television service. It's true, as pointed out in the commercial, this could save you thousands of dollars; IF you are satisfied with Clear TV.

  • Clearer Than Cable

    This claim sounds impossible, but its true in some cases. If you do not have HD cable service, then you are likely receiving a compressed version of the broadcast. When you use an HD antenna, if the network is broadcasting in HD, your reception of their television programs will be in High Definition.

  • Ultra Thin

    While there are dozens of equal or better antennas available, the Clear TV is the thinnest antenna we were able to find. This allows you to position it in more places than it's bulky competitors.

Cons

  • It's just an Antenna

    If you were hoping for a revolutionary new way of getting free TV, then you will be disappointed. The Clear TV Digital HD Antenna, is just as the name states, and antenna. There are other antennas which you could purchase locally that would work just as good if not better.

  • 0 Channels

    There is a possibility that you will receive no channels at all. The way all antennas work is by intercepting airwave broadcasts in the area. If you live far from any sign of civilization, then chances are you will not pick up any channels. This of this as a very powerful 'rabbit ear antenna'. The closer you are to the broad cast towers, the more channels you will get and the clearer your reception will be.

  • Outdoor Antennas Are Better

    When you position an antenna within a building you decrease the signal catching properties. Further, if you wish to use this device in a basement, you can expect a diminished product. Anything that can cause interference between the broad casted signal and your antenna will decrease the amount of clear channels you receive.

  • Quality

    You get what you pay for. There have been multiple reports of users who have had different parts of the product fail on them. Jarin from NY had his amplifier quit working after 2 weeks. Ref 20 Nov 2014 Review.
    This is not to say that it is cheaply constructed; however, keep in mind you are paying $19.95 for something, you shouldn't expect it to last a life time. Other customers have reported using theirs for over 1 year with no problems.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Does it Work?

    - Yes & No. It works great for some, average for others, and not at all for a few people. The device is legit; however, you must be within range of a television broadcasting tower. Be sure to read the customer reviews below.

  2. How Many Channels with Clear TV?

    - 0 to 50. In 2013, the advertising suggested that you could receive hundreds of channels. This has since been removed from their claims.

    - A few lucky customers have received 50 channels (some of which are non-english).

    - On average, people report that the clear TV allows them to receive between 10 and 20 channels.

    - You'll notice that a vast majority of people who post reviews report getting between 0 and 5 channels (no better than an old fashion antenna)

  3. Why so Many Negative Reviews?

    - When people are happy, or content, with a product they don't usually rush to post a review. When a person is upset that an item doesn't work as expected, they are more likely to submit a review; thus you will always find more negative than positive reviews. Keep in mind, if 1,000,000 units are sold, and there are only 100 negative reviews, that means there must be a lot of silent, satisfied customers.

  4. Will it Replace Cable or Satellite?

    - No! Antenna television is ideal for people wishing to save money. It is not a replacement for cable or satellite TV, unless you are not a avid TV watcher.

What the Infomercial Says

The Infomercial claims that Clear TV can bring you free broadcast of your favorite television shows that can look as good as cable or even better than satellite broadcasts. There are no contracts, no monthly fees and no rate increases. Instead of paying an average of $80 per month for a basic cable and satellite subscription, just use the digital antenna to enjoy and watch your favorite broadcast network shows free of charge. Stop paying hundreds of dollars for extra channels that you may not even watch. With Clear TV, you can instantly receive top-rated network shows, local news and weather broadcasts as well as sporting events. Just plug in the device and you're ready to watch free shows in your living room, or anywhere you have a TV. This is completely legal too with government mandating a law that all broadcasters are required to transmit digital TV signals through the airwaves. Clear TV picks up these signals and brings it directly to your television.

No Premium Channels

(Ex. HBO, The History Channel, The Discovery Channel, A&E, TBS, etc.)

Clear TV is only able to receive free HD broadcast network channels such as NBC, CBS, ABC, Fox, PBS, The CW etc.

Premium channels are never broadcasted freely over airwaves.

How Many Channels You'll Receive

If you are not within approximately 30 miles of a broadcast tower, you run the risk of not being able to receive any channels.

Here's Help: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has posted a web app, that allows you to type in your ZIP code to determine where Digital TV signals are near your location here: Digital TV Reception Map
This app is not without error. There are instances where the FCC service my state that you are highly likely to receive a signal; however, you won't be able to du to interference or terrain.

Conclusion

The Clear TV antenna will work if you are within 25 miles of a broadcast tower, granted there is no interference. It is not a substitute for cable or satellite TV; as you will not receive all the same channels. It only picks up Broadcast Network Channels. The two most popular concerns with this product are poor customer service, and users reporting it as being only slightly more effective than a traditional lower priced antenna.

Our recommendation: Read our full report and know what you are getting before you decide to buy.
Alternatives can be found at Wal-Mart.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Clear TV online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Clear TV online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

86 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

2
Clear TV Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
13
4 STARS
4
3 STARS
6
2 STARS
12
1 STARS
51

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 16 Dec 2020 Diana Moore - (Miami, FL)

The Truht

These brokers are terrible they took me for all I had, luckily for me I was introduced to this recovery website, they helped me recover all of my funds I am so happy to share this with all who have been scammed. Hack101 at tutanota (dot) (com).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Nov 2019 Wayne - (Burbank, CA)

I bought the new amplified model from Walmart and returned it, it works a little it's a rip! Don't waste your money but if you want to you can buy the clear to TV antenna off the net for $2.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Oct 2019 rick - (Anoka, MN)

Local TV Antenna. Buy one at a Store

It's just a Junky cheaply made local antenna, just buy a good quality antenna at a 2ND store or from the store and save the shipping and return hassle. The scam needs to be shut down. WTH.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Jan 2019 Beverly - (Essex, MD)

Saved Time and Money

To all the people who place a review, THANKS. I am so glad you stop me from making a costly mistake on Clear TV. For those of you, who have not rewarded your shipping and handling fees along with the $19.99; the advertiser announced, "buy two, and YOU paid the S&H"; he never stated that the S&H would be refunded. You just assumed it would be. There is a scam around every corner; especially, those who think they will get something for nothing. You can't blame the Advertiser, blame yourself for thinking so foolishly. We all learn from our mistakes. Hopefully, the next time, you won't be so vulnerable. Good luck to you all. You probably would have been better to go and purchase a digital antenna from a regular store (Walmart, Walgreen, Target, etc. At least you could have taken it back without the Headache or regrets. Take care!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Nov 2017 charri withrow - (Trotwood, OH)

Antenna Works Better

Clear TV key is Junk the plain old antenna works better! It's all about the money scam scam scam.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Jan 2020 Gayle

Agree. I have a regular antenna and it works fine. BTW, I don't buy ANY ASOTV products.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 02 Jul 2017 Pamela Flynn - (Worthington, OH)

Don't Buy This

They don't work and the one I bought said shipping will cost a fortune so most take the 65% back. Anybody with this as a sale pitch know's they are selling Junk. Cleartv should be shut down.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Jan 2017 Bob - (Patchogue, NY)

Works Good

Saw Clear Tv at a Wall Mart and after dealing with the nonsense with our cable TV provider and channel 3 our favorite ( cbs station ) I Decided to give it a try. Let me tell you, the best $14.95 I've could have spent. Crystal clear, better picture then cable. Called cable today to tell them to " stick it". Yes sometime will get some light interference but saving $100.00 a month, can deal with a little picle.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Dec 2016 Anna - (Alamogordo, NM)

Don't Buy

My input where they want you to connect is on the back on my newer tv, not on the side as show in commercial. With this it almost has to be upside down and needless to say it did not work. They send you a coaxial cable and suction cup to use and of course this didn't work. It wasn't about not getting stations- it's about trying to install it. I got no stations after 5 scans. Then went to Walmart and bought a different one for $10.00 and hooked up easy and got 21 stations right away. This is a rip off and it's really flimsy, cheesy. Should have read the 10,000 bad reviews.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Dec 2016 Anna - (Alamogordo, NM)

Don't Buy

Cheesy, cheaply made, hard to hookup if your input is not on the side of the tv, no stations yet I purchased a different $10.00 at Walmart and bamm- scanned 21 stations. Not about how many stations you get, it's about not fitting in my newer tv.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Nov 2016 Julia Love - (Westlake, LA)

Love It

I bought Clear Tv today and am so happy. I have read reviews of the younger folks and what they expect from your antenna, so sorry they thought they would get hbo. I knew what I was getting a wonderful antenna for hd. I am so pleased with the reception, no broken spaces on my TV Love it, easy to install works great, get all 9 channels in my area, all clear and free! So sorry the young folks don't know a gift horse in the mouth. Your product is great! Sincerely Julia Love love not to pay a cable bill. Happy to watch what I can. Love It!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Oct 2016 Donetta - (Houston, TX)

Lying Customer Service Representatives

While in the process of ordering, we changed our mind and asked to cancel the order. We were told that we could not cancel because we had already given our credit card information and that it took four hours for the order to show up in the system. However, if we called before 24 hours we could cancel. I called the next morning ( well within the 24 hour time limit ) and was told that it was too late, the package had already been mailed and could not be cancelled. I could return the package and would be refunded $19.95 out of the $35.07 that was charged. ( I would have to pay the postage and handling even though I had tried to cancel the order immediately. I am working with our credit card company to dispute the charges. Besides, they don't have our address exactly right so I don't know if we will even get the package.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Feb 2016 Wilma - (Lakeview, OH)

This is the biggest scam I have seen for awhile.
What I ordered and what I received is a joke
I ordered the by one get one free. I received 2 of the black box junk, this was supposed to pick up at least fifty miles out. Baloney!
It won't pick up 20 miles out. It is junk.
I am returning it as soon as possible.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jan 2016 Ellen - (Bronx, NY)

Wondering

I will Clear Tv work on a analog tv.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Jan 2016 Fran C - (Atlanta, GA)

Clear tv Antenna

It really work. I am very pleased. I got 96 channels locked in.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Oct 2015 Keef - (Normal, IL)

Works Great - Very Happy!

I picked one of these up for $14.99 and absolutely love it. Only took a minute to hook to my tv, did a search and viola. I now have 27 channels. Entire process took less than 5 minutes.

Some of the stations I'm picking up are abc, cbs, nbc, fox, cw, a few ion stations, my tv, grit tv, Decades, wqed / pbs and more.

Very pleased with this product.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 03 Oct 2015 Diana - (Phoenix, AZ)

Sneaky Advertsing

No where in ads does it tell you that it will only work within 35 miles of a tower! I puchased the second "free" one. Not. Did not work anywhere in my house. I called for refund. Got a rude person. Nondeal inhad to send them back & pay shipping and would actually ended up paying more. They do not refund shipping, you have to pay to ship it and then your left with nonproduct and out $. Do not buy unless you have a tower ithin 20-30 miles. It will NOT work.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 31 Aug 2015 Jozeph - (King, NC)

The Cord Length

How long is the cord from television to the antenna?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Aug 2015 Ladonna York - (Early, TX)

I live about 50 miles from a TV station, will Clear Tv work at
My house as a indoor antenna? What Db is it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Aug 2015 Tina - (Brooklyn Park, MN)

I buy this Clear Tv, when I call told I was sending it back for refund, the told me we will give $7.00 and you can keep them. I said no I want my $35.95 I pay them, so he said I can only give you $19.95 back, we don't give back shipping and handling costs back, I was mad because I pay for the shipping and handling, so I am losing $15.98 of my money. So do not buy from, it is a ripped off.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Jan 2019 Beverly

I am sorry for your loss, but I am glad that I have read your review. There are many reviews regret buying this Clear TV. I think I better hold-off and find some other alternative.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Aug 2015 Alex - (Miami, FL)

Extra Piece of Metal in my Attic

Only 15 channels out of which 2 worked.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 25 Jul 2015 Chef Fred - (Cocoa, FL)

There is no Shortage of Idiots!

Some people will buy anything and some don't even give a damn if it was a wise choice or not. This is for the working man, WalMart sells a digital antenna for less than ten bucks. I have two they work beautifully.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Dec 2016 Anna

I so agree, I did the same as you.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Jan 2019 Beverly

Thanks for the tip. I will go to Walmart; at least, I can return it with no shipping fee if it doesn't work.: -).

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Jan 2020 Gayle

I have a regular antenna and it picks up 80 channels clearly. I agree. I don't buy ANY ASOTV products.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Jul 2015 Rod - (Keene, NH)

Junk

Not worth the money and noting is true about it. I bought one and their booster and nothing makes it better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Jun 2015 Pauline - (East Wenatchee, WA)

Digital

I have paid for cable before and there were days when the service just wasn't working because they were working on it to get it up and running. It was so frustrating. I asked the rep if I would pro rated for the days it wasn't working. I was told no lol I said the customer is always right! Right? No we're very sorry ma'am as soon as it gets fixed your service will be restored. So, I quit that company and made myself a antenna for analog and received abc, nbc, cbs, 2 fox channels and 1 wbg in chicago and I live in a valley in washington not by any broadcasting networks. Those were the days : ) now I have a TV that gets digital signal with no antenna at all. But some days nothing will come in. Its ok it's free! And I see more TV than I had with cable. My TV is a toshiba and I used the remote to scan for channels and got 12 channels free. I'm a happy camper.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 May 2015 Mary Ellen - (Traverse City, MI)

You can get the digital coat hangar the same place as the high def wreynolds wrap, in the kitchen or closet, no charge! Lol lol!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 May 2015 Pam Hammond - (Mount Vernon, IL)

Channels

Can you tell me how many channels I would receive in Mt. Vernon, Illinois?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Un-boxing & Specs

Clear TV Infomercial

Clearer than Cable but...

Clear TV Infomercial

Install & Review

Clear TV Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼