MENU

Car Cane

118 Votes
Rate this product
Car Cane Car Cane or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Car Cane is a device that will help you get in and out of your vehicle. Specifically, it's a portable handle that will slide into your door latch and lock into place instantly so it won't move as you use it. It has a non-slip grip handle so your hand won't slip as you hold onto it, either. The red and black device is strong enough to withstand 350 pounds of pressure, yet it's compact enough to be stored inside your door or in your glove compartment. A flashlight, which will provide up to 100,000 hours of light, is built into each one.

Car Cane Car Cane or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Claim

When you use Car Cane, you'll no longer need to ask someone for help getting out of your car, or put strain on your arm by using it to push yourself out of your seat. Instead, you'll simply be able to put your weight on this handle and stand up in seconds. This device is ideal for seniors who suffer from body pain and stiffness, and anyone who has chronic pain due to a medical condition or is recovering from an injury. Even if you're perfectly healthy, if you live in an area that gets icy in the winter, you can hold onto this apparatus so you won't slip and fall.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Car Cane is $19.95 plus $6.95 shipping. The special TV offer allows a free gift which you will receive by paying an extra fee of $6.95 for a total price of $33.85.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Car Cane being discontinued. Car Cane may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page which was taken offline due to Car Cane being discontinued. Car Cane may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Attach to Car

    When you're ready to get out of your car, just slide your Car Cane into the door latch closest to your seat, regardless of whether you're a passenger or the driver.

  2. Put Weight on Device

    Use your hand that's closest to the device to put your weight on the device, and stand up carefully.

  3. Remove and Store

    After you're safely out of your car, make sure you remove your Car Cane from the door latch, as you won't be able to close your door properly without doing so. Store it in a place where it can be quickly accessed the next time you need to use it.

Features

  • Non-slip Grip

    The handle of each Car Cane has a non-slip grip, so even if your hand is slippery or sweaty, it won't slide off the device, potentially sending you to the ground. If you want to take advantage of this grip, make sure you hang onto the part of your Car Cane that is red.

  • Steel Construction

    The Car Cane is made with forged steel, which makes it durable—likely to last a lifetime—and able to withstand a great deal of weight ( 350 pounds ).

  • For Use With Various Vehicles

    Your Car Cane will work with a variety of vehicles, including tall SUVs with a lot of height between their doors and the ground, and low, compact cars. Hence, if you have more than one vehicle, you'll be able to move the device back and forth between them for use ( or, you could get more than one ).

  • Built-in Flashlight

    Each Car Cane has a built-in flashlight that offers LED light that will glow for up to 100,000 hours. This will come in handy when you need to get out of your car in the dark, and you can also use it to find your way down a dark street or driveway.

Positive Points

  • Makes Car Departure Safer

    It's much safer for those drivers or passengers who are in some way physically disadvantaged to exit a car by using Car Cane, instead of struggling on their own.

  • Promotes Independence

    Some physically disadvantaged people may avoid traveling on their own since they cannot get out of their car themselves without difficulty, but with Car Cane, this will no longer be necessary. Not having to wait for a helper will likely lead to the ability to accomplish tasks more quickly and do more fun activities in a given day.

  • Can be Used by Kids

    While of course, no child should be driving a car, a child who is just learning to walk or has trouble walking on ice can use Car Cane as a passenger, to attain stability.

  • Compact for Storage

    Car Cane is small enough to fit in a glove compartment, and if you need to store it inside your home for some reason, it'll fit into most medium-sized drawers.

Alternatives

  • Pushing With Arm

    If you have a weak back or knees, you can push on the side of your car with one arm to help yourself stand up, but sooner or later, this will cause arm strain.

  • Asking for Help

    People who have difficulty getting out of cars may get help sometimes, but there may not always be someone around to be of assistance. Plus, being helped might be embarrassing for the most independent-minded people.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Car Cane online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Car Cane online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

33 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Car Cane Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
3
4 STARS
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
30

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 12 Jul 2021 Dee - (Englishtown, NJ)

Ordered Car Cane from Amazon Prime $7.00 fits 2007 Santa Fay. Works very well. Prime has them as low as $4.00.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Apr 2021 Sam - (Phoenix, AZ)

Doesn't fit Right

I ordered from Amazon. When I discovered that it didn't fit securely into the latch, I decided to send it back. Got a refund.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Mar 2017 alan - (Syracuse, NY)

Snapped

Mine snapped contacted carcane who told me that it was impossible. Never offered to discuss how it was being used just dismissed me. If this happens to someone less mobile than me could be very dangerous. I would avoid or not trust it too much.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Feb 2017 Steve - (Ferndale, WA)

Wake up People

First time I saw the add I laughed. Clearly a scam but the biggest worry of all is the place the device goes in can not be put out of line not even slightly or you won't be able to close your door. That place is not designed to take weight either. Its just to lock the door. Lol. Wake up people and stop clickin on crap. Think first.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Dec 2016 Janice - (Bell, CA)

Not for my Car

Nowhere in the ads for this product have I ever seen mention that it won't fit in some older cars. Mine is a 2003 Hyundai Sonat and the Car Cane is too big for my latch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Dec 2016 Alison Gonzales

Good to know! I have 2005 so it may not fit, but for the price they are selling g on Amazon, I'm gonna try my luck.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Jun 2016 Kimberly - (Rockland, ME)

RIPOFF

Do not order from this place. They charged my card twice. When I finally got through to them I was informed this is their policy. They charge the card the 1st time to make sure the money is available and they charge it again when the order is processed and they refund the 1st charge 5 dsys later. That is illegal! Now I have to file a claim with my bank and wait 60 days for a refund. I am furious. Can't find a physical address for my better business bureau complaint.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jun 2016 Kim - (Carrollton, GA)

BUYERS BEWARE

I am furious with that company. I was double charged for both orders placed with that company. I order the Car Cane and fishing lures. They charged my card in 6 / 3 and 6 / 8. My research found this is common with that company and has happened to several customers. Calling my bank first thing in the morning. Very unhappy!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jun 2016 Gina - (Palatka, FL)

Buyers beware! I ordered 2 different items from that company and was charged twice for each order, once on 6 / 3 / 16 and again on 6 / 8 / 16. After researching I have found this to happen to many people that order from that company. When people call about this issue they are treated rudely and often get hung up on. I am furious and am going to my bank tomorrow.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Aug 2016 Bob The Builder

You need to go open a can of whoop ass on these jabronis and get your money back plus interest.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 May 2016 Rosemary Schneider - (Waterloo, NY)

The POST Does Not Fit my 2003 Mercedes Benz

Can I get my money back?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 24 Mar 2016 Margaret - (Sugar Grove, IL)

It Will Not Work with my Mercedes ML

The Car Cane is too large for the latch of my Mercedes ML. It is supposed to work with all SUV's but does not go into the latch of the ML. Boo Hoo! I really needed this assist and am very disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Mar 2016 Bill - (Surrey, BC)

Don't Forget to Remove It

I forgot to remove it, slammed the door shut, then shelled out $1650 to repair the damage!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Feb 2016 Dave S - (Rochester Hills, MI)

350lbs no Way

Junk.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jan 2016 Ljs - (Aurora, ON)

Build Quality

Made in China piece of Shit. Don't waste your money!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 06 Dec 2015 Joe Kerr - (Finleyville, PA)

Glad I Did Not Order This Tool of Satan

I was wondering about the effect of using it over and over on the door latch if you put 200+ pound of pressure on it over and over. If it damages the latches and they pop open on impact it could prompt a wave of lawsuits. Has anyone tested the effect of doing this hundreds of times?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Oct 2015 Weewee - (Arab, AL)

People Are Fools!

I can't believe people are actually dumb enough to order any of these "just pay extra processing and handling" scams. People! Smarten up!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Oct 2015 Bill - (Independence, MO)

Does Not Work

I have 7cars and this only works on my two trucks. Cars with a single stud can not work with this device.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Oct 2016 Paula Barker

Doesn't work on some cars. Too big to fit.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Oct 2015 Jim - (Covington, KY)

Poor Quality

Who designed this dangerous tool of satan?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Oct 2015 Bob - (Covington, KY)

J-U-N-K

This piece-of-crap was obviously made by tiny hands in China. Quality and craftsmanship is horrible. When the cheap handle breaks and your pa paw or
Mee maw tumbles to the ground landing on their pumpkin splitting their melon wide open you are gonna wish you hadn't bought this device of satan.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Oct 2015 Glenn - (Long Beach, CA)

Won't Work Every Car

There are many cars that this will not work with. None of my European vehicles have a latch system where you can put the Car Cane into. You better check the vehicle before you buy this as a gift.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Sep 2015 Debbie - (Toronto, ON)

Website's a Scam

Do not use the carcane website to order because they'll bill you for the order even if you don't confirm it. Once you enter your credit card and address, you don't have the option to cancel the order and closing the browser doesn't cancel the order either. I got the package in my mail within 2 days and the actual cost is not $19.95, it's $41.03 cdn. Now customer service tells me I did something wrong when I ordered and I'm on the hook for p & h of $28. Don't deal with that company. Local stores will sell it for less in a month's time no doubt.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Sep 2015 Linnie - (Albuquerque, NM)

Not Buying It

Thank you all for taking the time to review this product. Reviews are worth their weight in gold and I feel the same about the people who write them.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Sep 2015 Bobbi - (Eden Prairie, MN)

Scam!

Of course it's a scam! What did you expect?
But a great idea.
I made my own ( w / o the light ).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Sep 2015 Leverne Hatcher - (Middleburg, FL)

Seat Cushion Turning Assist to Exist Vehicles

I ordered this for my son from the TV commercial.
This will operate and turn your weight IF it is on a completely flat surface but NOT on the vehicle seat as they are not flat as needed.
I will be returning this as it is of no use for the purpose I thought it was advertised.

I also ordered the Car Cane assistor and it does work but on my Cadillac it seems too low as I get out. My son is planning to try his.

I had not seen them locally or I would have purchased here for ease of returns. Now I must ship back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Sep 2015 Robert - (Clifton Park, NY)

Buyer

I ordered this product over thre weeks ago and it stil has no arrived! Who can contact?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 May 2018 Wendsong

Be glad! Remove the charge from your credit card.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Sep 2015 Loretta La Berge - (Westland, MI)

Mad Customer

How can I get ahold of this "company", did not receive order, paid for 2 day service ( $6.00 ) and 11 days later, no Car Cane. How can I contact someone to get a refund.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

HSN Infomercial

Car Cane Infomercial

Unboxing

Car Cane Infomercial

News Report

Car Cane Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼