MENU

Brella Shield

255 Votes
Rate this product
Brella Shield Brella Shield or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Brella Shield is a shield for your vehicle that looks like an oversized ordinary umbrella, but it isn't. It's been designed to cover the inside of your windshield, reflecting heat and UV rays away from your car so it won't get hot when you leave it and then return to get back in. Furthermore, it's stated that using a shield like this can cool the interior of your vehicle, regardless of whether it's a car, truck, or SUV, by up to 45 degrees Fahrenheit.

Brella Shield Brella Shield or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Brella Shield is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!

Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: brellashield.com

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Open Over Windshield

    To get started with this shield, you'll need to open it over your windshield while you're sitting in your car. It'll open up and lock into place in the same way that a regular umbrella you'd use in the rain would. For optimum results, make sure that it's covering the entire windshield, from edge to edge.

  2. Leave Vehicle

    Once your Brella Shield is covering your windshield, leave your vehicle and close and lock the doors in a manner that's normal for you.

  3. Return and Remove

    When you return to your vehicle, open it up and close your shield as you would an ordinary umbrella. After it has collapsed, it'll be small enough for you to store in your glove compartment or the pocket of one of your front doors, provided that these areas aren't crowded with other things. Alternatively, you could store the umbrella under a seat or in a pocket on the back of one of your seats.

How It Works

On hot days, heat and UV rays from the sun can enter your car right through your windshield, making the car so hot that's it's unpleasant to touch your steering wheel when you get in. Heat and UV rays that enter your car can also cause damage to the dashboard and other parts of the interior over the long term. If you cover your windshield with a Brella Shield, though, this will stop some of the heat and rays from getting in, and protect the car from a high interior temperature, along with interior damage. When you enter your car again after using this shield, its interior shouldn't be so hot that you feel sick, nor should the steering wheel feel like it's going to burn your hands.

Features

  • Gray and Silver

    Each Brella Shield is dark gray on the inside, which will aid with its cooling effect, and silver on the outside. This is a color combination that will nicely match the interior of many cars, as so many of them are prominently a shade of gray.

  • Fits Virtually Any Vehicle

    This shield is an appropriate size for the windshield of almost any vehicle, such as a compact car, a truck, or an SUV. As a result, if you have multiple vehicles, you'll be able to move the shield from vehicle to vehicle and use it within them all (as needed). Similarly, if you want to lend your shield to a friend or family member for their vehicle, they'll likely find it to be as effective as you do.

  • Carrying Case Included

    With each Brella Shield, you'll get a dark gray, leather-look carrying case. The case will protect the umbrella from getting very dusty or dirty as it sits in your car, and it's thin and lightweight enough that it won't add a lot of bulk to the umbrella.

  • Doubles as Regular Umbrella

    If it's raining and you don't have a regular umbrella with you, you can use your vehicle's shield as a stand-in. This shield will comfortably fit two people underneath it in order to keep them out of the rain. Later, if the rain stops, you can simply fold up the umbrella and put it in the included carrying case, which can be carried under one arm.

Positive Points

  • Good for Families

    There are few things that kids dislike more than getting in an incredibly hot, stuffy car, especially if they're already hot and sweaty from sports practice or playing in the park. Fortunately, if you add your Brella Shield to your car before you and your kids get out, they won't have to get into a car that's uncomfortably hot. The same goes for pets, such as dogs, that are fairly intolerant of high levels of heat.

  • Ideal for Mobile Workers

    If you're a mobile worker who drives from client to client or from site to site in order to do your job, you may find that you spend lots of time sitting in your car. Opening your Brella Shield will come in handy on hot days as you eat, read, text, or do whatever you choose to do when you get a break, as it'll help prevent you from overheating. If you're able to stay cool, you'll probably end up being more productive when you do return to your work tasks.

  • Keeps Car Looking Newer

    Since this shield will stop your vehicle from being exposed to a lot of interior sun damage, it'll likely cause the interior to look newer for longer than it otherwise would. Other people may admire the appearance of your vehicle, and you may not feel the need to go and search for a new one as quickly as other people with cars of the same age.

Negative Points

  • Won't Cover All Windows

    By covering your front windshield, the Brella Shield will block a great deal of heat and UV rays from coming in, but it won't be able to block out all of this. To block more heat and UV rays, you'd need to be able to cover all of your vehicle's windows, including the back and side windows. You'll need to find some other contraption if you want to cover those, as even additional Brella Shields won't fit properly over any window that's not the front windshield.

  • Doesn't Keep Out Cold

    This type of vehicle shield will keep out heat and sun, but it won't keep out the cold, so if you live in an area with cold winters, it won't be useful for you then. In order to help stop ice from forming on your windshield and making your vehicle excessively freezing inside, you'll need to get an exterior blanket for your windshield instead.

Save Time

If you don't use a device like the Brella Shield on a hot day, you may not be able to leave a parking lot or your driveway immediately after getting in your vehicle. Instead, you might have to run the air conditioner for up to 15 minutes until your steering wheel cools off enough for you to touch it. This, in turn, may result in you being late for your appointments or wasting minutes that could be spent on errands. On the other hand, if you do use this type of shield, your car should immediately be a comfortable temperature for driving whenever you re-enter it.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Brella Shield online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Brella Shield online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

13 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
Brella Shield Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3 STARS
2
2 STARS
1
1 STARS
10

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Posted: 28 Jul 2021 Jim - (Los Angeles, CA)

Cheaply Made

Only opened and closed the shield 5 or 7 times before the rod that slides up to opent broke off/apart at the top end. Not repairable, useless now!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jul 2021 Cornella Heard - (Dallas, TX)

No Guarantees

I won’t buy this unless it’s a guarantee.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Jul 2021 Louann Ridgely - (Flatbush, NY)

Don't Buy

Bought 2 Brella Shields just 3 weeks ago. Spent $40 on both. Now one is broken where the stick goes into an umbrella. Totally useless. I emailed the manufacturer, but haven't received a reply.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Jul 2021 Lori - (Bullhead City, AZ)

Brella Sheild

I purchased this Brella Sheild used it a few times up on young the center post broke into pieces. Apiece of crap. Can't get to talk to anyone as everyone says after 30 minutes they hang up on you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Jul 2021 Denise Boehm - (Palm Bay, FL)

What a Scam

I received my Brella Shield. I am not a happy customer and here is why:
1.) the Brella Shield does not actually fit in my windshield properly. I have a 2021 Nissan rogue and the windshield is sharply angled and I have a computer screen that sits up above the dashboard. It is very difficult to get in place and remove it.
2.)t the mechanism that allows it to stay open is cheap plastic and is cracking already (I have only used it 4 times)
3.)t the metal spokes have already broken so I can't collapse it properly to store it.
4.) it does not and I repeat does not aid in keeping the internal temperature of the car lower. I have run tests with a temperature monitor and there is no difference between having it in the windshield and not having it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Jul 2021 Cynthia Fiorvanti - (Orlando, FL)

DON'T ORDER-CRAP

Neither will open even after using their instructions. Called 4 times only to be put on hold for over 30 minutes each time and then disconnected! Sent an email for them only to send instructions that still don't work. Sent two more emails that haven't been responded to. Wish I had read the reviews prior to ordering.  Asking for a full refund including return costs for their inferior product.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 21 Jul 2021 Jody - (Albuquerque, NM)

Quality of Product

I bought 2 of these. While it fits my windshield the product is not made very well. I have used it now for two weeks and have several of the small brella rods that are sticking out of it edging. Had to fix them. It does not fit over my rearview mirror but I have gotten it to work going around it. I wouldn’t buy it again. NEVER.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 20 Jul 2021 Teri - (North Port, FL)

Waste of Money

Total waste of money - does not fit either vehicle does not effectively block the sun. Trying to return was almost impossible. No one ever picks answers the phone number. Finally got a response to the email. I really got suckered in on this one!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 17 Jul 2021 jon Lon - (Miami, FL)

Broke on First Use

The pole broke where it connects to the top after one use. Not used daily. I put it in my Non-work car that sits unused 95% of the time. The first time I went to remove it to drive the vehicle it was broke. I was so excited to get it at first. Now I'm just so disappointed.
Don't waste your money.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 15 Jul 2021 Robin Reed - (Washington, DC)

Cheaply Made

After only using it 5 times and having it for about 10 days- it broke. I was already disappointed because it didn't fit my windshield the way they made it seems it would but now this. What a waste of money!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Jul 2021 John Somme - (Hercules, CA)

Junk broke one month after I got it tried to call them was on the phone thirty then cut off not worth the money I paid beware.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jul 2021 John - (Apple Valley, CA)

Let me Help you Out

Don't WASTE YOUR MONEY. PIECE OF TRASH.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jul 2021 John - (Apple Valley, CA)

HERE LET ME HELP YOU

Don't BUY IT
PIECE OF TRASH.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Jul 2021 Frances - (Hillsborough, NC)

Rip off car Umbrella

Waste of 19 dollars, broke the third time I used it, disappointing such lies on commercial. Don't Ever buy it..

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Jul 2021 Anonymous - (New York, NY)

Piece of Junk

Don't waste your money. Very cheap construction. Where the handle attaches to the umbrella is just low-grade plastic and the stress points are poorly reinforced. Mine broke in three different places after the first week of light use. Bought it from a store that refused to refund my money.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Jul 2021 Allan Popovich - (Cementon, PA)

Total garbage! The Center post broke off and became useless. Waste of money
Also, was ripped off for an extra $9.99! They called it "Separate Bonus Fee."
Called the 888-908-3259 number and for 25 minutes, no connection. There should be a law against people doing business like this!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Jun 2021 Sharon Botkin - (Surprise, AZ)

Bought 3, 2 Broke

Bought 2 shades and 1 broke, within a few weeks, bought another one and it broke within 2 weeks. Sent the last one back for refund.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Jun 2021 Holly - (Coxsackie, NY)

Don't Do It

Charge added without authorization.

I ordered this online.

When I was placing the order, there were four attempts or more to get me to order more items or an upgraded item. I Declined all.

The confirmation page of my order came up I see an additional charge of $9.99 that I did not authorize.

When I was given the "opportunities" I must have missed something that was already highlighted and didn't know I added an item.

I sent the confirmation to my email so I could print it later. When I opened the email, it was just the website and no confirmation.

I paid through PayPal, but they have you contact the seller first.

I call the customer service number. After 30 minutes on hold, a recording came on stating my call would be taken in the order it was received. Then the call was dropped.

I emailed customer service as well.

I called PayPal right away and they will cancel the order for me and get my money back.

I'm skimming the reviews on other sites and see that it wouldn't be worth the money anyway.

Don't order it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Jun 2021 DD - (Santa Barbara, CA)

NO STARS--PIECE OF CRAP!

Did not work at all. Even tried putting them on the outside! Actually think it made the car interior hotter! Do not waste your money. Need to shade the car from the outside with something that really works.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Jun 2021 R Siegel - (Canonsburg, PA)

Brella Shield Smells Bad

The Brella Shield does a good job of blocking sunlight from the windshield, but it's material gets hot and smells bad - and that smell permeates my car!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 29 Jun 2021 Mimi - (Orlando, FL)

Terrible Customer Service

I ordered two sets. Buy one get one free.
Unfortunately, I got three instead of 4 ☂
I called customer service to let them know about my order. They gave me a different number because, the number I was calling it’s only
For placing orders. I have been calling for two days different hours,. An answering answers the call. I could not speak to anyone. They put me on hold with an annoying music for 30 to 35 minutes; after that they hang up😲😳😠 🤦🏻‍♀️
I would not buy from this company ever again! The answering service also says you can contact them on line… good luck trying to get that e-mail information.
If you have enough time on your schedule or want to
Waste your precious “Patience!” In this irresponsible company, I will pray 🙏 for you😀.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Jun 2021 ric braun - (Cibolo, TX)

Piece of Crap

Won't open no matter what, total waste of money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Jun 2021 Karin Granados - (San Rafael, CA)

NOT AS ADVERTISED

Thin & flimsy material-doesn't keep out heat-just helps w/sun not shinning in car; sometimes doesn't open w/first try-really have to push up hard before it clicks; does not fold up in a tidy bundle-better to just toss it aside which takes up room. Plus side, it does fit the window all around-no problem w/the rear view window.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Jun 2021 MDC - (Chicago, IL)

Wasn't real impressed. After use, the Brella Shield would not fold down small enough to fit the pouch that came with it. It also has to be taken down and put up carefully so it doesn't scratch the interior of the car.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Jun 2021 brad gilpin - (Murrieta, CA)

Not Good

Product is very cheap. The center post breaks off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Jun 2021 Tim Simmons - (Huntingdon Valley, PA)

Broke Already

The Center post pulled out of connection in the center of the umbrella. I May have used it 20 times.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Jun 2021 Pamela - (Overland Park, KS)

Didn't Work

Purchased two sets and very disappointed! I gave one to each of my children and their spouse and they didn't work at all. It was easy to set up and fit our car windshield but it just didn't lower the temperature even 5 degrees. My children said the same thing. The umbrella concept works but the material did not cut down on the heat like it was advertised to do. A waste of money.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 May 2021 Brad - (Parker, AZ)

Total Junk

Got the 2 for one deal. They both broke before even opened. The handle broke off of one and one of the stays on the umbrella part broke on the other. I am not even going to bother with a refund. They are both already in the trash, less than 15 minutes after receiving.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 May 2021 Charles H Leopard - (Powder Springs, GA)

Ok Product Could be Better

1st don't think that it'll open by just pushing the little button on the bottom after you take the umbrella out from its carrier. You have to pull the umbrella out from the handle a few inches until it stops, then push the button, and then push the whole umbrella up. I kind of thought pushing the button would start an ejection sequence of the umbrella. It doesn't! It sort of fit my Ford Edge - the main issue was the rearview mirror is in the way. If they had cut out a small area in the middle of the umbrella would have been easier to use and fit better. I did get it installed now just have to see how hard it is to collapse it. I think it'll take a little juggling but should work ok.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 05 Apr 2021 waren - (Roseville, CA)

Really Misleading

First line states 2 Brella Shields for 19.99. However, they automatically charge you 9.99 for the second one. And beware of offers that require your credit card info and I'd info before they show you the actual order charges and total cost.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Apr 2021 Sherelle Griffin

The TV commercial I just saw said "just pay additional fee" for the 2nd one.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Brella Shield Infomercial
Brella Shield Infomercial
Brella Shield Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼