View
17
Opinions
Below
31% 84 votes
69% 183 votes

Boxy Girls

267 Votes

Rate this product

Boxy Girls are small plastic dolls that are dressed to look like stylish young women, and each has a different color of hair. Some of them have different colors of skin, too. Each Boxy Girl comes with four miniature boxes of accessories that she can use, but the exact nature of the accessories are a surprise—you'll need to open up each box and see. You can choose to obtain just one of these dolls at a time or collect the whole set of four.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Boxy Girls is $19.99 plus $8.99 shipping, for a total price of $28.98.

Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: boxygirls.com

How to Use (Step by Step)

  1. Retrieve Doll From Box

    When you take your first Boxy Girls doll out of its box, you'll notice that she's wearing just a dress, shoes and one accessory. The rest can be added later.

  2. Open up Surprise Boxes

    To see what accessories have come with your doll, you'll need to open up the four miniature boxes included with her. These boxes will contain a total of up to 12 accessories, such as shoes, purses or makeup, but you won't know exactly what you've got until you open them up.

  3. Add Accessories

    After you've opened up your surprise boxes to discover what's inside, you can start using your doll's accessories with her. You might want to put a different pair of shoes on her, slide a bag over her arm, or pretend to apply lipstick to her face. You'll also find that she's capable of carrying up to four boxes if you put them in her arms.

  4. Display or Play

    Once you're done accessorizing your doll, you can either display her somewhere in your home until a later time or start playing pretend with her. If you've got just one Boxy Girls doll, you might choose to introduce other toys to your imaginative game, as your doll probably won't have much fun just talking to herself. After you're done playing, you can return her and her accessories to the appropriate boxes for storage, if you'd like.

Features

  • Four Dolls Available

    The Boxy Girls collection includes Riley (black hair and green eyes),. Nomi (brown hair, brown eyes, and dark skin), Willa, and Brooklyn. Both Willa and Brooklyn have fairly pale skin and blue eyes, although Brooklyn has red hair while Willa has blonde. If you obtain all four dolls, you'll have a whole diverse group of friends to send on exciting made-up adventures.

  • Compact

    All of these dolls are compact, as are their accessories, so if you want to bring yours somewhere in a purse, backpack or suitcase, you'll probably have enough space. However, you might want to keep your dolls out of their boxes and just use boxes for the accessories, as the boxes for the dolls are much larger than the others.

Positive Points

  • Ethnically Diverse Selection

    Some doll collections only include dolls that appear to be Caucasian, but that's not so with the Boxy Girls set. Riley appears to be Asian, while Nomi appears to be African-American. Therefore, children who aren't Caucasian will be less likely to feel out of place when playing with this doll set than they would when playing with some others.

  • Names, Personalities Suggested

    If a child's incredibly creative, they may be able to come up with their own names and personalities for their dolls on the spot, but all children aren't like that. Fortunately, each Boxy Girls doll comes with a name and an accessory that suggests something about her personality, which will help get some children started with creative play. Of course, if you want to change your doll's name, you can go ahead and do so.

  • Good Gift for Girls

    Almost all girls enjoy playing with dolls as children, so if you'll be attending a young girl's birthday party as a friend or relative, one of these dolls is likely a good choice of gift. If they've already got some of them but don't have the whole collection, they may be overjoyed to add another character to their cast. At a birthday party with tons of girls, they may all start playing with the new Boxy Girl immediately.

Negative Points

  • May Not Appeal to Boys

    Since all the dolls in this collection are girls and the accompanying accessories include items that girls commonly use, young boys may not be very interested in these dolls, if they're interested at all. It would be nice if at least one male character could be added to the collection, especially since this would make playing pretend with the dolls more interesting for everyone.

  • Not Safe for Toddlers

    Taking into consideration the fact that each Boxy Girl comes with tiny accessories, this collection probably isn't safe for any child who's below elementary school age. A toddler may pop one of the small accessories into their mouth and run the risk of choking on it. A cat or dog may also ingest a piece, so the collections should be kept as far away from them as possible.

  • Don't Have Realistic Bodies

    While the Boxy Girls collection is fairly diverse when looking at ethnicity, the bodies of the dolls aren't diverse, nor are they realistic-looking. Each doll has a very skinny body and quite a large head, a look that's not common among the general population. If a young girl were to adopt and internalize this beauty ideal, they probably wouldn't attain it and would end up disappointed instead. Although no dolls need to look obese, creators should make an effort to give them common human proportions.

Warnings

  • Don't Tip Upside Down

    These dolls are more delicate than most larger dolls so it's best to be careful with them and avoid tipping them upside down. You should definitely refrain from throwing them in the air or slamming one down on a hard surface. If you're too rough on them, their accessories and perhaps even their limbs may fall off.

  • Not Waterproof

    Boxy Girls aren't waterproof, so you must avoid getting them wet or they may lose their attractive looks. If you want to play with a doll in the bathtub or the pool, you'll need to find a doll of another type. You should also cover the dolls with plastic if they're out in the rain. If one happens to get dirty, try to wipe the dirt off without water, and if that fails, use as little water as possible.

Save Money

Often, when you obtain a doll, you need to obtain all of her accessories separately, but if you get a Boxy Girl, you'll get multiple accessories along with her. It'll be as if you're getting a bunch of toys all in one. Plus, if your friends have Boxy Girls but have different accessories in their surprise boxes, you can trade them back and forth and it'll be as if you own more toys than you really do.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Boxy Girls online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Boxy Girls online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Related Videos

17 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2.1
Boxy Girls Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
3 STARS
2 STARS
1 STARS
5

Sort Reviews: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Sort: Questions | Comments

Ronald Santos - (Diamond Bar, CA)
Posted: 22 Aug 2018
I Regret Buying it!

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!

On July 18, 2018, I bought a doll from this company on their website as a gift for my niece. I understood from the confirmation email of my order that the item would take "2-3 weeks for delivery," which I was ok with. On August 13, 2018 I called the customer service number and spoke with a lady named Janine and she informed me that the item was still backordered. I told her "ok" I would call in weeks time. Today, August, 22, 2018 I called again and once again spoke with Janine. She informed me that my order had been cancelled because I used paypal to make my payment, and that the order gets cancelled if they do not ship the item with in 30 days. I was upset with this information, so I asked to speak with a manager and Janine decided to hang up on me. I called back and once again asked to speak to a manager and once again Janine hung up. The disappointments in this whole ordeal is: 1. Why was I not informed of this cancellation policy when I called on August 13, 2018? 2. The customer service rep was rude, and obviously incapable of dealing with this issues. 3. Where is the communication from this company to paying customers. Looking at other people's reviews, I see that I am not the only one that feels this way. My assumption is this company is garage store company meaning that this is not a legitimate business and the people are running this in their garage without the know how or ability to run a company. They probably order this product from china and do not construct it in a warehouse. Be careful and do not spend your hard worked money on this company or their products. You will be left disappointed and let down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Susan Sims - (Stroudsburg, PA)
Posted: 21 Aug 2018
I have something to say!

I ordered one no problems. Order two more on 07/31/18 it is almost the end of August. I called 2 week back order that was over 2 weeks ago. I never could get into the email site. I also only wanted two dolls, but when order confirmation showed up it had that I ordered jumbo box. OMG. I order online all the time and never had this problem, usually I get to review my order couple times before it is confirmed. My granddaughters are really sad waiting for dolls. I will not buy any of the other dolls .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Arlene - (Northfield, IL)
Posted: 07 Aug 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Horrible Service

I ordered the dolls for my niece on June 22nd, on July 3rd I called since we had but received the dolls and they stated that two of the dolls I ordered were out of stock so they won’t ship the order. I asked why didn’t they notify me and the gentleman said unfortunately are system doesn’t work that way but I can split up the order and we send you the ones we have in stock, I said great let’s do that. He said that they should be shipped in about 48 hours. Two weeks later I still hadn’t received the dolls so I called customer service and they stated the dolls were out of stock and they couldn’t give me a date of when they will be shipped. It’s now August 8th and still no dolls and all customer service can say is they are out of stock there is a high demand. If you go online right now to order the dolls it will let you, their website does not tell you they are out of stock and they will not send you an email to notify you. My 5 year niece would ask me every day if her Boxy Girls delivered and finally stopped asking.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
MARY - (United States, US)
Posted: 31 Jul 2018
I have a Question

I HAVE NOT RECEIVE THEM!

I ordered two dolls on July 4, today is July 30 and have not received them. Sent an email a week ago and still no response. I don't know what is going on?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Lisa
Posted: 07 Aug 2018

I ordered one also in July - I just spoke with customer service and was told all the dolls were on backorder of about 2-3 weeks and when it comes in it will be shipped which will take additional 6-7 days to arrive.

Reply
Nancy Miller - (Wilkes-Barre, PA)
Posted: 31 Jul 2018
I have something to say!

Not Work the Disappointment

Ordered it and my card was never charged and order never received. No response via phone or email. Ordered from Amazon, the extra 12 dollars was work it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Skye p mayers - (Ramsey, NJ)
Posted: 16 Jun 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Shipping

Shipping cost us around 8 dollars. We placed our order 3 weeks ago and have not recieved it. Last week I called because there was no tracking number generated and the woman on the phone told me oh it just shipped out today. Amazingly I received a tracking number that night. For the past week it was coming this saturday, but tracking says now Tuesday (exactly 3 weeks from our purchase date). My 5 year old gave up asking about it-what a disapoint.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Cassie - (Freeport, TX)
Posted: 14 Jun 2018
I have something to say!

Horrible Company

We ordered and the order never showed up on our card, yet 3 random large amounts showed on the car bc this company used the card number for their own gain! Do not order from them! They are a complete scam.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Joan Logue - (Albany, GA)
Posted: 14 Jun 2018
I Recommend Buying it!

Get Them at Walmart

They're cute 8" dolls with fun surprise boxes. Spare shoes are always nice! That's one of the items I got. I got mine at Walmart for 15 dollars, no shipping. Their knees and wrists bend for better posability. They sit nicely. I like them.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Aubri - (Warrensville Heights, OH)
Posted: 01 Jun 2018
I have something to say!

3 Weeks Doll Still Not Shipped!

Placed order on may 11,2018 and today is June 1, 2018 and my order still has not been received! 3 weeks with no communication from them so i have no idea if my order has even been shipped yet! I emailed them and have gotten no response from their company. My 4 year old daughter has been waiting anxiously for her doll which i have no idea if i will even be receiving. I spent $50 and am starting to think this company stole my money. I will be opening a case with paypal to get my money back. Do not order from boxygirls. Com they are horrible!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Takita Price
Posted: 16 Jun 2018

My mom ordered my 5 year old daughter 2 of these dolls 3 weeks ago and they both came in the mail today. She has Riley and Willa and they are both small dolls but she love them.

Reply
Jessica - (Canton, MS)
Posted: 01 Jun 2018
I Regret Buying it!

DO NOT BUY! Without Reading.

I went to place order for daughters birthday accidentally clicked to add mega box I figured I could remove it before completing purchace when I hit continue it automatically had charged me $95.36. I called " customer service and was told would have to wait 24 hours for them to recovery order 5 minutes later my bank had been charged. I called back after being on hold 10 minutes the same woman answered the phone. She was able to cancel purchase bit when I questioned her about there ordering system became extremely defensive. Just please be aware when u hit continue it doesn't let you know what your being charged or allow you to confirm purchase it automatically charges you. Still waiting for refund.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Amparo Garcia - (Azusa, CA)
Posted: 29 May 2018
I Recommend Buying it!

Adorable!

These dolls looked so cute when I saw them advertising on the television so I ran and got my phone and I just couldn't resiste the adrorable faces so that's when I made my daughter jump for joy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Dirk DeFord - (Wasilla, AK)
Posted: 25 May 2018
I have something to say!

Con job

When I ordered I was told it was 30 some bucks and some change. Got a notification from PayPal for 103 and change. I was charged for an item that was 49.99. If you go to their website there is nothing offered for 49.99. They push it through as entertainment on PayPal so you can't stop payment. Buyer beware. My granddaughter will be heart broken but even at four she knows if it smells like a skunk looks like a skunk it's a skunk.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Lucy - (Salem, OR)
Posted: 23 May 2018
I Regret Buying it!

Be Careful

In the pros and cons it mentions that the paint comes off the dolls when they get wet. Do not let children get this paint in their mouths. Also states dolls break easily. Sound dangerous for kids.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Meagan - (Dade City, FL)
Posted: 15 May 2018
I have something to say!

Non Existent Customer Service

Places order 7 days ago, order has not shipped, no status on order on hold for over 40 minutes and still waiting for someone to answer the phone. No response via email either.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
Aboud Melani - (New York, NY)
Posted: 15 May 2018
I have something to say!

So Fashionable

So so cute, want entire collection, first time I see dolls shopping great concept!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply
  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise

TVStuffReviews Notification

Get notified of NEW As Seen on TV items!

You can disable anytime.

ALLOW
NO THANKS