View
169
Opinions
Below
70% 100 votes
30% 43 votes

American Aviator

143 Votes

The American Aviator is a timepiece influenced by both the design style and mechanical precision of aviator watches used by usaf personnel during the second World War.

The clockface is analogue, featuring hour, minute and second hands; in addition, the display glows in the dark. Military brown, green and black dominate the American Aviator's color scheme, which has a breathable nylon wristband and a face which is slightly larger than it's World War Two counterpart.

The American Aviator can be used as an everyday watch, or as a display piece owing to it's resemblance to the classic watches used by the US armed forces.

The Claim

During World War Two, daring bombing raids relied on pinpoint accuracy and precise timing to ensure attacks were coordinated to the second. The manufacturers of the American Aviator claim to use the same military grade mechanics so that precision timing is available at an affordable price.

The original design had to be durable to survive the rigors of war, and this re-imagining is, too. American Aviators are scratch resistant and water resistant.

The American is a collector's piece too. Each watch has the reverse laser engraved with the American flag along with a unique number, and all come with a collector case and certificate of authenticity.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of American Aviator is $39.95 and the shipping is FREE! Price is from As Seen on TV Commercial page: americanaviator.com
143 Visitors rate it 2.9 Stars

Features

  • Accurate Timekeeping

    Accurate timekeeping is naturally the most important thing to consider when buying any watch or timepiece. The American Aviator has a comparable standard of precision with military issue watches used by armed forces personnel during World War 2.

  • Iconic Design

    The original aviator was a design classic and this version retains most of the original design features. American Aviator's analogue clock and military style colour combinations are clearly inspired by the past. A key change, however, is a larger watch face for easier reading.

  • Durable

    Again taking inspiration from the past, the American Aviator boasts of a durable design; water and scratch resistance ensure it is up to the rigors of everyday usage.

  • Glow in the Dark Face

    Another key upgrade from the original, the glow in the dark display means that this watch can be used twenty four hours a day.

  • Comfortable

    The watch features a breathable nylon strip. This helps vents moisture and, crucially, can be tightned or loosened to ensure a snug fit on most wrists. The American Aviator is ideal for exercise in addition to everyday use.

Positive Points

  • Collector's Case

    Each watch is delivered in a. Classic hardback collector's case for storage or display.

  • World War Two Booklet

    Each purchase include a 'World War 2 Historical Highlight' Booklet detailing the key events of the conflict.

  • Certificate of Authenticity

    Each watch includes a certificate of authenticity detailing the quality and manufacturing process of the timepiece.

How It Works

The nature of this watch make it a good choice for everyday use; it's comfortable and adjustable. It's durable enough to cope with every day wear and tear. The glow in the dark face adds extra convenience and an iconic, yet muted, color scheme ensures clashes with clothing is unliikely.

How it's Different from Competitors

The primary detail that sets this watch apart from similarly priced competitors on the market is not actually the watch itself, but the supplements included with the purchase.

A certificate of authenticity, a World War Two booklet, a collector's case and a stand are all included with the watch. In addition, the watch itself features a laser-etched American flag and an individual number on the reverse of the clock-face.

All in all, this makes the watch an appealing ( if not unique! ) display or collector's item for any patriot, history enthusiast or person with an interest in aviation.

Concerns

  • Precision Timekeeping?

    Although the manufacturers claim the American Aviator offers military grade and precision timekeeping, they do not elaborate on specific details.

    .

    The mechanics of the watch are said to be inspired by timepieces of the US armed forces personnel of World War 2, but it is not made clear whether the specifications are identical. Similarly, it is not clear whether the mechanics of this watch differ from any others on the market.

  • Water Resistant

    It is important to note that whilst this watch is water resistant, it is not waterproof and the two things have different meanings.

    Waterproof watches can be used specifically for diving, swimming, water aerobics or any activity where the watch is fully submerged and generally specify the depth or pressure to which they can be taken.

    Water resistant watches, whilst possibly suitable for swimming, cannot be reliably taken to any notable depth.

Wise Advice

Do not buy American Aviator online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy American Aviator online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

  • Video #1 is a Must See!

WWII Military Pilot's Watch
TV Commercial
13 Minute Review
81 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.1
American Aviator Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
3 STARS
2
2 STARS
1 STARS
76
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 81
Eddie - (Danville, CA)
Reviewed on: 13 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

PIECE of JUNK

Save your money. This is the biggest rip off of the century. Does not run half the time and when it does it will loose 5 to 10 min. In 12 hour period. Wish I had read some of these reviews first. Does not deserve a one.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Geof - (Bixby, OK)
Reviewed on: 09 Jul 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Piece of Junk

Stupid me, I bought 2 when I first saw rick hawking them, one for my friend who is an airline pilot. Battery died in mine after a month so I put it away until I broke my timex expedition. The watches opened up side by side, the white plastic keeper on the "aviator" watch is the poorest molded part I have seen ( I build plastic injection molds ) no wonder the battery died so fast it's a quarter the size as the timex and there's no comparison in the movements. Besides the strap, I rate this product minus 5 stars.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Celine - (Saraland, AL)
Reviewed on: 18 Apr 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Worst Watch Ever Total Scam

Purchases this watch because it said aviator watch.
It does not keep the time, does not stay scratch proof.
Not even worth $1 and wasted $39.50 on this watch. Not even a joke. Total scam.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

judith - (Unionville, NC)
Reviewed on: 13 Mar 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Aviator Watch

Don't waste your money. Didn't keep time, didn't glow. Complete joke.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Tina - (Glencoe, MN)
Reviewed on: 26 Feb 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Garbage

Does not keep time, what the manufacturer claims is the most notable function of this watch. Garbage, that is my review word for this watch.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

James Marcotte - (Milford, MI)
Reviewed on: 01 Feb 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Problems with my American Aviator Watch

My American Aviator watch lasted one week. It just stop working. I maid the mistake and dispose the box my watch came in with all the information on how to send it back. I would like to know how to return my watch for refund. My order number was 20695398.

thank you
james Marcotte
po box 2611
silverdale, wa
98383.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Mike - (Winter Park, FL)
Reviewed on: 04 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Total Marketing BS

These scumbags are preying on the ignorance of patriotic Americans! This isn't even an American-style WW2 watch, it's a very bad copy of a WW2 german Beobachtungsuhr ( B-Uhr ) watch. Look it up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Deanna - (Johnsburg, IL)
Reviewed on: 30 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

It shouldn't be called American, when its made in China! What an insult to the American Aviators and The United States of America!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Lorraine Burnett
01 Jan 2017

Most things used in America were made in China. That's how the world works, have items made by the person who supplies the lowest bid. What's wrong with that?

  • Write Your Reply

Sebastian - (Brooklyn, NY)
Reviewed on: 30 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Piece of Sh**

I got this watch for Christmas expecting a nice new water proof survival watch. What I got was a crappy China made watch that broke a week after use. The second hand on it stops working and goes to fast so the time on the watch is not accurate and I am always caught setting the time on it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Kevin - (Richmond, VA)
Reviewed on: 23 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Do Not Buy

My watch lasted 10 months. I wish I had read the reviews first.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review Image

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


59 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 40
Ladyhwk - (Evanston, IL)
Posted: 16 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

R. Harrison has his name out there; sure, that's the point. Selling his pawn shop on air, selling shaving razors, now "patriotic" watches. Oh, did I mention, "made in China"? With numerous family military heroes and a submariner husband, I see this Harrison ploy as disrespectful and insulting. But look, here I am contributing to his vanity. Best approach, read the reviews and you will not purchase.

  • Write Your Reply

Relieved - (Milwaukee, WI)
Posted: 10 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

I almost bought one of these as a christmas gift despite rick's awful commercial endorsement. My mom's long time significant other joined the us army and became a paratrooper in the 82nd airborne division when he was just a scrawny 18 year old kid. He also spent time in the rangers after that. His career in the army spanned over the course of 20+ years and he still to this day says that if his body would allow it, he would still be jumping out of planes. So when I saw this- again, despite rick's awful commercial endorsement- I thought he would really love it. I'm always skeptical of "as seen on tv" things so I looked up reviews and I am incredibly disappointed. Made in china? No warranty? Just stops working? Good lord. What a piece of Junk. Glad I looked at the reviews first; this is exactly why I do. Someone should take this thing in to rick's pawn shop and try to sell it to him. You know, since he thinks it's such a great watch. 😒

  • Write Your Reply

Will - (Maywood, NJ)
Posted: 09 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

I researched it first found out that it was made in China, I'm sure our military vets would love to be wearing a watch made by a bunch of gooks. That guy from the Pawn Stars must be a piece of s*** to be promoting such a Junk chinese-made watch for our military Folk.

  • Write Your Reply

Mike - (Sebastian, FL)
Posted: 08 Dec 2016
I have a Question

Please tell me that this is not made in China if so to me this is terrible.

  • Write Your Reply

Will
09 Dec 2016

Yep made in China. Deplorable.

  • Write Your Reply

Ron - (Westland, MI)
Posted: 03 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Was certainly excited when first seein the aviator watch after reading reviews I've Decided not to purchase Rick Harrison should check himself before he wrecks himself American Aviator watch made in China come on.

  • Write Your Reply

Bob - (Phoenix, AZ)
Posted: 08 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

It's Junk Junk Junk Junk.

  • Write Your Reply

John Loper - (Lake Charles, LA)
Posted: 01 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

Watch in commercial looks great. After reviewing comments I have Decided not to purchase. I had planned on wearing this watch so quality is important along with looks, pass for now. Thanks for all review comments.

  • Write Your Reply

Holly - (Cincinnati, OH)
Posted: 04 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

Was going to purchase this watch but after these reviews thought better about it thank you all!

  • Write Your Reply

Ripman - (Minneapolis, MN)
Posted: 24 Aug 2016
I have a Question

Got this as a gift. Was on another TV commercial. Shows numbers glow in dark. Not. Clasp Broke. Slow battery. Made in China? Customer svs always busy. Any wonder why? Class Action Lawsuit lawsuit?

  • Write Your Reply

Veteran - (Fitchburg, WI)
Posted: 26 Jul 2016
I have something to say!

You all should have known by the look and price it was a pos.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Email

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise