MENU

American Aviator

151 Votes
Rate this product
American Aviator American Aviator or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The American Aviator is a timepiece influenced by both the design style and mechanical precision of aviator watches used by usaf personnel during the second World War.

The clockface is analogue, featuring hour, minute and second hands; in addition, the display glows in the dark. Military brown, green and black dominate the American Aviator's color scheme, which has a breathable nylon wristband and a face which is slightly larger than it's World War Two counterpart.

The American Aviator can be used as an everyday watch, or as a display piece owing to it's resemblance to the classic watches used by the US armed forces.

American Aviator American Aviator or Alternatives
Read Customer Reviews on Amazon.com

The Claim

During World War Two, daring bombing raids relied on pinpoint accuracy and precise timing to ensure attacks were coordinated to the second. The manufacturers of the American Aviator claim to use the same military grade mechanics so that precision timing is available at an affordable price.

The original design had to be durable to survive the rigors of war, and this re-imagining is, too. American Aviators are scratch resistant and water resistant.

The American is a collector's piece too. Each watch has the reverse laser engraved with the American flag along with a unique number, and all come with a collector case and certificate of authenticity.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of American Aviator is $39.95 and the shipping is FREE!

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page ( www.americanaviator.com ) which was taken offline due to American Aviator being discontinued. American Aviator may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

This price was obtained from the As Seen on TV commercial page ( www.americanaviator.com ) which was taken offline due to American Aviator being discontinued. American Aviator may still be found for sale on Amazon or Ebay.

Features

  • Accurate Timekeeping

    Accurate timekeeping is naturally the most important thing to consider when buying any watch or timepiece. The American Aviator has a comparable standard of precision with military issue watches used by armed forces personnel during World War 2.

  • Iconic Design

    The original aviator was a design classic and this version retains most of the original design features. American Aviator's analogue clock and military style colour combinations are clearly inspired by the past. A key change, however, is a larger watch face for easier reading.

  • Durable

    Again taking inspiration from the past, the American Aviator boasts of a durable design; water and scratch resistance ensure it is up to the rigors of everyday usage.

  • Glow in the Dark Face

    Another key upgrade from the original, the glow in the dark display means that this watch can be used twenty four hours a day.

  • Comfortable

    The watch features a breathable nylon strip. This helps vents moisture and, crucially, can be tightned or loosened to ensure a snug fit on most wrists. The American Aviator is ideal for exercise in addition to everyday use.

Positive Points

  • Collector's Case

    Each watch is delivered in a. Classic hardback collector's case for storage or display.

  • World War Two Booklet

    Each purchase include a 'World War 2 Historical Highlight' Booklet detailing the key events of the conflict.

  • Certificate of Authenticity

    Each watch includes a certificate of authenticity detailing the quality and manufacturing process of the timepiece.

How It Works

The nature of this watch make it a good choice for everyday use; it's comfortable and adjustable. It's durable enough to cope with every day wear and tear. The glow in the dark face adds extra convenience and an iconic, yet muted, color scheme ensures clashes with clothing is unliikely.

How it's Different from Competitors

The primary detail that sets this watch apart from similarly priced competitors on the market is not actually the watch itself, but the supplements included with the purchase.

A certificate of authenticity, a World War Two booklet, a collector's case and a stand are all included with the watch. In addition, the watch itself features a laser-etched American flag and an individual number on the reverse of the clock-face.

All in all, this makes the watch an appealing ( if not unique! ) display or collector's item for any patriot, history enthusiast or person with an interest in aviation.

Concerns

  • Precision Timekeeping?

    Although the manufacturers claim the American Aviator offers military grade and precision timekeeping, they do not elaborate on specific details.

    .

    The mechanics of the watch are said to be inspired by timepieces of the US armed forces personnel of World War 2, but it is not made clear whether the specifications are identical. Similarly, it is not clear whether the mechanics of this watch differ from any others on the market.

  • Water Resistant

    It is important to note that whilst this watch is water resistant, it is not waterproof and the two things have different meanings.

    Waterproof watches can be used specifically for diving, swimming, water aerobics or any activity where the watch is fully submerged and generally specify the depth or pressure to which they can be taken.

    Water resistant watches, whilst possibly suitable for swimming, cannot be reliably taken to any notable depth.

Wise Advice

Do not buy American Aviator online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy American Aviator online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

83 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼
WRITE REVIEW

Average Customer Rating:

1
American Aviator Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
3 STARS
2
2 STARS
1 STARS
79

Sort: Newest | Helpful | Highest | Lowest

Type: All | Reviews | Questions | Comments

Posted: 04 Jun 2021 tirod - (Los Angeles, CA)

Don't Believe the Hype

This review makes claims that don't exist in reality. It fails to tell you what movement it uses - and the watch makes no claims itself. Most consumer timepieces will at least say 'Quartz" and then specify the battery, no mention on the watch, altho the jumping second hand indicates it's an economy quartz battery operated movement. At the price, it's not going to meet a workaday standard. Clicked the Amazon button and saw $9 for it.

The dial itself does NOT glow in the dark, and saying it three times doesn't make it so. Only the HANDS are glow in the dark, and at the price point, I don't expect it to remain illuminated overnight. The original flight watches would do that because they used radium paint, now outlawed long ago.

The "3ATM" water resistance rating means it can be worn - theoretically - to about 45 feet underwater, however, it's been demonstrated over time that a water resistance that low can and will get moisture in it just by washing your hands under the faucet. No, it's not acceptable for daily wear, it's considered "costume" jewelry with no real longevity.

The nylon strap has two flaws, first, it's plastic backed, which highlights another false claim, that it's breezy and light wearing. Don't count on it - even the official issue nylon straps in the day we're not cool to wear absorbed sweat, and generally stank like a wet dog after a week of hot summer wear. And those we're unlined straps. Second, it's two piece, which is not military spec. Issue straps are one piece and slip thru one pin, under the watch, and thru the other, to retain it in case one pin wears out or breaks due to getting snagged. In my experience, it's the inside pin, and when you have a watch on a two piece strap - or even a metal bracelet - when a pin fails, it slips backward off your wrist and then disappears after bouncing off the floor. If near water it at least goes straight to the bottom, on concrete it's quickly gathered up and is thrown into the trash can, wasted money.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 28 Jan 2019 Theodore Gene Scouton - (Folsom, CA)

First day it Lost 10 Minutes!

First day it is loosing time! Will be taking it back!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Jan 2019 Kimberly Summers - (Dublin, GA)

Junk

Got this for Christmas from my 87 year old mom. Don't have the heart to ask for return info. Doesn't keep time, stops, made in China. Had it two weeks Glad I read the comments and didn't waste time and money on a new battery.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 22 Dec 2018 Larry Zeleznik - (Green Bay, WI)

J-U-N-K

When my trusty Timex gave up, I reached for my American Aviator, still in the package, that my wife bought for me as a gift. Activated it, put it on, and it lasted two hours. It first started to lose time then, stopped completely. Every person that has bought this 'watch', should get a complete refund and a dinner for two!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 27 Jun 2018 Sergio Bismarck - (Taos, NM)

Junk Watch

I bought the American Aviator watch for $40. I had it on for just two hours when it stopped working. I spent $20 to have the battery replaced and was informed by the repairman the watch was Chinese Junk not worth the plastic it was made from. What a rip off. Rick Harrison should not sell his reputation on the Junk watch just to make more money. There should be an investigation opened on this national TV scam.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 12 Jun 2018 ricky l marchnt - (Superior, WI)

Aviator

Bought an American Aviator watch as seen on tv at Walmart, what a piece of Junk. Had 2 batterys put in in first year, quit running again, don't waste your money, a waste of $40.00.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Dec 2017 martin thompson - (Chambersburg, PA)

American Aviator Watch Won't Keep Time!

We bought this watch for my autistic son for christmas last year. He is a big fan of pawn stars. Watch kept stopping and won't keep time. We replaced the battery and still same problem.

Rick, you should research a product you endorse before you push it.
Sincerely,
Two, no longer, fans.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 14 Nov 2017 JB - (Huntington Park, CA)

See Youtube Video

Hello, all. If you search YouTube on this product you will see a video where the back of this watch is removed. Pretty on the outside but inside is a very small Chinese-made module that looks like what is used in those dollar-store alarm clocks. No wonder so many folks have had troubles with this watch. I would estimate the watch isn't worth more than $5-$8 ( and that's mostly for the case and strap ). Sincerely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 07 Sep 2017 Dawn Olesen - (Mandan, ND)

Sorry I Bought It

I bought for Hubby Christmas'16 ~ Aug. '17 Hand Fell Off Behind Crystal ~ Called 844-226-9240 Customer Service Told they could give me $5.00 credit on new order! I paid $39.95 in Nov. 2016 why would I order another: ( : (
- Read more at: https://TVStuffReviews.com/american-aviator..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Aug 2017 carolyn - (Ashtabula, OH)

Waste of Money

My watch lasted a month before it started losing time or stopping all together. Extremely disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Jul 2017 Eddie - (Danville, CA)

PIECE of JUNK

Save your money. This is the biggest rip off of the century. Does not run half the time and when it does it will loose 5 to 10 min. In 12 hour period. Wish I had read some of these reviews first. Does not deserve a one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Jul 2017 Geof - (Bixby, OK)

Piece of Junk

Stupid me, I bought 2 when I first saw rick hawking them, one for my friend who is an airline pilot. Battery died in mine after a month so I put it away until I broke my timex expedition. The watches opened up side by side, the white plastic keeper on the "aviator" watch is the poorest molded part I have seen ( I build plastic injection molds ) no wonder the battery died so fast it's a quarter the size as the timex and there's no comparison in the movements. Besides the strap, I rate this product minus 5 stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 18 Apr 2017 Celine - (Saraland, AL)

Worst Watch Ever Total Scam

Purchases this watch because it said aviator watch.
It does not keep the time, does not stay scratch proof.
Not even worth $1 and wasted $39.50 on this watch. Not even a joke. Total scam.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 13 Mar 2017 judith - (Unionville, NC)

Aviator Watch

Don't waste your money. Didn't keep time, didn't glow. Complete joke.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 26 Feb 2017 Tina - (Glencoe, MN)

Garbage

Does not keep time, what the manufacturer claims is the most notable function of this watch. Garbage, that is my review word for this watch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Feb 2017 James Marcotte - (Milford, MI)

Problems with my American Aviator Watch

My American Aviator watch lasted one week. It just stop working. I maid the mistake and dispose the box my watch came in with all the information on how to send it back. I would like to know how to return my watch for refund. My order number was 20695398.

thank you
james Marcotte
po box 2611
silverdale, wa
98383.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 04 Jan 2017 Mike - (Winter Park, FL)

Total Marketing BS

These scumbags are preying on the ignorance of patriotic Americans! This isn't even an American-style WW2 watch, it's a very bad copy of a WW2 german Beobachtungsuhr ( B-Uhr ) watch. Look it up.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Dec 2016 Deanna - (Johnsburg, IL)

It shouldn't be called American, when its made in China! What an insult to the American Aviators and The United States of America!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 01 Jan 2017 Lorraine Burnett

Most things used in America were made in China. That's how the world works, have items made by the person who supplies the lowest bid. What's wrong with that?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 30 Dec 2016 Sebastian - (Brooklyn, NY)

Piece of Sh**

I got this watch for Christmas expecting a nice new water proof survival watch. What I got was a crappy China made watch that broke a week after use. The second hand on it stops working and goes to fast so the time on the watch is not accurate and I am always caught setting the time on it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 23 Dec 2016 Kevin - (Richmond, VA)

Do Not Buy

My watch lasted 10 months. I wish I had read the reviews first.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 16 Dec 2016 Ladyhwk - (Evanston, IL)

Never Considered

R. Harrison has his name out there; sure, that's the point. Selling his pawn shop on air, selling shaving razors, now "patriotic" watches. Oh, did I mention, "made in China"? With numerous family military heroes and a submariner husband, I see this Harrison ploy as disrespectful and insulting. But look, here I am contributing to his vanity. Best approach, read the reviews and you will not purchase.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 10 Dec 2016 Relieved - (Milwaukee, WI)

Saved by Reviews

I almost bought one of these as a christmas gift despite rick's awful commercial endorsement. My mom's long time significant other joined the us army and became a paratrooper in the 82nd airborne division when he was just a scrawny 18 year old kid. He also spent time in the rangers after that. His career in the army spanned over the course of 20+ years and he still to this day says that if his body would allow it, he would still be jumping out of planes. So when I saw this- again, despite rick's awful commercial endorsement- I thought he would really love it. I'm always skeptical of "as seen on tv" things so I looked up reviews and I am incredibly disappointed. Made in china? No warranty? Just stops working? Good lord. What a piece of Junk. Glad I looked at the reviews first; this is exactly why I do. Someone should take this thing in to rick's pawn shop and try to sell it to him. You know, since he thinks it's such a great watch. 😒

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Dec 2016 Will - (Maywood, NJ)

Made in China

I researched it first found out that it was made in China, I'm sure our military vets would love to be wearing a watch made by a bunch of gooks. That guy from the Pawn Stars must be a piece of s*** to be promoting such a Junk chinese-made watch for our military Folk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Dec 2016 Will - (Vine Grove, KY)

MADE in CHINA

This P. O. S. Is no different than a piece of crap you'd buy at walmart it's made in china buyer beware.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 11 Dec 2016 Jim

As a matter of fact, you can buy this at Wal-Mart. It is in the "as seen on tv" aisle. It is simply a $40.00 watch, nothing more.

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 08 Dec 2016 Mike - (Sebastian, FL)

Made in China ?

Please tell me that this is not made in China if so to me this is terrible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

Reply

Write Your Reply

Posted: 09 Dec 2016 Will

Yep made in China. Deplorable.

Reply

Write Your Reply



Submit Review, Comment or Question ▼
- - - - Not Required For Comments & Questions
*Optional
*Optional

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

WWII Military Pilot's Watch

American Aviator Infomercial

TV Commercial

American Aviator Infomercial

13 Minute Review

American Aviator Infomercial

User Notification

Please click 'Allow' then 'Allow' to receive notifications of new As Seen on TV items, Review Videos, and contest giveaways. You can change your mind at any time and disable notifications.

ALLOW
NO THANKS

TV Stuff Reviews is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

NEXT AS SEEN ON TV ITEM ▼