View
36
Opinions
Below
73% 83 votes
27% 31 votes

Taclight Lantern

114 Votes

The Bell and Howell Tac Light Lantern uses proprietary bulbs to offer twice the light of standard LED bulbs. Such a design is bright enough to signal to others, efficiently light up a camp site so that it is safe at night, or provide emergency light as necessary. With a collapsible inner shell holding the LED bulbs, there is protection to be found in the hard, outer shell designed with military grade plastic and metal components.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Taclight Lantern is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!
114 Visitors rate it 3.0 Stars

Features

  • Bright

    The Bell and Howell Tac Light Lantern gives you light that is twice as bright as normal lanterns, making it a better option for lantern uses. This light is twice as bright as regular lanterns, which means you can see clearer and farther.

  • Collapsible

    It collapses down to the height of a smart phone and is only a few inches thick, making it perfect for storage.

  • Little Weight

    The weight comes to less than one pound which makes it perfectly transported in a camping bag or hiking backpack without adding too much weight.

  • Bright

    With a single lantern you can fill a whole room with light which is why it is so popular for emergency settings. It adequately enough that it can be seen two nautical miles away so lighting up a campsite is a breeze.

  • Temperature Resistant

    With military grade designs, the outer shell can withstand heat and water, in addition to extreme temperatures. This means you can take it camping during the winter and set it in the snow without it freezing. You can accidentally place it in the fire and it won’t melt.

  • Impact Resistant

    Designed to be impact resistant too, you could accidentally step on it or hit it while preparing your camping site and it would be perfectly fine.

  • Magnetic Base

    Deluxe versions come with a magnetic base which allow you to do more than just hang it from a tree. You can stick it magnetically to a metal surface, such as a car roof, and work throughout the night.

  • Proprietary Bulbs

    Using special company brand LED bulbs this design is smaller, brighter, and even more energy efficient than generic LED bulbs.

Pros

  • Great for Camping

    You can snuggly pack this light anywhere in or around a pack without damaging it. So you can shove it in the bottom of a hiking backpack full of gear, sit that pack down on the ground, and it won’t hurt it. Not all units have this strength. The freedom to treat your pack as you normally would without fear of breaking the light makes it well worth taking on an outdoor adventure of any kind.

  • Flexible

    This unit is one of the easiest to take with you anywhere. Even if you only need light around the house to find something in a dark closet, this light opens and closes with ease proving very useful in all endeavors. The hooks on the sides pop up so you can hang it if you don’t want to use the magnetic bottom. Should you choose to keep one in the car, then you have emergency light sufficient to fix problems in the dark, flag someone down, or wait comfortably for a tow truck.
    Built strong to withstand the elements! .

Alternatives

  • Sierra Leds

    The Sierra LED camping light is a bright LED camping lantern which is designed for use camping, fishing, or during emergencies and power outages.

    Green in color, this lantern is compact, lightweight, and has a similar collapsible design. The design lets users slowly collapse the main part of the lantern in which the bulb is placed so as to dim the lights, and then raise it to get a brighter light. Military grade plastic is used on the lanterns, making them useful long term. They are water resistant. Batteries have a long life span, with thirty premium LED batteries to give maximum brightness.

    If users want, they can put rechargeable batteries in the bottom of the lantern to power it. Doing so enables the LED’s to last longer and avoids the cost of regular disposable batteries. Such a design is useful indoors and outdoors.

  • Ultra Bright by Divine

    Divine LEDs has the Ultra Bright LED lantern which is suitable for use in camping situations, for hiking, during power outages, storms, hurricanes, or other emergencies. Purportedly the brightest lanterns available, it takes a few batteries to power the thirty LED bulbs that produce ample lighting.

    You can insert rechargeable batteries into the mix to ensure proper lighting. This light is made with military grade and water resistant plastic so that it can be used inside and outside. Its collapsible design lets you reduce the entire unit into a compact product for simple and easy transportation when you are on the go. With only one push the whole thing collapses.

  • Suaoki Camping Lantern

    Suaoki makes a bright camping lantern that is the same compact design and powered by three batteries. Designed to be collapsible, it can be taken on hiking trips or camping to offer light at night. Available in two forms, the light can be compacted and used as a flashlight, or it can be expanded and used as a lantern. When compressed, it folds down into its shell and is protected from damage. Used as both a flashlight and lantern means it can be used recreationally outdoors, or indoors during things like power outages.

  • Browon Camping Lantern

    Browon Solar LED Lantern is rechargeable and lightweight. It can be brought easily on camping trips, while hiking, or backpacking. Solar panels installed alleviate the need to worry about batteries, as they let you sit the lantern in the sun to recharge. Such an option makes it suitable for outdoor situations like camping or hiking because it can charge during the day and be operational at night. However, there is a slot for batteries should you want to include a back up power source. Outer shell designs are impact resistant and water resistant.

  • Tough Light

    Tough Light has a rechargeable LED lantern that offers two hundred hours of light from the single charge. It also charges call phones. The USB charging outlet can be used to charge other devices while on the go or during an emergency situation.

    With a lithium ion battery it holds a charge for up to nine months so it need only be charged twice per year. Then it will be ready to go during any emergency situation. Military grade plastic molds and rubber hold the lantern in place and make it water resistant. You can drop it from five feet high and no damage will be sustained.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Taclight Lantern online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Taclight Lantern online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

18 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.2
Taclight Lantern Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
4 STARS
3 STARS
2
2 STARS
1 STARS
16
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 18
Third Texan - (Mcgregor, IA)
Reviewed on: 15 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Absolute Scam

I placed an order for the tack / ultimate lantern online December 12, 2016. I waited patiently up to a week prior to christmas and then got an email stating "temporarily out of stock. I tried repeatedly for a few days to get customer support online and via phone to no avail. After reading the other reviews it is pretty apparent that this is a scam by folks who are pushed by Marketing to keep up the TV ads ( their still on ) and want to get all the back orders they can and make as much money as they can on our backs. I checked my bank account a few times after and the billing amount was not charged against my account. Lucky! This pisses me off. What is their motivation? They are not collecting any money - they get people all excited about the product while unable to deliver. All I can think is that when you are least expecting it - they will bill you cc after you have forgoten about it. The only way you can contest the purchase according to my large bank is to cancel the card. Major pia this was.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Kathy - (Mill Spring, NC)
Reviewed on: 13 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Bad Buy. I Think

Ordered 11 / 26 and as of Jan 13 have no product and no idea when they will be in stock. Yet they continue to advertise. Would not recommend! Wished I would have visited this site before I ordered. Buyer beware.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Joseph - (Denver, CO)
Reviewed on: 11 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Burned Customer

Ordered during the buy one get one offer including the deluxe upgrade in early December. It was not clear from the item number on the order confirmation that my order was the 'deluxe' item. I called and was told by customer service that I did not have to worry because all of the orders that were being filled at this time were automatically being upgraded to the 'deluxe' lantern. After a few weeks I checked the order status and could not find my order and the call to customer service informed me that they had been out of stock but the items were now in and mine would ship by the end of the week. Later that week I received a shipping confirmation from tac light but when my order arrived, it was the wrong product. Another call to customer service and they acknowledged their mistake and said they would send me two 'deluxe' replacements by the end of the month. Come January, no replacements and customer service now claims that a shipment was received but it was wrong and was sent back so product was now on back order. Customer service, a week later, said new shipment arrived and order would ship in 'a week or so'. A few weeks later, customer service now saying that they had no product but would be in by the end of Jan. Another week, another call. This time the story is we have no product and have no idea when we will get product but I can always complain to 'corporate'.

I would not even try to deal with that company.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Michael - (Grand Island, NE)
Reviewed on: 06 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

No Product Received

Trying to tack an order I did in November 29,2016. Cannot find a way to do this. Cannot get in contact with anyone.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Tom - (Albemarle, NC)
Reviewed on: 05 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Engineer

At least I received a "back order" notice. Not too unusual so close to Christmas so I waited. Parts were shipped three weeks later. The lanterns were as advertised, no more no less. Light weight, plastic and probably not bullet proof. What do we expect. Two pretty good lanterns for 30 bucks. Just don't beat them to death.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Cj - (Escondido, CA)
Reviewed on: 03 Jan 2017
I Regret Buying it!

Bad Customer Service! Still no Product!

I ordered the lantern in November of 2016, It is now January 2017 and no product. I called and called their customer service number and constantly get all circuits are busy, has been that way for weeks and weeks. I checked the order status and it only says product is out of stock as I watch TV commercials selling the product that is out of stock. I called ordering as that is the only live person you can get and they tell me there is nothing they can do but call the customer service number that I can never get through. They are the worst, gonna have to cancel order and not even sure if I am able to do that as no one can help me. Tac Light Lantern company does not provide the most important thing and that is customer service and fulfilling orders. Tells me that their product is more than likely sub-par as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Kare
05 Jan 2017

I ordered one in Nov. As well and have not received it as of yet. What # did you call for customer service? Sooooo Frustrating!

  • Write Your Reply

Mike - (Parkville, MD)
Reviewed on: 29 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Scam Lantern

Ordered two of these things on 11-23-16 for Christmas gifts and they never arrived. Go figure right? When calling or emailing you can never reach that company. Beware my friends, this is a big scam for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Karen
05 Jan 2017

Never received mine either!

  • Write Your Reply

Jessica - (Herkimer, NY)
Reviewed on: 26 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Upset

Bought tac light lantern. Light would not turn off. Within minutes started smoking internally. Removed batteries, unscrewed cap and wiring was a complete mess. Wiring was not even properly secured. Very disappointed and will not recommend because it is cheaply assembled and a far cry from military grade anything.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Ralph - (Coulterville, IL)
Reviewed on: 23 Dec 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

I ordered my TAC lights on 12-4-2016 and received them on 12-22-2016 without calling upon customer service. The lantern ( s ) I received were of gunmetal colored plastic which seems tough enough to handle some hard use. I ordered again and could not get a second lantern for $6.95 processing fee, a second one would have made my bill $42.00. Had I read the reviews from this page I may not have purchased any at all. Will keep you posted on the status of my second order.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

David - (Vancouver, WA)
Reviewed on: 22 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Never Delivered

Purchase on line 3 months later no product, can't get a hold of the company. The web site is gone.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


14 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 8
Barry - (La Crescent, MN)
Posted: 29 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

To those bitching about not getting their order, why didn't you just buy them at Walmart because they sell them there for 20 bucks.

  • Write Your Reply

Arline Maldonado
31 Dec 2016

I got a knockoff version which was better quality for about $10 on Amazon.

  • Write Your Reply

Bill - (Sudbury, ON)
Posted: 18 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Why would anyone order this crap before checking it out sites like this Thanks.

  • Write Your Reply

Nick - (Glendale Heights, IL)
Posted: 12 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

I've been reading through the reviews posted and have had a very similar experience in regards to not being able to get through to customer service. The customer service agent I ordered the Tac light through never mentioned anything about in being out of stock and reassured me it would arrive within 3-4 weeks max, yet my order clearly states temporarily out of stock. Admittedly, I felt some hesitancy on the phone because of all the upselling that was being pitched to me on items totally unrelated to the Tac light. I am sorry for all of those who had hoped on giving this to someone before Christmas. My prayer now is that this item does still exist and that the company will stop taking orders they cannot fulfill.

  • Write Your Reply

Steve - (Houston, TX)
Posted: 08 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Try to get a refund with your credit card company. I ordered this on $10.23.16 and have yet to receive. Don't waste your time. Also send to your state attorney generals office. They will look into this most of the time.

  • Write Your Reply

Mj - (Yorkville, IL)
Posted: 05 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

I placed my order Oct. 28th and I am still waiting! I can not find Any info on how to track it or even a customer service phone number to call for help! Anyone else have the same issue or have any answers? I'm begining to think this was a bad choice!

  • Write Your Reply

Chris Cameron
07 Dec 2016

I am having the same experience!

  • Write Your Reply

Nancy Fellers
14 Dec 2016

I am having the same experience--ordered 10 / 29 / 16.

Carolyn Nelson - (Casa Grande, AZ)
Posted: 02 Dec 2016
I have a Question

I ordered these lanterns approx. 4 weeks ago
But still have not received them. Can you
Please help me?

  • Write Your Reply

Ant
22 Dec 2016

Same issue. Ordered it almost a month ago and have not received it. Customer service is nonexistent. Wish I did my homework and read all these reviews prior to my order.

  • Write Your Reply

William - (Indianapolis, IN)
Posted: 12 Nov 2016
I have a Question

How long does it lite before replacing batteries?

I kno w the batteries are replaceable but roughly how long does it last without replacing them?

  • Write Your Reply

Joseph
11 Jan 2017

Very bright for about 6 hours, still some light after 12 hours.

  • Write Your Reply

Faith - (Madison, WI)
Posted: 03 Nov 2016
I have a Question

What type does the tac lantern take AA AAA C D?

  • Write Your Reply

Pp
14 Nov 2016

It uses 3 AA batteries. It does not include a magnetic base as advertised.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise