View
162
Opinions
Below
69% 159 votes
31% 72 votes

Tac Light

231 Votes

The Tac Light, made by Bell Howell, is a high performance flashlight that is 22x brighter than a regular flashlight. Light produced by the Tac Light can be seen up to 2.3 miles, or 2 nautical miles, away. The produced light is registered at 600 lumens, while an ordinary flashlight only provides 27 lumens.

The product has a durable, aircraft grade casing that can withstand temperatures ranging from at least 212 degrees fahrenheit ( boiling water ) to being frozen. It is also lightweight and can fit into a purse or pocket.

Additional features, such as Strobe Mode, make this light more versatile than a traditional flashlight.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Tac Light is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!
231 Visitors rate it 2.9 Stars

Pros

  • Durable

    With the high grade casing, the flashlight is designed to last. As demonstrated in the product's video, the light can be submerged in boiling water, frozen in a block of ice, or run over by an SUV and still work. The light also works well underwater.

  • Convenient

    The Tac Light is small enough to carry unobtrusively in a purse or briefcase, or to store in a car's trunk, glove compartment or center console.

  • Multiple Uses

    Not only can the Tac Light be used to provide lighting, the device can also be placed in different "modes" for different uses.

  • Warranty

    The product comes with a lifetime guarantee from Bell Howell.

  • Easy to Hold

    The grip design on the flashlight is intended to make the light easy to hold and use. It has a curling surface to help prevent the user from dropping the light, and a strike right allowing the user to grip the light firmly.

Competition

The competing alternative flashlight is available in color!

Features

  • Bright Mode

    Setting the Tac Light on the Bright Mode makes the flashlight shine a steady, high beam of light.

  • Low Light Mode

    Using the product on the Low Light Mode allows the user to still see light, but the light appears to be much dimmer.

  • Strobe Mode

    The Strobe Mode makes the Bright Mode light pulse on and off in quick and steady bursts. According to the manufacturer, the Strobe Mode can be used to stun people when the light is aimed at them.

  • Sos Mode

    When in the SOS Mode, the Tac Light will flash SOS in morse code until the light is either turned off or switched to a different mode.

  • Zoom Function

    The Zoom Function allows the light from the flashlight to be narrowed, allowing a smaller and more precise area to be illuminated.

How it's Different from Competitors

There are other tactical flashlights on the market, with a wide range of prices and features. Most claim to be very durable and long lasting, with light output ranging upwards of 1,000 lumen.

The Tac Light appears to be the only tactical flashlight on the market that offers all of the different modes of lights, such as Strobe Mode and SOS Mode. Depending on what the user intends to use their tactical flashlight for, the Tac Light may be the better deal due to it's versatility.

Concerns

  • Power Source

    It is not clear from the information provided whether the Tac Light is battery powered and / or rechargeable, like some competitors. There is also no mention of whether batteries or a charge cord comes with the product.

    The buyer should be prepared to spend extra money on batteries or a power cord and make sure backup batteries are available at all times.

Does It Really Work?

Although no proof has been provided as to whether the Strobe Mode really stuns people like the advertisement claims, based on the information provided, the Tac Light really does seem to work. The light produced seems much brighter than a regular flashlight and can be seen at much farther distances than a regular flashlight.

Claims regarding the products durability also seem legitimate. The advertisement showed the light still working even when frozen in a block of ice, being put into a pan of boiling water and after being run over by a Humvee.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tac Light online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

Wise Advice

Do not buy Tac Light online before searching Amazon.
- Alternatives or the same items are always available and sometimes at lower prices.

43 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2
Tac Light Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
6
4 STARS
4
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
4
1 STARS
28
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 43
Delete - (Spring, TX)
Reviewed on: 22 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Rip Off

I ordered Nov 8 and it is Dec. 22 and it hasn't even shipped, will call and cancel order today.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Bob - (Clovis, CA)
Reviewed on: 17 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Bright but Delicate

it may survive being run over by a Humvee, but don't give it to a 12 year old girl! I saw her drop it about 2' feet into a road and it broke whatever controls the resistance of the lens zoom. Good thing I have big hands because gravity would cause if to zoom in and out if I didn't hold the lens bezel. I'm going to toss it when the AAA batteries die and get a real flashlight.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Bob Update
17 Dec 2016

In trying to get the front of the flashlight apart to try to fix the slide / zoom control, I now see that it's just an O- ring that was providing the resistance, and its now wedge up between the LED and the lens! I don't think the drop had anything to do with the o-ring rolling out of position--it's just a crappy design and will fail if you zoom in and out more than a few times.

  • Write Your Reply

Lance - (Brandon, MS)
Reviewed on: 13 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Buy One Get One Free Misleading!

The buy one get one free is not actually free.

You pay $19.95 and if you want the 'free' one you pay an extra $10.00 for a total of $29.95, that's not free in my book.

Also, if you order from their website you pay an extra $2.00 for a 'web processing fee'.

Go figure!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Steven Wonder
16 Dec 2016

Careful. You will be disapointed by their customer service! Very disorganized and cannot retrive my order after they hung up on me after they got my credit card info and address and phone number. Phoned the bank and cancelled my card. Read the comments below if you do not believe me.

  • Write Your Reply

Jim Love - (River Falls, WI)
Reviewed on: 13 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Liars Pure & Simple

Ordered the hands free taclight the last week of October. I called the first week in December to check on my order, and was told there are no worries about the lights would show up before christmas, since these were gifts. I then called on 12 / 12 just to be sure everything was ok. I get some jerk on the phone that has no customer service skills, and says there are no guarantees that the lights will arrive before christmas. I complain on social media, and get a response from "chantal" ( a name you often see f ou are responses from scam companies ) saying my credit card has not been charged. Nowhere did I say anything about my credit card, but nice try "chantal" to change the reason for my complaint! that company is a scam company. Avoid at all costs.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

TV Stuff Reviews .com
13 Dec 2016

Jim,
What I said was that it is common for AsSeenOnTV product companies to only charge a credit card once the order is shipped.

I clearly stated I did not know if this was true in your case as TVStuffReviews.com is in no way associated with any As Seen on TV product. This is an independent review website. I do not represent any company. I represent this website.

You complained about not receiving the product so I advised to contact your Credit Card company. I'm sorry that took my friendly advice as a way to scam you.

  • Write Your Reply

Brett - (Rock Hill, SC)
Reviewed on: 12 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Didn't Order, but Charged

Ad on TV, website, lots of upcharges, I Decided NOT to complete the order. A half hour later an email I was charged. I called, call back Monday, 8am. I called Monday, 8am, they said it was too late, it had already shipped.

Bad, albeit profitable for them, business practices.
Bell & Howell should be ashamed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Joy - (Houston, TX)
Reviewed on: 10 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Buyer Beware!

I should have known Better! Do not follow my poor example. These people Are non existent almost and do not care. They will not let you speak to anyone. I never even received a confrontation number. I knew something was wrong immediately. I called my bank as I could not get a live person or even an email. They will handle and in the meantime I am going to o report these people for the misleading representation of this product and how wonderful it is. They just want your cc # a Nd the $ and they are Through with you. Despicable devolving humanity will stop at nothing to rip OFF good ole Americans. Go to Amazon or eBay. Very upset over this, mad at myself
Wrote an email to Asseenontv and unsubscribed to any of their emails.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Crystal Spradlin - (Roanoke, VA)
Reviewed on: 10 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

No Customer Service

Taclight Lantern has to be the worst company out here today with there customer service. They are playing games with there 1-877-415-4824 and 1-855-721-3332. Only message you can get is go to website site and run your info to see if the product is available. I've made many calls, and can't get any more info that they are out stock, strange that there are so many of them in the store. One time I did get customer service, is was told there is a list and couldn't tell me were I was on list and if I would receive my purchase before Christmas. I belive that company has no intention in sending me my product, belive they got what they wanted ( my credit card number. ).

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

George - (Trussville, AL)
Reviewed on: 07 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Good Old Days

Back when we had a country we could depend on the Feds to charge folks with mail fraud. Now it seems that "truth" is just a word found in the dictionary.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Charles - (Charlotte, NC)
Reviewed on: 08 Nov 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Excellent Product

I purchased two of these lights and can not be more pleased. The flashlight is comfortable in the hand and very powerful. I especially like the zoom ratio which will light a room ( wide angle ) or a small object at 200 yards ( zoom mode ). As a collector of flashlights I have various brands with different features but none have all of the features of the Tac Light. The closest in power to this one is made by Coast and costs over a hundred dollars. By the way, I was not given the flashlight to review and paid full price for it. Also, I am not affiliated with Tac Light in any way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Sf - (Rayne, LA)
Reviewed on: 05 Nov 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

So Far Pretty Decent for Our Basic Use

I haven't read through all of the posts here but from many I have read, it seems ordering directly from the company itself has come with its own set of issues. I purchased mine through a couple of third party sites and have had great luck with the 6 I have gotten for myself and for other folks as gifts. They light up an area beautifully. The only thing I can say beyond that is the batteries tend to deplete a little sooner in this light than in others I have owned, but beyond that, I and the folks I purchased for are all pleased with the light. Granted, we don't run them for hours at a time or use them in any extreme weather or conditions but for our everyday basic flashlight needs they work great!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


57 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 49
Moron Toscani - (King City, ON)
Posted: 08 Jan 2017
I have something to say!

I bough one, never came, bought another it arrived late.
I dropped it and it broke.
I bought 2 more in case.
I lost them. Pos.

  • Write Your Reply

Maralee - (Spring, TX)
Posted: 22 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

It is now Dec 22nd and the Christmas presents have not even shipped, called 2 weeks ago and was told on back order and would be in any day. I will call back today and cancel my order what a rip off.

  • Write Your Reply

Crystal Spradlin - (Roanoke, VA)
Posted: 10 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

As consumers why are we not protected by someone monitoring the internet when there's fraudulent company selling products they can't deliver. Is there any way to report taclite and get them to stop running their ads and TV commercials cuz it's very apparent they have no intentions of honoring there adds. The worst company i've seen in years. Because of them I will no longer buy off the internet. They have ruined my christmas.

  • Write Your Reply

Jane - (Lewiston, ID)
Posted: 25 Nov 2016
I have a Question

I purchased the Tac Light lantern for my husband a month ago. Where is it? When will it come?

  • Write Your Reply

Robert - (Mulvane, KS)
Posted: 24 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

If the consumer is having this many problems with that company why are they allowed to still to do this? Shut Them Down!

  • Write Your Reply

Peter - (Calgary, AB)
Posted: 24 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

I usually order on Amazon. Saw the TV ad and thought it was a good deal On the web site it automatically added these upgrades that took me from 33 dollars to 83 dollars. Even though I unchecked the upgrades. I tried to go out but it took me to a page saying I had ordered.
I now do not want the product. I called my credit card company and they said that I should cancel my order.
Got a hold of someone from TryTacLight ( India callcentre? ) they said to reject package and when it is returned to them they will credit my credit card.
Basically their Website adds things on and makes it difficult to get your money back. I regret ordering.

  • Write Your Reply

Niki - (Needham, MA)
Posted: 23 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

Please provide customers a working number for complaints comments and other customer service related issues. Also go through these reviews and attempt to refute the accusations lodged against your products so far. Why advertise $19.99 but charge as much as near 10x that price? Also people ordered and either got nothing, or nonworking item or partially working ones. Not to mention those who paid but never received any products, refunds or replies to their filed complaints. This is unfair and could land this co some class lawsuits and I can successfully contact consumers with complaints and initiate this successfully if not remedied in timely manner.

  • Write Your Reply

Dj - (Surrey, BC)
Posted: 14 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

I ordered the Tac Light. Ca and they assured me no additional fees, so I am telling all consumers that there is! They pretend not to know, but it is so expensive. Just go to walmart where they have a comparable 1 way cheaper. It's not worth the exchange rate!

  • Write Your Reply

Cindy - (Nelson House, MB)
Posted: 27 Sep 2016
I have something to say!

I ordered two of the flashlights, but have heard nothing. It's been about 3 weeks. The charges have gone through my account, but didn't even receive a confirmation of order or any kind of email. Please advise as to when my items are coming.

  • Write Your Reply

John
11 Oct 2016

They don't answer their phones or reply to emails. Do as I did call your credit card company and dispute the charges.

  • Write Your Reply

Bob - (Carthage, TX)
Posted: 23 Sep 2016
I have something to say!

Most comment are negative about service not quality of the flash light. I received in a little over 1 week from order date. I ordered 2. For the price I consider a good value. Like any item if you want the best you must pay price.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise