View
146
Opinions
Below
70% 158 votes
30% 68 votes

Tac Light

226 Votes

The Tac Light, made by Bell Howell, is a high performance flashlight that is 22x brighter than a regular flashlight. Light produced by the Tac Light can be seen up to 2.3 miles, or 2 nautical miles, away. The produced light is registered at 600 lumens, while an ordinary flashlight only provides 27 lumens.

The product has a durable, aircraft grade casing that can withstand temperatures ranging from at least 212 degrees fahrenheit ( boiling water ) to being frozen. It is also lightweight and can fit into a purse or pocket.

Additional features, such as Strobe Mode, make this light more versatile than a traditional flashlight.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Tac Light is $19.99 and the shipping is FREE!
226 Visitors rate it 2.9 Stars

Special Offer

Free Shipping



OFFICIAL WEBSITE


Pros

  • Durable

    With the high grade casing, the flashlight is designed to last. As demonstrated in the product's video, the light can be submerged in boiling water, frozen in a block of ice, or run over by an SUV and still work. The light also works well underwater.

  • Convenient

    The Tac Light is small enough to carry unobtrusively in a purse or briefcase, or to store in a car's trunk, glove compartment or center console.

  • Multiple Uses

    Not only can the Tac Light be used to provide lighting, the device can also be placed in different "modes" for different uses.

  • Warranty

    The product comes with a lifetime guarantee from Bell Howell.

  • Easy to Hold

    The grip design on the flashlight is intended to make the light easy to hold and use. It has a curling surface to help prevent the user from dropping the light, and a strike right allowing the user to grip the light firmly.

Competition

The competing alternative flashlight is available in color!

Features

  • Bright Mode

    Setting the Tac Light on the Bright Mode makes the flashlight shine a steady, high beam of light.

  • Low Light Mode

    Using the product on the Low Light Mode allows the user to still see light, but the light appears to be much dimmer.

  • Strobe Mode

    The Strobe Mode makes the Bright Mode light pulse on and off in quick and steady bursts. According to the manufacturer, the Strobe Mode can be used to stun people when the light is aimed at them.

  • Sos Mode

    When in the SOS Mode, the Tac Light will flash SOS in morse code until the light is either turned off or switched to a different mode.

  • Zoom Function

    The Zoom Function allows the light from the flashlight to be narrowed, allowing a smaller and more precise area to be illuminated.

How it's Different from Competitors

There are other tactical flashlights on the market, with a wide range of prices and features. Most claim to be very durable and long lasting, with light output ranging upwards of 1,000 lumen.

The Tac Light appears to be the only tactical flashlight on the market that offers all of the different modes of lights, such as Strobe Mode and SOS Mode. Depending on what the user intends to use their tactical flashlight for, the Tac Light may be the better deal due to it's versatility.

Concerns

  • Power Source

    It is not clear from the information provided whether the Tac Light is battery powered and / or rechargeable, like some competitors. There is also no mention of whether batteries or a charge cord comes with the product.

    The buyer should be prepared to spend extra money on batteries or a power cord and make sure backup batteries are available at all times.

Does It Really Work?

Although no proof has been provided as to whether the Strobe Mode really stuns people like the advertisement claims, based on the information provided, the Tac Light really does seem to work. The light produced seems much brighter than a regular flashlight and can be seen at much farther distances than a regular flashlight.

Claims regarding the products durability also seem legitimate. The advertisement showed the light still working even when frozen in a block of ice, being put into a pan of boiling water and after being run over by a Humvee.

35 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2.2
Tac Light Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
6
4 STARS
4
3 STARS
1
2 STARS
3
1 STARS
21
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 35

Charles - (Charlotte, NC)
Reviewed on: 08 Nov 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Excellent Product

I purchased two of these lights and can not be more pleased. The flashlight is comfortable in the hand and very powerful. I especially like the zoom ratio which will light a room ( wide angle ) or a small object at 200 yards ( zoom mode ). As a collector of flashlights I have various brands with different features but none have all of the features of the Tac Light. The closest in power to this one is made by Coast and costs over a hundred dollars. By the way, I was not given the flashlight to review and paid full price for it. Also, I am not affiliated with Tac Light in any way.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Sf - (Rayne, LA)
Reviewed on: 05 Nov 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

So Far Pretty Decent for Our Basic Use

I haven't read through all of the posts here but from many I have read, it seems ordering directly from the company itself has come with its own set of issues. I purchased mine through a couple of third party sites and have had great luck with the 6 I have gotten for myself and for other folks as gifts. They light up an area beautifully. The only thing I can say beyond that is the batteries tend to deplete a little sooner in this light than in others I have owned, but beyond that, I and the folks I purchased for are all pleased with the light. Granted, we don't run them for hours at a time or use them in any extreme weather or conditions but for our everyday basic flashlight needs they work great!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Kimberly - (Nashua, NH)
Reviewed on: 21 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Upset

I as an epileltic am extremely upset of even their commercial. Many companies do not take that disability into consideration when making their commercials. This commercial however is different. I typically don't have reactions to flashing lights, but this commercial made me quite dizzy and light headed. The very fast speed as well as the extreme brightness they talk about and show is very horrible. I'm very disappointed.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Nunya
22 Nov 2016

Sorry to deviate a little. On TV the noises and sound effects can bother me but I not have epilepsy. The beeps when people swear, and other noises, like a knife scraping on metal in scary shows on tv. The noises bother me. I have good hearing and tinitis.

  • Write Your Reply

James Charles - (Fort Saint James, BC)
Reviewed on: 19 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

NON-EXISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

The problem I have is that I am not able to find anyone to dispute the over charges billed to me. Taclight advertised on TV channel was for $19.99, I am charged $29.99 per light ( x6 ). Phoned the customer service number who asked me to go online to resolve my problem, only to discover that when I go to the web site for customer service I can only get sales and video telling me how good the light is and the cost of it. No information is available on the web site given for customer service. WWW.trytaclight.com the light May be ok but customer service is none existent. So be very careful buyer. Their interest is to push sales and does not give a damn about you once they get the sale. ( your money ) don't get caught like I did. Be aware. Totally dishonest people.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Niki
23 Oct 2016

Thanks for your tip. I will try their sites and phone no first before proceeding with any purchase. I appreciate.

  • Write Your Reply

Susan
16 Nov 2016

Beware! You think you're getting 2 for $19.99 and then comes your statement reading $97.98!

  • Write Your Reply

Dan Broccolo - (Austin, TX)
Reviewed on: 17 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Tac Light Review

Actually received 2 lights with order as I ordered. One works great, the other does not work at all. So I paid 50 dollars for 1 light, better than others for price, but unacceptable. Why can't I get 2 working lights. As far as I am concerned this is a rip off. I mean how hard is it to test the product before they leave the factory. That company is a bunch of thieves stealing cash for junk. Will never order again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Steve - (Garden City, ID)
Reviewed on: 15 Oct 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Great Service Great Light

I ordered it on 1007 2016 got it 1014 2016 great service and 2 great flashlights, I live in aa remote part of BC, and I read all the bad press, I couldn't be happier, ,, to all the people, that have nothing better to do but write shit about good products. Get a job.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Marian
17 Oct 2016

Shame on you!
Just because you got lucky & had a pleasant experience in obtaining your flashlights doesn't give you the right to comment like a pompous snob. Obviously many other people had problems and they have every right to review the item & the service as they see fit. That is what the review section is for.
I find it curious that you assume people who disagree with you to be unemployed. You think they need to get a job? Most minds don't make that connection.
After reading your nasty & vulgar "review", I'd suggest you get a dictionary. Profanity is just an excuse for a poor vocabulary!

  • Write Your Reply

Niki
23 Oct 2016

Great reply. Very helpful to read your feedback. These things do happen to people.

Robc
26 Oct 2016

He probably works for the company.

Niki
23 Oct 2016

I haven't ordered yet but your comment is very derogatory. You should just be objective about things working as expected for you instead of further aggravating those who had bad experiences. May I ask if you had any luck reaching someone for any issue, positive or negative? Also would you mind providing us info on the energy / power source for these great flashlights? Thanks.

  • Write Your Reply

John - (Tempe, AZ)
Reviewed on: 11 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Total Customer Service Ripoff - Beware don't Order

They don't answer their emails and you can't talk to anyone. You may also never receive the product.
This is a total ripoff. If you charged via credit card. Call your credit card company immediately to dispute your charges. Let them know all the details of this scam.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Niki
23 Oct 2016

I greatly appreciate your feedback / review as I will now be more cautious in proceeding or Deciding to purchase. Thanks.

  • Write Your Reply

John - (Tempe, AZ)
Reviewed on: 11 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Order Cancellation

I ordered a flashlight on 10 / 10 / 16. Their advertisement was deceiving indicating a price of $39. When I went thru the process they immediately billed me $173 without allowing me time to review final charges and approve. I called their office during regular business hours within 1 minute of order.
They don't allow you to talk to anyone and send you to messages. I have left 2 messages with all ordering details to cancel my order. I also sent to emails to Support@taclight.com. No responses from anyone.
I already called my credit card company to block and not honor the transaction.
I also told TacLight not to ship anything because I will not accept any shipment.
Folks this is a big ripoff. Don't order unless you really want the product
At very expensive prices. Assuming you ever get it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Niki
23 Oct 2016

Omg! This is very scary. I think bureau of consumer products should be aware of such issues though. Maybe a class action can be brought against them. It's unfair to the pub / customers, period!

  • Write Your Reply

Lois
30 Oct 2016

What about contacting Bell & Howell I think they are the owners of this product.

  • Write Your Reply

Kay - (Port Lavaca, TX)
Reviewed on: 23 Sep 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Seizures

Nice commercial, assholes. Damn near went into convulsions because of the strobe light demo. Fuck your flashlight.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Don B - (Troy, OH)
Reviewed on: 18 Sep 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Flashlight

Good quality, but having to go through all the modes to get to the one you want is a pain. Would not buy another one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


54 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 46

Jane - (Lewiston, ID)
Posted: 25 Nov 2016
I have a Question

I purchased the Tac Light lantern for my husband a month ago. Where is it? When will it come?

  • Write Your Reply

Robert - (Mulvane, KS)
Posted: 24 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

If the consumer is having this many problems with that company why are they allowed to still to do this? Shut Them Down!

  • Write Your Reply

Peter - (Calgary, AB)
Posted: 24 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

I usually order on Amazon. Saw the TV ad and thought it was a good deal On the web site it automatically added these upgrades that took me from 33 dollars to 83 dollars. Even though I unchecked the upgrades. I tried to go out but it took me to a page saying I had ordered.
I now do not want the product. I called my credit card company and they said that I should cancel my order.
Got a hold of someone from TryTacLight ( India callcentre? ) they said to reject package and when it is returned to them they will credit my credit card.
Basically their Website adds things on and makes it difficult to get your money back. I regret ordering.

  • Write Your Reply

Niki - (Needham, MA)
Posted: 23 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

Please provide customers a working number for complaints comments and other customer service related issues. Also go through these reviews and attempt to refute the accusations lodged against your products so far. Why advertise $19.99 but charge as much as near 10x that price? Also people ordered and either got nothing, or nonworking item or partially working ones. Not to mention those who paid but never received any products, refunds or replies to their filed complaints. This is unfair and could land this co some class lawsuits and I can successfully contact consumers with complaints and initiate this successfully if not remedied in timely manner.

  • Write Your Reply

Dj - (Surrey, BC)
Posted: 14 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

I ordered the Tac Light. Ca and they assured me no additional fees, so I am telling all consumers that there is! They pretend not to know, but it is so expensive. Just go to walmart where they have a comparable 1 way cheaper. It's not worth the exchange rate!

  • Write Your Reply

Cindy - (Nelson House, MB)
Posted: 27 Sep 2016
I have something to say!

I ordered two of the flashlights, but have heard nothing. It's been about 3 weeks. The charges have gone through my account, but didn't even receive a confirmation of order or any kind of email. Please advise as to when my items are coming.

  • Write Your Reply

John
11 Oct 2016

They don't answer their phones or reply to emails. Do as I did call your credit card company and dispute the charges.

  • Write Your Reply

Bob - (Carthage, TX)
Posted: 23 Sep 2016
I have something to say!

Most comment are negative about service not quality of the flash light. I received in a little over 1 week from order date. I ordered 2. For the price I consider a good value. Like any item if you want the best you must pay price.

  • Write Your Reply

Bb - (Allen, TX)
Posted: 28 Aug 2016
I have something to say!

Took a month. Got 2. They work great. I wasn't dumb enough to pay for the upgrades.

  • Write Your Reply

Bryan - (Valley Stream, NY)
Posted: 11 Aug 2016
I have something to say!

I've been waiting 3 weeks since my order. Would it hurt for that company to send an email clarifying what the problem is? I would not recommend this product to anyone solely based on the hastle that ordering it has made. 0 out of 5, can't rate an item that you never receive.

  • Write Your Reply

Ashlee - (Absecon, NJ)
Posted: 05 Aug 2016
I have something to say!

Your commercial has caused the seizures of two individuals I know. One is a friend and the other is my dog who goes into one whenever the commercial is on tv. I mostly see the commercial at night when my room is almost completely dark ( with the exception of my TV ). When the commercial comes on, it turns my whole room into strobe light central. Please, change that part of your commercial somehow. I'm sure the strobe setting can be depicted in a different way. Just please change it.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise