View
56
Opinions
Below
46% 49 votes
54% 57 votes

Kitty Shack

106 Votes

Kitty Shack is a cat mat that will double as a tunnel for cats to hide, play, and keep warm in. The mat is available in leopard print with a beige border, and solid brown, also with a beige border. As a mat, it can be used on the couch, the floor, your bed, or virtually any other flat surface that your cat may want to recline on. To convert it into a tunnel, all you'll need to do is zip its two sides together, with the zipper on top. Kitty Shack is machine washable, so it won't be hard for you to clean whenever it gets covered with hair and dander.

The Claim

When you use Kitty Shack, your cat will be able to get comfortable without shedding all over your furniture. Regardless of whether you're using it as a tunnel or a mat, you can place it beside you wherever you're reclining. Therefore, your cat will be able to sit beside you without covering you or any piece of furniture with fur, since the mat will pick up any fur he or she sheds instead. A cat can also make use of Kitty Shack when he or she wants to hide or chase a toy through a tunnel. Moreover, besides cats, the mat is suitable for small to medium-sized dogs.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of Kitty Shack is $14.95 plus $7.95 shipping. The special TV offer allows you to receive a second Kitty Shack by paying the extra shipping fee of $4.95 for a total price of $27.85.
106 Visitors rate it 2.7 Stars

Special Offer

Buy 1 Get 1 Free



OFFICIAL WEBSITE


How It Works

The plush used to make Kitty Shack provides an electrostatic charge, so the mat can work like a magnet, picking up any hair or dander that your cat happens to shed. After the dander and hair has been caught by the mat, it will remain there, and won't make its way to your furniture, the floor, or your clothing. Besides keeping the area where your cat sits or sleeps clean, Kitty Shack will also keep your cat warm, due to the thermo-reflective layer on its inside. This layer will reflect your cat's body heat, enabling the surface of the mat to become warmer.

Uses

  1. Bed

    Many cats like to sleep beside their owners in bed, or sleep on their owner's bed alone while the owner is out. However, when they do so, the bed often becomes covered in hair, especially if a particular cat likes to roll around. If your cat enjoys sleeping in your bed, a good solution to this issue is simply spreading a Kitty Shack mat across the bed for the cat to lie on. That way, they won't be lying directly on your blankets or pillows.

  2. Couch

    If you've got a couch that you want to keep clean and scratch-free, but you don't want to ban your cat from it completely, you can spread your Kitty Shack out on the couch. The cat will sleep on the mat, and dig its claws into its material instead of your couch's upholstery.

  3. Floor

    Hardwood and tile floors can often be cold, but if your cat likes to sleep on the floor, they can use Kitty Shack to keep warm as they do so. They can either stretch out on it when it's spread out, or for extra warmth, you can convert it into a cozy tunnel for your pet. If your cat is in a playful mood, and is too energetic to sleep, you can try tossing a toy through the tunnel so that they can go after it.

Positive Points

  • Lightweight and Portable

    Kitty Shack doesn't weigh much, so virtually anyone can carry it from room to room. You can even take it on a trip with you, if you're bringing your cat along.

  • For Cats of All Sizes

    Small to large cats can use Kitty Shack, as even when it's converted into a tunnel, it's still a generous size.

  • Can be Used by Dogs

    If your dog's size is similar to that of a cat, or is just a bit bigger than that, the dog will likely feel comfortable using Kitty Shack as a tunnel or as a mat.

  • Two Designs Available

    Kitty Shack comes in two different prints, with a choice between solid brown and leopard spotting. Therefore, you can choose the print that goes best with your decor, or get both. If you have more than one Kitty Shack, you may find it convenient to immediately convert some into tunnels and leave the rest unfolded as mats.

  • Machine Washable

    Your Kitty Shack won't be difficult to clean, as it's machine washable. Plus, since it will keep your cat from shedding on your bed, it will likely reduce the frequency at which you need to wash your own sheets.

33 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

2.3
Kitty Shack Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
7
4 STARS
4
3 STARS
2 STARS
2
1 STARS
20
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 33

Mandy - (Burnsville, NC)
Reviewed on: 07 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Very Disappointing

I was excited to get this, but quickly regretted it! The zipper is the cheapest on the market, don't expect to use it. After washing it, closely following directions, it came out shrunk in an odd shape. Now the zipper doesn't work at all! If you plan on washing it, don't put it in the dryer. My suggestion, zip it once and use it until it gets so dirty you can't stand it, then throw it away.

Also, it doesn't hold shape right out of the box. So soft, it collapses down. You have to hold it open so your cat can crawl in.

Waste of money,!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Anne - (Fredericton, NB)
Reviewed on: 01 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

My Cat Loves This

Don't believe the negative - check this out at pet stores rather than on tv. My cat loves this.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Joy - (Hickory Hills, IL)
Reviewed on: 19 Nov 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Good if You Find the One That is Thicker

I bought two of these on line Amazon and they were wonderful. The inside of the mat was cushy. I got two more at a big department store and the inside of the mat was very thin, hardly any cushion. The official site used to sell a deluxe version - wish I had bought when I saw it because this version is no longer on the official site and I can't find them anywhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Gailee - (Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Reviewed on: 03 Aug 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Loses Shape

I purchased this for my 10 lb. Cat and he really enjoyed it. I even got 2 for the price of one! The only issue I have with this product is that after laundering it in my washing machine and drying it in my dryer, it seemed to have lost its shape when I zip it up! Every time my kitty wants to get inside of it, I have to keep adjusting it so he can get in it as the top of it keeps falling down. Sort of like a roof on a house that's collapsed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Shara - (Brookings, SD)
Reviewed on: 05 Jul 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Nope Nope Nope!

1 of 4 cats uses 1 of 4 shacks. It doesn't stand up like it shows in the commercial no matter where the zipper is, my chihuahua won't go near it. I now have 4 pieces of crap that I paid a butt load of money for. The leopard print is hideous! My Mothers cat hated it also. Don't waste your money.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Joyce Illinois - (Hickory Hills, IL)
Reviewed on: 17 Mar 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Quality Difference

I bought two of these 12-2015 and they were fantastic, great, wonderful in every way. Used open for feral cats in a very nice shelter in my yard. Bought one today from the same store. Had a legal disclaimer in the box and was not the same quality. Thinner flat surface and the front and back ridge were not as full and the stuffing was not evenly distributed nor was one part sewn to help the bend. I went on the made for TV site and discovered there is a deluxe version so Maybe the deluxe versions were in some boxes at one time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Toby - (Newark, DE)
Reviewed on: 12 Mar 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

No Regrets

Both cats lay on them as mats. One sleeps on it on the bed all night while the other uses it for day time snoozing. Only issue I have is the "care for" tag is in a foreign language.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Karen - (Denver, CO)
Reviewed on: 26 Jan 2016
I Regret Buying it!

DO Not Buy Kitty Shack

I purchased a Kitty Shack product before christmas for my cat. He neither liked the material nor could he fit into the tent the mat zipped into. There was an invoice with the product that gave a 1-800 number to call to get a return number for returns. They did not include a return pre-paid sticker. I tried and tried to call for days and nights for weeks to get the return number but no luck. There is no "contact us" on their web site. On the invoice was also a phone number to call to refund your shipping charges but what it turned out to be was a scam for you to enter a free trip. No refund info.



I then sent them a postcard with my phone number and email addresses so they could contact me with this "infamous return number" but never heard back.



Then I sent a letter that was "return receipt requested" telling them all the trouble I had trying to get in touch and to please get in touch with me, again giving my contact information. It has now been 2 weeks and they have not returned the receipt from the letter so now I am convinced they are a scam and have no intention of refunding my $36. I am totally so angry with this bogus company and highly recommend none of you order anything from them at www.kittyshack.com.



If anyone has had a similar experience please let me know and what you did.



Thanks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Mike
04 Apr 2016

Try calling the Marketing company for Kitty Shack, which is all star Marketing @914-3477827. They were very helpful with a question I had about this product.

  • Write Your Reply

Mary - (Milwaukee, WI)
Reviewed on: 11 Jan 2016
I Recommend Buying it!

Recap

I recently sent in a negative review of Kitty Shack because my cat wouldn't go near it no matter how hard I tried, but now I'm loving it because my chihuahua loves it! With temperatures in the single digits in wi. It's the perfect blanket for my little one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Max - (Portland, OR)
Reviewed on: 04 Jan 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Disappointed

Things made in china in an effort to outsource production for cheap almost never work out. I bought this at walgreen's for $19.95, had to return the first one, for faulty zipper. Something told me to check immediately if it was made in china. I took it back and exchanged it, for a version that the zipper worked on for less than 1 week. I had faith I wouldn't end up with two faulty products. So I didn't keep the second receipt. Total rip off. My cat hates it, because it makes a scarey sound when she walks on it. Don"t buy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


17 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 13

Maurine Marcum - (Clearlake, CA)
Posted: 01 Mar 2016
I have something to say!

I still have not received my Kitty Shacks. They were ordered on Jan 14th. Where are they? My address is 3563 mountain view street, clearlake, ca 95422.

  • Write Your Reply

Brooke Ellis - (San Jose, CA)
Posted: 03 Feb 2016
I have a Question

Did anyone's cat got sick from this bed? Please let me know cause my cat is really sick! Thank you.

  • Write Your Reply

Cindy - (Chambersburg, PA)
Posted: 11 Jan 2016
I have something to say!

Ordered 7 days ago. Web site says shipped 5 days ago via fed ex. Never received it. Fed ex tracking shows label created but they never got the item. My card was charged, I placed several calls, on hold 17 minutes woman answers then hung up. Called back, on hold 19 minutes, click line goes dead. Do not order from this place.

  • Write Your Reply

Max - (Portland, OR)
Posted: 04 Jan 2016
I have something to say!

Won't post my concerns that are negative.

  • Write Your Reply

Jb - (Palmerton, PA)
Posted: 08 Dec 2015
I have something to say!

We ordered two brown kitty sacks, and after a fairly long shipping period we found out they sent us the tacky leopard print instead!

Husband tried calling them 4 times yesterday, but no one ever answers the phone. And after 5-9 minutes on hold, their phone system hangs up on you so you have to start all over again.

We want what we ordered and we want free expedited shipping on the correct items to make sure we get them for Christmas. If we don't reach someone soon, the only other option I can think of is to stop the payment through the credit card company. That's about the only way you'll get satisfaction with these people. If you want to try Kitty Shack ( and the product itself seems fine so far other than the wrong ones being sent ), buy it at Walmart, PetSmart, Amazon, or somewhere else that's a bit more trustworthy.

  • Write Your Reply

Mark - (Brooklyn, MD)
Posted: 07 Dec 2015
I have something to say!

"I don't do business with companies, I do business with people. " If I can't talk to a person at a company then, I would rather buy it at a local store like Walgreen's whee I will probably be sometime during any one to three months for a prescription or something else. They won't, can't fix a broken zipper, but you can look it over before you buy it. I would only buy something like this as a gift as it looks professionally made. My pets can make do with something that may not look so professional. A small comforter with an old flannel shirt body "yacked" to it seems perfectly fine to me.

I'll trade you one that looks good for one that works.

  • Write Your Reply

Catlover - (Palm Harbor, FL)
Posted: 22 Oct 2015
I have a Question

I have 5 cats, so I got 4 Kitty Shacks. My cats loved them but I noticed they all started coughing and sneezing at the same time I got the Kitty Shacks. I washed the Kitty Shacks, but the coughing did not stop. I took the Kitty Shacks away from my cats and in a few days the coughing stopped. I really worry about the fabrics now days. Especially with my cats because they clean themselves and end up ingesting fuzz. Has anyone else noticed their cats coughing and sneezing after introducing them to the Kitty Shacks?

  • Write Your Reply

Shara
05 Jul 2016

Yes! All 4! My Kitty Shacks are going in the burn barrel!

  • Write Your Reply

Kay Cunningham - (Houston, TX)
Posted: 03 Oct 2015
I have something to say!

Won't let me post my dissatisfaction over what the final charge was.

  • Write Your Reply

Lynette - (Lake Oswego, OR)
Posted: 19 Sep 2015
I have something to say!

The reviews are not convincing me. Thank you, I will pass and my friend too😏.

  • Write Your Reply

Marcella - (Enumclaw, WA)
Posted: 27 Aug 2015
I have something to say!

Seems like I should of read the reviews I ordered mine over a month ago! I still have no recieved it! I have 2 cats so I ordered the 2 for one deal havent even got them yet what the heck!? Confused.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise