View
145
Opinions
Below
70% 88 votes
30% 38 votes

American Aviator

126 Votes

The American Aviator is a timepiece influenced by both the design style and mechanical precision of aviator watches used by usaf personnel during the second World War.

The clockface is analogue, featuring hour, minute and second hands; in addition, the display glows in the dark. Military brown, green and black dominate the American Aviator's color scheme, which has a breathable nylon wristband and a face which is slightly larger than it's World War Two counterpart.

The American Aviator can be used as an everyday watch, or as a display piece owing to it's resemblance to the classic watches used by the US armed forces.

The Claim

During World War Two, daring bombing raids relied on pinpoint accuracy and precise timing to ensure attacks were coordinated to the second. The manufacturers of the American Aviator claim to use the same military grade mechanics so that precision timing is available at an affordable price.

The original design had to be durable to survive the rigors of war, and this re-imagining is, too. American Aviators are scratch resistant and water resistant.

The American is a collector's piece too. Each watch has the reverse laser engraved with the American flag along with a unique number, and all come with a collector case and certificate of authenticity.

Total Cost Breakdown

The cost of American Aviator is $39.95 and the shipping is FREE!
126 Visitors rate it 2.9 Stars

Special Offer

Free Shipping



OFFICIAL WEBSITE


Features

  • Accurate Timekeeping

    Accurate timekeeping is naturally the most important thing to consider when buying any watch or timepiece. The American Aviator has a comparable standard of precision with military issue watches used by armed forces personnel during World War 2.

  • Iconic Design

    The original aviator was a design classic and this version retains most of the original design features. American Aviator's analogue clock and military style colour combinations are clearly inspired by the past. A key change, however, is a larger watch face for easier reading.

  • Durable

    Again taking inspiration from the past, the American Aviator boasts of a durable design; water and scratch resistance ensure it is up to the rigors of everyday usage.

  • Glow in the Dark Face

    Another key upgrade from the original, the glow in the dark display means that this watch can be used twenty four hours a day.

  • Comfortable

    The watch features a breathable nylon strip. This helps vents moisture and, crucially, can be tightned or loosened to ensure a snug fit on most wrists. The American Aviator is ideal for exercise in addition to everyday use.

Positive Points

  • Collector's Case

    Each watch is delivered in a. Classic hardback collector's case for storage or display.

  • World War Two Booklet

    Each purchase include a 'World War 2 Historical Highlight' Booklet detailing the key events of the conflict.

  • Certificate of Authenticity

    Each watch includes a certificate of authenticity detailing the quality and manufacturing process of the timepiece.

How It Works

The nature of this watch make it a good choice for everyday use; it's comfortable and adjustable. It's durable enough to cope with every day wear and tear. The glow in the dark face adds extra convenience and an iconic, yet muted, color scheme ensures clashes with clothing is unliikely.

How it's Different from Competitors

The primary detail that sets this watch apart from similarly priced competitors on the market is not actually the watch itself, but the supplements included with the purchase.

A certificate of authenticity, a World War Two booklet, a collector's case and a stand are all included with the watch. In addition, the watch itself features a laser-etched American flag and an individual number on the reverse of the clock-face.

All in all, this makes the watch an appealing ( if not unique! ) display or collector's item for any patriot, history enthusiast or person with an interest in aviation.

Concerns

  • Precision Timekeeping?

    Although the manufacturers claim the American Aviator offers military grade and precision timekeeping, they do not elaborate on specific details.

    .

    The mechanics of the watch are said to be inspired by timepieces of the US armed forces personnel of World War 2, but it is not made clear whether the specifications are identical. Similarly, it is not clear whether the mechanics of this watch differ from any others on the market.

  • Water Resistant

    It is important to note that whilst this watch is water resistant, it is not waterproof and the two things have different meanings.

    Waterproof watches can be used specifically for diving, swimming, water aerobics or any activity where the watch is fully submerged and generally specify the depth or pressure to which they can be taken.

    Water resistant watches, whilst possibly suitable for swimming, cannot be reliably taken to any notable depth.

70 CUSTOMER REVIEWS ▼

Average Customer Rating:

1.2
American Aviator Reputation Management

Click to View

5 STARS
2
4 STARS
3 STARS
2
2 STARS
1 STARS
65
Sort reviews by: Newest | Most Helpful | Highest Rated | Lowest Rated
Showing 1 - 10 of 70

Gary - (Longmont, CO)
Reviewed on: 06 Dec 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Your First Clue

Would be that the aircraft on the box is a Super Marine Spitfire ( British ) and not an American aircraft. They obviously do not have a clue to what they are doing!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Ronald - (Lufkin, TX)
Reviewed on: 25 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

American Aviator Watches

These watches are not American made, they are made in China. Shame on you for trying to make Americans and American vets buy foreign.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Curt - (San Antonio, TX)
Reviewed on: 24 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

It eats batteries and goes dead in two months.
How do I get a refund? Two times and I cannot afford $batteries senor!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Phughes - (Blairstown, NJ)
Reviewed on: 23 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Total Piece of Junk

The hands hang free and fall to the bottom.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Wendy - (Lewes, DE)
Reviewed on: 05 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

MADE in CHINA!

If I could give zero stars I would! Authentic aviator watch. Not quite! Not even made in the USA it's made in china. And the so called collectors case and booklet are a joke! Collector case is a cardboard box & the booklet is a tiny little pamphlet. Not worth the price, bought it as a gift & I'm extremely disappointed. Try getting ahold of anyone in customer service is impossible. I tried by phone and email numerous times, no response!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Marcy - (Pompano Beach, FL)
Reviewed on: 02 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Watch Lasted 3 Months

I purchased this watch for my grandson's birthday and received it in January. By March, it just stopped working. When I called customer service, I was told the watch was only guaranteed for 60 days so they could not replace it. They would, however, offer me a discount on a replacement. I do not recommend this watch. Any company that only stands behind their product for 60 days knows it's a piece of Junk. Now I know why it doesn't come with any warranty information.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Jordan - (Falls Church, VA)
Reviewed on: 01 Nov 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Crap Watch

Bought the watch an put it through a few mild tests failed them all. Buy a Casio g-shock they are solar and take a hell of a beating I think I spent $80.00 for mine 5 years ago still good. Rick should be beaten for trying to trick Americans I severed my country I doubt he did. Just another huckster.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Don - (Tucson, AZ)
Reviewed on: 26 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Piece of Junk!

Bought this as a gift in July. Had it for a month and a half until I gave it to my friend at his party. It stopped on him the next day. He reset it and it stopped for good later the same day. Since it was past 30 days, HSN just gave me an "I'm sorry. " I took the watch back and replaced it with a nice Casio watch. Now I'm stuck with this crappy watch and yes, I changed the battery! Don't buy anything endorsed by a pawn shop owner!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Wayne - (Minnetonka, MN)
Reviewed on: 18 Oct 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Piece of Junk

Purchased this piece of junk in April. Lasted five months. Save your money.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

Henry King - (Midlothian, VA)
Reviewed on: 29 Sep 2016
I Regret Buying it!

Ripped Off

Stopped working right away, sent it back, they never returned a replacement.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
[Yes] [No]
  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!


54 Questions & Comments ▼
Showing 1 - 10 of 36

Ron - (Westland, MI)
Posted: 03 Dec 2016
I have something to say!

Was certainly excited when first seein the aviator watch after reading reviews I've Decided not to purchase Rick Harrison should check himself before he wrecks himself American Aviator watch made in China come on.

  • Write Your Reply

Bob - (Phoenix, AZ)
Posted: 08 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

It's Junk Junk Junk Junk.

  • Write Your Reply

John Loper - (Lake Charles, LA)
Posted: 01 Nov 2016
I have something to say!

Watch in commercial looks great. After reviewing comments I have Decided not to purchase. I had planned on wearing this watch so quality is important along with looks, pass for now. Thanks for all review comments.

  • Write Your Reply

Holly - (Cincinnati, OH)
Posted: 04 Oct 2016
I have something to say!

Was going to purchase this watch but after these reviews thought better about it thank you all!

  • Write Your Reply

Ripman - (Minneapolis, MN)
Posted: 24 Aug 2016
I have a Question

Got this as a gift. Was on another TV commercial. Shows numbers glow in dark. Not. Clasp Broke. Slow battery. Made in China? Customer svs always busy. Any wonder why? Class Action Lawsuit lawsuit?

  • Write Your Reply

Veteran - (Fitchburg, WI)
Posted: 26 Jul 2016
I have something to say!

You all should have known by the look and price it was a pos.

  • Write Your Reply

John - (Frisco, TX)
Posted: 18 Jul 2016
I have something to say!

Buy +Made in China you get a piece of junk all the time. I knew better, Oh well.

  • Write Your Reply

Pamela - (Orange, CT)
Posted: 16 Jul 2016
I have something to say!

As have all of the others, I too was 'taken in' by the whole ad; patriotic, etc. Really liked the look of this watch. Well, mine stopped also a couple of months after wearing all the time. It did not glow in the dark. Changed the battery, having a store doing this, and they also had trouble putting on the back. Very, very big sham / rip off!

Do not consider buying!

  • Write Your Reply

Michael - (Lomita, CA)
Posted: 10 Jul 2016
I have something to say!

Where is it made? I would like to know where it is made.

  • Write Your Reply

John
18 Jul 2016

Where are you? You haven't seen made in china. Dah.

  • Write Your Reply

Chris
13 Aug 2016

Made in China. Where else.

  • Write Your Reply

Bobbi - (Springdale, AR)
Posted: 25 Jun 2016
I have something to say!

Bought this for a Father's Day gift. What a waste of money. It belongs in the trash it sure isn't worth what I paid for it. Have gotten better stuff from a dollar store. Won't keep time. Stops more than it runs. Tot as long waste. Don't buy it. The advertising is total BS. What a piece of crap.

  • Write Your Reply

  • Add Review, Comment, or Question

Rating

- - - - Not Required For
Comments & Questions

Name

Brief Title

Review or Comment or Question

Reviews, Comments & Questions Help Everyone
Your Opinion Counts!

Can I
Help
You?
X
Need Help? Ask Emma
Product Name:
Select:   Question  Complaint / Praise